Zeitgeister

This side of Populism

In global conversations between Budapest, Cairo, Brasilia, Nairobi, Moscow, Salzburg and Zurich we debate common narratives of populists in different countries.

Mobiler Mann, mobile Frau Illustration: Anne Lehmann

Family Matters

Family can be a blessing or a curse, joy or burden. Perceptions of the family are currently changing worldwide. There is controversy in many countries about what a family is, including in Germany. The Goethe-Instituts abroad offer a platform for discussions, films and theatre on this issue.

Day-Afterthoughts in your head © Kitty Kahane

Reflections on a post-corona-time

A virus is showing us how globally networked and yet how fragile our public life is. What does the pandemic mean to and for each of us and for society as a whole? Here are some responses from intellectuals and artists around the world with regard to our present predicament and what lies in store for us afterwards.

Latitude - Rethinking Power Relations Photo (Detail): © Getty Images, Logo: Tobias Schrank

Latitude

The Goethe-Institut invites experts and creatives worldwide to exchange ideas on colonial power relations, their consequences and, above all, how to dismantle them: in discourses, interviews, opinion articles and art projects. For a decolonized and non-racial world.

Drawn picture; 2 people sit next to each other, inbetween them plays a radio Tobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

#timetolisten
Time to listen

The current situation has forced many people around the world to stay at home and follow the news. As in Boccaccio’s “Il Decamerone,” the description of the disaster is followed by stories.

Zeitgeister

Diesseits des Populismus

In globalen Gesprächen zwischen  Budapest, Kairo, Brasilia, Nairobi, Moskau, Salzburg und Zürich stellen wir gängige Erzählungen der Populisten in unterschiedlichen Ländern zur Debatte.

Mobiler Mann, mobile Frau Illustration: Anne Lehmann

Familiensache

Familie kann Segen oder Fluch sein, Lust oder Last. Weltweit ändern sich gegenwärtig die Vorstellungen von Familie. In vielen Ländern gibt es Streit darüber, was eine Familie ist, auch in Deutschland. Die Goethe-Institute im Ausland bieten eine Bühne für Diskussionen, Filme, Theater zum Thema. 

Danachgedanken im Kopf © Kitty Kahane

Reflexionen für eine Post-Corona-Zeit

Ein Virus führt uns vor Augen, wie global vernetzt und zugleich fragil unser öffentliches Leben ist. Was bedeutet die Pandemie für jede*n Einzelne*n von uns und was für die Gesellschaft? Intellektuelle und Künstler*innen weltweit antworten auf diese Frage - mit Blick auf das Jetzt und mit Blick auf die Zukunft eine Zeit danach.

Latitude - Machtverhältnisse umdenken Foto (Ausschnitt): © Getty Images, Logo: Tobias Schrank

Latitude

Das Goethe-Institut lädt Expert*innen und Kreative weltweit zum Austausch über koloniale Machtverhältnisse, ihre Folgen und vor allem ihre Überwindung ein: in Diskursen, Interviews, Meinungsartikeln und Kunstprojekten. Für eine entkolonialisierte und antirassistische Welt.

Gezeichnetes Bild, 2 Personen sitzen nebeneinander, zwischen ihnen ein Radio, aus dem Geräusche kommen Tobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

Erzählungen aus aller Welt
Zeit zuzuhören

Die aktuelle Situation zwingt viele Menschen auf der ganzen Welt, zu Hause zu bleiben und Nachrichten zu hören. Wie in Boccaccios „Il Decamerone“ folgen auf die Beschreibung des Unglücks: Geschichten.