Indoor Navigation in Libraries Using a Smartphone to Get to the Reading Room

Indoor navigation helps people to find their way round libraries
Indoor navigation helps people to find their way round libraries | Photo (detail): © BSB/Bokowsky+Laymann

Navigation systems for enclosed spaces are becoming increasingly common. Visitors to libraries and museums can use them to find their way round and to access location-based information.

In their capacity as storehouses of knowledge and temples of learning, large libraries are often housed in impressive and imposing buildings. Inside we are often confronted with a wide range of learning environments and service areas: reading rooms, exhibition rooms, service counters for information and registration, and, of course, the lending desk. As these are often connected by a maze of long corridors that all look the same, with all kinds of stairs and floors in between, it is not always easy for new users and visiting tourists to find their way round.

These days, however, we have what is called "indoor navigation" and this enables you to know where you are in the building at any given time and to get to the place you are looking for in the quickest and most direct way. In the meantime, thanks to radio-based technologies, once a smartphone is inside the building, it is able to calculate its own position by using its special sensors to measure the strength of surrounding signals. These signals can, for example, be emitted from WiFi networks or special, matchbox-sized transmitters, so-called beacons (location transmitters).

Digital beacons

All the big technology companies have already started marketing their own systems: in 2013 Apple launched its Standard iBeacons, a year later Samsung introduced its Proximity service and in July 2015 Google put its Beacon service<em> Eddystone</em> on the market. The localization technology, awiloc, developed by the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits in Erlangen in Bavaria, operates, on the other hand, with the help of private routers, public Wi-Fi hotspots or corporate networks. When a smartphone uses these services, it has to have its own wireless LAN function switched on, as is also the case with the Indoor Google Maps service.

These positioning and navigation systems are normally linked to an app. Maps that were created beforehand also have to be stored, so that the signal readings can be assigned to the corresponding locations. The signal readings are synchronized with the maps and the location can then be displayed in the app. In best case scenarios the location can be calculated within an accuracy margin of one to two meters.

It is not just the retail trade in Germany that is backing beacon technology, but German libraries are also going for it. For the retail trade it is not just the actual navigation feature and the collection of customer data that makes the technology attractive, this technology also enables the retail trade to launch location-based marketing campaigns, by drawing the public’s attention, for example, to discounts or new sales products at an appropriate time and place. For the libraries, however, the beacons offer a great opportunity. The visitors’ and users’ smartphones can guide their owners accurately around the building and provide additional information in the right places.

Opportunities for libraries

Up to now there is only one library in Germany that has adopted this approach and that is the Bavarian State Library in Munich. In the spring of 2016 it launched its app “BSB Navigator”. The Bavarian State Library installed a total of 250 beacons for the project. The map available on the App contains over 70 important destinations in the library building, along with related information. The visitor or user selects the desired destination using the search function or he selects one from a list of places of interest and the app shows him the most direct route.
 

Other components of the “BSB Navigator” are two guided tours. The tours, “General Tour" and "Tourist Tour", take library visitors along a fixed route through the library, passing by, and maybe stopping at, important and interesting places. When the so-called “Discovery” mode is enabled, visitors receive information in the form of a text message on their smartphone as soon as they enter the vicinity of an interesting object or location.

The Bavarian State Library, as a public institution, has made sure that all the features of the “BSB Navigator” are fully in line with data protection laws. The app works completely offline and, unlike the retail trade, does not commercially divulge any data on user activities.

Navigations apps for museums

In the case of the Fraunhofer Institute’s awiloc localisation system, the disclosure of user data is not on the agenda at all. This is perhaps also one of the reasons why a number of German museums have decided to integrate this technology into their so-called museum guide systems. Since 2010 the Museum of Industrial Culture in Nuremberg has been equipping its visitors with iPod touch devices that are able to accurately recognize their own position and then provide background information on the exhibits – a total of 180 films, audio and text contributions.

The State Museum of Egyptian Art in Munich in turn provides not only exhibit-related information, but also eight guided tours of the museums exhibitions. Other German museums with such multimedia guides are the world's largest computer museum - the Heinz Nixdorf Museum Forum in Paderborn - and the House of the History of Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart. Unlike the “BSB Navigator”, these museums only provide their navigation apps on a rental basis. Due to licensing reasons the apps cannot be made freely available.

Irrespective of whether indoor navigation apps are beacon-based or WiFi-based, they are a valuable additional service in the portfolio of libraries and museums. The use of such apps might also be a worthwhile option for larger institutions, especially if they have extensive user and visitor areas that are possibly spread out over a number of buildings and sites.

Indoor-Navigation in Bibliotheken Das Smartphone führt zum Lesesaal

Indoor-Navigation unterstützt bei der Orientierung in Bibliotheken
Indoor-Navigation unterstützt bei der Orientierung in Bibliotheken | Foto (Ausschnitt): © BSB/Bokowsky+Laymann

Navigationssysteme für geschlossene Räume finden zunehmend Verbreitung. Besucher in Bibliotheken und Museen können sich mit ihrer Hilfe orientieren und ortsbasierte Informationen abrufen.

Große Bibliotheken in ihrer Eigenschaft als Horte des Wissens und Hallen des Lernens sind oftmals eindrucksvolle und imposante Gebäude. In ihrem Inneren findet sich ein vielfältiges Angebot an Lernorten und Dienstleistungsbereichen: Lesesäle, Ausstellungsräumlichkeiten, Servicetheken für Information und Anmeldung und natürlich die Ausleihe. Aufgrund langer, sich oft ähnelnder Gänge und einer Vielzahl von Treppen und Geschossen ist es für neue Nutzer und touristische Besucher nicht immer einfach, die Orientierung zu behalten.

Heute kann die sogenannte Indoor-Navigation dafür sorgen, dass man dennoch jederzeit den Überblick hat und den gesuchten Ort auf direktem Weg ansteuert. Dank funkbasierter Technologien kann jedes Smartphone mittlerweile auch innerhalb von Gebäuden in die Lage versetzt werden, die eigene Position zu berechnen, indem seine Sensoren die Stärke von umliegenden Signalen messen. Diese Signale können beispielsweise von WLAN-Netzen oder speziellen, streichholzschachtelgroßen Sendern, sogenannten Beacons (dt.: Leuchtfeuer, Ortungssender), stammen.

Digitale Leuchtfeuer

Sämtliche große Technologieunternehmen bieten bereits eigene Systeme: Apple brachte 2013 seinen Standard iBeacons auf den Markt, ein Jahr später stellte Samsung den Dienst Proximity vor, und im Juli 2015 veröffentlichte Google sein Beacon-System Eddystone. Die Lokalisierungstechnologie awiloc, entwickelt vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen in Erlangen in Bayern, orientiert sich dagegen mit Hilfe von privaten Routern, öffentlichen WLAN-Hotspots oder auch Firmennetzwerken. Das Smartphone nutzt dafür, wie etwa auch der Dienst Indoor Google Maps, die geräteeigene WLAN-Funktion.

Diese Ortungs- und Navigationssysteme sind in der Regel an eine App geknüpft. Dort ist auch zuvor erstelltes Kartenmaterial hinterlegt, das die Messwerte den entsprechenden Standorten zuordnet. Die gemessenen Signale werden mit dem Kartenmaterial abgeglichen und der Standort kann dann in der App angezeigt werden. Die Genauigkeit des ermittelten Standorts liegt im Optimalfall bei einem bis zwei Metern.

Der kommerzielle Einzelhandel in Deutschland, aber auch deutsche Bibliotheken setzen auf die Beacons-Technologie. Dem Einzelhandel erlaubt diese neben der reinen Navigation und der Sammlung von Kundendaten auch standortbezogenes Marketing, indem an passender Stelle beispielsweise auf Rabattaktionen oder neue Verkaufsartikel aufmerksam gemacht wird. Aber auch für Bibliotheken sind die Beacons eine Chance. Die Smartphones der Besucher und Nutzer können zielgenau durch die Gebäude lotsen und an den richtigen Orten zusätzliche Informationen liefern. 

Chancen für Bibliotheken

Diesen Ansatz verfolgt als erste und im Augenblick noch einzige Bibliothek in Deutschland die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in München mit ihrer im Frühjahr 2016 erschienenen App "BSB-Navigator". Dafür wurden insgesamt 250 Beacons im Gebäude installiert. Eine über die App verfügbare digitale Karte enthält mehr als 70 wichtige Ziele und dazugehörige Informationen innerhalb der Staatsbibliothek. Der Besucher oder die Nutzerin wählt das gewünschte Ziel über die Suchfunktion oder eine Liste von interessanten Orten aus und die App führt ihn auf direktem Wege dahin.
 

Weitere Bestandteile des BSB-Navigators sind zwei geführte Rundgänge. Die Touren „Allgemeiner Rundgang“ und „Touristischer Rundgang“ führen die Bibliotheksbesucher auf einer festgelegten Route durch die Bibliothek und an wichtigen und interessanten Orten vorbei. Ist der sogenannte Discovery-Modus aktiviert, erhalten die Besucher Informationen als Nachricht auf ihr Smartphone, sobald sie sich in der Nähe eines interessanten Objektes oder Standortes befinden.

Bei all diesen Funktionen hat die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek als öffentliche Einrichtung darauf geachtet, dass der Einsatz des BSB-Navigators mit dem Datenschutz im Einklang steht. Die App arbeitet komplett offline und gibt, anders als im Einzelhandel, keine Daten zu Nutzerbewegungen weiter.

Navigations-Apps für Museen

Beim Lokalisierungssystem awiloc des Fraunhofer-Institutes ist die Weitergabe von Nutzerdaten gar nicht vorgesehen. Das ist vielleicht auch ein Grund, warum sich einige deutsche Museen entschieden haben, die Technologie im Rahmen sogenannter Museumsführungssysteme einzusetzen. Das Museum Industriekultur in Nürnberg stellt seinen Besuchern bereits seit 2010 iPod touch-Geräte zur Verfügung, die den eigenen Standort präzise erkennen und Hintergrundwissen zu den Exponaten liefern – insgesamt 180 Filme, Audio- und Textbeiträge.

Das Staatliche Museum Ägyptischer Kunst in München bietet wiederum nicht nur objektbezogene Informationen, sondern auch acht geführte Ausstellungsrundgänge an. Weitere deutsche Museen mit solchen Multimedia-Guides sind das weltgrößte Computermuseum – das Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum in Paderborn – und das Haus der Geschichte Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart. Anders als beim BSB-Navigator bieten diese Museen ihre Navigations-Apps allerdings nur über Leihgeräte an. Eine freie Veröffentlichung ist aus lizenzrechlichen Gründen nicht möglich.

Ob nun Beacons- oder WLAN-basiert – Indoor-Navigations-Apps sind eine wertvolle Zusatzleistung im Angebot von Bibliotheken und Museen. Der Einsatz solcher Apps dürfte sich dabei insbesondere für größere Einrichtungen lohnen,  gerade wenn diese über umfangreiche Nutzer- und Besucherflächen und womöglich über mehrere Gebäude und Standorte verfügen.