Ndidi Dike
(Slave) Market and Migration

Ndidi Dike: Trace – Transactional Aesthetics (Detail), 2015
Ndidi Dike: Trace – Transactional Aesthetics (Detail), 2015 | Photo: © Ndidi Dike

The realism of Ndidi Dike’s installations is arresting. Its aim is to lay history bare. The Nigerian artist tackles the themes of slavery, the marketplace and migration with materials that include marine wood, consumer products and wire, employed in varying ways to embody both inhuman exploitation and equal exchange

For the artist Ndidi Dike, experimenting with found materials is the most direct route to a critique of her Nigerian context: ‘in Africa, a real artist has no choice about whether to engage with political issues or not. Our very existence is political, and it’s virtually impossible not to take a critical stance in your work, whether overtly or subliminally.’ So she says of the historical content of her work (Unknown Pleasures & Competing Tendencies catalogue, 2012). Since her first exhibition, Mixed Media Exposé, in 1986, and Explorations into Nature a year later, Dike has pushed at the boundaries between painting and sculpture. In 2008, she completed the transition to installation art, with Waka-Into-Bondage. Her work is internationally recognised and has been exhibited in locations including Lagos, London, the USA and Indonesia. At the 2015 Goethe Institute conference, Spaces of Displacement, in Lagos, Dike described the theme of slavery in her work as a call for the consideration of both old and new forms of forced migration. Her art is an attempt to counteract the inner displacement produced by losing touch with one’s origins, which can often accompany physical displacement.

ARTISTIC HISTORIOGRAPHY

Africa has always experienced large movements of people, predominantly within the continent itself, or to the lands of its former colonial rulers. The migratory experience is part of Ndidi Dike’s own identity as a Nigerian: she was born in England in 1960, and grew up there, before attending the University of Nigeria in Nsukka to study Music Education (voice) and Fine and Applied Art, specialising in ‘multimedia painting.’ She currently lives in Lagos. Inspired by figures like Nigeria’s first president, Nnamdi Azikiwe, and the academics Uche Okeke, Chike Aniakor und Obiora Udechukwu, and by the work of Chinua Achebe, Dike’s artistic development has been accompanied by a growing consciousness of her African heritage: ‘I started to be interested in African stories and culture, and I realised there were things that were self-evident to my contemporaries who’d grown up in Nigeria, that weren’t to me.’ Some of the titles of Dike’s works, such as Thirty-Six States, Convergence, Competition or Constitution, evoke the territorial changes and social restructuring experienced by Nigeria through its history, which she now explores in her art.

Dike attributes ‘a powerful historical meaning’ to her choice of artistic materials. At the start of each project, she allows the material space to express itself: ‘I usually leave the materials in my studio for a while, then gradually an idea forms in my head, and I start to try things out. It’s the material that speaks to me first.’ (Unknown Pleasures & Competing Tendencies catalogue, 2012). As Dike explores the aesthetic and conceptual properties of both traditional and more unconventional materials , be they acrylic paints, shipping crates or consumer goods, she also has historical perspective in mind: ‘I appropriate the materials in a way that avoids replicating their original function, but doesn’t totally negate their history. I hope that enables the observer to find the political references in my works, without these being verbalised or expressed explicitly.’ (ibid)

SLAVERY TODAY?

Point of No Return in Badagry Point of No Return in Badagry | Photo: © Claudia Cuadra
For her project Waka-Into-Bondage: The Last ¾ Mile (2008), Ndidi Dike followed the trail of colonial history in the Nigerian coastal town of Badagry, the so-called ‘point of no return’, where slaves lined up before making their Atlantic crossing. Exchange existed between Africa and Europe before colonisation, in the form of the trans-Saharan trade in gold, salt, and also slaves. But it is the transatlantic slave trade, to which millions of Africans fell victim up until the nineteenth century, which has become the paradigm for exploitative power structures. At the centre of Dike’s installation are two wooden boats, one filled with sugar, the other with a blood-red fluid. Dike explains in an interview with curator Bisi Silva: ‘the blood represents what was shed in the past, during and after the transatlantic slave trade, but also what is still being shed.’ The accompanying photo-montage of pictures of Badagry, historical documents and contemporary images of forced migration reinforces the continuity between past and present.

For Dike, the complex causes and effects of slavery ‘can be questioned historically in the sense of asking why we’re now seeing unprecedented levels of migration from Africa and the Middle East across the Mediterranean – the contemporary world’s most hazardous border – to Europe.’ Her African and Nigerian perspective informs her conviction that ‘slavery is still fundamental to the modern world, as well as to its history. Slavery has never really stopped. It’s just acquired new names, defined by the west, like human trafficking.’

In the object image Permeations (2010), Dike gives abstract, sensual form to the dynamics of migration. She weds together traditionally non-compatible materials like acrylics, metal containers, empty paint tubes and nets. Through these odd fusions, new hybrid identities emerge. Her use of acrylic-based waste products from Nigerian crude oil processing brings to mind a contemporary example of an exploitative social structure. Dike points out the irony of Nigerians ‘continuing to protest about slavery, while, amongst other African resources, human capital itself is being outsourced, to develop overseas countries, to the detriment of the African continent […] As usual, those in power in Africa are too willing to swap the wellbeing of their inhabitants for oil money. I fear that, without an understanding of history, we will never achieve lasting change.’ (Waka-Into-Bondage: The Last ¾ Mile, Catalogue, 2008).

COLONIAL VESTIGES IN THE MARKETPLACE

While the dehumanising practices of the slave trade can be seen as distorted versions of the market, traditional market life, with its cultural diversity and shifting affiliations, is at the very core of African communities. For Ndidi Dike, markets are a treasure trove of practical and aesthetic possibilities:´The typical Nigerian outdoor market awakens all the senses: it’s an explosion of sights, sounds, smells, impressions. They flood together, the visitor gets caught up in the hectic pace of market life, and it feels as if they’re in a breakneck race against time, trying to take in everything around them. The stalls and the goings-on in a Lagos marketplace are characterised by colour, synergy and vitality. You see it in the products, the fabrics with custom-made designs, specific to different traditional cultures, the second hand clothes, the jewellery, the foods... The market women have ways of displaying their good that emphasise their aesthetic qualities, incite desire for them, and they interact directly with the customers to strike their deals.´

The collage-based installation Trace: Transactional Aesthetics, a joint project between Dike, Elia Nurvista and Temitayo Ogunbiyi for the Jogja XIII Biennale in 2015, presents the different trading practices and product aesthetics of Nigeria and Indonesia. Photographic images are re-purposed by Dike as installation, montage and abstract pictures. This aesthetic purification of the marketplace experience is intended to allow the viewer to interrogate its cultural, economic and social exchange processes. According to Dike, taking the example of food stuffs, factors like production, health, regulation, distribution and patent law ‘tend to be forgotten when we’re negotiating for, buying and consuming these goods.’

Trace gives special roles to the English tea tray, to currency, and to Nigerian export goods like cloves, peanuts and cocoa, as these evoke the shared colonial past of Nigeria and Indonesia. Dike however focuses less here on the aspect of exploitation, and more on the cultural threads woven through the politics of trade: ‘the ceremony of tea drinking is not western in origin – it’s a borrowed ritual that, changed and re-defined, was then introduced into other cultures with their own traditions of tea drinking, as form of cultural organisation. The idea of tea has become a connecting link between the different forms of trade in different cultures.’ The traces of colonial economic relationships extend into current consumer society and contemporary identities. And it is here that they can be questioned.

BETWEEN EXCHANGE AND EXCLUSION/MARGINALISATION AND SEGREGATION 

Ndidi Dike: They can´t stop migration (current project, Detail) Ndidi Dike: They can´t stop migration (current project, Detail) | Photo: Ndidi Dike
In stark opposition to Dike’s marketplace installation, Trace, is her current project, They can’t stop migration. Here, she revisits the theme of forced migration the context of the European migrant crisis of 2015. In Trace, the visually alluring market goods clamour ’look how special I am! Take me!’ Dike’s installation on migration is a boundary fence that pushes the observer back. The material is barbed wire, as used at borders the world over, to keep immigrants out and delineate power relationships: ‘barbed wire is the visual and physical embodiment of border control and exclusion. It has become the symbol for DO NOT CROSS.

Dike’s barbed wire framework is populated by countless refugees, reduced to attempting to scale the structure. Its separating function collapses. Instead we witness the crossing of a border under inhuman conditions: ‘the belief that hordes of intruders can be prevented from infiltrating a country through its borders is no longer sustainable. Those barriers will be breached, pulled down and climbed over, in the desperate search for a new life.’ Ndidi Dike’s shift from exploring historical events to employing historically-loaded materials makes explicit the process of exchange that crossing a border entails. Her installations on slavery, market and migration highlight the tensions between the idea of forced migration and that of free migration, the self-determined search for change and exchange.

Ndidi Dike (Sklaven-) Markt und Migration

Ndidi Dike: Trace – Transactional Aesthetics (Detail), 2015
Ndidi Dike: Trace – Transactional Aesthetics (Detail), 2015 | Foto: © Ndidi Dike

Die Installationen von Ndidi Dike bestechen durch ihren Wirklichkeitscharakter, der darauf abzielt, die historische Erfahrungsdimension freizulegen. Den Themen Sklaverei, Markt und Migration nähert sich die nigerianische Künstlerin anhand von Materialien wie Marineholz, Konsumgütern oder Draht, die – je nach Verwendung – der unmenschlichen Ausbeutung oder dem gleichberechtigten Austausch dienen können.

Für die Künstlerin Ndidi Dike ist die experimentelle Erforschung der umgebenden Materialien der direkteste Weg, sich mit ihrem nigerianischen Lebensumfeld auseinanderzusetzen. „Ein wahrer Künstler hat in Afrika nicht die Wahl, ob er sich auf politische Angelegenheiten einlassen will oder nicht. Unsere bloße Existenz ist politisch und es ist nahezu unmöglich, keine kritischen Inhalte in sein Werk aufzunehmen, entweder unterschwellig oder offenkundig“, sagt Dike zum geschichtlichen Gehalt ihrer Werke (Kat.: Unknown Pleasures & Competing Tendencies, 2012). Seit ihren ersten Ausstellungen Mixed Media Exposé 1986 und ein Jahr später Explorations into Nature lotet sie die Grenzen zwischen Skulptur und Malerei aus, bis sie im Jahr 2008 mit Waka-Into-Bondage den Schritt zur Installationskunst vollzieht. Die Werke der international bekannten Künstlerin wurden unter anderem in Lagos, London, den USA und Indonesien ausgestellt. Auf der Tagung Spaces of Displacement des Goethe-Instituts in Lagos 2015 hat Dike anhand ihres Werkthemas der Sklaverei dazu angeregt, über alte und neue Formen von Zwangsmigration nachzudenken. Denn die physische Auswanderung zieht oft eine innere Auswanderung im Sinne eines Vergessens der eigenen Herkunft nach sich, dem sie mit ihrer Kunst entgegenwirken will.

KÜNSTLERISCHE GESCHICHTSSCHREIBUNG

Afrika ist seit jeher Schauplatz großer Wanderbewegungen, die überwiegend innerhalb des Kontinents verbleiben oder sich auf die ehemaligen Kolonialmächte ausdehnen. So ist die Migrationserfahrung auch Teil der nigerianischen Identität von Ndidi Dike, die 1960 in England geboren und aufgewachsen ist, an der University of Nigeria in Nsukka Gesang und bildende Kunst mit Schwerpunkt „Multimedia Malerei“ studiert hat und gegenwärtig in Lagos lebt. Angeregt durch Persönlichkeiten wie Nigerias erstem Präsidenten Nnamdi Azikiwe, die Professoren Uche Okeke, Chike Aniakor und Obiora Udechukwu sowie die Werke von Chinua Achebe, ging Dikes ästhetische Entwicklung mit einer wachsenden Bewusstwerdung des afrikanischen Erbes einher: „Ich begann, mich für afrikanische Geschichte und Kultur zu interessieren und es gab viele Dinge, die meine in Nigeria aufgewachsenen Zeitgenossen für selbstverständlich hielten, nicht aber ich.“ In einigen ihrer Werktitel wie Thirty-Six States, Convergence, Competition oder Constitution klingen die Territorialbildungen und gesellschaftlichen Umschichtungen an, die Nigeria historisch durchlaufen hat und nun künstlerisch fortgeschrieben werden.

Als Künstlerin misst Dike der Materialwahl eine „machtvolle geschichtliche Bedeutung“ bei. Am Anfang jedes Schaffensprozesses gibt sie dem Material Raum, sich frei zu entfalten: „Üblicherweise lasse ich die Materialien für einen längeren Zeitraum in meinem Studio und dann entsteht allmählich eine Idee in meinem Kopf und ich beginne, zu experimentieren. Letztlich ist es das Material, das zu mir spricht.“ (Kat.: Unknown Pleasures & Competing Tendencies, 2012) Indem Dike traditionelle oder unkonventionelle Materialien wie Acrylfarbe, Schiffskisten oder Marktwaren auf ihr ästhetisches und konzeptuelles Potential hin erforscht, versucht sie, die historische Perspektive zu erweitern: „Ich eigne mir die Materialien auf eine Weise an, die ihre ursprüngliche Funktion meidet, aber ihre Geschichte nicht vollständig negiert. Meiner Ansicht nach befähigt das den Betrachter, die politischen Bezüge der Werke zu ermitteln, ohne allzu offenkundig oder wörtlich zu sein.“ (ebd.)

SKLAVEREI HEUTE?

Point of No Return in Badagry Point of No Return in Badagry | Foto: © Claudia Cuadra
Für ihr Projekt Waka-Into-Bondage: The Last ¾ Mile (2008) ist Ndidi Dike den Spuren der Kolonialgeschichte im nigerianischen Küstenort Badagry nachgegangen, wo die Sklaven am sogenannten „Point of no Return“ ihre Atlantik-Überfahrt antraten. Tatsächlich gab es schon lange vor der Kolonialisierung Afrikas einen Austausch zwischen den afrikanischen Ländern und Europa im Rahmen des Transsaharahandels mit Gold, Salz und auch Sklaven. Doch erst der transatlantische Sklavenhandel, dem bis ins 19. Jahrhundert hinein Millionen Afrikaner zum Opfer fielen, ist zum paradigmatischen Fall für ausbeuterische Machtstrukturen geworden. Im Mittelpunkt von Dikes Installation stehen zwei Holzboote, eines davon mit Zucker und das andere mit einer blutroten Flüssigkeit gefüllt. „Das Blut repräsentiert, was davor, während und nach dem Transatlantik-Handel vergossen wurde, aber auch, was weiterhin vergossen wird“, äußert sich Dike 2008 im Interview mit der Kuratorin Bisi Silva. Die dazugehörige Fotomontage mit Bildern von Badagry, historischem Dokumentationsmaterial und aktuellen Bildern von Zwangsmigration untermauert die Kontinuität zwischen dem historischen Ereignis und der Gegenwart.
 
Die komplexen Gründe und Folgen der Sklaverei können entsprechend nach Dike „historisch daraufhin befragt werden, warum es gegenwärtig nie dagewesene Migrantenströme aus Afrika und dem Mittleren Osten über das Mittelmeer – der tödlichsten Grenze der heutigen Welt – nach Europa gibt.“ Ihre afrikanische und nigerianische Perspektive verortet sie in ihrer Überzeugung, „dass Sklaverei immer schon die Grundlage der modernen Welt und ihrer Geschichte war. Sklaverei hat nie wirklich aufgehört. Das Wort Sklaverei hat neue Namen angenommen, die vom Westen geprägt sind wie zum Beispiel Menschenhandel.“
 
Im Objektbild Permeations (2010) überträgt Dike die Migrationsdynamik in eine abstrakt sinnliche Form, indem sie traditionell nicht zusammengehörige Materialien wie Acrylfarbe, Metallbehälter, leere Farbtuben und Netze zusammenzwingt. Aus der Durchdringung des Fremden entstehen so neue hybride Identitäten. Die Verwendung acrylbasierter Abfallprodukte der nigerianischen Erdölverarbeitung veranschaulicht, wie die sklavenhaften Ausbeutungsstrukturen in der eigenen Gesellschaft verankert sind. Mit Blick auf Nigeria hebt Dike die Ironie hervor, „den Sklavenhandel weiter zu beklagen, während unter anderem afrikanische Ressourcen in Form von menschlichem Kapital auswärts dazu benutzt werden, überseeische Länder zum Schaden des afrikanischen Kontinents zu entwickeln. […] Wieder einmal sind die afrikanischen Machthaber zu sehr darauf erpicht, das Wohlergehen ihrer Leute gegen Petrodollar einzutauschen. Ich befürchte, dass eine dauerhafte Veränderung ohne Kenntnis der Geschichte schwerlich erreicht werden kann.“ (Kat.: Waka-Into-Bondage: The Last ¾ Mile, 2008)

KOLONIALE SPUREN IN MARKT

Während der Sklavenhandel mit seinen entmenschlichenden Praktiken als ein Zerrbild des Marktes erscheint, verkörpert das traditionelle Marktleben mit seiner kulturellen Vielfalt und den wechselnden Zugehörigkeiten die Basis des afrikanischen Gemeinwesens. Für Ndidi Dike sind Märkte eine Fundgrube voller ästhetischer und inhaltlicher Möglichkeiten: „Der typisch nigerianische Freiluftmarkt regt die Sinne an, eine Explosion von Seheindrücken, Geräuschen und Gerüchen überflutet die Sinne der Besucher, im hektischen Lebensstrom und halsbrecherischem Wettrennen gegen die Zeit, um die Blicke und das Interesse aller in Sichtweite anzuziehen. Die Tätigkeiten und Stände auf dem Marktplatz in Lagos strahlen ein starkes Gespür für Farbe, Synergie und Vitalität aus. Dies bezeugt der Anblick der verschiedenen Produkte, Stoffe mit maßgefertigten Entwürfen, die die lokalen traditionellen Kulturen widerspiegeln, Second Hand-Kleidung, Schmuck, Esswaren etc. Die Markthändlerinnen errichten bewusst Systeme, die ästhetisch darauf angelegt sind, die Schönheit und Form der Produkte vorzuführen und die Wirtschaftlichkeit des Wunsches auszureizen, indem sie in eine direkte Interaktion mit den Besuchern treten."

In der Collage-Installation Trace: Transactional Aesthetics präsentiert Dike in Zusammenarbeit mit Elia Nurvista und Temitayo Ogunbiyi auf der Biennale Jogja XIII 2015 die unterschiedliche Warenästhetik und Handelsbräuche in Nigeria und Indonesien. Den Ausgangspunkt formen fotografische Bilder, die Dike in Installationen, Assemblagen und abstrakten Bildern wiederaufleben lässt. Diese ästhetische Aufbereitung des Marktes soll es den Zuschauern ermöglichen, daran kulturelle, wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Austauschvorgänge zu erforschen. Schon allein in Nahrungsmitteln sind vielzählige Faktoren wie Produktion, Gesundheit, Regulierung, Verteilung oder Patentrechte enthalten, die wir, so Dike, „zu vergessen neigen, wenn wir verhandeln, einkaufen und diese Güter konsumieren.“
 
Eine besondere Rolle in Trace nehmen das englische Teetablett, die Geldwährung und nigerianische Exportgüter wie Gewürznelken, Erdnüsse und Kakao ein, insofern sie die gemeinsame koloniale Vergangenheit von Nigeria und Indonesien wachrufen. Allerdings stellt Dike hier weniger den Aspekt der Ausbeutung in den Vordergrund, sondern die kulturellen Bande, die durch die Handelspolitik gewebt werden: „Die Teekultur ist ursprünglich nicht westlich, sondern eine umgewandelte Kultur, die verändert, neudefiniert und dann in andere Kulturen mit einer eigenen Tradition des Brühens zur kulturellen Ausrichtung eingeführt wurde. Die Idee von Tee ist zu einem Bindeglied zwischen unseren kulturellen Handelsformen geworden.“ Die Spuren der kolonialen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen reichen so bis in die heutige Konsumwelt und das kulturelle Selbstverständnis der Menschen hinein, von wo aus sie wiederum kritisch hinterfragt werden können.   

ZWISCHEN AUSTAUSCH UND AUSGRENZUNG 

Ndidi Dike: They can´t stop migration (laufendes Projekt, Detail) Ndidi Dike: They can´t stop migration (laufendes Projekt, Detail) | Foto: Ndidi Dike
In schroffem Gegensatz zu Dikes Marktinstallation Trace steht ihr laufendes Projekt They can’t stop migration, in dem sie – angeregt durch die europäische Migrationskrise 2015 – das Thema Zwangsmigration wiederaufnimmt. In Trace rufen die sinnlich ansprechenden Marktwaren: Schaut her, wie besonders ich bin. Nehmt mich mit! Die Installation zum Thema Migration hingegen stellt sich dem Betrachter wie ein Grenzzaun abwehrend entgegen. Als Material verwendet Dike Stacheldraht, wie er weltweit in Grenzgebieten eingesetzt wird, um Flüchtlinge aufzuhalten und Machtverhältnisse zu markieren: „Die visuelle und physische Verkörperung von Grenzschutz und Ausschluss liegt mithin in der Verwendung von Stacheldraht, der zum Symbol für ZUTRITT VERBOTEN geworden ist.“
 
Dikes Stacheldrahtgerüst wird indes von unzähligen zu Drahtskeletten degradierten Flüchtlingen bevölkert. Die ursprüngliche Trennungsfunktion bricht dadurch zusammen und an deren Stelle tritt die Grenzüberschreitung unter unmenschlichen Bedingungen: „Der Glaube, die Eindringlinge und Menschenscharen ließen sich mittels Grenzen davon abhalten, in ein Land einzufallen, lässt sich nicht mehr aufrechterhalten. Solche Barrieren werden zerteilt, niedergerissen und überstiegen, in einem verzweifelten Ansuchen um ein neues Leben.“ Ndidi Dikes Fokuswechsel von historischen Ereignissen zu geschichtsträchtigen Materialien lässt somit die grenzüberschreitenden Austauschströme sichtbar werden. Derart umreißen ihre Installationen zu Sklaverei, Markt und Migration das Spannungsfeld zwischen Zwangsmigration und der Idee von freier Migration für einen selbstbestimmten Austausch.