Paradoxes and Room for Growth

From the series Roadmates © Aderemi Adegbite
From the series Roadmates © Aderemi Adegbite | Photo (detail): © Aderemi Adegbite

The Nigerian photographic scene, centred on Lagos, is booming. The 20 million-strong metropolis is an inexhaustible source of inspiration for photographers, feeding its dramas, energies and relentless contradictions into the development of their art. 

Photographer Uche Okpa-Iroha describes the fascination of the Nigerian mega-city: ‘Lagos is organic, exuberant, dynamic, mobile, always changing. The city is a cauldron of ideas for artists, photographers in particular. It offers subjects ranging from people and society, politics, culture, religion, affluence and poverty, to pop culture and hip hop music.’ For Okpa-Iroha, the rapidly-expanding city ‘starkly highlights the paradoxes of life.’ The urban development challenges it poses are of interest not only to researchers, but also to well-known photographers like J.D. Okhai Ojeikere, Tam Fiofori, Jide Adeniyi-Jones, Don Barber, Pius Utomi Ekpei, George Osodi, Akintunde Akinleye and Akinbode Akinbiyi. The images of press photographers like Peter Obe, Matthew Faji, Cornelius Oyemade and Sunmi Smart-Cole have become part of Nigeria’s national consciousness. Marc-André Schmachtel, Director of the Goethe Institute in Lagos, thinks the many interesting new talents emerging on the art photography scene will wield similar influence in the future. Photography, powered by its impetus towards critical intervention, is breaking through traditional artistic boundaries.

A SHADOWY EXISTENCE

How do you become a photographer if you have no knowledge of the capabilities of the medium? This question was posed by PAN (the Photographers Association of Nigeria) at their 1996 exhibition. On Lagos streets, people often reacted aggressively to being photographed, meaning that even in the context of art school training, photography was an activity that took place in the shadows. It took time for its intrinsic aesthetic value to be recognised by Nigerian society.

Don Barber’s assertion, during the PAN exhibition, that the number of photographers in Nigeria would rocket if more people had access to the medium, has been borne out. Digitalisation has led to an acceleration in the production and distribution of images. A niche market has also developed for analogue photography. The question of what it means to be a photographer has become more relevant than ever. Most professional photographers pay the bills by working on weddings and commercial events, in the fashion industry, in advertising, or for press agencies. But they also strive to make space for their own artistic projects. Schmachtel points out that these different photographic spheres can inform each other:  ‘as a documentary or reportage photographer you can reach a wider public, but you can also approach your images in an artistic way.’

SPACES FOR GROWTH

The turn of the millennium was a key moment for photographic art in Lagos: it began to achieve international recognition. New initiatives like the Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), the African Artist Foundation and the LagosPhoto Festival were born. Photography, film, video, performance and installation art are all welcome in the gallery spaces of Bisi Silva, founder and curator of the CCA. Workshops, training and residency programmes have been offered by the Goethe Institute and the Nlele Institute (TNI ACP). Schmachtel speaks of a fruitful expansion, ‘which has led to intensive discussions about the photographic medium. We try to think outside the box, to present different perspectives on what photography can be.’

The Bamako Rencontres photo biennale in Mali generated international attention and was an important milestone in the development of photography in Nigeria, and in Africa as a whole. When Akinbode Akinbiyi joined the curatorial team in 2001, he invited Uche James-Iroha, Kelechi Amadi-Obi and Toyin Sokefun to the biennale. Amaize Ojeikere also attended as a visitor. All four already knew each other from Lagos, but their exposure to the vast variety of African photography at the biennale inspired them to launch a collaborative project. Depth of Field was born, and became a nucleus for a new generation of Nigerian photographers. The group’s name expressed its desire to develop a photographic research culture, to aim for greater depth in projects, and to explore people’s identities by documenting their daily lives.

Amadi-Obi, who contributed to the successful public marketing of Depth of Field, has become a respected fashion and lifestyle photographer in Lagos.  Sokefun has made a name for herself as a portrait photographer, alongside a career as a singer, while James-Iroha has created a space for professional work, learning and exchange in the form of his Photo Garage platform. Emeka Okereke, who, like Toyosi, joined the group later, has worked with Ojeikere to establish the trans-African project Invisible Borders. Depth of Field’s 2005 London exhibition was what inspired Okpa-Iroha, cousin of James-Iroha, to become a photographer: ‘My God, is this photography? I was seeing images of Lagos I’d never seen before, a different point of view, different perspectives. I didn't know photography could be a visual language. Yeah, I'll do photography.’

Thanks to the resourceful attitude of those involved, various initiatives have developed momentum: the Centre of Learning for Photography in Africa, a network of art photography training institutes, grew out of a masterclass run through the Goethe Institute by Akinbode Akinbiyi. The workshop Football Worlds 2006, also led by Akinbiyi, gave birth to the Black Box group, which includes Okpa-Iroha, Andrew Esiebo und Abraham Oghobase. Its aim, according to Okpa-Iroha, is to develop photographers so they can collaborate regularly and critically evaluate their work. A workshop for female photographers offered by the Goethe Institute and Camara Studios in 2011 led to the collective X-Perspective, which Yetunde Babaeko hopes will attract more women to photography.

In 2013, Okpa-Iroha founded the Nlele Institute, a photography school where photographers ‘develop their vision, define their positions, find their voice and engage critically with their surroundings.’ He says: ‘we work with unknown photographers on principle. We find them, incubate them, then give them exposure through our projects, Lagos OPEN RANGE and PHOTOPARTY Lagos.’ The Lagos OPEN RANGE exhibition, complementing the LagosPhoto festival, is aimed primarily at unknown but promising local photographers with a consistent portfolio. Because many Nigerian photographers work across national boundaries, the national scene communicates closely with the international one.

Andrew Esiebo: from the series Transformation / © GIZ Nigeria Andrew Esiebo: from the series Transformation / © GIZ Nigeria | Photo: © GIZ Nigeria

PHOTOGRAPHIC ENCOUNTERS

One article cannot hope to do justice to the multiplicity of photographic voices in Lagos. Just three snapshots of the photographic art of the city are offered here. The profound changes occurring in the social and spatial spheres in Nigeria have led to a dominant role for reportage and documentary photography. Andrew Esiebo elevates reportage photography to the level of art, describing himself as a ‘visual narrator’ of social themes such as religion, sexuality and popular culture. Esiebo says ‘what I’ve noticed in the course of my work is that my stories are always human stories, about people struggling for a better life.’ He sees social media as an opportunity ‘to get closer to people and get direct feedback from them. Your images can prompt people to consider how they feel about the places you depict.’ In his 2015 exhibition Transformation, Esiebo investigates urban change in Lagos and Abuja. While, in Lagos, change is inscribed in the urban infrastructure itself, in the young capital city it is principally visible in the ways in which spaces affect the lives of those who have come to occupy them.

Finish Line / © Uche Okpa-Iroha Finish Line / © Uche Okpa-Iroha | Photo: © Uche Okpa-Iroha Uche Okpa-Iroha belongs to a group of photographers - including Abraham Oghobase, Uche James-Iroha, Adeola Olagunju, Chidinma Nnorom Chinke, Nneka Iwunna, Adolphus Opara, Lakin Ogunbanwo and Jenevieve Aken - whose work is more conceptual. Okpa-Iroha started out in 2006, with reportage and street photography. This continues to be an influence, as he says: ‘it would be impossible to overstate how much Lagos as a city influenced, inspired and shaped my early works.’ The turning point for him was a residency at the art school Rijksakademie van Beeldene Kunsten, in Amsterdam: ‘I had easy access to research materials and information. Being in that environment helped me to develop my critical position on a variety of issues. That was when I started working conceptually and using cinematic narratives in my projects. But I still go to the streets to take photographs […].  That impetus towards the street will always be with me, because it was so crucial to my beginnings as a photographer.’ In Okpa-Iroha’s images of Lagos, people often seem to be moving between being subjects and viewers of the picture: the series Finding features country borders, in Plantation Boy, Okpa-Iroha transplants himself into scenes from The Godfather. Through this interplay between spontaneous, constructed and conceptual moments, Okpa-Iroha prompts both identification and critical engagement with the environment.

Artists like Aderemi Adegbite, Abraham Oghobase, Charles Okereke and Tunji Lana have opened up new photographic vistas through their cross-media work. Adegbite came to photography via writing, discovering it in 2010 to be ‘another way of writing…I was captivated by the ability of images to walk the delicate line between positive and negative.’ When, in 2012, he documented Nigeria’s mass protests against the abolition of petrol subsidies, he discovered the power of the image as a tool for social change. His current project, Roadmates, explores the street as a place of both convergence and divergence: ‘the collage of multiple exposures is both a physical and a metaphysical portrait of  people working on the commercial bus routes in Ghana and Nigeria. Although their job description is the same, their mannerisms distinguish them from each other. I see my own nature, the structure and patterns of my own life, in these people.’ Adegbite’s photo-collages project an individual’s movements through space and time onto an image of the city. Within the outlines of the urban space, drawn by the socio-politically dominant, the inhabitants seek to create their own personal spaces.

The marked social consciousness of many Lagos photographers has gone some way towards uniting artistic and social concerns. For Okpa-Iroha, the biggest challenge is ‘creating more awareness by engaging people and communities, through projects that address exclusion and other relevant collaborative processes that can lead to visible and tangible social change.’ The fabric of the megacity of Lagos is made up of varying elements, often unknown to each other until they appear together unexpectedly in a photograph. At the same time, Lagos is only one of the many towns and villages that create the distinct character of Nigeria, and offer opportunities for dialogue between different photographic perspectives.

Fotoszene in Lagos Raum für Wachstum und Paradoxe

Aus der Serie Roadmates / © Aderemi Adegbite
Aus der Serie Roadmates / © Aderemi Adegbite | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Aderemi Adegbite

Ausgehend von Lagos durchlebt die nigerianische Fotoszene gegenwärtig einen beeindruckenden Aufschwung. Die 20 Millionen-Metropole stellt für Fotografen eine unerschöpfliche Motivquelle dar, die sich mit ihren Dramen, ihrer Energie und ihren geballten Widersprüchen in die Geschichte der Fotografie einschreibt.

„Lagos ist sehr organisch, überbordend, dynamisch, beweglich und in ständiger Veränderung begriffen. Mit ihren vielen Themen und Gegenständen dient Lagos vielen Künstlern und insbesondere Fotografen als Nährboden von Ideen, die von Mensch und Gesellschaft, Politik, Kultur, Überfluss und Armut bis zu Bildern der Popkultur und Hip Hop Musik reichen. Es gibt Raum für Wachstum, Ausbreitung und Experimente.“ Mit diesen Worten beschreibt der Fotograf Uche Okpa-Iroha die Faszination der nigerianischen Megacity, welche „die Paradoxe des Lebens ans Licht bringt.“ Die rasant wachsende Stadt und die damit einhergehenden urbanistischen Fragestellungen ziehen nicht nur Stadtforscher an, sondern auch namhafte Fotografen wie J.D. Okhai Ojeikere, Tam Fiofori, Jide Adeniyi-Jones, Don Barber, Pius Utomi Ekpei, George Osodi, Akintunde Akinleye und Akinbode Akinbiyi. Die Bilder von Pressefotografen wie Peter Obe, Matthew Faji, Cornelius Oyemade und Sunmi Smart-Cole prägen das nationale Gedächtnis. Marc-André Schmachtel, der Leiter des Goethe-Instituts in Lagos, ist überzeugt, dass die vielen interessanten, neu aufstrebenden Fotografen die Kunstszene künftig stark beeinflussen werden. Die Fotografie durchbricht die herkömmlichen Grenzen, angetrieben vom Bedürfnis nach kritischer Intervention.

SCHATTENDASEIN

Wie soll man Fotograf werden, wenn man keine Vorstellung von den Möglichkeiten des neuen Bildmediums hat? Diese Frage stellten sich Fotografen auf der Ausstellung von PAN (Photographers Association of Nigeria) 1996. Auf den Straßen von Lagos reagierten die Leute oft abwehrend aggressiv auf Kameras und auch an den Ausbildungsstätten führte die Fotografie ein Schattendasein, so dass in Nigeria lange Zeit ein Vakuum hinsichtlich ihres ästhetischen Eigenwertes bestand.

Die von Don Barber im Rahmen der PAN-Ausstellung geäußerte Vermutung, dass die Anzahl an Fotografen in Nigeria in die Höhe schnellen würde, wenn die Menschen nur Zugang dazu hätten, hat sich heute bestätigt. So hat die Digitalisierung zu einer Beschleunigung der Bildproduktion und -verbreitung geführt, und auch für analoge Fotografie ist ein Nischenmarkt entstanden. Damit spitzt sich die Frage zu: Was heißt es, ein Fotograf zu sein? Zwar bestreiten die meisten Fotografen ihren Lebensunterhalt weiterhin über kommerzielle Veranstaltungen, Hochzeiten, Werbung, Modeindustrie oder Presseagenturen. Doch schaffen sie sich unermüdlich Freiräume für künstlerische Projekte. Schmachtel führt an, wie sich das Arbeiten in verschiedenen Bereichen gegenseitig bedingt, da man sich „einerseits als Reportage- und Dokumentarfotograf mehr Input holt, andererseits das Gesehene auch künstlerisch verarbeiten kann.“

WACHSTUMSRÄUME

Die Fotoszene in Lagos hat seit 2000 einen gewaltigen Sprung getan und sich internationale Anerkennung verschafft. Dieser Entwicklungsschub wurde maßgeblich durch junge Initiativen wie das Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), die African Artist Foundation und das LagosPhoto Festival eingeleitet. Fotografie, Film, Video, Performance und Installation zogen in den Galerieraum von Bisi Silva, der Gründerin und Kuratorin des Kunstzentrums CCA. Hierauf bauten das Goethe-Institut und das Nlele Institute (TNI ACP) mittels Workshops, Trainingsangeboten und Residenzprogrammen auf. Schmachtel spricht von einer fruchtbaren Ergänzung, „aus der sich eine recht intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Fotografie ergeben hat. Wir versuchen, über den Tellerrand hinauszublicken und auch andere Perspektiven zu präsentieren, wie man Fotografie sehen kann.“

Eine wichtige Instanz für die Entwicklung der Fotografie in Nigeria und ganz Afrika ist die international beachtete Foto-Biennale Bamako Rencontres in Mali. Als Akinbode Akinbiyi 2001 im Kuratorenteam mitwirkte, kamen auf seine Einladung hin Uche James-Iroha, Kelechi Amadi-Obi, Toyin Sokefun und als Besucher Amaize Ojeikere zur Biennale. Alle vier kannten sich schon aus Lagos, indes war die Begegnung mit der Vielfalt afrikanischer Fotografie so beeindruckend, dass sie vor Ort den Entschluss fassten, zusammenzuarbeiten. Dies war der Beginn der Gruppe Depth of Field, die zur Keimzelle der neuen nigerianischen Fotografengeneration wurde. Der Name „Tiefenschärfe“ steht für ihr Bestreben, bildnerisch eine Forschungskultur zu absorbieren, um den Projekten Tiefe zu geben und die Identität der Bewohner in ihrem Lebensalltag zu ergründen.

Amadi-Obi, der zum erfolgreichen Öffentlichkeitsauftritt von Depth of Field beigetragen hat, ist in Lagos im Bereich Mode und Lifestyle zu Ansehen gekommen. Sokefun hat sich als Porträtfotografin und auch als Sängerin einen Namen gemacht, während James-Iroha mit der Plattform Photo Garage einen Raum zum professionellen Arbeiten, Lernen und Austauschen geschaffen hat. Emeka Okereke, der wie Toyosi später zur Gruppe hinzukam, hat mit Ojeikere das transafrikanische Projekt Invisible Borders etabliert. Die Ausstellung von Depth of Field in London 2005 gab Okpa-Iroha (Cousin von James-Iroha) den Anstoß, Fotograf zu werden: „Oh mein Gott, ist das Fotografie? Ich sah Bilder von Lagos, wie ich sie nie zuvor gesehen hatte, andere Blickwinkel, verschiedene Perspektiven. Mir war nicht bewusst gewesen, dass Fotografie eine visuelle Sprache sein kann. Ja, ich werde fotografieren.“

Angetrieben von der Haltung eines „we do it ourselves“, entfalteten die Initiativen eine Eigendynamik: Aus der vom Goethe-Institut angebotenen Master Class mit Akinbode Akinbiyi entstanden die Centers of Learning for Photography in Africa, einem Netzwerk von Ausbildungsinstituten für künstlerische Fotografie. Der von Akinbiyi geleitete Workshop Football Worlds 2006 war die Geburtsstunde der Gruppe Black Box, unter anderem mit Okpa-Iroha, Andrew Esiebo und Abraham Oghobase. Sie verfolgten nach Okpa-Iroha den alleinigen Zweck, sich weiterzuentwickeln, indem sie regelmäßig zusammenarbeiteten und ihre Arbeiten kritisch sichteten. Der an weibliche Fotografen gerichtete Workshop vom Goethe-Institut und Camara Studios mündete 2011 in der Kollektivbildung X-Perspective, um laut Yetunde Babaeko weitere Frauen zum Fotografieren zu ermutigen.

Mit dem Nlele-Institut hat Okpa-Iroha 2013 eine Fotoschule ins Leben gerufen, in der Fotografen „ihre Vision entwickeln, ihre Position definieren, eine Stimme erhalten und sich zugleich kritisch mit ihrer Umgebung befassen. […] Wir arbeiten grundsätzlich mit unbekannten Fotografen – wir entdecken sie, bringen sie zur Reife und machen sie durch unsere Projekte Lagos OPEN RANGE und FOTOPARTY Lagos sichtbar.“ Die Ausstellung Lagos OPEN RANGE richtet sich in Ergänzung zum LagosPhoto Festival primär an lokale, noch unbekannte, aber vielversprechende Fotografen mit konsistentem Portfolio. Da viele nigerianische Fotografen länderübergreifend tätig sind, profiliert sich die nationale Fotoszene in direktem Austausch mit den internationalen Entwicklungen.
Andrew Esiebo: Aus der Serie Transformation / © GIZ Nigeria Andrew Esiebo: Aus der Serie Transformation / © GIZ Nigeria | Foto: © GIZ Nigeria

FOTOGRAFISCHE BEGEGNUNGEN

Kein Artikel vermag die Vielfalt an fotografischen Stimmen in Lagos einzufangen, deshalb seien fragmentarisch drei Begegnungen aus dem Stadtgeschehen herausgriffen. Angesichts der tiefgreifenden räumlich-sozialen Wandlungsprozesse in Nigeria kommt der Reportage- und Dokumentarfotografie eine dominante Stellung zu. Andrew Esiebo hebt als „visueller Geschichtenerzähler“ von gesellschaftlichen Themen wie Populärkultur, Sexualität und Religion die Reportage-Fotografie auf eine künstlerische Ebene. „Im Grunde handeln alle Geschichten von Menschen, die für ein besseres Leben kämpfen“, sagt Esiebo. Die sozialen Medien nimmt er als Möglichkeit wahr, „um den Menschen noch näher zu sein und direkte Rückmeldung zu bekommen. Die Fotos bringen den Menschen ins Bewusstsein, was sie über die Orte denken, an denen die Bilder entstanden sind.“ In seiner Ausstellung Transformation (2015) geht Esiebo dem urbanen Wandel in Lagos und Abuja nach. Während in Lagos die Veränderung in die urbane Infrastruktur eingeschrieben ist, wird in der jungen Hauptstadt sichtbar, wie der Raum das Leben der hinzugezogenen Menschen verändert.

Finish Line / © Uche Okpa-Iroha Finish Line / © Uche Okpa-Iroha | Foto: © Uche Okpa-Iroha
Uche Okpa-Iroha gehört ebenso wie Abraham Oghobase, Uche James-Iroha, Adeola Olagunju, Chidinma Nnorom Chinke, Nneka Iwunna, Adolphus Opara, Lakin Ogunbanwo und Jenevieve Aken zu jenen Fotografen, die sich in eine konzeptuelle Richtung entwickelt haben. Die künstlerischen Anfänge Okpa-Irohas liegen 2006 in der Reportage- und Straßenfotografie, die ihn weiterhin prägt: „Ich kann nicht oft genug betonen, wie Lagos als Stadt meine frühen Werke beeinflusst, inspiriert und geformt hat.“ Den Wendepunkt brachte seine Residenz an der Rijksakademie van beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam: „Der Zugang zu Forschungsmaterial und Information war leicht und diese Umgebung half mir, eine kritische Position gegenüber Themen zu entwickeln. Ich begann, konzeptuell zu arbeiten und Filmerzählungen in meine Projekte einzubeziehen. Aber ich ziehe immer noch durch die Straßen zum Fotografieren […]. Man kann mir den Hang zur Straße nicht nehmen aufgrund meiner Fundierung als Fotograf.“ In Okpa-Irohas Lagos-Bildern scheinen sich die Menschen oft zwischen Bildraum und Betrachterraum zu bewegen; in der Serie Finding rest fotografiert sich Okpa-Iroha an Ländergrenzen; und in Plantation Boy versetzt er sich in Filmszenen von Der Pate hinein. Durch diese Dynamik zwischen spontanen, konstruierten und konzeptuellen Momenten regt Okpa-Iroha gleicherweise zu einer Identifikation und zu einer kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Umgebung an.

Künstler wie Aderemi Adegbite oder auch Abraham Oghobase, Charles Okereke und Tunji Lana eröffnen durch ihr medienübergreifendes Arbeiten neue Wege in der Fotografie. Adegbite kam über das Schreiben zur Fotografie, das er 2010 „als ein anderes Schreibmedium“ für sich entdeckte: „Mich hat die Fähigkeit von Bildern fasziniert, eine feine Linie zwischen Positivem und Negativem zu ziehen.“ Indem er 2012 die Massenproteste gegen die Abschaffung von Benzinsubventionen in Nigeria dokumentierte, lernte er, Bilder als Instrument für sozialen Wandel einzusetzen. Im aktuellen Projekt Roadmates thematisiert Adegbite die Straße als Ort des Zusammenkommens und des Auseinandergehens: „Diese mehrlagige Collage verdoppelt sich in ein physisches und ein metaphysisches Porträt der Menschen, die Tätigkeiten in kommerziellen Bussen in Ghana und Nigeria ausüben. Obwohl ihre Stellenbeschreibung gleich ist, unterscheiden sie sich in ihren Eigenschaften voneinander. In diesen Menschen erkenne ich meine wahre Natur und Struktur meiner Lebenslinien und Muster.“ Adegbites Fotocollagen projizieren so die eigene Bewegung durch Raum und Zeit in das Stadtbild hinein. Die Straßenlinien umreißen die persönlichen Räume, die sich die Einwohner innerhalb der sozialpolitischen Machtinteressen zu schaffen suchen.

Durch das ausgeprägte gesellschaftliche Verantwortungsbewusstsein vieler Fotografen in Lagos nähern sich künstlerische und soziale Handlung einander an. Okpa-Iroha sieht entsprechend die größte Herausforderung darin, „mehr Bewusstsein zu stiften, indem man die Menschen der nigerianischen Gesellschaft in Projekte zu Ausgrenzungsfragen und anderen Gemeinschaftsprozessen einbezieht, die zu sichtbaren und spürbaren sozialen Änderungen führen können“. Die Megacity Lagos erweist sich als ein Gefüge von verschiedenen Elementen, die sich oft der anderen nicht bewusst sind, bis sie sich überraschend in Bildern zusammenfügen. Zugleich ist Lagos nur eine von vielen Städten und Ortschaften, die Nigeria ein jeweils eigenes Gepräge geben und über die verschiedenen fotografischen Sichtweisen einen Dialog eingehen.