Photographer Akinbode Akinbiyi Urban wanderer from Lagos

 Akinbode Akinbiyi © Claudia Cuadra
Akinbode Akinbiyi © Claudia Cuadra | Photo (detail): © Claudia Cuadra

The photographer Akinbode Akinbiyi wanders the winding streets of African towns telling their stories in pictures. His home town of Lagos has a special significance for him. For the last thirty years, his camera has documented the rapid development of the Nigerian megacity. His latest project will gather all his images together in a book in the same way as a ‘jazz song’.

Akinbode Akinbiyi is a photographer, writer and curator, but above all he is an urban wanderer, recording the many and varied tales of towns and cities with his camera. He was born of Nigerian parents in Oxford in 1946, grew up in England and Nigeria, and has lived in Berlin since 1991. His artistic work melds the outsider eye with that of the participant. Rather than seeing himself as a ‘flâneur’ in the Baudelairian sense, he relinquishes the role of observer to enter into the scene, become part of its narrative and influence it with his understanding, ‘to jump inside the story and flow with it.’

FROM WALKING TO PHOTOGRAPHY

Akinbiyi discovered walking before photography. He was inspired by his maternal great-grandmother, who would walk from the central Lagos district of Obalende to Ikoyi to spend the day with her great-grandchildren, then walk back again in the heat. ‘That was my first inkling of the dignity of walking, of going on foot.’ It was at boarding school in England that the young Akinbiyi embarked on his own journey as a rambler. He continued to walk back in Nigeria, during his time studying English language and literature in Ibadan. However it was only while doing further studies in England and Germany that the camera came out.
 
Akinbiyi bought his first SLR camera in 1974, and spent the next three years teaching himself to take photographs. He was living in Heidelberg at the time and considering a doctorate in German literature. The decision to pursue photography professionally came in 1977, when he went to FESTAC (the Second World Black and African Festival of Arts and Culture) in Lagos with a friend, photographer Jide Adeniyi-Jones, and intensively documented this gathering of African artists. In 1990, Akinbiyi discovered the Rolleiflex medium-format camera. ‘The only disadvantages, which aren’t actually disadvantages at all, are that I have to develop the film myself, and there are only twelve exposures in each film.’ Although he occasionally uses colour, black and white is Akinbiyi’s favoured format. Career-defining moments have included his photo reports for Stern magazine and the arts magazine Du, the founding of the UMZANSI cultural centre in Durban, South Africa in 2003, his curatorial role for the Rencontres Africaines de la Photographie photographic biennales in Mali in 2001 and 2003, and of course his own exhibitions, in locations including Tokyo, Paris and Johannesburg, which have showcased his life-long interest in urban photography.
 
Akinbiyi is now planning a photo book about Lagos. His predilection for photo books is linked to his love of literature: just as one can read words, so one can also read images. ‘I actually always wanted to be a writer. I find the word writer [literally ‘putter down of script’] wonderful in German: you place the text, here or there, and you can do the same thing with pictures, as a ‘putter down of pictures.’ You can tell stories so well that way.’

ON FOOT AMONGST PEDESTRIANS

Submerged in the crowds of pedestrians, Akinbiyi treads softly through the streets. His two-eyed camera seems as much an extension of his wiry body as his robust brown leather shoes. His calm, benign demeanour is both a protective shield and an access pass, allowing his wanderings to take him into areas considered unsafe by some. As an artist, his aim is to try to remove barriers, to counteract the prevailing mood of circumscription by embracing openness.
 
The deeper the engagement with the surroundings, the more intense the experience at the moment of capture. Each shot is preceded by a dialogue: how close should I get to this? How far back should I pull? When photographing people, in particular, the distance at which photographer and subject can best interact must be found. For Akinbiyi, getting closer to your environment is a form of self-knowledge: ‘even when you have the subject there in front of you, you need to give something of yourself before you can fully receive them. You can’t see properly until you know yourself.’
 
The aim of Akinbiyi’s wanderings is to ‘get beneath the surface of things, to look for a better understanding of life on earth and the way different planes and paths intersect, the way threads come together and separate – I try to photograph all of that.’ He uses the word ‘serendipity’ to describe those moments which are not chance in the conventional sense, but the coincidence of numerous threads in one image. The chaos that is part and parcel of Lagos also has form: ‘form is everything, and form tells a story.’

IMAGE JAZZ

Just as Lagos is chaotic at first glance, Akinbiyi wants his photo book to present images jumbled together ‘like jazz, with its higgledy-piggledy staccato sounds.’ The book will collect around 120 pictures, from 1984 to the present. Akinbiyi uses his photographs to conjure an imaginary Lagos, one without temporal or spatial borders. Billposting, for example, has been banned in Lagos for years, but an older Lagos is evoked through a photo of a peeling billposter of the Nigerian musician Femi Kuti in Berlin:
 
‘Sometimes pictures might follow on almost chronologically, then there’s a break and there might even be pictures from somewhere else. Often you don’t notice – you think that’s Lagos too, or it could be Lagos, or Berlin, or London, or Paris, or Barcelona…you don’t know. I’ve given the places and dates, nothing more, at the end of the book. The reason is that for me, Lagos is a city that exists, but it’s also a fictional city, an imaginary city. I carry my Lagos with me everywhere. ’
 
An important thematic thread is the street, and in particular crossroads, hubs which connect all kinds of places, from business districts to rubble-strewn wasteland. These urban intersections could also be seen as symbols for the role of the image as a point at which numerous stories, and their multiple meanings, can coincide.

LAGOS STORIES

When Akinbiyi first started taking photographs in Lagos, in the 1980s, the mood was so charged he was often driven away from the streets. Instead, he mingled with the beach photographers on Bar Beach. A spirit of optimism followed: ‘everything was lively and chaotic.’ Acceptance of photographers has increased since those days, but photography in public spaces still demands sensitivity. There are some occasions, though – city festivals, even funerals – during which the private sphere is burst open: ‘for a moment everything is accessible.’
 
In Akinbiyi’s pictures, every element, down to the smallest detail, has the potential to become a protagonist in the story: passers-by, cars and buses speeding in every direction, forgotten rough sleepers, animals, buildings, bridges, goods changing hands, images. Branched electricity pylons criss-cross the city like orientation lines, drawing the exterior space into the picture too, another layer of the city’s undergrowth.
 
The strong presence of nature in Akinbiyi’s photos of Lagos hints at the town’s origins in the coastal marshlands, now the Lekki Conservation Centre. As the city grew, green spaces like the Ikoyi Park had to make room for residential areas. Akinbiyi’s images capture the way nature continues to thrive within urban structures, as well as the way the urban encroaches on nature. Depending on your point of view, the jungle might be a place of archaic masks or of primordial figures. The shapeless, the ambiguous and the absent acquire meaning in Akinbiyi’s images, because, he says, ‘the routes you don’t want to take can sometimes be the ones that point the way.’

Ebute Meta, Lagos 1988 Photo and © Akinbode Akinbiyi Ebute Meta, Lagos 1988 Photo and © Akinbode Akinbiyi | Photo © Akinbode Akinbiyi

LANDMARKS

The first picture in Akinbiyi’s book is of a milestone. Milestones were introduced to Nigeria by the British in the colonial era. They were placed on streets, in collaboration with the postal services, to mark spaces and make distances measureable. According to Akinbiyi, they indicate the intersections, cornerstones and boundaries of a city which you pass, consciously or unconsciously, whenever you walk routes used in previous times. ‘They’re like landmarks or cornerstones in our subconscious, very strong visual messages […] As artists we should draw attention to them. I try to expose these kinds of things subtly, to create awareness of the visual jazz.’
 
Just as some people can read wind, clouds and the play of light and shadow before the approach of a storm, Akinbiyi can read his surroundings through landmarks. Text, on signs, posters, shops or clothes, is of particular interest to him. It can be interpreted as an announcement of what lies ahead: ‘you can see it that way: that the text describes the city.’ He abstracts these linguistic messages about the urban landscape and uses them in the picture, ‘to represent a certain narrative. Photos are visual fragments of what we call reality, often not even a second of it, but a fraction of a second. You can see a lot in that tiny fragment, if you want to.’
 
Akinbiyi’s book particularly reveals the autobiographical landmarks of his own Lagos. Some of these now only survive in memory, or in deeply buried layers of the city, but all form part of the Lagos of today and of tomorrow. The pictures stand for themselves, their stories ready to be endlessly re-walked and visually re-written.

Fotograf Akinbode Akinbiyi Der Stadtwanderer von Lagos

 Akinbode Akinbiyi © Claudia Cuadra
Akinbode Akinbiyi © Claudia Cuadra | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Claudia Cuadra

Der Fotograf Akinbode Akinbiyi wandert durch die verschlungenen Straßen der afrikanischen Städte und stellt deren Geschichten in Bildern dar. Lagos nimmt für ihn eine besondere Stellung ein, weil es seine Heimat ist. Seit 30 Jahren dokumentiert er mit der Kamera die rasante Entwicklung der nigerianischen Megacity, die er nun in einem Fotobuch wie ein „Jazzstück“ präsentieren will.

Akinbode Akinbiyi ist Fotograf, Schriftsteller und Kurator, vor allem aber ist er ein Wanderer in Städten, deren vielschichtige Geschichten er mit der Kamera aufzeichnet. Als Sohn nigerianischer Eltern 1946 in Oxford geboren, in England und Nigeria aufgewachsen und seit 1991 in Berlin wohnhaft, verschmelzen in seinem Kunstschaffen außenstehender und teilnehmender Blick. Deshalb will er nicht als ein Flaneur im Sinne Baudelaires verstanden werden. Vielmehr verlässt er die Beobachterhaltung, um im Bewegungsfluss mitzugehen, ihn verstehend zu durchdringen und so „in der Geschichte zu schwingen, mitzubewegen.“

VOM WANDERN ZUM FOTOGRAFIEREN

Akinbiyi entdeckte das Wandern vor dem Fotografieren. Einen starken Einfluss übte seine Urgroßmutter mütterlicherseits aus, die in Lagos vom Inselstadtteil Obalende bis nach Ikoyi lief, den Tag mit ihren Enkelkindern verbrachte und dann zurücklief, zu Fuß, in der Hitze: „Das war meine erste Ahnung von der Würde beim Wandern, beim Gehen.“ Als Akinbiyi nach England ins Internat kam, begann der Jugendliche mit seinen ausgedehnten Streifzügen. Auch während seines Studiums der Literatur und Anglistik im nigerianischen Ibadan wanderte er viel, aber erst seit seiner Studienzeit in England und Deutschland kam die Kamera hinzu.
 
Seine erste Spiegelreflexkamera kaufte sich Akinbiyi im Jahr 1974, um sich in den folgenden drei Jahren als Autodidakt auszubilden. Er lebte damals in Heidelberg und stand kurz davor, über deutsche Literatur zu promovieren. Die Entscheidung zugunsten der Fotografie fiel 1977, als er mit dem eng befreundeten Fotografen Jide Adeniyi-Jones zum FESTAC (Second World Black and African Festival of Arts and Culture) nach Lagos reiste und diese Zusammenkunft afrikanischer Künstler intensiv dokumentierte. Seit 1990 hat Akinbiyi die Rolleiflex-Mittelformatkamera für sich gefunden: „Der einzige Nachteil, der eigentlich keiner ist, liegt darin, dass ich die Filme entwickeln muss und es gibt nur zwölf Bilder pro Film.“ Obwohl er gelegentlich Farbe verwendet, ist Schwarz-Weiß sein bevorzugtes Medium. Schritte auf seiner Laufbahn waren seine Fotoreportagen im Stern‑Magazin und der Kulturzeitschrift Du, die Gründung des UMZANSI Kulturzentrums im südafrikanischen Durban (2003), seine Kuratorentätigkeit für die Fotobiennale Rencontres Africaines de la Photographie in Mali (2001 und 2003), und natürlich seine eigenen Ausstellungen unter anderem in Tokio, Paris und Johannesburg zu seinem Lebensthema der Stadtfotografie.
 
Gegenwärtig plant Akinbiyi ein Fotobuch zu Lagos. In seiner Vorliebe für Fotobücher zeigt sich seine Verbindung zur Literatur, denn so wie man Schrift liest, kann man auch Bilder – visuell – lesen: „Ich wollte eigentlich Schriftsteller werden. Das Wort Schriftsteller finde ich wunderbar auf Deutsch, weil man die Schrift hin und her stellt, so auch mit Bildern, eine Art von ‚Bildsteller‘, wenn du so willst. Dadurch kannst du wunderbar erzählen.“

ZU FUß UNTER FUßGÄNGERN

Untergetaucht in die Menge der Fußgänger zieht Akinbiyi sanften Schrittes durch die Straßen. Die zweiäugige Kamera scheint ebenso Teil seines schlanken, zähen Körpers zu sein wie die robusten braunen Lederschuhe. Seine gelassene, wohlwollende Ausstrahlung ist zugleich Schutzschild und Türöffner, um sich auch in die als unsicher geltenden Gegenden vorzuwagen. Als Künstler versucht er offen zu sein und eine der allgemeinen Eingrenzungstendenz gegenläufige Bewegung des Entgrenzens zu praktizieren.
 
Je tiefer die Auseinandersetzung mit der Umgebung, umso intensiver die Aufnahme. So geht jeder Bildaufnahme ein Dialog voraus: Wie nah gehe ich dran? Wie weit gehe ich zurück? Gerade wenn man Menschen fotografiert, ist es wichtig, diese Distanz herauszufinden, aus der man sich gegenseitig gut wahrnehmen kann. Die Annäherung an die Umgebung wird somit für Akinbiyi zur Selbsterkenntnis: „Auch wenn du ein Subjekt vor dir hast, gib von dir, und dann kannst du dieses Subjekt aufnehmen. Du kannst nicht richtig sehen, bis du dich selbst erkennst.“
 
Ziel seines Wanderns ist es, „nicht an der Oberfläche zu bleiben, sondern in die Tiefe zu gehen, unser Leben hier auf der Erde besser zu verstehen und wie die verschiedenen Ebenen und Wege sich kreuzen, wie die Fäden zusammenkommen und auseinandergehen, das alles versuche ich zu fotografieren.“ Mit dem Wort „serendipity“ bezeichnet der Fotograf jene Momente, die kein Zufall im herkömmlichen Sinne sind, sondern ein Zusammenfallen der verschiedenen Fäden in einem Bild. Denn auch das Chaos, das man mit Lagos verbindet, hat eine Form: „Form ist alles, und Form erzählt eine Geschichte.“

BILDER-JAZZ

So wie Lagos auf den ersten Blick chaotisch wirkt, möchte Akinbiyi in seinem Fotobuch alles durcheinander präsentieren „wie beim Jazz mit seinen durcheinandergehenden Staccatoklängen“. Das Buch soll etwa 120 Bilder umfassen von 1984 bis heute. Auf dem Wege der Fotografie erschafft Akinbiyi darin ein imaginäres Lagos ohne zeitliche und räumliche Grenzen. Während beispielsweise das Wildplakatieren in Lagos seit Jahren verbannt wurde, lebt im Foto von einem abgeblätterten Plakat des nigerianischen Musikers Femi Kuti in Berlin das alte Lagos fort:
 
„Es gibt manchmal ein paar Bilder, die fast chronologisch sind, dann folgt wieder ein Bruch und auch zum Teil Bilder von woanders. Aber das merkt man oft nicht, weil man denkt, dass es auch in Lagos ist, auch in Lagos sein könnte, oder in Berlin, London, Paris, Barcelona... Man weiß es nicht. Nur am Ende vom Buch habe ich den Ort, das Datum und sonst nichts angegeben. Deswegen: Lagos ist für mich eine Stadt, die existiert, sie ist hier, aber sie ist auch eine fiktionale Stadt, eine imaginäre Stadt, ich trage mein Lagos überall mit.“
 
Ein thematischer Faden ist die Straße, insbesondere Kreuzungen, durch die alle Orte von der Geschäftsachse bis hin zur kargen Trümmerlandschaft miteinander verwoben sind. Zudem versinnbildlichen urbane Knotenpunkte die Rolle des Bildes als eine Überlappung von verschiedenen Geschichten, die mehrfache Lesarten erlauben.

LAGOS-GESCHICHTEN

Als Akinbiyi in den 80er Jahren in Lagos zu fotografieren anfing, war die Stimmung so aufgeladen, dass er oft von der Straße verscheucht wurde und sich daher unter die Strandfotografen am Bar Beach mischte. Es folgte eine Aufbruchsstimmung: „Alles war quirliger und durcheinander.“ Obgleich die Akzeptanz für Fotografen seitdem gestiegen ist, verlangt Akinbiyis Arbeiten in öffentlichen Räumen gesellschaftliches Feingespür. Dann wiederum gibt es Gelegenheiten wie Stadtfeste oder auch Beerdigungen, wo die private Sphäre gesprengt wird und „einen Moment lang alles offen ist“.
 
In den Bildern kann jedes Element bis hin zum kleinsten Detail zum Akteur aufsteigen: die vorbeigehenden Menschen, die in alle Richtungen fahrenden Autos und Busse, die zurückgelassenen Opfer der Straße, Tiere, Gebäude, Brücken, die zirkulierenden Waren und Bilder. Verzweigte Strommasten legen sich wie Orientierungslinien über die Stadträume und beziehen den äußeren Raum mit ein als eine weitere Schicht im Stadtdickicht.
 
Die große Präsenz der Natur in Akinbiyis Lagosbildern erinnert an den Ursprung der Stadt, der vor allem in den Sumpfgebieten an der Küste, im Lekki Conservation Centre liegt. In der wachsenden Stadt mussten einige Grünflächen, so der Ikoyi Park, Wohnvierteln weichen. Akinbiyi fängt fotografisch ein, wie die Natur in den urbanen Strukturen weiterlebt und letztere umgekehrt in die Natur einfließen. Im Auge des Betrachters verwandelt sich das Dickicht in archaische Masken oder urwüchsige Gestalten. Derart formt das Unförmige, Vieldeutige oder Abwesende einen bedeutungsvollen Platz in Akinbiyis Bildern. Denn: „auch die Wege, die man nicht gehen will, sind manchmal richtungsweisend.“

Ebute Meta, Lagos 1988 Foto und © Akinbode Akinbiyi Ebute Meta, Lagos 1988 Foto und © Akinbode Akinbiyi | Foto © Akinbode Akinbiyi

„LANDMARKS“

Das erste Bild in Akinbiyis Lagos-Fotobuch soll einen Meilenstein zeigen. In Nigeria wurden Meilensteine während der Kolonialzeit durch die Briten eingeführt, die in Zusammenhang mit dem Postverkehr an der Straße errichtet wurden, um Räumlichkeiten und Entfernungen messbar zu machen. Die „landmarks“ oder Marksteine kennzeichnen nach Akinbiyi die Knotenpunkte, Eckpunkte und Grenzpunkte in einer Stadt, die man unbewusst oder bewusst durchläuft, wenn man die Wege von früher wieder bewandert: „Das sind wie Marksteine oder Ecksteine in unserem Unterbewusstsein, sehr starke visuelle Botschaften. […] Als Künstler sollen wir darauf aufmerksam machen. Ich versuche, das auf eine subtile Weise anzuprangern, um diesen visuellen Jazz bewusst zu machen.“
 
So wie manche Leute den Wind lesen können, die Schattenspiele und die Wolken, wenn ein Unwetter heranzieht, liest Akinbiyi seine Umgebung auf ihre „landmarks“ hin. Eine Sonderrolle nehmen die Beschriftungen ein, beispielsweise von Schildern, Plakaten, Läden oder auch Kleidung, die sich als eine Art Ankündigung deuten lassen, was auf uns zukommt: „Du kannst es so sehen: Die Schrift beschreibt die Stadt.“ Der Fotograf abstrahiert diese sprachlich visuellen Botschaften von der urbanen Landschaft und setzt sie im Bild ein, „um eine gewisse Erzählung darzustellen. Fotos sind visuelle Fragmente von der sogenannten Realität, und oft ist es keine einzige Sekunde, sondern der Bruchteil einer Sekunde. In diesem winzigen Fragment kann man ganz viel sehen, wenn man will.“
 
Im Buch möchte Akinbiyi vor allem die autobiographischen Marksteine seines Lagos aufzeigen, die teils nur noch in der Erinnerung oder den urbanen Tiefenschichten fortleben, aber das Lagos von heute und morgen mitformen. Die Bilder stehen ganz für sich, denn es geht darum, ihre Geschichten bildhaft zu lesen und sie immer wieder aufs Neue zu bewandern und fortzuschreiben.