In conversation with Leon Hösl A German Curator Listens to Lagos

Leon Hösl
Photo: Leon Hösl © Goethe-Institut

The German curator Leon Hösl first encountered Nigeria outside its shores, before visiting for the first time this November.

In 2017, he met renowned artists Emeka Ogboh, Akinbode Akinbiyi, Olu Oguibe, and Otobong Nkanga at the fourteenth edition of Documenta, in Kassel, Germany and in Athens, Greece. All four are Nigerians and, at the time, Hösl was a curatorial assistant supervising some of their projects. The themes engaged by their projects spanned identity, traditional crafting and production dynamics, as well as migration.

 

Meanwhile, Hösl had met the mixed media artist Emeka Udemba, who lives and works in Freiburg—Leon’s hometown—and received some insight into engaging contemporary African art.

His encounters with these artists and their works, said Hösl, birthed a curiosity: What is their home country like? He decided he would like to visit and the opportunity to do so arrived a year later.

During his stay in Lagos, Hösl was hosted by the Goethe Institut Nigeria’s residency program and afforded the opportunity to encounter Nigerian art and culture—as he had arrived at the start of the art and cultural festivities in the city. Even so, his first discovery was the city’s famed traffic.
“Horrible Traffic!” he wrote in one of our text exchanges. He was on his way to Freedom Park for a Lagos Book and Art Festival event. “First Taxify just canceled the trip. Next one needs 12 minutes to pick me up. Now we are moving like a snail”


Leon Hösl2 Photo: Leon Hösl © Goethe-Institut It didn’t take him long to learn that the trick to moving around the city a bit faster is good timing, Kekes, and Okadas. He was at the Lagos Photo Festival, Art Summit Nigeria, ArtX Lagos, and visited the Revolving Art Incubator all located in Victoria Island. He also went to Badagry Heritage Museum, Vernacular Art-space Laboratory Foundation in Iwaya, and a couple of other places, mostly paying visits to artists in their studios. He presented his work for Documenta 14 at the Centre for Contemporary Art Lagos.

Asked what he thought of Ayo Akinwande’s solo multi-media exhibition “Power Show II: The God-Fathers Are Not To Blame”, featuring a three-story tall iron casting stuffed with raw wood, a somewhat omnipresent human effigy, Hösl said of the artist “He is a very energetic and politically minded person”
.
He thought Abraham Oghobase’s “Layers of Time and Place: What Lies Beneath” and “What if Austria Had Colonized Nigeria”, which both exhibited at the Art21 Gallery in Victoria Island, showcased an interesting and atypical “juxtaposition of real and speculative historical narratives of an African society”. Ndidi Dike’s photos and installations at the Lagos Photo Festival were “intriguing, emotional and questioning”.

Hösl enjoyed the insights into customs and traditions around womanhood in the Igbo society courtesy of Ngozi Schommer’s “Ìgwè bụ ényí” which exhibited alongside Natalia Orendain’s “6˚ 26' 22" N /3˚ 21' 30" E", an exploration of the choreography of trading around the Lagos port. Both showed at the Omenka Gallery in Ikoyi.

“In fact,” he said, “every piece of art reveals something interesting about the space and condition it is created in.”

At the Art Laboratory and Experimental School in Iwaya/Makoko Community, an initiative of the photographer and visual artist Aderemi Adegbite, something caught Hösl’s attention: The dedication in both young and old to create a difference in their community as artists paved their own roads, constructed and painted their own structures.

“One could sense that communal spirit,” said Hösl, cutting a shape in the air with both palms. “I’m curious to see how this project will continue.”

The school is at the shoreline of the Lagos lagoon and was completed to accommodate a studio, exhibition space and workshop for collaborative projects aiming to engage with the community.

In Badagry, 56km outside Lagos city, Hösl visited the slave museums and “sensed a similar engagement into communal work and alternative artistic education” when meeting the artist Charles Okereke in his studio. The studio—which the artist built out of clay bricks, also serves as a hub for workshops in the local community. 

The sound tapestry in Badagry differs to the one in Balogun market, a commercial hub in the heart of Lagos Island where Hösl found and bought jerseys of the Super Eagles Nigerian National football team.

Leon Hösl3 Photo: Leon Hösl © Goethe-Institut “This was rated the most beautiful at the last World Cup, you know?” I said.

Hösl knew. It was the reason he bought half a dozen for himself and friends back home in Vienna.

Each place he visited, though with the general sounds of human activities on the background, had a peculiar sound. “Acoustical codes; the sounds are at once exhaustive and complicated,” he wrote in the introductory text for his one-day project “A Tailor’s Scissors” at 16/16, an art space in Victoria Island, where he also stayed during the residency.           
                                                                                                                   
Hösl’s first impression of Lagos, before knowing much about the city, were descriptions of the city’s sound by Emeka Ogboh, and this continued to shape his intuition of urban life. He found himself at the New Afrika Shrine for a bit of the Afrobeat sound. His experience at the Shrine would feed into his project, as he contemplated the place of sound as a tool for communication and a guide to people’s perception of their environment.

All of these took considerable work, but, by encountering Lagos, the German curator has taken a relatively large first step.

Eine Unterhaltung mit Leon Hösl Ein deutscher Kurator und der Klang von Lagos

Leon Hösl
Foto: Leon Hösl © Goethe-Institut

Kurator Leon Hösl begegnete Nigeria erstmals jenseits der Landesgrenzen, noch vor seinem Besuch im November.

Das war 2017 anlässlich der documenta 14 in Kassel und Athen, wo er, damals noch als Assistent, einige Projekte der bekannten nigerianischen Künstler Emeka Ogboh, Akinbode Akinbiyi, Olu Oguibe und Otobong Nkanga betreute. Bei ihren Arbeiten ging es um Identität, traditionelles Handwerk und Produktionsdynamik sowie Migration.
Später war Hösl dem medienübergreifend arbeitenden Künstler Emeka Udemba begegnet, der in Leons Heimatstadt Freiburg lebt und wirkt, und erhielt Einblick in die fesselnde afrikanische Gegenwartskunst.
 

Seine Begegnungen mit diesen Künstlern und ihren Werken machten Hösl neugierig: Wie wohl ihr Heimatland war? Es entstand der Wunsch, Nigeria kennenzulernen, und ein Jahr später ergab sich eine Gelegenheit.

In Lagos war Hösl Gast des Goethe Instituts Nigeria im Rahmen des Residenz-Programms; da er zum Auftakt der Kunst- und Kulturfeste angekommen war, ergab sich hier die Möglichkeit, nigerianische Kunst und Kultur kennenzulernen. Gleichwohl war seine erste „Entdeckung“ der alles beherrschende Verkehr.

„Schrecklich!“, schrieb er mir einmal in einer Textnachricht. Er war auf dem Weg zum Freedom Park zu einer Veranstaltung des Buch- und Kunstfestivals Lagos. „Erst hat Taxify die Fahrt einfach gecancelt, die nächste war erst zwölf Minuten später möglich. Und jetzt geht es nur im Schneckentempo weiter.“

Leon Hösl2 Photo: Leon Hösl © Goethe-Institut Er hatte rasch begriffen, dass man dreierlei braucht, um etwas schneller voranzukommen: ein gutes Timing sowie Kekes (offene Kleinfahrzeuge) oder Okadas (Moped-Taxen). Das Lagos Photo Festival hatte er besucht, ebenso den Art Summit Nigeria, ArtX Lagos sowie den Revolving Art Incubator – allesamt in Victoria Island. Auch im Badagry Heritage Museum und bei der Vernacular Art-space Laboratory Foundation in Iwaya war er; meist besuchte er Künstler in ihren Ateliers. Seine Arbeit für die documenta 14 präsentierte er im Centre for Contemporary Art Lagos.

Auf die medienübergreifende Einzelausstellung von Ayo Akinwande angesprochen („Power Show II: The God-Fathers Are Not To Blame“), unter anderem mit einer drei Stockwerke hohen Nachbildung eines Menschen aus Eisen und Holz, meinte Hösl zur Person des Künstlers: „Ein sehr energischer, politisch denkender Mann.“

Zu Abraham Oghobases „Layers of Time and Place: What Lies Beneath“ und „What if Austria Had Colonized Nigeria“, beide auf der Plattform Art21 Gallery in Victoria Island zu sehen, meinte er, sie präsentierten eine interessante und ungewöhnliche „Gegenüberstellung realitätsnaher und spekulativer historischer Narrative einer afrikanischen Gesellschaft.“  Ndidi Dikes Fotografien und Installationen beim Lagos Photo Festival fand er „faszinierend, emotional und kritisch.“
Hösl genoss die Einblicke in Sitten und Bräuche um Weiblichkeit in der Gesellschaft der Igbo dank Ngozi Schommers „Ìgwè bụ ényí”, parallel ausgestellt mit Natalia Orendains „6˚ 26' 22" N /3˚ 21' 30" E“, einer Erkundung der Choreographie des Handels am Hafen von Lagos. Beide waren in der Omenka Gallery in Ikoyi zu sehen.

„Im Grunde“, so Hösl, „sagt jedes Kunstwerk etwas Interessantes aus über den Raum, wo es geschaffen wurde, und über seine Entstehungsbedingungen.“
Beim Besuch der Art Laboratory and Experimental School in der Gemeinde Iwaya/Makoko erregte eine Initiative des Fotografen und bildenden Künstlers Aderemi Adegbite seine Aufmerksamkeit: Das Engagement bei Jungen und Alten, sich als Künstlergemeinschaft abzuheben, neue Wege zu eröffnen und ganz eigene Werke und Strukturen zu schaffen.

„Man konnte das Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl förmlich greifen“, meinte Hösl und unterstrich es gestisch mit beiden Händen. „Ich bin gespannt, wie sich dieses Projekt entwickelt.“
Die Laborschule liegt am Rande der Lagune von Lagos; sie beherbergt ein Atelier, Ausstellungsräume und eine Werkstatt für Kooperationsprojekte zum Austausch in der Gemeinschaft.

In Badagry, 56 km von Lagos City entfernt, besuchte Hösl das Sklavenmuseum und spürte, als er den Künstler Charles Okereke in seinem Atelier aufsuchte, „ein ähnliches Engagement für gemeinsame Arbeit und alternative künstlerische Bildung“. Das Atelier – von Okereke aus Lehmziegeln gebaut – dient auch als Zentrum für Workshops vor Ort.  
Die Geräuschkulisse in Badagry unterscheidet sich von der auf dem Markt von Balogun, einer Handelsdrehscheibe im Herzen von Lagos Island, wo Hösl Trikots der Super Eagles, der nigerianischen Fußballnationalmannschaft, erstand.

Leon Hösl3 Photo: Leon Hösl © Goethe-Institut „Die galten als die schönsten der letzten Weltmeisterschaft, weißt du?“, meinte ich.

Hösl war das nicht neu, deshalb hatte er gleich ein halbes Dutzend für sich und seine Freunde in Wien gekauft.

Überall wo er war, traf er neben dem üblichen Hintergrundrauschen menschlicher Aktivitäten auf eine je eigene Klangkulisse. „Akustische Codes; Geräusche und Klänge gleichzeitig allumfassend und vielschichtig“, schrieb er in einem Einführungstext für sein eintägiges Projekt „A Tailor's Scissors“ bei 16/16, einem Kunstzentrum, wo er sich während seiner Residenzzeit ebenfalls aufhielt. 
                                                                                                                             
Hösls erster Eindruck von Lagos war, noch bevor er viel über die Stadt wusste, geprägt von Emeka Ogbohs Beschreibungen der Stadtklänge – dies prägte weiterhin seine Vorstellung von urbanem Leben. So gelangte er auch zum New Afrika Shrine, einem Veranstaltungszentrum, wo er den Afrobeat Sound erlebte. Seine Erfahrungen dort sollen in sein Projekt einfließen, da er den Ort der Klangentstehung als Instrument der Kommunikation und als Weg zur Umgebungswahrnehmung der Menschen betrachtet.

All dies bedeutet erhebliche Arbeit, aber – durch seine Begegnung mit Lagos hat der deutsche Kurator einen großen ersten Schritt getan.