A Review of African Mobilities Lagos See Lagos, See the Future

African Mobilities Lagos, Exhibition Opening
© Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser

For anyone looking to escape Lagos, how about another Lagos? But in 2115.
 
That's the thrust of African Mobilities, the ongoing exhibition presented by South African curator Mpho Matsipa. She has brought a multi-form approach to imagining what Lagos is like a century from now. All at once, Lagos can be glimpsed from the sleek recesses of a VR device, seen on a screen and browsed within the pages of a graphic novel.
 

In this Lagos, the architecture is angular; Surulere has a mall; and Makoko apartments are lit boxes standing on stilts in the river. A subtly imaginative feature of this future is a luminous tip at the end of paddles. That it is wielded by inhabitants of Makoko points to the affordability of power or better conditions of living in the area.
 
Gone are the noise, the chaos, the crowded streets. Dreams can be negotiated, the language of dreams altered, AI speaks in pidgin and states of consciousness can be purchased.
  African Mobilities Lagos: Mad Horse City Exhibition, Opening © Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser To get all of this into digestible bits for a general audience accustomed to negotiating prices rather than consciousnesses, Matsipa brought the writer Wale Lawal and the visual artist Olalekan Jeyifous together. While the former furnishes the future of Lagos with quirky narratives of isolation, inequality and hope, Jeyifous paints the future-city’s landscape and architecture in hyperbolic hues. The blues are electric; the reds are incandescent; the whites are white indeed. The pair thinks of Lagos as the "Mad Horse City". As Lawal puts it, the city’s inhabitants have only two choices once astride this horse: "You either ride it or you die ". It's an admiring take, even with its note of caution.
 
Lawal's statement indicates that he's aware that the true Lagosian might complain but is reluctant to leave the city. What is more compelling is escape and return. It's perhaps not very surprising that there is an idea of escape built into the project, even as the vision shared by Jeyifous and Lawal is visibly dystopic. Asked if Lagos 2115 is a good place to live in for its residence, Lawal is noncommittal.
 
"It's neutral," he says with a smile.
 
Jeyifous is as noncommittal. Admitting that while he admits his vision leans towards the dystopic, he's also more interested in "exploring the tensions right now and how it evolves in the future".
 
At the event's opening on 12 October, the guests conveyed a favourable impression of the vision. It wasn't always so, says Matsipa. A previous iteration of Mad Horse City had provoked mixed reactions when it showed at the University of Lagos years ago. "Some people said because it wasn't western it was bad. Others said it was great." A lady had gotten so worked up over the exhibition that she queried the decision to have a narrative showing Lagos as a city yet to overcome inequality and struggling with less than ideal social conditions. The Lagos of the lady’s dreams was a model city—"despite indications that that won't be the case,” says Matsipa. Nonetheless, the current version of the exhibition had to be shown in Lagos. “It was important to bring it to Africa,” she says after showings in Philadelphia and Munich.
  African Mobilities, Lagos, 2019 © Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser The day after the opening, a wider Lagos audience got to see the exhibition under the Falomo bridge in Ikoyi. Passers-by stopped to watch and stayed, kids in the area waited their turn at the VR device, turning their heads this way and that, virtually inhabiting the future, taking in the colours and the novelty, unaware of the project's political undertone as conveyed by the exhibition’s subtitle: This is not a refugee camp.
 
As described by Matsipa, the future Lawal and Jeyifous have created is removed from the west, at least in theory—the vastness of technology has made the modern world inextricably connected. Nonetheless, a significant part of Matsipa’s mission as curator of the exhibition is helping her audience to stop seeing "the west as an object of desire".
 
Accordingly, one of Lawal's stories has Lagosians of the future worship a goddess of the river. There is no indication of Christianity or Islam. There is only traditional worship and technology. The bible is a tourist destination that can be sound-tracked in Yoruba. This lends the project a symbolic weight in cultural terms. The idea is political and, as Matsipa’s curator’s statement puts it, African Mobilities “seeks alternative practices, knowledges and subjects through a diverse range of spatial and artistic practices in the service of a larger emancipatory project”.
 
Thus, the exhibition probes the idea of the future given to us by popular organs of culture such as Hollywood and preaches, subtly, a decolonisation of the African mind. A significant part of the idea is the "reclaiming of our identity and dismantling colonialism," says Jeyifous.
 
It is highly probable that the adults seeing the exhibition understood the politics of African Mobilities. But under the Ikoyi night-sky, the kids tilting their heads, caught in a heady rapture, were probably oblivious to the underlying politics of what they were witnessing. They might not know that their vision has been altered, that the future is theirs. And yet, Matsipa has curated a world that enlarges their visons and, possibly, their subconscious.
 
Perhaps this is effective decolonisation: focused on the individual and the collective’s visions of the future and providing options to the material world via architecture. It is not quite a movement but, with African Mobilities, it is happening one city at a time.

African Mobilities Lagos: Mad Horse City Exhibition, Opening © Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser

Ein Bericht über die African Mobilities Ausstellung in Lagos Lagos sehen heißt die Zukunft sehen

African Mobilities Lagos, Exhibition Opening
© Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser

Für alle, die Lagos zu entrinnen suchen – wie wäre es mit einem anderen Lagos? Aber mit einem im Jahr 2115.
 
Das ist die Stoßrichtung von African Mobilities, der aktuellen von der südafrikanischen Architektin Mpho Matsipa kuratierten Ausstellung. Sie bietet ein facettenreiches Bild dessen, was Lagos in einem Jahrhundert sein könnte. Hier öffnet sich mit einem Male der Blick auf ein futuristisches Lagos, durch eine VR-Brille, eine Leinwand oder beim Blättern durch eine Graphic Novel.

Im Lagos der Zukunft ist die Architektur winkelig, die Gemeinde Surulere besitzt ein Einkaufszentrum, und die Wohnungen in Makoko sind beleuchtete Kästen auf einer Pfahlgründung im Fluss. Eine raffiniert einfallsreiche Besonderheit sind die leuchtenden Endspitzen von Paddeln. Dass sie von den Bewohnern Makokos gehandhabt werden zeigt, dass man dort Einfluss hat und sich bessere Lebensumstände leisten kann.
 
Keine Spur mehr von Lärm, Chaos und übervölkerten Straßen. Träume sind verhandelbar, ihre Sprache hat sich verändert, die KI spricht Pidgin, und Bewusstseinszustände sind käuflich erhältlich.
  African Mobilities Lagos: Mad Horse City Exhibition, Opening © Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser Um aus all dem für das breite Publikum verdauliche Häppchen zu machen – ein Publikum, das eher gewohnt ist, Preise statt Bewusstseinszustände auszuhandeln –, hat Matsipa den Schriftsteller Wale Lawal mit dem bildenden Künstler Olalekan Jeyifous zusammengebracht. Lawal stattet das Lagos der Zukunft mit skurrilen Narrativen der Isolation, Ungleichheit und Hoffnung aus, während Jeyifous die künftige Stadtlandschaft und Architektur in übertreibenden Farbtönen malt. Die Blautöne sind elektrisch, die Rottöne glühend, das Weiß ist grellweiß. Die beiden sprechen von Lagos als „Mad Horse City“, denn: „Die Stadt ist immer wie ein wildes Pferd“, so Lawal. „Entweder du reitest es oder du stirbst.“ Er sagt es bewundernd, aber auch mit Bedacht.
 
Dabei ist sich Lawal bewusst, dass der Lagos-Bewohner sein Schicksal zwar beklagen, die Stadt aber nur ungern verlassen mag. Verlockender ist da schon das Wiederkehren nach dem Entrinnen. So mag es kaum überraschen, dass auch der Aspekt des Entrinnens in das Projekt eingeflossen ist, auch wenn die Jeyifous und Lawal gemeinsame Vision merklich dystopisch ist. Bei der Frage, ob es sich im Lagos des Jahres 2115 gut leben lässt, bleibt Lawal unverbindlich.
 
„Da bin ich wertfrei“, lächelt er.
 
Ebenso zurückhaltend ist Jeyifous. Er räumt zwar ein, dass sich seine Vision der Dystopie nähert, doch interessiert ihn mehr, „die Spannungen heute und ihre künftige Entwicklung zu betrachten“.
Bei der Eröffnung am 12. Oktober vermittelten Lawal und Jeyifous einen vorteilhaften Eindruck dieser Vision. Das war nicht immer so, meint Matsipa. Eine frühere Präsentation von „Mad Horse City“ vor Jahren an der Universität Lagos hatte gemischte Reaktionen hervorgerufen. „Die einen meinten, sie sei schlecht, da nicht westlich, die anderen fanden sie großartig.“ Eine Besucherin hatte sich so über die Ausstellung erregt, dass sie das Narrativ von Lagos als einer Stadt beanstandete, die Ungleichheit erst noch zu überwinden und mit eher weniger idealen gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen zu ringen hat. Das Lagos ihrer Träume war musterhaft – „obwohl einiges darauf hindeutet, dass es nicht so sein wird“, so Matsipa. Dennoch war es notwendig, die aktuelle Version der Ausstellung jetzt in Lagos zu präsentieren. „Es ist wichtig, sie in Afrika zu zeigen“, erklärt sie nach Präsentationen in Philadelphia und München.
 
Am Tag nach der Eröffnung bekam ein breiteres Lagos-Publikum die Ausstellung an der Falomo-Brücke auf Ikoyi zu sehen. Passanten hielten nicht nur inne, sondern blieben, und die Kids aus der Gegend warteten, bis sie die nächste freie VR-Brille bekamen, wandten dann die Köpfe hierhin und dorthin und nahmen, virtuell in die Zukunft eintauchend, die Farben und die Neuartigkeit auf, waren sich jedoch des politischen Untertons noch unbewusst, der im Untertitel der Ausstellung anklingt: „Das ist kein Flüchtlingscamp.“

African Mobilities, Lagos, 2019 © Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser  Matsipa zufolge hebt sich das von Lawal und Jeyifous geschaffene Zukunftsbild vom Westen ab, zumindest theoretisch – denn die unermessliche Weite der technologischen Welt hat die heutigen Länder der Erde aufs Engste verwoben. Dennoch verhilft die Art, wie Matsipa die Ausstellung kuratiert hat, dem Publikum auch dazu, „die westliche Lebensweise nicht mehr als Objekt der Begierde“ zu betrachten.
 
So verehren die Bewohner des Lagos der Zukunft – in einer von Lawals Erzählungen – eine Flussgöttin; auf Christentum oder Islam finden sich keine Hinweise. Es gibt nur einen traditionellen Kult und einen Technologiekult. Die Bibel ist ein Urlaubsland, zu dem Yoruba den Soundtrack liefert. Dies verleiht dem Projekt in kultureller Hinsicht symbolisches Gewicht. Es geht um politische Konnotationen, wie Matsipa in einer kuratorischen Erläuterung formuliert: African Mobilities „bemüht sich um alternatives Handeln, Kenntnisse und Themen, vermittelt durch ein breites Spektrum räumlicher und künstlerischer Praktiken im Dienste eines umfassenderen emanzipatorischen Projekts“.
 
Damit hinterfragt die Ausstellung die Vorstellungen von einer Zukunft, die uns die populären Vehikel der Kultur (etwa Hollywood) vermitteln, und predigt geschickt eine Entkolonialisierung des afrikanischen Bewusstseins. Ein wesentliches Element dieses Ansatzes ist die „Wiedergewinnung unserer Identität und die Abschaffung des Kolonialismus“, so Jeyifous.
 
Gewiss erkennen die erwachsenen Besucher die politische Dimension von African Mobilities. Unter dem Nachthimmel von Ikoyi aber nehmen die Kids, berauscht und verzückt von ihren Erlebnissen hinter den VR-Brillen, wohl keine Notiz von den politischen Aspekten des Geschehens. Vielleicht ist ihnen nicht bewusst, dass sich ihre (Aus-)Sicht verändert, dass die Zukunft ihnen gehört. Und doch schafft Matsipa mit der von ihr kuratierten Ausstellung eine Welt, die ihren Blick und möglicherweise ihr Unterbewusstsein erweitert.
 
Vielleicht ist eben dies gelungene Entkolonialisierung: den Blick auf den Einzelnen und die kollektiven Bilder der Zukunft zu richten – und durch Architektur Optionen für die reale, materielle Welt aufzuweisen. Es ist noch keine umfassende Bewegung, aber mit African Mobilities erfasst es jeweils eine Stadt.

African Mobilities Lagos: Mad Horse City Exhibition, Opening © Goethe-Institut / Judith Häser