Fake News & Corona
Fake News in Nigeria: A Complex Problem

Fake News
© Getty Images

The prevalence of fake news has made the fighting of diseases more complicated for Nigeria’s government and its healthcare sector.

As with many countries around the world, Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, has had to contend with the impact of the coronavirus pandemic. A national lockdown declared by President Muhammadu Buhari in April to contain the spread of the virus first reported on February 27, dealt “heavy economic losses” on the country. According to the country’s statistics office, by the second quarter of 2020, the economy had undergone a 6.1% year on year contraction.

But economic losses were not Nigeria’s only problem during the pandemic: fake news became widespread and threatened to overshadow efforts to contain the spread of the virus. While clearly dangerous, it was not the first time fake news had interfered with Nigeria’s management of a contagious virus.
 
Back in 2014, when the Ebola virus hit Lagos State, the city’s healthcare team had to contend with the spread of misinformation regarding its prevention and treatment. A piece of fake news claiming Ebola could be prevented by drinking and bathing with salt water went viral. According to Symplur, a company that tracks health misinformation on Twitter, Nigerians began using the words “Ebola,” “salt,” “water” and “drinking” together in tweets from 2014 on August 4. Four days later, two persons were reported dead in Jos, the capital city of Plateau State. They had consumed an excessive amount of saltwater.

That experience may have been useful for Nigeria’s health authorities when the first coronavirus case was announced in Lagos this year, as it was apparent that outside of providing care for affected persons, it was necessary to provide factual information to the public while countering fake news.

Still, along with the government in neighbouring Ogun state, Lagos state’s authorities had to fend off a barrage of fake news. Mayowa Tijani, a fact-checker with AFP, says, “Fake news and long-standing trust issues affected the country’s response” to the coronavirus in the first few months of the pandemic.
Where six years ago, a misleading regimen for prevention went viral, this time, one of the first coronavirus-related fake news pieces was focused on the index case. On Facebook, a post claimed that the man who drove Nigeria’s first confirmed victim of the virus from Lagos to Ogun escaped from a hospital where he was receiving treatment after he, too, tested positive.

The author of the post uploaded a supposed photo of the driver, claiming his name was Adewale Isaac Olorogun. According to the post, Olorogun was demanding to be paid N100 million by the government before returning for treatment. The post went viral before authorities in Ogun State quashed the fake news.

Not long after, the country experienced a rise in demand for chloroquine, a drug that, years ago, Nigeria had discontinued for use in the treatment of malaria.

Speaking on the increased demand, Ore Awokoya, a senior aide to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos state, said it was the result of a statement from President Donald Trump of the US claiming that hydroxycholoroquine had been “approved” to treat COVID-19 by America’s Food and Drug Administration. Trump’s statement led to a boost in broadcast messages on WhatsApp declaring chloroquine as treatment for the coronavirus. And in Lagos, according to a national news report, at least two persons were hospitalised for chloroquine poisoning.

Such an incident raises a question: Why do people believe fake news stories and take actions based on recommendations from unauthorised figures and platforms? According to Tijani, this happens because people seek “alternative sources of hope” as there is a warped flow of information from the government to its citizens. In the specific case of the coronavirus, he says, the mainstream media’s focus on covering high-profile individuals led some to believe that the “disease was peculiar to the rich”.

Government’s Anti-coronavirus Efforts

To combat the spread of fake news in the coronavirus era, both private and public institutions dedicated resources to provide factual news online. Authorities in Lagos State and the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control turned to social media, looking to provide factual news on the same platforms that abet the spread of misinformation.

The NCDC accounts on Twitter and Facebook provided authentic information on the spread of the novel virus. And several officials of Lagos State, including Governor Sanwo-Olu, used their mostly verified social media accounts to counter false narratives. Private bodies like Africa Check also contributed to providing verifiable information to Nigerians.

“When this whole thing began,” said the Commissioner for Information in Lagos State, Gbenga Omotoso, “we told the world not to get news from any unconfirmed source and the governor has been briefing the media from time to time. The spread of false information can cause panic [and] make people lose their balance.”

Solutions to a many-sided Problem

In a country like Nigeria where religious and ethnic differences can be sources of conflict, facts and fictions are often deliberately blurred and spread via social media. This fuels “the spread of misinformation” says Andrew Ibeh, head of The Guardian newspapers’ social media team.

Ibeh’s comment suggests that fighting the problem of fake news is a challenge in Nigeria because of the highly democratised nature of social media platforms, given that they allow anyone put out information without vetting. And with 203.5 million active mobile phone lines, over 20 million people on social media and about 80 per cent of the population using WhatsApp, the problem of fake news in Nigeria is quite a significant one.

“In a multicultural and multireligious setting like Nigeria, the role misinformation could play in causing ethnic and religious crises is huge,” said David Ajikobi at a conference on fake news organised by the Goethe Institut in 2019. Ajikobi is the Nigeria editor of Africa Check.
 
To reduce the spread of misinformation, last year, the government partnered with Facebook to halt the spread of misinformation during the general elections. This year, the Nigerian Government is considering a regulation of social media after a bill to that effect was submitted to the senate. There are fears, however, that the government may stifle dissent and free speech if the bill is passed into law.
 
Instead of creating a new law, what Nigeria needs is the enforcement of existing laws, says Adeboye Adegoke, senior programme manager at the pan-African digital rights organisation Paradigm Initiative.
 
“What we must not do in the circumstances is create a new law to address this,” he says. “If we truly care about justice, then it won’t be hard to see that this problem can be addressed without derogating from constitutionally guaranteed rights.” 
 
For Ajikobi, it is necessary that journalists first rise above their personal biases and then arm themselves with skills to differentiate between facts and fictions. They must “consider the source, check the author, check supporting sources, check the date, confirm if it is a joke, check [for] biases and ask the experts.” 
Another idea worth contemplating might come from beyond Nigeria’s borders. Countries such as Brazil, Mexico and the United Kingdom now have a magnifying glass icon for more information on messages forwarded at least five times on WhatsApp. Such a feature, says tech entrepreneur Joel Popoola, will be an important differentiator in Nigeria’s fight against fake news, considering the “comparatively low levels of digital literacy in our nation.” He adds that Nigeria needs “social media companies to take the necessary steps to protect their users from fake news and harmful half-truths.”

Nonetheless, while social media companies deliberate on the possibility of such a solution in Nigeria, it is also necessary that programmes enabling more people to become aware of the dangers of misinformation are created.

One such programme has been launched by the Goethe-Institut through the PASCH Initiative. In September, the programme trained 20 students from Akin Ogunpola Model College, Akinale and Corona Secondary School, Agbara on using digital tools to verify information found online.

Fake News & Corona
Fake News in Nigeria: ein komplexes Problem

Fake News
© Getty Images

Durch das Überhandnehmen gefälschter Nachrichten wird die Bekämpfung von Krankheiten für Nigerias Regierung und den Gesundheitssektor zunehmend komplizierter.

Wie viele andere Länder hatte und hat dieses bevölkerungsreichste Land Afrikas mit den Auswirkungen der Coronavirus-Pandemie zu kämpfen. Ein von Präsident Muhammadu Buhari im April verkündeter landesweiter Lockdown zur Eindämmung des erstmals am 27. Februar gemeldeten Virus brachte dem Land „schwere wirtschaftliche Verluste“. Nach Angaben des nigerianischen Statistikamtes schrumpfte die Wirtschaft im zweiten Quartal 2020 gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 6,1%.
 
Doch bei den wirtschaftlichen Verlusten blieb es nicht in Pandemiezeiten: Fake News verbreiteten sich und drohten, die Bemühungen um Eindämmung des Infektionsgeschehens zu vereiteln. Eine eindeutige Gefahr zwar, doch war es nicht das erste Mal, dass Fake News die Bewältigung einer Infektionswelle in Nigeria behinderten.
 
Als sich 2014 der Ebola-Erreger im Bundesstaat Lagos verbreitete, musste sich der Gesundheitsdienst einer Flut von Fehlinformationen über Präventions- und Therapiemaßnahmen entgegenstemmen. Eine dieser Falschmeldungen, wonach Ebola durch Trinken und Baden mit Salzwasser verhindert werden könne, verbreitete sich wie ein Lauffeuer. Laut Symplur – einem Unternehmen, das gesundheitsbezogene Fehlinformationen auf Twitter aufspürt – verwendeten die Nigerianer in ihren Tweets seit 4. August 2014 das Wort „Ebola“ zusammen mit den Wörtern „Salz“, „Wasser“ und „Trinken“. Vier Tage später wurde von zwei Menschen in Jos (der Hauptstadt des Bundesstaates Plateau) berichtet, die gestorben waren, weil  sie übermäßig viel Salzwasser getrunken hatten.

Dieses Ereignis mag für die nigerianischen Gesundheitsbehörden von Nutzen gewesen sein, als 2020 der erste Coronavirus-Fall in Lagos bekannt wurde. Denn es zeigte sich, dass man neben der Versorgung der Betroffenen unbedingt die Öffentlichkeit objektiv informieren und dabei den Fake News entgegenwirken muss.

Nach wie vor mussten die Behörden in Lagos zusammen mit der Regierung im Nachbarstaat Ogun eine Flut von gefälschten Nachrichten aufhalten. Mayowa Tijani, ein Faktenchecker bei AFP, sagt: „Fake News und langjährige Vertrauensprobleme beeinträchtigten die Reaktion des Landes“ auf das Coronavirus in den ersten Monaten der Pandemie.

Während sechs Jahre zuvor ungeeignete Präventionsmaßnahmen in Umlauf gebracht worden waren, richtete sich die Aufmerksamkeit diesmal auf eine der ersten Corona-Fake News. Auf Facebook wurde in einem Forumsbeitrag behauptet, dass der Mann, der Nigerias ersten bestätigten Corona-Infizierten von Lagos nach Ogun fuhr, nach einem positiven Test aus einem Krankenhaus geflohen sei.
Der Verfasser des Posts hatte ein angebliches Foto des Fahrers hochgeladen und den Namen mit Adewale Isaac Olorogun angegeben. Dem Beitrag zufolge verlangte Olorogun von der Regierung vor Wiederaufnahme der Behandlung eine Zahlung von 100 Millionen NGN. Der Post verbreitete sich rasch, noch bevor die Behörden im Bundesstaat Ogun die Fake News sperren konnten.

Nur wenig später stieg die Nachfrage nach Chloroquin, einem Medikament gegen Malaria, das Nigeria jedoch seit Jahren nicht mehr verwendet.

Zu der gestiegenen Nachfrage sagt Ore Awokoya, ein hochrangiger Berater von Gouverneur Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Bundesstaat Lagos), dies sei Folge einer Erklärung von US-Präsident Donald Trump, der behauptet hatte, Hydroxycholoroquin sei von der amerikanischen Behörde für Lebens- und Arzneimittel zur Behandlung von COVID-19 „zugelassen“ worden. Trumps Äußerung ließ die Zahl der WhatsApp-Nachrichten, in denen Chloroquin als Medikament  gegen COVID-19 deklariert wurde, in die Höhe schnellen. In Lagos berichtete eine überregionale Zeitung, mindestens zwei Personen seien wegen Chloroquinvergiftung ins Krankenhaus eingeliefert worden.

Nach solchen Vorfällen fragt man sich: Warum glaubt man Fake News und handelt nach Empfehlungen nicht autorisierter Personen und Plattformen? Tijani zufolge geschieht dies, weil man „alternative Quellen der Hoffnung“ sucht – wegen des verzerrten Informationsflusses von der Regierung zu den Bürgern. Im speziellen Fall des Coronavirus, so Tijani, habe sich die Aufmerksamkeit der Mainstream-Medien auf  hochkarätige Persönlichkeiten gerichtet, was manchen zu der Annahme veranlasst habe, es handele sich um eine „Krankheit der Reichen“.

Die Coronabekämpfung der Regierung

Um der Fake News-Verbreitung in den Zeiten von Corona entgegenzuwirken, wurden Mittel für faktisch korrekte Nachrichten im Internet von privater wie auch von öffentlicher Seite bereitgestellt. Die Behörden im Bundesstaat Lagos und das Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) nutzten nun eben diese Social Media, um fundierte Informationen auf denselben Plattformen zu verbreiten, die der Verbreitung von Fehlinformationen Vorschub leisteten.

Die Twitter- und Facebook-Accounts des NCDC  boten zuverlässige Informationen über die Ausbreitung des neuartigen Virus. Und auch etliche Beamte des Bundesstaates Lagos, unter ihnen Gouverneur Sanwo-Olu, nutzten ihre verifizierten Social Media-Accounts, um den trügerischen Berichten entgegenzutreten. Ebenso trugen private Stellen wie Africa Check dazu bei, den Nigerianern überprüfbare Informationen zu vermitteln.

„Als all dies begann“, sagt der Landesbeauftragte für Information im Bundesstaat Lagos, Gbenga Omotoso, „haben wir verbindlich erklärt, keine Meldungen aus unbestätigter Quelle zu verbreiten, und der Gouverneur selbst unterrichtet die Medien immer wieder mal. Die Verbreitung falscher Informationen kann Panik auslösen [und] die Menschen verstören.“

Lösungen für ein vielschichtiges Problem

In Ländern wie Nigeria, wo religiöse und ethnische Unterschiede zu Konflikten führen können, werden Fakten und Annahmen häufig absichtlich vermischt und über soziale Medien verbreitet. Dies fördere „die Verbreitung von Fehlinformationen“, so Andrew Ibeh, Leiter des Social-Media-Teams der Zeitung The Guardian.

Nach Ibehs Einschätzung ist der Kampf gegen Fake News in Nigeria eine besondere Herausforderung, da die Social-Media-Plattformen in hohem Maße demokratisiert sind – sie erlauben es jedem, Informationen ohne Überprüfung zu verbreiten. Und mit 203,5 Millionen genutzten Mobiltelefonen, mehr als 20 Millionen Social-Media-Nutzern und etwa 80 Prozent der Bevölkerung, die bei WhatsApp sind, hat Nigeria in dieser Hinsicht ein echtes Problem.

„In einem multikulturellen und multireligiösen Umfeld wie Nigeria haben Fehlinformationen als Ursache ethnischer und religiöser Krisen möglicherweise enorme Bedeutung“, sagte David Ajikobi auf einer vom Goethe-Institut im Jahr 2019 organisierten Konferenz zu Fake News. Ajikobi ist der nigerianische Redakteur von Africa Check.
 
Um die Fake News-Verbreitung einzudämmen, ging die Regierung im vergangenen Jahr eine Partnerschaft mit Facebook ein, um die Weitergabe von Fehlinformationen während der Parlamentswahlen zu stoppen. In diesem Jahr prüft die nigerianische Regierung eine Regulierung der sozialen Medien – ein entsprechender Gesetzentwurf war bereits dem Senat vorgelegt worden. Allerdings gibt es Befürchtungen, die Regierung könnte die Redefreiheit und abweichende Meinungen unterdrücken, wenn das Gesetz in Kraft tritt.
 
Statt neuer Rechtsvorschriften brauche Nigeria die Durchsetzung bestehender Gesetze, sagt  Adeboye Adegoke, Programmleiter bei Paradigm Initiative, der panafrikanischen Organisation für digitale Rechte.
 
„Was wir unter den gegebenen Umständen nicht brauchen können, ist ein neues Gesetz“, so Adegoke. „Wenn es uns wirklich um Gerechtigkeit geht, dann ist  unschwer zu erkennen, dass man dieses Problem bewältigen kann, ohne in verfassungsmäßig garantierte Rechte einzugreifen.“
 
Ajikobi hält es für notwendig, dass sich Journalisten zunächst ihrer eigenen Voreingenommenheiten bewusst werden und sich dann mit der Fähigkeit wappnen, zwischen Dichtung und Wahrheit zu unterscheiden. Sie müssen „die Quelle und ferner den Autor, die untermauernden Informationsgrundlagen und das Datum überprüfen, [sie müssen] sich vergewissern, ob es sich um einen Scherz handelt, Voreingenommenheiten aufdecken und Experten befragen.“

Ein bedenkenswerter Vorschlag in anderer Hinsicht stammt von jenseits der Grenzen Nigerias. Länder wie Brasilien, Mexiko und das Vereinigte Königreich verfügen jetzt über ein Lupensymbol für zusätzliche Informationen zu allen Nachrichten, die mehr als fünfmal über WhatsApp weitergeleitet wurden. Eine solche Funktion, so Technologieunternehmer Joel Popoola, wäre ein wichtiges Unterscheidungsmerkmal im Kampf Nigerias gegen Fake News, wenn man bedenkt, dass „das Niveau der digitalen Kompetenz in unserem Land vergleichsweise niedrig ist“. Er fügt hinzu: Nigeria muss „Social-Media-Unternehmen zu den notwendigen Schritten veranlassen, die ihre Nutzer vor Fake News und schädlichen Halbwahrheiten schützen.“

Zwar beraten Social-Media-Unternehmen über eine solche Lösung in Nigeria, doch sind ebenso Programme notwendig, die mehr Menschen für die Gefahren von Fehlinformationen sensibilisieren.
Ein derartiges Programm wurde vom Goethe-Institut mit der PASCH-Initiative ins Leben gerufen. Im September wurden im Rahmen des Programms zwanzig Schüler*innen des Akin Ogunpola Model College in Akinale und der Corona Secondary School in Agbara im Umgang mit digitalen Werkzeugen zur Überprüfung von Informationen im Netz geschult.