Coming to Terms with the Past
Confronting the Dark Chapter

Two people in front of a commemorative plaque in Berlin for the Congo Conference.
Two people in front of a commemorative plaque in Berlin for the Congo Conference: More than 100 years after the crimes committed by the German colonial power in what is now Namibia, the German government recognises the atrocities committed against the Herero and Nama people as genocide. | Photo (detail): Paul Zinken © picture alliance / dpa / dpa-Zentralbild

Between 1904 and 1908 the colonial forces of the German Reich murdered tens of thousands of Ovaherero and Nama people in what is now Namibia. After more than five years of negotiations between the German and Namibian governments, Germany recognised this as genocide. Political scientist and Africanist Henning Melber discusses the shortcomings of these negotiations, as well as the process of colonial powers coming to terms with the past.

After almost six years of talks with Namibia, Germany announced a reconciliation agreement; it sounds like a fait accompli. How final do you think the negotiations really are?

According to Ruprecht Polenz, the German special envoy responsible for the bilateral negotiations, the agreement paraphrased in mid-May by him and his Namibian counterpart Doctor Zed Ngavirue – who died of COVID-19 – is a final arrangement. This was also affirmed by Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs Heiko Maas in the Bundestag. On that basis there will be no renegotiations. Admittedly the final paraphrasing of the so-called reconciliation agreement at foreign minister level did not take place in June 2021 in Windhoek as originally planned. The reason was the dramatic increase in corona cases in Namibia, but also the fierce protest by the Ovaherero and Nama in the country. The debate in the Namibian parliament was cut short after some animated discussion because of the pandemic and is currently awaiting resumption of sessions so that the agreement can be ratified.

Paraphrasing at minister level is required for the agreement to become legally enforceable. According to unconfirmed reports, the Act is planned for September 2021. The only thing that could thwart this is a fairly unlikely U-turn by the Namibian government. But the ruling SWAPO Party of Namibia, formerly the South West Africa People’s Organisation, has an absolute clear majority in parliament. Their elected members are likely to vote in favour – despite criticism from within the ranks and dissatisfaction with the compromise negotiated.   

What responsibility does Germany have to start up talks again, especially bearing in mind that organisations such as the Ovaherero Traditional Authority (OTA) and the Nama Traditional Leaders Association (NTLA) reject the agreement as it currently stands?

If reconciliation is to be taken seriously, the significant representatives of descendants of people directly affected by the genocide must be involved. This did not happen. This accusation needs to be directed at the Namibian government as well. Unfortunately the results of the negotiations are flawed. However, it would be arrogant for the Germans to demand correction of an omission, even though it had been accepted during negotiations in the interests of both governments. Neither does Germany assume such a responsibility by emphasising the final character of the reconciliation agreement and thereby reinforcing the exclusion of the Ovaherero and Nama representatives.

How do you think they arrived at the sum of 1.1 billion euros that Germany is now supposed to pay Namibia over 30 years?

This amount was the result of haggling. The German government’s opening offer was far lower, according to reports of those involved, whereas demands on the part of Namibia were considerably higher. The economic crisis in Namibia likely benefited the German side during negotiations, which resulted in a figure that’s closer to the original lower amount.

Since 2016 the economy has been in recession, and this has been exacerbated dramatically by the consequences of the corona pandemic. Financially the government is in deep trouble, which without a doubt made them more willing to compromise. The unfettered political hegemony of the SWAPO – a liberation movement that has been in power since independence in 1990 – has also been weakened by loss of votes in the parliamentary and presidential elections in November 2019 and even more so in the regional and local elections in November 2020. The Namibian government might have speculated that they would be able to count the financial contributions they had negotiated as a success. In view of the reaction in the country, this was a misjudgement.

The intention is to use the 1.1 billion euros to fund projects over a 30-year period. In which projects do they plan to invest the money, and who will make this decision? What guarantee can be given that the money will actually be used for that?

0.05 billion euros have been reserved for a foundation for cultural exchange. That’s less than two million euros per year. 1.05 billion euros are being spread over 30 years to fund the infrastructure of seven of the country’s 14 regions. The descendants of communities most affected by the genocide live in these places. Rural development is a priority there, along with education, health, energy and water supply.

More specific details will be provided concerning implementation, including in relation to planning and administration. For this reason there are already fears that the situation could facilitate generation of personal profit for those involved. The extent to which the planned structures will put a stop to that by performing appropriate checks remains to be seen.

Spokespersons from the Ovaherero Traditional Authority and Nama Traditional Leaders Association describe the reconciliation agreement as a “PR coup by Germany”. To what extent is this description justified?

In view of the substantial criticism of the agreement, it’s hardly appropriate to refer to it as a PR coup. It’s more of an attempt that has failed due to inadequacy – which isn’t very likely to be an image booster even if it is achieved. However one positive aspect remains: it’s the first time a former colonial power has confronted the dark chapter – albeit rather half-heartedly. Still, it creates a new point of reference for postcolonial processes in other countries too. This might have a mobilising effect, to exert more pressure on governments to admit to their histories of colonial violence.

The Holocaust is also frequently mentioned in association with this genocide in the international press, for example in the Washington Post and the New York Times, on the subject of dealing with the past in Germany. How is the genocide enacted on the Ovaherero and Nama handled in comparison with other acts of genocide?

I find a comparison with the Holocaust or other genocides far-fetched, if not downright misleading. Every form of mass destruction and genocide has a singular character for those affected. What the Ovaherero and Nama are calling for is unconditional recognition of the crime as well as respect for the suffering it caused, which for them is still in the present today; it’s not history.

The German way of coming to terms with the Holocaust can only be relevant in the sense that it has created forms of remembrance that should similarly be accorded to the victims of German colonialism in today’s Namibia and elsewhere.

International understanding should be practised at a personal level in the countries involved, through a shared remembrance of the atrocities. This calls for reflection as to which efforts are necessary as an expression of regret, as well as a quest for commonality between the descendants of the perpetrators and the victims for a shared future in peace.

Why do you think Germany avoids the word “reparations” and what would change with the use of that term?

The agreement stresses that Germany recognises the genocide in the moral and political sense – but specifically not in a legal sense. The agreed material contribution is termed a “gesture of recognition”. Reparation by contrast is a term with legal connotations. This would open up a dimension that touches on other controversial cases, including war crimes by German soldiers during the Second World War.

In these situations, courts in Greece, Italy and Eastern European countries have conceded compensation entitlement to descendants of the civilians killed back then. Germany always rejected these judgements and took no responsibility for individual war crimes. Reparation payments to the genocide descendants in Namibia would set a precedent that would show this legal issue in a new light. It might also encourage similar demands from descendants of victims in other German colonies.


The interview was conducted by Juliane Glahn.

Vergangenheitsbewältigung
Sich dem dunklen Kapitel stellen

Zwei Personen vor einer Gedenktafel in Berlin zur Kongokonferenz
Zwei Personen vor einer Gedenktafel in Berlin zur Kongokonferenz: Mehr als 100 Jahre nach den Verbrechen der deutschen Kolonialmacht im heutigen Namibia erkennt die Bundesregierung die Gewalttaten an den Herero und Nama als Völkermord an. | Foto (Detail): Paul Zinken © picture alliance / dpa / dpa-Zentralbild

Zwischen 1904 und 1908 ermordeten die Kolonialtruppen des Deutschen Reichs Zehntausende Ovaherero und Nama im heutigen Namibia. Nach mehr als fünf Jahren Verhandlungen zwischen der deutschen und namibischen Regierung erkannte Deutschland dieses Verbrechen als Völkermord an. Der Politologe und Afrikanist Henning Melber spricht im Interview über Versäumnisse bei den Verhandlungen und die Vergangenheitsbewältigung der Kolonialmächte.

Deutschland kündigte nach fast sechs Jahren Gesprächen mit Namibia ein Versöhnungsabkommen an; es klingt nach einem abgeschlossenen Prozess. Wie final sind die Verhandlungen Ihrer Einschätzung nach wirklich?

Laut Ruprecht Polenz, dem deutschen Sonderbeauftragten für die bilateralen Verhandlungen, ist das von ihm und seinem an COVID‑19 verstorbenen namibischen Counterpart Doktor Zed Ngavirue Mitte Mai paraphierte Abkommen eine endgültige Vereinbarung. Dies wurde auch von Außenminister Heiko Maas im Bundestag bekräftigt. Nachverhandlungen wird es demnach nicht geben. Zwar fand die endgültige Paraphierung des sogenannten Versöhnungsabkommens auf Außenministerebene nicht wie ursprünglich geplant im Juni 2021 in Windhoek statt. Grund war die dramatische Zunahme von Corona‑Fällen in Namibia, aber auch der heftige Protest aufseiten der Ovaherero und Nama im Lande. Die Aussprache im namibischen Parlament wurde nach erregten Diskussionen wegen der Pandemie unterbrochen und harrt derzeit bis zur Wiederaufnahme der Sitzungen zur Annahme des Vertrags.

Erst die Paraphierung auf Ministerebene macht das Abkommen rechtswirksam. Der Akt soll unbestätigten Meldungen zufolge für September 2021 geplant sein. Dies könnte nur durch einen eher unwahrscheinlichen Rückzieher seitens der namibischen Regierung vereitelt werden. Doch die regierende SWAPO Party of Namibia, ehemals South West Africa People’s Organisation, verfügt über eine stattliche absolute Mehrheit im Parlament. Deren Abgeordnete werden wohl trotz Kritik aus den eigenen Reihen und Unzufriedenheit über den ausgehandelten Kompromiss ihre Zustimmung dazu geben. 
  
Welche Verantwortung hat Deutschland, erneut Gespräche zu initiieren, gerade im Hinblick darauf, dass Organisationen wie die Ovaherero Traditional Authority (OTA) und die Nama Traditional Leaders Association (NTLA) die Einigung in aktueller Form ablehnen?


Wenn Versöhnung ernst genommen wird, müssen die wesentlichen Vertretungen der Nachfahren der vom Völkermord direkt betroffenen Menschen beteiligt sein. Dies ist nicht geschehen. Der Vorwurf muss auch der namibischen Regierung gemacht werden. Das Verhandlungsergebnis bleibt deshalb leider Makulatur. Es wäre allerdings anmaßend, wenn nun von deutscher Seite gefordert würde, ein Versäumnis zu korrigieren, obwohl es während der Verhandlungen im beiderseitigen Regierungsinteresse billigend in Kauf genommen wurde. Einer solchen Verantwortung stellt sich Deutschland auch nicht, indem der endgültige Charakter des Versöhnungsabkommens betont und damit der Ausschluss der Ovaherero und Nama Vertretungen bekräftigt wird.

Wie kamen Ihrer Meinung nach die 1,1 Milliarden Euro zustande, die Deutschland nun über einen Zeitraum von 30 Jahren an Namibia zahlen soll?

Die Summe war ein Ergebnis von Feilschereien. Die Anfangsofferte der deutschen Regierung lag nach Berichten Beteiligter deutlich niedriger, die Forderungen der namibischen Seite waren hingegen erheblich höher. Der deutschen Seite dürfte bei den Aushandlungen, die eher in Richtung der niedrigeren Ausgangssumme endeten, die Wirtschaftskrise in Namibia entgegengekommen sein.

Die Ökonomie befindet sich seit 2016 in einer Rezession, die durch die Folgen der Corona‑Pandemie  noch dramatisch verschärft wurde. Der Regierung steht fiskalisch das Wasser bis zum Hals, was sicher die Kompromissbereitschaft förderte. Auch wurde die uneingeschränkte politische Hegemonie der SWAPO, seit der Unabhängigkeit im Jahr 1990 als Befreiungsbewegung an der Macht, durch Stimmverluste bei den Parlaments- und Präsidentschaftswahlen im November 2019 und mehr noch den Regional- und Lokalwahlen im November 2020, geschwächt. Die namibische Regierung könnte darauf spekuliert haben, die ausgehandelten Finanzleistungen als Erfolg verbuchen zu können. Angesichts der Reaktionen im Lande war das eine Fehleinschätzung.

Mit den 1,1 Milliarden Euro sollen über einen Zeitraum von 30 Jahren Projekte gefördert werden. In welche Projekte soll das Geld investiert werden und wer trifft diese Entscheidung? Wie kann sichergestellt werden, dass es dort auch wirklich ankommt?

0,05 Milliarden wurden für eine Stiftung zum Kulturaustausch reserviert. Das sind weniger als zwei Millionen Euro pro Jahr. 1,05 Milliarden Euro werden über 30 Jahre verteilt auf die Infrastruktur von sieben der 14 Regionen des Landes verwendet. Dort leben die Nachfahren der am meisten vom Völkermord betroffenen Gemeinschaften. Dabei ist die ländliche Entwicklung eine Priorität, sowie Erziehung, Gesundheit, Energie- und Wasserversorgung.

Die Durchführung wird weiter konkretisiert werden, auch was Planung und Administration betrifft. Es gibt deshalb bereits die Sorge, dass dies eine Selbstbereicherung daran Beteiligter ermöglichen könnte. Es bleibt abzuwarten, inwieweit die zu schaffenden Strukturen dem durch entsprechende Kontrollen einen Riegel vorschieben.

Sprecher*innen der Ovaherero Traditional Authority und Nama Traditional Leaders Association bezeichnen das Versöhnungsabkommen als „PR-Coup Deutschlands“. Inwiefern ist diese Bezeichnung gerechtfertigt?

Angesichts der massiven Kritik an dem Abkommen kann von einem PR‑Coup eigentlich kaum die Rede sein. Es ist eher ein an seiner Unzulänglichkeit gescheiterter Versuch, der selbst – wenn er verwirklicht wird – kaum einen Imagegewinn verspricht. Als Pluspunkt bleibt jedoch, dass erstmals eine ehemalige Kolonialmacht sich dem dunklen Kapitel – wenn auch eher halbherzig – stellt. Immerhin schafft es einen neuen Bezugspunkt für postkoloniale Prozesse auch in anderen Ländern. Dies dürfte eine mobilisierende Wirkung haben, um mehr Druck auf Regierungen auszuüben, die kolonialen Gewaltgeschichten einzugestehen.

In Verbindung mit diesem Genozid wird in der internationalen Berichterstattung, beispielsweise in der „Washington Post“ und der „New York Times“, häufig auch der Holocaust erwähnt, wenn es um Vergangenheitsbewältigung in Deutschland geht. Wie wird der an den Ovaherero und Nama verübte Genozid im Vergleich zu anderen Völkermorden behandelt?

Ein Vergleich mit dem Holocaust oder auch anderen Völkermorden halte ich für abwegig, wenn nicht gar irreführend. Jede Form von Massenvernichtung und Völkermord hat singulären Charakter für die davon Betroffenen. Dies ist es, was die Ovaherero und Nama fordern: eine vorbehaltlose Anerkennung des Verbrechens und seiner Folgen sowie eine Respektierung des verursachten Leids, das für sie bis heute Gegenwart und nicht Geschichte ist.

Die deutsche Aufarbeitung des Holocaust kann nur insofern relevant sein, als dass sie Formen der Erinnerung geschaffen hat, die in ähnlicher Weise auch den Opfern des deutschen Kolonialismus im heutigen Namibia und anderswo zuteilwerden sollten.

Völkerverständigung sollte auf der Ebene der Menschen beteiligter Länder praktiziert werden, im gemeinsamen Gedenken an die Gräueltaten. Dies fordert die Besinnung darauf, welche Bemühungen auch als Ausdruck der Reue und der Suche einer Gemeinsamkeit zwischen den Nachfahren der Täter und der Opfer für eine gemeinsame Zukunft in Frieden erforderlich sind.

Warum vermeidet Deutschland Ihrer Ansicht nach das Wort Reparationen und was würde sich mit der Verwendung des Begriffes ändern?

Das Abkommen betont, dass Deutschland den Völkermord im moralischen und politischen – aber ausdrücklich nicht in einem rechtlichen – Sinne anerkennt. Die vereinbarte materielle Leistung wird als „Geste der Anerkennung“ bezeichnet. Reparation ist demgegenüber ein Begriff mit rechtlicher Konnotation. Dieser würde eine Dimension eröffnen, die an andere strittige Fälle rührt, unter anderem Kriegsverbrechen deutscher Soldaten während des Zweiten Weltkriegs.

Gerichte in Griechenland, Italien und osteuropäischen Ländern haben diesbezüglich den Nachfahren der damals getöteten Zivilist*innen einen Anspruch auf Entschädigung zugebilligt. Deutschland hat diese Urteile stets zurückgewiesen und jegliche Verantwortung für individuelle Kriegsverbrechen abgelehnt. Mit Reparationsleistungen an die Nachfahren des Völkermords in Namibia würde ein Präzedenzfall geschaffen, der diese Rechtsfrage in neuem Licht erscheinen ließe. Es könnte auch ähnliche Forderungen von Nachfahren von Opfern in anderen deutschen Kolonien ermutigen.


Das Interview führte Juliane Glahn.