The ABC of Project Management

ABC Gruppenbild © Goethe-Institut Nigeria / Judith Häser
The ABC of Project Management, a year-long workshop series by Goethe-Institut Nigeria, was designed to support mid-level professionals in the creative, cultural and social scenes in Nigeria. The Workshop series provided the participants with insights about the following:  project development, funding, sponsoring, legal issues, visibility strategies and cooperation building.

Below are the feedbacks from some of the participants and facilitators of the project.

Workshop Feedback

Olamide Udoma-Erjoh © Olamide Edoma-Erjorh The ABC of Project Management Training put together by Goethe Institut, CCA Lagos and 16/16 was an enriching experience. It has put in motion the production of better planned projects that will impact Lagos' urban, architectural and cultural spaces. The training emphasised innovations (thinking out of the box) around marketing and funding, which is needed for small organisations like Lagos Urban Development Initiative and Open House Lagos. From the training a fantastic network of young project managers has been birthed and I am extremely grateful to be a part of this network.



Olamide Udoma-Erjorh, Participant, Lagos
Lagos Urban Development Initiative
Emmanuel Acha © Stanley Ekuma Going through Goethe Institut Nigeria's ABC of Project Management Workshops (I, II and III) under the tutelage of experts from Germany, Nigeria and other parts of Africa has been very rewarding in advancing my professional work and understanding the dos and don’ts of project management. I now possess relevant competence, character and connection required to function as an effective project manager, not just for the Artfrika TV project (which has to do with production of short documentaries on amazing African arts, cultures and festivals) but also for other social enterprise projects that my organization is currently implementing and will undertake in the future. Very much thanks to Goethe-Institut Nigeria for this lifetime impact and support for the advancement of my professional work.
 
Emmanuel Acha, Participant, Enugu
Artfrika TV
 
Isabelle Siemer © Goethe-Institut Newsealand It was a beautiful experience to listen to the ideas and plans the participants have for their future projects. Lots of questions were asked, inspirations collected and I hope we could assist them in the creation of their project charters, financial plans and all those upcoming reports they need to be ready for. The best of luck to all of them!
 
Isabelle Siemer, Facilitator, Deutschland
 
Maiga Attaher © Attaher Maiga The ABC of Project Management Workshop has been a great experience for me. It was a real pleasure for me to be involved as a facilitator. The sessions were intense moments of exchange and sharing of best practices with local cultural entrepreneurs but also with other facilitators. The occasion was timely to present the experience of the Foundation Festival sur le Niger and its entrepreneurial model (Maaya Entrepreneurship), a model inspired by local values. This program is relevant to cultural entrepreneurs in Nigeria, and it will help to further structure the cultural sector in Nigeria. I take this opportunity to thank Goethe-Institute Nigeria and its partners 16by16 and Center for Contemporary Art (CCA) for organizing this useful program.
 
Attaheer Maiga, Facilitator, Mali
Foundation Festival sur le Niger
Donald Unanaka © Donald Unanaka The ABC of Project Management training for me was a blessing in many aspects, from the beginning of the training I got special attention as a physically challenged person. The best moment for me was when the Goethe-Institut had to change the venue of the second module because the venue wasn’t accessible to wheelchair. To me this gesture demonstrated Goethe-Institut commitment to involve people with disabilities in their programs.
I leant so much from the training, and I made lots of connection that I will forever cherish, I learnt so much about designing a project charter, it was very revealing. What I learnt in the training is already helping me as I am planning for the Abuja International Arts Ability Festival which is coming up on the 3-4th December, 2019 in Abuja. The training exposed me to all areas of project management training; I have already started applying the funding and fundraising aspect of the training to our festival.

Donald Unanka, Participant, Abuja
Potters Gallery Initiative
 
Steve Tchoumba © Régis Ow It was for me a great experience to be part of the Goethe Institute’s ABC of Project Management Workshop. I really want to thank Friederike Möschel, director of the Goethe-Institut Nigeria, for proposing the format that we had for our sessions, one based on sharing experience with the entrepreneurs.
Entrepreneurs in their own right have a vast amount of knowledge built over the years from building their creative businesses. My role was merely to facilitate the conversation around building a brand, networking and visibility strategies. We achieved our goals by Sharing good practices, what has worked and what has not worked so well and what lesson could be learned.
 
Steve Tchoumba, Facilitator, Cameroon
ActivSpaces

Das ABC des Projektmanagements

ABC Gruppenbild © Goethe-Institut Nigeria / Judith Häser Das ABC des Projektmanagements, eine einjährige Workshop-Reihe des Goethe-Instituts Nigeria, wurde entwickelt, um Expert*innen in den Bereichen Kreativwirtschaft, Kulturarbeit und Zivilgesellschaft in Nigeria zu unterstützen. Die Workshop-Reihe bot den Teilnehmern Einblicke in folgende Bereiche: Projektentwicklung, Finanzen, Sponsoring, rechtliche Fragen, Sichtbarkeitsstrategien und Kooperationsbildung.

Nachfolgend finden Sie einige Rückmeldungen der Projekt- Teilnehmer*innen und Moderator*innen.

Workshop Feedback

Olamide Udoma-Erjoh © Olamide Edoma-Erjorh Das vom Goethe Institut, CCA Lagos und 16/16  organisierte „ABC des Projektmanagements“ Training war eine bereichernde Erfahrung. Es hat die Produktion von besser geplanten Projekten in Gang gesetzt, die urbane, architektonische und kulturelle Räume in Lagos beeinflussen werden. Das Training betonte den Bedarf eines innovativen Umgangs mit Marketing und Finanzierung, die für kleine Organisationen wie Lagos Urban Development Initiative und Open House Lagos benötigt werden. Durch dieses Trainings ist ein fantastisches Netzwerk junger Projektmanager*innen entstanden worden, und ich bin sehr dankbar, Teil dieses Netzwerks zu sein.
 
 
Olamide Udoma-Erjorh, Workshopteilnehmerin, Lagos
Lagos Urban Development Initiative
Emmanuel Acha © Stanley Ekuma Das „ABC des Projektmanagements“ Workshop (I, II und III) des Goethe-Instituts Nigeria unter der Leitung von Experten*innen aus Deutschland, Nigeria und anderen Teilen Afrikas hat sich als sehr lohnend erwiesen, um meine professionelle Arbeit voranzubringen und die Besonderheiten des Projektmanagements zu verstehen. Ich verfüge nun über die entsprechende Kompetenz, den Charakter und die Verbindung, die erforderlich sind, um als effektiver Projektmanager zu fungieren, nicht nur für das Artfrika TV-Projekt (das mit der Produktion von Kurzdokumentationen über faszinierende afrikanische Kunstwerke, Kulturen und Festivals zu tun hat), sondern auch für andere Sozialunternehmensprojekte, die meine Organisation derzeit durchführt und in Zukunft durchführen wird. Vielen Dank an das Goethe - Institut Nigeria für diese wichtige Wirkung und Unterstützung bei der Weiterentwicklung meiner beruflichen Arbeit

Emmanuel Acha, Workshopteilnehmer, Enugu
Artfrika TV
 
 
Isabelle Siemer © Goethe-Institut Neuseeland Es war eine schöne Erfahrung, die Ideen und Pläne der Teilnehmer für ihre zukünftigen Projekte zu hören. Viele Fragen wurden gestellt, Inspirationen gesammelt und ich hoffe, wir konnten sie bei der Erstellung ihrer Projektcharta, ihrer Finanzpläne und die damit verbundenen Berichte, auf die sie bereit sein müssen, unterstützen. Viel Glück an alle!
 
Isabelle Siemer, Moderatorin, Deutschland
Maiga Attaher © Attaher Maiga Der ABC des Project Managements Workshop war für mich eine großartige Erfahrung. Es hat mir eine große Freude gemacht, als Moderator dabei zu sein. Die Sitzungen waren intensive Momente des Austauschs von Best Practice-Beispielen mit lokalen Kulturunternehmer*innen, aber auch mit anderen Moderator*innen. Die Gelegenheit bot sich an, die Erfahrungen der Stiftung Festival sur le Niger und ihr unternehmerisches Modell (Maaya Entrepreneurship), ein von lokalen Werten inspiriertes Modell, zu präsentieren. Dieses Programm ist für Kulturunternehmer*innen in Nigeria relevant und wird dazu beitragen, den Kultursektor in Nigeria weiter zu strukturieren. Ich möchte diese Gelegenheit nutzen, um dem Goethe-Institut Nigeria und seinen Partnern 16by16 und dem Center for Contemporary Art (CCA) für die Organisation dieses nützlichen Workshops zu danken.
 
Attaher Maiga, Moderator, Mali 
Foundation Festival sur le Niger
Donald Unanaka © Donald Unanaka Das ABC des Projektmanagements-Trainings war für mich in vielerlei Hinsicht ein Segen, von  Anfang an wurde ich als körperlich beeinträchtigter Mensch besonders behandelt. Der beste Moment für mich war, als das Goethe-Institut den Standort des zweiten Moduls geändert hat, da der Standort für Rollstuhlfahrer nicht zugänglich war. Für mich war diese Geste ein Ausdruck des Engagements des Goethe-Instituts, Menschen mit Behinderungen in ihre Programme einzubeziehen.
Ich habe so viel während des Trainings gelernt, und ich habe viele Kontakte geknüpft, die ich für immer schätzen werde. Ich habe so viel über das Entwerfen einer Projektcharta gelernt, das war sehr aufschlussreich. Was ich im Training gelernt habe, hilft mir bereits, denn ich plane das Abuja International Arts Ability Festival, das am 3. und 4. Dezember 2019 in Abuja stattfindet. Das Training hat mich mit allen Bereichen der Projektmanagement-Ausbildung vertraut gemacht. Ich habe bereits damit begonnen, was ich in den Bereichen der Finanzierung und der Spendenaktion gelernt habe, bei der Planung unseres Festivals umzusetzen.
 
Donald Unanka, Workshopteilnehmer, Abuja
Potters Gallery Initiative
Steve Tchoumba © Régis Ow Es war für mich eine tolle Erfahrung, Teil des ABC des Projektmanagements - Workshops des Goethe-Instituts zu sein. Ich möchte Friederike Möschel, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Nigeria, wirklich dafür danken, dass sie das Format vorgeschlagen hat, das wir für unsere Sitzungen gebraucht haben, und zwar auf der Grundlage des Erfahrungsaustauschs mit den Teilnehmer*innen.
Diese Kultur-Unternehmer*innen verfügen über ein enormes Wissen, das sie im Laufe der Jahre aus dem Aufbau ihres kreativen Unternehmens entwickelt haben. Meine Aufgabe war es lediglich, das Gespräch über den Aufbau einer Marke, Networking- und Visibility-Strategien zu erleichtern. Wir haben unsere Ziele erreicht, indem wir bewährte Praktiken ausgetauscht haben, was funktioniert hat und was nicht so gut funktioniert hat, und welche Erkenntnisse daraus gezogen werden konnten.
 
 
Steve Tchoumba, Moderator, Kamerun
ActivSpaces