Food Crossroads - Germany meets Nigeria

Food Crossroads Photo: Felicitas Then / Ozoz Sokoh

Over the past few years, the Goethe-Institut in Nigeria has supported authors and publishers from around the country. In fact, in the last two years the focus has been on African authors in Nigeria and in the diaspora with the programme, ‘Literary Crossroads’ – a series of talks where Nigerian writers meet colleagues from all over the continent and from the African diaspora to discuss trends, topics and themes prevalent in literature today.

This year, the focus is on Food:

  • Food as a connection, as something which binds
  • Similarities between the German and Nigerian cuisine
  • The narrative of food in and through media from writing to photography and video

We are looking for individuals with fresh and unique voices, ready to share their personal expressions and experiences of food as well as collectives interested in sharing their understanding of cultural diffusion and how to discover other cultures through cuisine, telling the world about it in new digital spaces. 

There will be a workshop and a live-cooking session which will be hosted by Ozoz Sokoh and Felicitas Then. Dates and venue will be announced soon.

Target group and requirements:

  • You must have an online presence where you share your thoughts about food ‘journalism’, not necessarily in a conventional way ; as long as can demonstrate your interest and passion
  • You should be interested in the cultural preservation and history of food
  •  You can apply as a collective (a max. of 2 people from each group will be allowed to attend)

Process organization:
  • Application deadline: Wednesday, 25th April 2018
  • Successful participants will be notified by  Wednesday, 2nd of May, 2018
  • You must be available on Friday, 11th and Saturday, 12th  of May, 2018 to participate in the programme which will hold in Lagos
Application documents:
Click on the Google forms and fill it out with your personal essay about food and heritage, legacy, recipe-centered pieces, social and cultural commentary or food history between 300 – 500 Words.


"Food Crossroads – Germany meets Nigeria" is a project by Goethe-Institut Nigeria, supported by Black Tower.

Facilitators

Felicitas Then Photo: Felicitas Then Felicitas Then is a chef, host and writer. I have never had another hobby. My entire family is crazy about cooking. My mother is a perfectionist in the kitchen and makes the best schnitzel in the world; her vanilla Kipferl are weighed to the gram. During a phone call with my uncle, it sometimes happens that he tells me his latest tricks for the perfect roast pork. Even as a small child I always wanted to eat and there was nothing that I did not like. As a 4-year-old, my uncle had to look for me in the restaurant in the kitchen. In elementary school, my hobbies in friendship books were just one thing: eating! And at some point, the cooking myself came to along.
 
After the rather coincidental, but very successful participation in various TV cooking formats and finally the victory at the first "The Taste" season, I decided to quit my job as a journalist and fully committed to my passion dedicate. On my blog I publish my favorite recipes, travelogues and further information that Youtube or Instagram cannot accommodate.

 
Ozoz Sokoh Photo: Ozoz Sokoh Ozoz Sokoh is a food explorer and exploration geologist who is passionate about food – cooking, eating, dreaming, writing and photographing it, especially on her blog, Kitchen Butterfly. A ‘Traveller by plate’,she uses foodways – the social, cultural and economic practices relating to the production and consumption of food to explore the world and believes that ‘Food is more than eating’.

In 2013, she coined the phrase 'The New Nigerian Kitchen' - her philosophy and practice to celebrate and document Nigerian cuisine in its entirety from classic recipes to reinventing and representing Nigerian food, unearthing history, sharing techniques, using old ingredients in new ways, focusing on in-season produce, monitoring trends and more. She has created a number of novel documents like the first-ever seasonal produce for Nigeria and only one of a handful on the continent; a guide to Nigerian tastes and flavours; and more.

She believes that Nigerian food was, is and always will be worth celebrating. Viva la vida Naija food.

Find her on Instagram and Twitter

Food Crossroads - Germany meets Nigeria

Food Crossroads Foto: Felicitas Then / Ozoz Sokoh

GERMANY MEETS NIGERIA

In den letzten Jahren hat das Goethe-Institut Nigeria Autoren und Verleger aus dem ganzen Land unterstützt. In den letzten zwei Jahren lag der Schwerpunkt auf afrikanischen Autoren in Nigeria und in der Diaspora mit dem Programm "Literary Crossroads" – einer Diskussionsreihe, in der nigerianische Schriftsteller mit Kollegen aus der  Diaspora über aktuelle Trends und Themen diskutieren, die heute in der Literatur vorherrschen.

In diesem Jahr liegt der Fokus auf Essen:

  •  Essen als Verbindung
  •  Ähnlichkeiten zwischen deutscher und nigerianischer Küche
  • Die Erzählung von Essen in und durch Medien, von Schreiben zu Fotografie und Video

Wir suchen sowohl Einzelpersonen als auch Kollektive mit frischen und einzigartigen Stimmen, die bereit sind ihre persönlichen Ausdrücke und Erfahrungen von Gerichten zu teilen und die daran interessiert sind, ihr Verständnis von kultureller Verbreitung zu teilen und andere Kulturen durch deren Küche zu entdecken und der Welt darüber in neuen digitalen Räumen zu erzählen.
 
Es wird ein Workshop und ein Live-Kochstation von Ozoz Sokoh und Felicitas Then morderiert. Genaue Termine werden bekanntgegeben.

Die Bewerbung für den Workshop ist geschlossen.

"Food Crossroads - Germany meets Nigeria" ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Nigeria, durchgeführt mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Black Tower.

  • Food Crossroads Photo: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio
  • Food Crossroads Photo: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio
  • Live Cooking Photo: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

Moderator

Felicitas Then Foto: Felicitas Then Felicitas Then ist eine Köchin, Host und Autorin. Ich hatte noch nie ein anderes Hobby. Meine gesamte Familie ist verrückt nach Kochen. Meine Mutter ist eine Perfektionistin in der Küche und macht die besten Schnitzel der Welt; Ihre Vanille-Kipferl werden auf das Gramm genau abgewogen. Bei einem Telefonat mit meinem Onkel kommt es schon mal vor, dass er mir seine neuesten Tricks für den perfekten Schweinebraten verrät. Schon als kleines Kind wollte ich immer nur essen und es gab nichts, was mir nicht geschmeckt hat. Als 4-jährige musste mich mein Onkel im Restaurant in der Küche suchen. In der Grundschule  stand in Poesiealben bei meinen Hobbies nur eines: Essen! Und irgendwann kam das selbständige Kochen dazu.

Nach der eher zufälligen, aber sehr erfolgreichen Teilnahme an diversen TV-Koch-Formaten und schließlich dem Sieg bei der ersten „The Taste“ Staffel hab ich mich dazu entschlossen meinen Job als Journalistin an den Nagel zu hängen und mich voll und ganz meiner Leidenschaft zu widmen. Auf meinem Blog veröffentliche ich meine Lieblingsrezepte, Reiseberichte und weiterführende Infos die ich auf Youtube oder Instagram nicht unterbringen kann.
 
Ozoz Sokoh Foto: Ozoz Sokoh Ozoz Sokoh ist eine Food-Explorer und Explorations-Geologin, die sich leidenschaftlich für Essen interessiert - Kochen, Essen, Träumen, Schreiben und Fotografieren, besonders auf ihrem Blog, Kitchen Butterfly. Ein "Reisender nach dem Teller", sie nutzt Foodways - die sozialen, kulturellen und wirtschaftlichen Praktiken in Bezug auf die Produktion und den Konsum von Lebensmitteln, um die Welt zu erkunden und glaubt, dass "Essen mehr ist als Essen".

Im Jahr 2013 prägte sie die Phrase "The New Nigerian Kitchen" - ihre Philosophie und Praxis, nigerianische Küche in ihrer Gesamtheit zu feiern und zu dokumentieren - von klassischen Rezepten über das Erfinden und Repräsentieren nigerianischer Speisen bis hin zum Ausgraben von Geschichte, Teilen von Techniken, Verwenden alter Zutaten auf neue Art und Weise. Fokus auf saisonale Produkte, Überwachung von Trends und mehr. Sie hat eine Reihe von neuartigen Dokumenten geschaffen, wie die allererste saisonalen Produkte für Nigeria und nur eine von wenigen auf dem Kontinent; ein Leitfaden für nigerianische Geschmäcker und Aromen; und mehr.

Sie glaubt, dass nigerianisches Essen war, ist und wird es immer wert sein zu feiern. Viva la vida Naija food.
 
Finde Sie auf Instagram und Twitter