INTERNATIONAL AID FUND FOR CULTURAL AND EDUCATIONAL ORGANISATIONS 2020 design @ Oluwadara Omotoso © Five Cowries Art Initiative

International Aid Fund for Cultural and Educational Organisations: Introduction of the Nigerian Participants


Germany’s Federal Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institut and other intermediary organisations involved in international culture and education policy have teamed up with partner foundations to expand activities addressing structural needs in this time of global crisis.

The collaboration led to a call for innovative art and education projects around the world. Out of hundreds of applications, two Nigerian organisations, Five Cowries Education Initiative (Lagos) and Potters Gallery Initiative (Abuja) were among selected organisations.  
 
Five Cowries Education Initiative leverages the arts to make learning more inclusive, accessible and fun for children and young adults. The organisation, co-founded by the muralist, educator and children’s book author Polly Alakija and cultural entrepreneur Yemisi Mokuolu, aims to complement the curriculum by fusing the ‘3Rs’ (Reading, Writing and Arithmetic) with the ‘4Cs’ (Critical-Thinking, Communication, Collaboration and Creativity). 

  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative
  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative
  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative
  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative
According to Mokuolu, Five Cowries works closely with artists, art teachers and educators. “We build the capacity of educators using art skills such as drama, dance, visual arts, poetry and puppetry to enhance teaching, the teaching environment and ultimately the Nigerian school curriculum," she said. "A key part of our work also entails providing educators with skills to help raise awareness of complex local and global issues such as climate change, gender equality, mental health, democracy and food rights.”
 
In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, which has left schools closed since March 2020, Five Cowries is engaged more than ever before. The organisation strives to reach the approximately 60% of children across Nigeria unable to complete secondary education and the 25% who drop out at primary level. 
 
“Accessing this fund means that we will be able to maintain our activities and create an e-learning platform to widen our reach and enable more educators in their endeavours to support community and home based learning,” said Mokuolu. 
 

The founders of Potters Gallery Initiative, which was founded as a social enterprise and an arts organisation aimed to strengthen the voice of people living with disabilities, expressed surprise at the selection. Being the only arts organisation for people living with disabilities in Nigerian and West Africa, the organisation showcases the creative works of its members across fields like literature, visual art, filmmaking, dance and choreography. Over the years, the Potters Gallery Initiative has sought a vigorous redefinition of society’s perception of people living with disability.
  • Potters Gallery Initiative, Abuja © Potters Gallery Initiative
  • Potters Gallery Initiative, Abuja © Potters Gallery Initiative
According to Donald Unanka, coordinator of the organisation, the grant will be channeled into setting up a studio for the disabled. This, Unanka says, will improve the quality of works as well as the market value of art products created by members of the organisation.
 
The grant will also be used to set up a special digital arts festival for the disabled in Nigeria. This event will coincide with the International Day for persons living with disabilities.  

Funded by the International Relief Fund of the German Federal Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institut, and other partners: www.goethe.de/relieffund

INTERNATIONAL AID FUND FOR CULTURAL AND EDUCATIONAL ORGANISATIONS 2020 design @ Oluwadara Omotoso © Five Cowries Art Initiative

Internationaler Hilfsfond für Kultur- und Bildungsorganisationen: Vorstellung der nigerianischen Teilnehmer


Auf Initiative des deutschen Auswärtigen Amtes, des Goethe-Instituts und weitere Mittlerorganisationen im Bereich der internationalen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik wird gemeinsam mit Partnern eine Ausweitung der Aktivitäten zur Bewältigung von strukturellen Bedürfnissen in Zeiten der globalen Krise angestrebt.

Diese Zusammenarbeit führte zu einem internationalen Aufruf für innovative Kunst- und Bildungsprojekte. Zwei nigerianische Organisationen, Five Cowries Education Initiative (Lagos) und Potters Gallery Initiative (Abuja), gehören zu denjenigen Organisationen, die aus Hunderten von Bewerbungen ausgewählt wurden.

Die Five Cowries Education Initiative bedient sich der Künste, um das Lernen für Kinder und junge Erwachsene integrativer, zugänglicher und unterhaltsamer zu machen. Ziel dieser Organisation, die von der Malerin, Pädagogin und Kinderbuchautorin Polly Alakija und der Kulturmanagerin Yemisi Mokuolu mitbegründet wurde, ist es, den Schullehrplan durch die Verschmelzung der "3Rs" (engl. Lesen, Schreiben und Rechnen) mit den "4Cs" (engl. Kritisches Denken, Kommunikation, Zusammenarbeit und Kreativität) zu bereichern. 

  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative
  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative
  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative
  • Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative, Lagos © Five Cowries Arts Education Initiative

Laut Mokuolu pflegt Five Cowries eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen, Kunstlehrer*innen und Pädagog*innen. „Wir stärken die Kapazität von Pädagog*innen, mithilfe von Kunstfertigkeiten wie Drama, Tanz, bildender Kunst, Poesie und Puppenspiel, um den Unterricht, das Lehrumfeld und letztendlich den nigerianischen Schullehrplan zu bereichern, “ erklärt sie. „Ein wichtiger Teil unserer Arbeit besteht auch darin, Pädagog*innen mit Fähigkeiten auszustatten, die dazu dienen, das Bewusstsein für die Wahrnehmung komplexer lokaler und globaler Themen wie Klimawandel, Gleichstellung der Geschlechter, psychische Gesundheit, Demokratie und Nahrungsmittelrechte zu schärfen."

Angesichts der COVID-19-Pandemie, die dazu geführt hat, dass die Schulen seit März 2020 geschlossen sind, engagiert sich Five Cowries mehr als je zuvor. Die Organisation ist bestrebt, die etwa 60% der nigerianischen Schulkinder, welche die Sekundarstufe nicht abschließen können, sowie die 25%, die nach der Primarstufe die Schule abbrechen, zu erreichen.

„Für uns bedeutet die Bereitstellung dieses Fonds, dass wir unsere Aktivitäten aufrechterhalten und eine Online-Lernplattform schaffen können, um unsere Reichweite zu vergrößern und mehr Pädagog*innen in die Lage zu versetzen, das Lernen in der Gemeinde und zu Hause zu unterstützen,“ sagte Mokuolu.


Die Gründer der Potters Gallery Initiative, die als soziales Unternehmen und Kunstorganisation mit dem Ziel gegründet wurde, die Stimme von Menschen mit Behinderungen zu stärken, zeigten sich überrascht, dass sie ausgewählt wurden.  Als einzige Kunstorganisation für Menschen mit Behinderungen in Nigeria und Westafrika präsentiert die Organisation die kreativen Arbeiten ihrer Mitglieder in Bereichen wie Literatur, bildende Kunst, Film, Tanz und Choreographie.  Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich die Potters Gallery Initiative um eine starke Neubestimmung der gesellschaftlichen Wahrnehmung von Menschen mit Behinderungen bemüht.
 
  • Potters Gallery Initiative, Abuja © Potters Gallery Initiative
  • Potters Gallery Initiative, Abuja © Potters Gallery Initiative
Laut Donald Unanka, dem Koordinator der Organisation, soll das Fördergeld in die Einrichtung eines Studios für Menschen mit Behinderungen investiert werden. Dadurch, so Unanka, werde sowohl die Qualität von Kunstwerken als auch der Marktwert von Kunstprodukten, die von Mitgliedern der Organisation geschaffen werden, verbessert.

Darüber hinaus soll die Fördersumme für die Einrichtung eines speziellen digitalen Kunstfestivals für Menschen mit Behinderungen in Nigeria verwendet werden. Diese Veranstaltung wird zeitlich mit dem Internationalen Tag für Menschen mit Behinderungen zusammenfallen.

Gefördert mit Mitteln aus dem Internationalen Hilfsfonds des Auswärtigen Amts der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, des Goethe-Instituts und weiterer Partner: www.goethe.de/hilfsfonds