Selected Artists 2018

Open Call Berlin Skyline: CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons Lagos Skyline: Goethe-Institut/Jeremiah Ikongio

Selected artists 2018

Ojudun Taiwo Jacob Photo: Nicola Scherer

Ojudun Taiwo Jacob is a multimedia performance artist from Lagos. He lives and works as a performer, chorographer and curator in the Bariga district on the mainland of Lagos. In 2012 he founded the Illuminate Theater Lagos, whose artistic director he has been since.

He received his choreographic and artistic / conceptual training through his many years of collaboration in the Crown Troupe of Africa in Bariga / Lagos. In particular, the jury was impressed both by its strong artistic profile, which he developed in a self-named existentialist style, despite art-far-removed contexts, and by his concept, which deliberately addresses the Western context. Ojudun Taiwo Jacob's art works have a strong connection to public space using participatory approaches. Galerie Wedding has a specific interest in promoting performative positions in the context of visual art. The jury believes that the residence Ojudun Taiwo Jacob's work can provide crucial artistic impulses for the further development of his work.
Natalia Orendain del Castillo Photo:Ananda Freyria/N.Castillo

Natalia Orendain del Castillo is a 1983 in Mexico born visual artist and scenographer. In her native country, she started her studies in visual arts specializing in sculpture.With an ongoing interest in all performative arts, she continued her studies in the Kunsthochschule in Berlin Weissensee as a stage and costume designer.

Since 2012, she has participated in several forms of experimental, documentary and music theatre productions in Berlin, Frankfurt am Main, Prague, Norway and Mexico.

Her artistic research focuses on the subjects of space perception and production, sound as creator of space and the performativity within the everyday; making use of immersive, installative and participatory formats to explore the audience´s experience.
Jumoke Adeyanju Photo: Joyce Nicholls

Jumoke Adeyanju was raised in Aachen, Germany. She studied Area Studies Asia/Africa at the Humboldt University of Berlin, now pursuing a Master Degree in South- and Southeast Asia Studies. Jumoke has worked as a research assistant and undergrad-lecturer (teaching on Necropolitics, Fanon, charity politics and Performing Arts in East Africa) at the Humboldt University and Alice Salomon University respectively.

Prior to her academic journey, Jumoke dived into Hip Hop culture as a young dancer.
In 2012, Jumoke organized the first Break Dance Battle of Zanzibar. She recently joined the newly founded “blackism collective”, a multidisciplinary movement artists
collective. They premiered their first piece “(self-)vations” at SAVVY contemporary in March 2018.

Next to dance and academia, Jumoke has successfully evolved as a host of multiple cultural events and as a multilingual poet. She has been on stage at variousoccasions in Germany, Tanzania and New York performing her poems in English, German, Kiswahili and Yorùbá. Jumoke Adeyanju is the founder of “The Poetry Meets Series” and co-director of “Ujamaa Culture Center e.V”, a community center for African-diasporic people, momentarily facilitating exhibitions/installations, african language courses (Twi) and film screenings.
Jumoke is also a freelance translator (German-English-Kiswahili), (vinyl-)DJ and radio host on Berlin Community Radio for YAASAA - an african media platform.

In her work as an allround-artist, she is interested in how various elements of expressive artforms interrelate and incorporate the potential to (re-)create moments of reviving other or rather lost selves.

Ausgewählte Künstler 2018

Open Call Berlin Skyline: CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons Lagos Skyline: Goethe-Institut/Jeremiah Ikongio

Ausgewählte Künstler 2018

Ojudun Taiwo Jacob Foto: Nicola Scherer

Ojudun Taiwo Jacob ist ein multimedial arbeitender Performancekünstler aus Lagos. Er lebt und arbeitet als Performer, Choreograf und Kurator im Stadtteil Bariga/ Lagos. 2012 gründete er das Illuminate-Theatre Lagos, deren künstlerischer Leiter er seitdem ist.

Seine  choreographische und künstlerisch/ konzeptionelle Ausbildung erhielt er durch seine langjährige Mitarbeit in der Crown Troupe of Africa aus Bariga/Lagos. Die Jury überzeugte insbesondere sowohl das starke künstlerische Profil, das er trotz kunstferner Kontexte in einem selbstbenannten existenzialistischen Stil entwickelt hat, als auch sein Konzept, das dezidiert den westlichen Kontext adressiert. Ojudun Taiwo Jacobs künstlerische Arbeiten haben einen starken Bezug zum öffentlichen Raum unter Verwendung partizipatorischer Herangehensweisen. Die Galerie Wedding hat ein spezifisches Interesse, performative Positionen im Kontext der bildenden Kunst zu fördern. Die Jury geht davon aus, dass die Residenz Ojudun Taiwo Jacobs Arbeit entscheidende künstlerische Impulse für die Weiterentwicklung seines Werkes vermitteln kann.
Natalia Orendain del Castillo Foto:Ananda Freyria/N.Castillo

Natalia Orendain del Castillo ist eine 1983 in Mexiko geborene bildende Künstlerin und Szenografin. In ihrem Heimatland begann sie ihr Studium in bildender Kunst, spezialisiert auf Bildhauerei.

Mit einem anhaltenden Interesse an allen performativen Künsten setzte sie ihr Studium an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee als Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin fort.

Seit 2012 hat sie an verschiedenen experimentellen, dokumentarischen Theater- und Musiktheaterproduktionen in Deutschland (Berlin, Frankfurt am Main),Tschechien, Norwegen und Mexiko teilgenommen.

Ihre künstlerische Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Themen Raumwahrnehmung und -produktion sowie Klang als Schöpfer von Raum und Performativität im Alltäglichen; dem Verwenden von immersiven, installativen und partizipativen Formaten, um mit den Wahrnehmungserfahrungen des Publikums umzugehen.
Jumoke Adeyanju Foto: Joyce Nicholls

Jumoke Adeyanju ist in Aachen aufgewachsen. Sie studierte Area Studies Asia / Africa an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und absolvierte ein Masterstudium in Süd- und Südostasienwissenschaften. Jumoke Adeyanju hat als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Lehrbeauftragter an der Humboldt-Universität und der Alice-Salomon-Universität gearbeitet (Necropolitik, Fanon, Wohltätigkeitspolitik und Darstellende Kunst in Ostafrika).

Vor ihren Studien tauchte sie als junge Tänzerin in die Hip Hop-Kultur ein.
So organisierte sie 2012 das erste Break Dance Battle in Sansibar. Sie ist Teil des neu gegründeten "Blackism Collective", einem multidisziplinären Künstlerkollektivs in Berlin. Ihr erstes Stück "(Selbst-) vationen" wurde im März 2018 bei SAVVY Contemporary uraufgeführt.

Neben Tanz und Wissenschaft hat sich Jumoke Adeyanju erfolgreich als Gastgeberin mehrerer kultureller Veranstaltungen und als mehrsprachiger Dichterin etabliert. So trug sie ihre Gedichte in Englisch, Deutsch, Kiswahili und Yorùbá auf verschiedenen Bühnen in Deutschland, Tansania und New York vor. Jumoke Adeyanju ist die Gründerin von "The Poetry Meets Series" und Co-in des "Ujamaa Culture Center e.V", einem Gemeindezentrum für afrikanisch-diasporische Menschen, das Ausstellungen, Installationen, afrikanische Sprachkurse (Twi) und Filmvorführungen ermöglicht.
Sie arbeitet zudem als  freiberufliche Übersetzerin (Deutsch-Englisch-Kiswahili), (Vinyl-) DJ und Radiomoderator in bei Berlin Community Radio für YAASAA - eine afrikanische Medienplattform.

Als Künstlerin in verschiedenen Medien arbeitend, interessiert sie sich für die Beziehung der expressiven Kunstformen zueinander sowie deren Potenzial der Wiederbelebung von anderen oder womöglich verloren gegangenen Ausdrücken des Selbst.