Stretched Terrains – The Mobile Museum on its Way to Dak'art

Strechted Terrains Graphics: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

For the second time since 2016, the Goethe-Institut Nigeria initiates a mobile residency program titled "Stretched Terrains – The Mobile Museum on its Way to Dak'Art" with a group of young artists from Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal and Germany.
 

The group will start the six-week journey with an old converted public transport bus, the Molue Mobile Museum of Contemporary Art, on April 11, 2018 in Lagos. Crossing Benin, Togo, Ghana, Ivory Coast and Mali, they will eventually arrive in Dakar, Senegal right at the opening of the 13. International Biennial DaK'Art, beginning in May. On May 07, they willhead back to Nigeria, where they will finally arrive on May 25.

On their journey, the artists examine diverse public spaces as communication zones of social, economic and political interaction/intervention/disruption. The project embraces the diversity of practices and perspectives of the participating artists, who will discuss and exchange their artistic interactions as they travel the approximately 10.000-kilometer road trip. The artworks, which will be created in Dakar and during the journey will be presented and discussed along the way back to Nigeria at the Goethe-Institutes and cultural centres at Dakar, Bamako, Abidjan, Accra, Lomé and Lagos.

The challenge for the artists, but also the special character of the project is the frequent relocation, the constantly changing framework and the unexpected connected with the journey. Experimental in nature, the project encourages exchange and collaboration among participating artists and the public.

The Nigerian artist Emeka Udemba, who is living in Germany, is the curator of the project.
 
The whole journey can be followed on the webblog, Stretched Terrains, and social media with the #StretchedTerrains
 
"Stretched Terrains – The Mobile Museum on the Way to Dak'Art" is a project by Goethe-Institut Nigeria, supported by Lufthansa and Brussels Airlines.
 

Online reports about Stretched Terrains

Press Conference Foto: Willie Schumann

PREMIUMTIMESNG
Six ‘Mobile Museum’ artists on their Way to Dak’Art

The Goethe-Institut Nigeria mobile residency, which is to take six artists to Dak’Art in Dakar, Senegal will hit the road from Lagos on Wednesday.

Departure Photo: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

NEW TELEGRAPH
Six artists for ‘The Mobile Museum on its Way to Dak’Art’

For the second time since 2016, the Goethe-Institut Nigeria initiates a mobile residency program titled “Stretched Terrains – The Mobile Museum on its
Way to Dak’Art”, with a group of young artists from Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal and Germany.

Departure Photo: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

Deutsche Welle
Ein rollendes Museum geht auf Tour durch Westafrika

10.000 Kilometer, sieben Länder: Sechs Künstler haben sich am Dienstag auf eine Reise durch Westafrika gemacht - in einem alten Bus, der nun ein rollendes Museum ist. Adrian Kriesch hat sie vor der Abreise getroffen.

Blog Stretched Terrains
Stretched Terrains

Follow our museum-bus on its exciting journey from Lagos to Dak'Art 2018.

Participants

Emeka Udemba © Emeka Udemba Emeka Udemba, *1968 in Enugu/ Nigeria, studied Art at the College of Education Lagos/ University of Lagos in Nigeria. He lives and works in Lagos/Nigeria and in Freiburg/ Germany as an artist and curator whose work is focused on the bond between mediums and the intersection of images and structures as a means of gaining deeper insight into how we communicate with each other, how we formulate identity, culture (or hide it)-as well as to how these elements affect our sense of collective consciousness.

In 2014, Emeka Udemba founded the Molue Mobile Museum of Contemporary Art Lagos (MMMoCA). His curatorial projects are informed by the investigation of the in-between spaces devoid of boundaries. They offer platforms for exchange as a means of connecting and questioning our relationship to others.

His curatorial projects include Lagos Open (2005 and 2013), In God we Trust (2008), Exchanging Spaces (2010), ‘Ein Haus für Junkman’ (Ewerk, Freiburg/Germany, 2013).
 
Gabriel Goller © Eleni Zaharopoulos Gabriel Goller, *1992 in Freiburg, studies at the University of Arts, Design and Popular Music in his hometown in Southwestern Germany. He mainly focuses on photography. Subject of his bachelor thesis is comparing the depictions of the human being in public space. He examines the different forms of depiction in photography and painting under the title "Public Mirror".

As part of his internship semester, Gabriel Goller gained practical experience in the film industry as he participated in a film project.

The subjects of his recent works mainly focus on documentary and portrait photography. Most parts of his work choose the critical view on the agglomerations of European cities. Gabriel Goller addresses the role of a consumer society beside the identity of the individual in the urban space. He provides a glance into the interior space – shops, restaurants, shopping window displays – and thus into the people's desires and longings.
 
Monsuru Alashe © Dapo Adeniyi Monsuru Alashe, *1981 in Lagos/ Nigeria, is an experimental artist, a photographer and a graphic designer. He is the 2013 winner of Life in My City Art Festival Competition in the category of Textile/Graphics and in 2014 received the consolation prize of the same festival. In 2014, he was the 3rd prize winner of Lagos Photos Competition. In 2017, he won the Waco/Nigeria Art Competition "Telling the African Stories" as well as the consolation prize of the Union Bank Art Challenge. Monsuru Alashe participated in the annual Harmattan Workshop (2010 - 2017) respectively in Delta State; he also joined the "We are Together" art workshop in Benin Republic (2012). In 2016, he was one of the participants of the first small road trip, organized by the Goethe-Institut Nigeria, from Lagos to Senegal. He also participated in the 2017 "Art for Peace" event in Lagos State. Besides participating in several group exhibitions, Monsuru Alashe also had a solo exhibition in 2013 at Alliance Française Lagos titled "The Awakening; Our Everyday Life".
 
Ray Agbo Fawaz © Agbo Ray Claver Agbo, *1970, graduated from the College Artistique et Artisanal in Togo in in 1992. Back home since 1994, he lives and works as a sculptor in Takoradi/Ghana for over 25 years. Even though he has the ability to work with several materials, he is fascinated by wood. He says: ¨For the warmth of wood as a media I feel I am touching a soul to touch souls¨.

In his sculptures, Ray Claver Agbo integrates other materials, symbols and nails to strengthen his works and creative philosophy.

For many years now, the artist has been working and participating in several local and international workshops, symposiums, exhibitions including residencies (e.g. 2005 in Accra/Ghana), for example at the Art House in Laongo/ Burkina Faso (2008,) Dakar Biennial (2014), KARP-Kamina (2016 and 2017) edition in Togo. He is a winner of the Alias Norbert Foundation prize in 2004.

Ray Claver Agbo is currently the director of the NGO Art in Action, a studio sculpture mentor, adviser and a board member of Takoradi Technical University Faculty of Applied Art, Sculpture Department, Ghana.
Souleymane Konate © Dino Hirojiro Souleymane Konate, * 1983 in Abidjan, lives and works in his hometown in Ivory Coast. He started working as a calligrapher. Passionate about art and in love with painting, in 2011 he met the painter Aboudia and became his assistant. From 2012 to 2014, Souleymane Konate collaborated in residence with several artists. His paintings are a manifestation of an art carried by the energy of a spontaneous pictorial style similar to graffiti artists. The characters, who populate his paintings, illustrate his view on humans, whose beauty according to his understanding cannot reside in the physical appearance. But rather in morality and the values they convey.

The global approach of Souleymane Konate thus suggests a reflection on the role of the image in rupture with its immediate perception to give it a more symbolic and elevated character, a sacred dimension. The artist has already exhibited his works in Ivory Coast, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Morocco, Italy, France and Germany.
 
 Bay Dam © Bay Dam Dame Diongue, better known as artist Bay Dam, * 1984 in Dakar, is a computer scientist passionate about Linux and the whole ecosystem of free software. In 2014, in Dakar, during a residency of Montreal artists, he met Sofan Audry and Alexandre Quessy with whom he subsequently developed MapMap, a free software of projection mapping. He has also worked in several projects of digital creation and interactive installation, some in collaboration with other artists. Founder of VX Lab, a laboratory dedicated to research and experimentation on arts, science and technologies, he is actively involved in the creation and development of open source software. In this constant search for new artistic creation processes, he uses new technologies to re-appropriate, in a different way, public space, forms, colors and materials. This multidisciplinary approach has made it very easy to create audiovisual installations or scenography for theater, dance and others. Self-taught in computer programming and proud of his ability to learn new technologies fairly quickly, he encourages the sharing of knowledge by regularly organizing skills-sharing activities with the public.

Stretched Terrains – das mobile Museum auf dem Weg zur Dak'Art

Strechted Terrains Graphics: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio


Zum zweiten Mal nach 2016 initiiert das Goethe-Institut Nigeria unter dem Titel "Stretched Terrains – Das mobile Museum auf dem Weg zur Dak'Art" ein mobiles Residenzprogramm für eine junge Künstlergruppe mit Teilnehmern aus Nigeria, Ghana, Elfenbeinküste, Senegal und Deutschland.
 

Mit einem alten umgebauten Schulbus, dem Molue Mobile Museum of Contemporary Art, startet die Gruppe am 11. April 2018 von Lagos aus zu einer sechswöchigen Tour durch Benin, Togo, Ghana, Elfenbeinküste und Mali, um rechtzeitig Anfang Mai zur Eröffnung der 13. internationalen Kunstmesse DaK'Art in Dakar/ Senegal anzukommen. Am 07. Mai wird der Bus wieder Richtung Nigeria aufbrechen und dort am 25.Mai zurückerwartet.

Auf dieser Reise wird das Künstlerkollektiv verschiedene öffentliche Plätze und Orte im Hinblick auf deren Bedeutung als soziale, wirtschaftliche und politische "Kommunikationszonen" untersuchen. Das Projekt berücksichtigt dabei die unterschiedlichen Arbeitsstile und Perspektiven der teilnehmenden Künstler, die sich während der fast 10.000 km langen Rundreise über ihre künstlerischen Interaktionen austauschen und auseinandersetzen können. Die in Dakar und während der Reise entstehenden Werke werden auf der Rückreise nach Nigeria an den Goethe-Instituten und Kulturzentren in Dakar, Bamako, Abidjan, Accra, Lomé und Lagos vorgestellt und im Rahmen von Veranstaltungen diskutiert.

Die Herausforderung für die Künstler, aber auch der besondere Charakter des Projekts, ist mit dem stetigen Ortswechsel, den sich veränderten Rahmenbedingungen und den Unwägbarkeiten der Reise verbunden. Dieser experimentelle Rahmen ermöglicht einen permanenten Austausch mit verschiedenen Orten und Zielgruppen.

Kurator des Projekts ist der nigerianische, in Deutschland lebende Künstler Emeka Udemba.
 
Folgen Sie den Teilnehmern auf ihrer Reise auf dem Webblog Stretched Terrains und in den sozialen Medien unter dem #StretchedTerrains.
 
"Stretched Terrains – Das mobile Museum auf dem Weg zur Dak'Art" ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Nigeria, durchgeführt mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Lufthansa und Brussels Airlines.
 

Onlineberichte über Stretched Terrains

Departure Foto: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

NEW TELEGRAPH
Six artists for ‘The Mobile Museum on its Way to Dak’Art’

For the second time since 2016, the Goethe-Institut Nigeria initiates a mobile residency program titled “Stretched Terrains – The Mobile Museum on its Way to Dak’Art”, with a group of young artists from Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal and Germany.

Departure Photo: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

Deutsche Welle
Ein rollendes Museum geht auf Tour durch Westafrika

10.000 Kilometer, sieben Länder: Sechs Künstler haben sich am Dienstag auf eine Reise durch Westafrika gemacht - in einem alten Bus, der nun ein rollendes Museum ist. Adrian Kriesch hat sie vor der Abreise getroffen.

Blog Stretched Terrains
Stretched Terrains

Folgen Sie unserem Museumsbus auf seinem aufregenden Weg von Lagos zur Dak'Art 2018.

Teilnehmer

Emeka Udemba © Emeka Udemba Emeka Udemba, * 1968 in Enugu/ Nigeria, studierte Kunst am College of Education und der University of Lagos in Nigeria. Er lebt und arbeitet als Künstler und Kurator in Lagos und in Freiburg/ Deutschland, dessen Arbeit sich auf die Beziehung zwischen Medien sowie die Schnittstellen von Bildern und Strukturen konzentriert, um eine tiefere Einsicht darin zu gewinnen, wie wir miteinander kommunizieren, wie wir Identität und Kultur formulieren (oder verstecken) und wie diese Elemente unseren Sinn für ein kollektives Bewusstsein beeinflussen.

2014 gründete Emeka Udemba das Molue Mobile Museum of Contemporary Art Lagos (MMMoCA).  Seine kuratorischen Projekte beschäftigen sich mit der Untersuchung von Zwischenräumen, die frei von Begrenzungen sind. Sie stellen Plattformen für Austausch bereit, um unsere Beziehung zu anderen zu besprechen und zu hinterfragen.

Seine kuratorischen Projekte beinhalten u.a. Lagos Open (2005 und 2013), In God we Trust (2008), Exchanging Spaces (2010), Ein Haus für Junkman (Ewerk, Freiburg/Deutschland, 2013).

 
Gabriel Goller © Eleni Zaharopoulos Gabriel Goller, *1992 in Freiburg,  ist Student an der Hochschule für Kunst, Design und populäre Musik in seiner südwestdeutschen Heimatstadt. Fotografie ist sein Vertiefungsfach. Thema seiner Abschlussarbeit ist ein Vergleich der Darstellung von Menschen im öffentlichen Raum. Unter dem Titel "Public Mirror" werden unterschiedliche Darstellungsformen in der Fotografie und Malerei untersucht.

In den letzten Monaten konnte Gabriel Goller im Rahmen eines Praxissemesters  Erfahrung im Filmbereich sammeln und war am  Entstehungsprozess eines Kinofilms beteiligt.
Die Themengebiete seiner bisherigen Arbeiten umfassen hauptsächlich Sozialdokumentationen, Reportagen und Portraitfotografie.

Ein großer Teil seiner Arbeit wählt den kritischen Blick auf die Ballungsräume europäischer Großstädte. Thematisiert werden dabei die Rolle des Konsums in der Gesellschaft sowie die Identität des Individuums im urbanen Raum. Es wird der Blick in Innenräume gewählt - in Geschäfte, Restaurants, Schaufensterauslagen – und auf die damit einhergehenden Wünsche und Sehnsüchte der Menschen.
 
Monsuru Alashe © Dapo Adeniyi Monsuru Alashe, * 1981 in Lagos/Nigeria, ist ein Experimentalkünstler, Fotograf und Graphikdesigner. Er ist der Gewinner des Life in My City Kunstfestivals 2013 (Bereich Textilien/Grafik) und erhielt den Sonderpreis desselben Festivals im Jahr darauf. Ebenfalls 2014 erreichte er den 3. Platz beim Lagos Photo Wettbewerb. 2017 war er der Sieger des Waco/ Nigeria Kunstwettbewerbs "Telling the African Stories" sowie den Sonderpreis der Union Bank Art Challenge.
Monsuru Alashe nahm an den jährlich stattfindenden Harmattan Workshops, vor allem in Delta State/ Nigeria (2010-2017), sowie an den "We are Together" Workshops in der Republik Benin (2012) teil. Bereits 2016 war er Teilnehmer der ersten kleinen, vom Goethe-Institut organisierten Busreise von Lagos in den Senegal. 2017 engagierte er sich bei der "Art for Peace"-Veranstaltung in Lagos. Neben der Beteiligung an verschiedenen Gruppenausstellungen, hatte Monsuru Alashe 2013 eine Einzelausstellung "The Awakening: Our Everyday Life" bei der Alliance Française in Lagos.
 
Ray Agbo Fawaz © Agbo Ray Claver Agbo, *1970, studierte am College Artistique et Artisanal in Togo, an dem er 1992 seinen Abschluss machte. Seit 1994 lebt und arbeitet er als Bildhauer in Takoradi/ Ghana. Auch wenn er mit diversen unterschiedlichen Materialien gearbeitet hat, so ist er doch vor allem von Holz fasziniert. "Durch die Wärme des Mediums Holz habe ich das Gefühl, durch dessen Seele andere Seelen berühren zu können".

In seinen Skulpturen verarbeitet Ray Claver Agbo aber auch andere Materialien, Nägel und Symbole um die Bedeutung seiner Kunstwerke zu verstärken und seine eigene Philosophie zu entwickeln.

Schon seit vielen Jahren nimmt der Künstler an verschiedenen nationalen wie auch internationalen Workshops, Symposien, Ausstellungen sowie Residenzprogrammen (etwa  2005 in Accra/Ghana) teil, u.a. Art House in Laongo/ Burkina Faso (2008), Dakar Biennial (2014), KARP-Kamina (2016 and 2017) in Togo. Er ist zudem einer der Gewinner des Alias Norbert Foundation-Preises 2004.

Ray Claver Agbo arbeitet zurzeit als Leiter der NGO Art in Action, als Mentor für Bildhauer sowie als Berater und Vorstandsmitglied der Takoradi Technical University, Fakultät für angewandte Künste, Abteilung für Bildhauerei, Ghana. 
 
Souleymane Konate © Dino Hirojiro Souleymane Konate, *1983 in Abidjan, lebt und arbeitet in seiner Heimatstadt in der Republik Côte D'Ivoire. Zuerst arbeitete er als Kalligraph bevor er seiner Liebe zur Malerei und zur Kunst im Allgemeinen folgte und 2011 Assistent des Malers Aboudia wurde. Von 2012 bis 2014 arbeitete Souleymane Konate mit verschiedenen Künstlern zusammen. Seine Bilder sind das Manifest einer Kunst, die ähnlich der von Graffitikünstlern, von der Energie eines spontanen bildhaften Stils getragen wird. Die Personen, die seine Bilder bevölkern, zeigen seinen persönlichen Blick auf und sein Verständnis von Menschen, deren Schönheit nicht in der äußeren Erscheinung liegt, sondern eher in ihrer Moralität und den Werten, die sie vermitteln.

Souleyman Konate verfolgt einen globalen Ansatz, der zu einer Reflektion auf die Rolle des Bildhaften im Bruch mit seiner direkten Wahrnehmung anregt, um dadurch einen eher symbolischen und erhabenen Charakter zu erhalten – eine Art von sakraler Dimension.  Der Künstler nahm bereits an Ausstellungen in der Republik Elfenbeinküste, im Senegal, Burkina Faso, Marokko, Italien, Frankreich und Deutschland teil.
 
 Bay Dam © Bay Dam Dame Diongue, besser bekannt unter seinem Künstlernamen Bay Dam, *1984 in Dakar, ist ein Computerfachmann mit einer großen Leidenschaft für Linux und andere freie Softwares. 2014 traf er in Dakar auf die beiden kanadischen Künstler Sofan Audry und Alexandre Quessy, mit denen er gemeinsam MapMap, eine freie "projection mapping"-Software, entwickelte. Er hat ebenfalls an verschiedenen Projekten im Bereich digitale Kunstwerke und interaktive Installationen, teilweise in Kooperationen mit anderen Künstlern, gearbeitet. Als Gründer des VX Labs, einer Werkstätte, die sich mit der Erforschung und dem Experimentieren mit Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technik auseinandersetzt, ist Bay Dam aktiv an der Herstellung und der Entwicklung von  "Open Source Software" beteiligt. Während dieser ständigen Suche nach neuen künstlerischen Schaffensprozessen nutzt er neue Technologien, um sich auf verschiedenen Wegen den öffentlichen Raum, Formen, Farben und Materialien auf neuen Wegen anzueignen. Dieser multidisziplinäre Ansatz ermöglicht eine einfache Herstellung von audiovisuellen Installationen oder Bühnenhintergründen für Theater-, Tanz- oder ähnliche Veranstaltungen. Als Programmier-Autodidakt und jemand, der sich den Zugang zu den neuen Technologien sehr schnell selbst erarbeitet hat, ermutigt Bay Dam dazu, die eigenen Kenntnisse zu teilen, indem er regelmäßig öffentliche Veranstaltungen zur Weitergabe von Fertigkeiten durchführt.