The Art & Tech Podcast: Episode 03

The Art & Tech Podcast: Episode 3 design @ Jeremiah Ikongio

“I was there”: The Power of Immersive Storytelling

In this episode we talk to Joel ‘Kachi Benson, a documentary filmmaker and virtual reality content creator, about the power of empathy, activism, and how best to tell stories and document histories using the medium of virtual reality films. 

Joel ‘Kachi Benson is passionate about stories and has been making documentary movies for over a decade. In February 2018, he was introduced to the world of Virtual Reality and became the first Nigerian filmmaker to use this technology for storytelling, when he produced “In Bakassi” - a virtual experience of life in one of the largest IDP Camps in Northeast Nigeria.

In April 2019, ‘Kachi Benson produced his second VR film, “Daughters of Chibok”, a film that takes viewers into the heart of one of the unsolved mysteries of the Boko Haram insurgency in Nigeria.

“Daughters of Chibok” made history in September 2019, when it won the Venice Lion at the Venice Film Festival, making ‘Kachi Benson the first African to win the prestigious prize in the Virtual Reality category.

‘Kachi Benson has received formal and informal film training from the Central Film School London, Legacy Media Institute, Virginia USA; National Film & Television School, Beaconsfield UK, and StillMotion in Portland, USA.

In December 2019, he was named among the New African Magazine’s 2019 Top 100 Most Influential Africans. He lives and works in Nigeria where he manages JB Multimedia Studios and VR360 Stories.

  • Joel Kachi Benson on set © Joel Kachi Benson

  • Joel Kachi Benson filming © Joel Kachi Benson


 

Top

The Art & Tech Podcast: Episode 03

The Art & Tech Podcast: Episode 3 design @ Jeremiah Ikongio

“Ich war dort”: Die Kraft des Geschichtenerzählen

In dieser Folge sprechen wir mit dem Dokumentarfilmer und ‘Virtual Reality Content Creator’ Joel ‘Kachi Benson über die Kraft von Empathie, Aktivismus und wie man das Medium Virtual-Reality-Filme am besten nutzt um Geschichten zu erzählen, sowie Geschichte zu dokumentieren.

Joel ‘Kachi Benson ist ein leidenschaftlicher Geschichtenerzähler und produziert seit über einer Dekade Dokumentationsfilme. Im Februar 2018 wurde er in die ‘Virtual Reality’ Welt eingeführt und mit der Produktion von “In Bakassi” - eine virtuelle Erfahrung des Lebens in einem der größten Vertriebenencamps im Nordosten Nigerias - wurde er zum ersten nigerianische Filmemacher der fir Technologie anwendet um Geschichten zu erzählen.

Im April 2019 produzierte Kachi Benson seinen zweiten Virtual-Reality-Film, “Daughter of Chibok”, ein Film der den Zuschauer mitten in den Schauplatz eines der größten ungelösten Rätsel des Boko Haram Aufstandes in Nigeria führt.

Der Film machte Geschichte als er im September 2019 den Goldenen Löwen auf den venezianischen Filmfestspielen gewann: ‘Kachi Benson ist der erste Afrikaner der den renommierten Preis in der Kategorie Virtual-Reality gewonnen hat.

‘Kachi Benson hat eine formelle, sowie informelle, Ausbildung im Bereich Film von der Central Film School London, Legacy Media Institute, Virginia USA; National Film & Television School, Beaconsfield UK, and StillMotion in Portland, USA, erhalten.

Im Dezember 2019 wurde er als einer der 100 einflussreichsten Afrikaner im ‘New African Magazine’ genannt. Er lebt und arbeitet in Nigeria, wo er JB Multimedia Studios and VR360 Stories leitet.

  • Joel Kachi Benson on Set © Joel Kachi Benson

  • Joel Kachi Benson filming © Joel Kachi Benson

 

Top