Presentation and Play-Demo BRAVO ZULU: Law of Armed Conflict

Bravo Zulu board game Image Foto: Bravo Zulu board game Image © Goethe-Institut Nigeria

Sat, 04.05.2019

Goethe-Institut Lagos

4th Floor, Lagos City Hall
Catholic Mission Street (opposite Holy Cross Cathedral church)
Lagos Island
Lagos

During military operations, when troops have to leave their comfort zones to locations faraway, commanders ensure that they travel with both outdoor and indoor games, which are deployed to keep troops mentally and physically fit and also to keep them gainfully engaged and out of mischief.

The game, BRAVO ZULU, is designed to meet these needs: gainful employment, entertainment and teaching/reminders of IHL through constant exposure of players to the key elements of the law. The game is quite easy to play and tries to remind junior field commanders and their men about the rules of combat. Unlike video games, which isolate the players from others around them, it is deliberately designed as a manual board game targeted to bring a group of soldiers together.

A representative of the ICRC will be present to demonstrate the rules of the game and guests will also be able to participate in a sample play. Starting as a soldier, the players aspire to get commissioned first as an officer then as the Commanding Officer to win the game. In the process, the players will learn and understand how to comply with the Law of Armed Conflict (LOAC).

This event is supported by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) in Abuja.

Back

Präsentation und Demo-Spiel BRAVO ZULU: Das Recht in bewaffneten Konflikten

Bravo Zulu board game Image Foto: Bravo Zulu board game Image © Goethe-Institut Nigeria

Sa, 04.05.2019

Goethe-Institut Lagos

4. Etage, Lagos City Hall
Catholic Mission Street (opposite Holy Cross Cathedral church)
Lagos Island
Lagos

Während militärischer Operationen, bei denen die Truppen ihre Komfortzone verlassen müssen, um in weit entfernte Gegenden zu gehen, haben die Kommandeure oftmals Spiele für drinnen oder im Freien im Marschgepäck, die dem Zweck dienen, die Soldaten geistig und körperlich fit zu halten, sie sinnvoll zu beschäftigen und von Unsinn abzuhalten.

Das Spiel BRAVO ZULU ist für solche Situationen entwickelt worden: Es bietet sinnvolle Beschäftigung, Unterhaltung und lehrt bzw. erinnert die Mitspieler konstant an die grundlegenden Regeln des humanitären Völkerrechts. Das Spiel ist sehr einfach zu spielen und hat das Ziel, jungen Kommandeuren und ihren Soldaten immer wieder diese Regeln bewusst zu machen. Anders als Videospiele, die isoliert voneinander gespielt werden, wurde BRAVO ZULU gerade deshalb als Brettspiel entworfen, um die Soldaten gemeinsam spielen zu lassen.

Ein Vertreter des Internationalen Komitees vom Roten Kreuz (IKRK) wird anwesend sein, um die Regeln des Spiels zu erklären. Die Veranstaltungsgäste können dann selber das Spiel ausprobieren. Fängt man das Spiel als einfacher Soldat an, ist es das Ziel zum Offizier und dann zum Kommandanten befördert zu werden. Während dieses Prozesses lernen die Spieler die Regeln des humanitären Völkerrechts kennen.

Die Veranstaltung wird vom Internationalen Komitee vom Roten Kreuz (IKRK) in Abuja unterstützt.

Zurück