Digital event Echoes of the South Atlantic – Carnival in the Making

Carnaval da Vitoria © Antonio Ole

Sat, 24.04.2021

What forms of exchange exist between Africa and South America today, after centuries of European hegemony and exploitation? What might the cultural future(s) of the South Atlantic look like? The online publication “Echoes of the South Atlantic – Carnival in the Making” – to be launched on 24 April – comprises insights, artistic explorations and considerations from over 10 projects that have pondered on these questions since 2018.

Michelle Mattiuzzi and Jota Mombaça ascertain, for instance, decolonial performative aesthetics between Brazil and South Africa, while Jean-Pierre Bekolo connects a diaspora community in Columbia with Cameroon through film. The Angolan artist António Ole and Brasilian photographer André Cunha research carnival traditions between the continents in the unfinished project “Carnival Trilogy,” while Nigerian artist Nidi Dike reveals the hidden histories of consumption, production, and value linking commodities of transatlantic extractive capitalism. Songs, rituals, drumming, and dance haunt the publication. A colonial mansion in Denmark dialogues with the Haitian Revolution.


Programme of the Online Vernissage:
  • Digital tour of the publication
  • Conversation with the curators
  • Interactions with the artists

The multimedia publication “Echoes of the South Atlantic – Carnival in the Making” was curated by Ananya Jahanara Kabir, Fareda Khan, Ana Albuquerque und Camilo Solinti Soler Caicedo. The title underscores the processes and fragments of the contributing works, which together herald a complex, carnivalesque gathering. Many projects were paused by the pandemic but found improvised pathways. The curators place the unfinished within the framework of hope that carnival projects.

Explore with us how past, future, and the echoes of the south Atlantic are—to turn to Isaac Julien’s project title—marvellously entangled.

Zoom: bit.ly/CarnivalZoom

Back

Digitale Veranstaltung Echos des Südatlantiks – Karneval im Entstehen

Carnaval da Vitoria © Antonio Ole

Sa, 24.04.2021

Welche Wechselbeziehungen bestehen heute zwischen Afrika und Südamerika, nach Jahrhunderten der europäischen Hegemonie und Ausbeutung? Wie könnte(n) die kulturelle Zukunft(en) des Südatlantiks aussehen? Am 24. April wird die Online-Publikation „Echoes of the South Atlantic – Carnival in the Making” gelauncht. Sie präsentiert Erkenntnisse, künstlerische Erkundungen und Überlegungen aus über 10 Projekten, die sich der Fragestellung seit 2018 zugewendet haben.

Michelle Mattiuzzi und Jota Mombaça erkunden beispielsweise dekoloniale performative Ästhetiken in Brasilien und Südafrika, während der kamerunische Regisseur Jean-Pierre Bekolo eine filmische Brücke zwischen einer Diasporagemeinde in Kolumbien und Kamerun schlägt. Der angolanische Künstler António Ole und der brasilianische Fotograf André Cunha spüren in „Carnival Trilogy“ den Karnevalstraditionen zwischen den Kontinenten nach, und die Nigerianerin Ndidi Dike enthüllt versteckte Facetten allbekannter Konsumgüter im transatlantischen extraktivistischen Kapitalismus. Musik, Rituale, Trommeln und Tanz durchziehen die Publikation. So trifft auch ein koloniales Herrenhaus in Dänemark auf die haitianische Revolution.


Ablauf der Online-Vernissage:
  • Digitale Führung durch die Ausstellung / Publikation
  • Gespräch mit den Kurator*innen
  • Interaktionen mit den Künstler*innen

Die multimediale Publikation „Echoes of the South Atlantic – Carnival in the Making” wurde kuratiert von Ananya Jahanara Kabir, Fareda Khan, Ana Albuquerque und Camilo Solinti Soler Caicedo. Der Titel, zu Deutsch „Karneval im Entstehen“, unterstreicht dabei das Prozess- und Fragmenthafte der präsentierten Werke, die gemeinsam ein vielschichtiges, karnevaleskes Kulturtreiben ankündigen. Viele Projekte wurden durch die Pandemie unterbrochen und haben im Projektverlauf neue, improvisierte Wege eingeschlagen. Die Kurator*innen verbinden dabei das Unfertige mit dem Hoffnungsversprechen des Karnevals.

Erkunden Sie mit uns wie die Vergangenheit, die Zukunft, und die Echos des Südatlantiks – nach dem Titel von Isaac Juliens Projekt – wundersam verwoben sind.

Zoom: bit.ly/CarnivalZoom

Zurück