young talent promotion in Germany Young Documentary Photography and Photojournalism

Due to the picture overkill on the internet young generation photography is finding it hard to stand out and impress. A look at young talent promotion activities in Germany gives an insight on development trends.

Fara Phoebe Zetzsche, “Stray Kids”, Lumix-Festival 2014 Fara Phoebe Zetzsche, “Stray Kids”, Lumix-Festival 2014 | © Fara Phoebe Zetzsche Photo essays that tell the story of people’s lives, reportages from conflict areas and war zones, stories from everyday life, from next door or from far, far away: photojournalism and young documentary photography in Germany and elsewhere are versatile and heterogeneous. They have a longstanding tradition in Germany. Back in the nineteen twenties the leading daily newspapers, magazines and publishing companies of Berlin and Munich provided the basis for pioneering photojournalists such as Tim Gidal, Stefan Lorant, Felix H. Man, and also for the first female photojournalists Gerda Taro, Marianne Breslauer and Gisèle Freund. Stories told in pictures were extremely popular among readers. This marked the beginning of photojournalism and it also led to the birth of modern-day magazines.

Contemporary witnesses of time

In an age when attention has become a scarce commodity It is not only new technologies and digital photography that have had an impact on the genre over recent years, it is above all the trend towards fast, short sequences of images, snapshot pictures, dramatic and emotionally loaded images that has driven out photo reportages on political and social issues, quieter stories that deeply affect us in the tradition of immersion. Less well known photographers seldom have the opportunity to publish larger image series. For this young generation of photojournalists and documentary photographers It is therefore all the more important to encourage promotion awards as well as exhibitions in museums and contacts and networks that are offered within the scope of international photo festivals.
 
  • Birte Kaufmann, “The Travellers”, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Birte Kaufmann
    Birte Kaufmann, “The Travellers”, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Christian von Steffelin, “Großer Saal Auditorium”, 2006. Palast der Republik © Christian von Steffelin
    Christian von Steffelin, “Großer Saal Auditorium”, 2006. Palast der Republik
  • Wolfgang Müller, “Wohnheim einer Textilfabrik”, Nanjing, 2011. From the Book “Mingong: Die Suche nach dem Glück” © Wolfgang Müller“
    Wolfgang Müller, “Wohnheim einer Textilfabrik”, Nanjing, 2011. From the Book “Mingong: Die Suche nach dem Glück”
  • Tobias Zielony, “Sail 2“ from the video work: “Vele”, 2010 © Tobias Zielony
    Tobias Zielony, “Sail 2“ from the video work: “Vele”, 2010
  • Alejandro Chaskielberg, “La Creciente”, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Alejandro Chaskielberg
    Alejandro Chaskielberg, “La Creciente”, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Andrea Gjestvang: „One Day in History”, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Andrea Gjestvang
    Andrea Gjestvang: „One Day in History”, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Mustafah Abdulaziz, “Water”, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Mustafah Abdulaziz
    Mustafah Abdulaziz, “Water”, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Casper Hedberg, “Buzkashi”, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Casper Hedberg
    Casper Hedberg, “Buzkashi”, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Philipp Jeske, “Russlands neue Verteidiger”, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Philipp Jeske
    Philipp Jeske, “Russlands neue Verteidiger”, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Iveta Vaivode, “Somewhere on a disappearing path”, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Iveta Vaivode
    Iveta Vaivode, “Somewhere on a disappearing path”, Lumix-Festival 2014

Supporting young talent

Since 1994, the Wüstenrot Stiftung has been supporting young graduates from German universities every two years with four awards, endowed with 10,000. – euros each, for documentary photography projects. The award is organised through the Fotografische Sammlung of the Museum Folkwang and by its director Florian Ebner. In early 2014 the exhibition, Was war und was ist (Past and Present) – The Wüstenrot Foundation Awards for Documentary Photography, with new works by the prize winners, reveals the many different approaches, perspectives and image languages in contemporary photography.An important event and institution for contemporary documentary photography is the Munich Foto Doks Festival that is held once a year in October. The venues for the event are the MaximiliansForum and the Munich Stadtmuseum where photographers are offered space for presentations, exchange, talks, podium discussions and space to explore new works. It is here that the Zeit Magazine Photo Prize, endowed with 5,000 euros, is awarded and winners are given the opportunity to develop and implement a photo reportage together with Zeit editors.

The international Lumix festival

The Lumix Festival for Young Photojournalism, that is held in Hanover, excellently demonstrates how young talent’s potential can develop through these promotion projects. Some 35,000 visitors came to the event from June 18 to 22, 2014. Since 2008, Rolf Nobel, initiator of the bi-annual Lumix festival and professor of photography at the Hochschule Hannover has been bringing together the best up and coming young photographers from all over the world. Almost 1,200 entries from 71 countries were submitted in March 2014. And Wüstenrot scholarship holders Birte Kaufmann and Till Müllenmeister were among the distinguished international young photographers with the best 60 reportages and photo essays that were on show at the exhibition.

The Finnish photographer Meeri Koutaniemi received the Freelens award at the Lumix festival 2014, endowed with 10,000 euros, for her reportage Taken. The Lumix Multimedia Award was shared by the U.S. photographer Christopher Capozziello for his multimedia reportage “A State of Mind“ and Patrick Slesiona, a student at the Hochschule Hanover, for his production “Zwei Seiten – Leben mit der unverzeihlichen Tat“ (two sides – living with an unforgivable deed) that was made with Marcel Wogram und Christian Werner. The Lammerhuber Prize, endowed with 5,000 euros, for the most impressive story of everyday life went to Fara Phoebe Zetzsche. For her portrait work “Stray Kids” the Gera-born graduate from the Hochschule Hanover spent time with street children in Berlin. The Public Choice Award went to Norwegian photographer Andrea Gjestvang for her portrait series “One Day in History“.

The Lumix Festival offers a platform for work showing everyday life and social reportage, stories, backgrounds and topics of social and political relevance. Current events in troubled areas, ecological disasters and human rights violations, and also the chaos of everyday life just around the corner. Other themes at this International Festival for Photojournalism include landscape photography and stories told in a responsive and sensitive way.

Nachwuchsförderung in Deutschland Junge Dokumentarfotografie und Fotojournalismus

In Zeiten der Bilderflut im Internet hat es die junge Generation in der Fotografie schwer, aus der Menge herauszustechen. Ein Blick auf die Nachwuchsförderung in Deutschland zeigt die Tendenzen.

Fara Phoebe Zetzsche, „Stray Kids“, Lumix-Festival 2014 Fara Phoebe Zetzsche, „Stray Kids“, Lumix-Festival 2014 | © Fara Phoebe Zetzsche Foto-Essays, die vom Leben der Menschen erzählen, Reportagen aus Krisen- und Kriegsgebieten, Geschichten aus dem Alltagsleben, von nebenan oder von ganz weit weg: Fotojournalismus und junge Dokumentarfotografie in Deutschland und anderswo sind vielseitig und heterogen. In Deutschland haben sie eine lange Tradition. Berlin und München bildeten in den 1920er-Jahren mit ihren großen Tageszeitungen, Illustrierten und Verlagen die Basis für bildjournalistische Pioniere wie Tim Gidal, Stefan Lorant, Felix H. Man und für die ersten Fotoreporterinnen Gerda Taro, Marianne Breslauer und Gisèle Freund. Das Erzählen in Bildern begeisterte die Leserschaft. Es entstand der Fotojournalismus und mit ihm die moderne Illustrierte.

Wenig Raum für Fotografen als Zeitzeugen

Nicht nur neue Technologien und die digitale Fotografie veränderten in den vergangenen Jahren das Genre. Vor allem die Tendenz zu schnellen, kurzen Bildfolgen, Schnappschüssen, dramatischen und pathetisch aufgeladenen Bildern verdrängte – in Zeiten, in denen die Aufmerksamkeit als knappes Gut betrachtet wird – politisch und sozial ambitionierte Fotoreportagen, leisere Geschichten, die berühren. Unbekannte Fotografinnen und Fotografen haben selten die Möglichkeit, größere Bildstrecken zu veröffentlichen. Umso wichtiger sind gerade für diese junge Generation von Fotojournalisten und Dokumentarfotografen Förderpreise, Ausstellungsmöglichkeiten in Museen sowie die Kontakte und Netzwerke, die sich auf internationalen Fotofestivals bieten.
 
  • Birte Kaufmann, „The Travellers“, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Birte Kaufmann
    Birte Kaufmann, „The Travellers“, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Christian von Steffelin, „Großer Saal Auditorium“, 2006. Palast der Republik © Christian von Steffelin
    Christian von Steffelin, „Großer Saal Auditorium“, 2006. Palast der Republik
  • Wolfgang Müller, „Wohnheim einer Textilfabrik“, Nanjing, 2011. Aus dem Buch „Mingong: Die Suche nach dem Glück“ © Wolfgang Müller“
    Wolfgang Müller, „Wohnheim einer Textilfabrik“, Nanjing, 2011. Aus dem Buch „Mingong: Die Suche nach dem Glück“
  • Tobias Zielony, „Sail 2“ aus der Videoarbeit: „Vele“, 2010 © Tobias Zielony
    Tobias Zielony, „Sail 2“ aus der Videoarbeit: „Vele“, 2010
  • Alejandro Chaskielberg, „La Creciente“, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Alejandro Chaskielberg
    Alejandro Chaskielberg, „La Creciente“, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Andrea Gjestvang: „One Day in History“, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Andrea Gjestvang
    Andrea Gjestvang: „One Day in History“, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Mustafah Abdulaziz, „Water“, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Mustafah Abdulaziz
    Mustafah Abdulaziz, „Water“, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Casper Hedberg, „Buzkashi“, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Casper Hedberg
    Casper Hedberg, „Buzkashi“, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Philipp Jeske, „Russlands neue Verteidiger“, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Philipp Jeske
    Philipp Jeske, „Russlands neue Verteidiger“, Lumix-Festival 2014
  • Iveta Vaivode, „Somewhere on a disappearing path“, Lumix-Festival 2014 © Iveta Vaivode
    Iveta Vaivode, „Somewhere on a disappearing path“, Lumix-Festival 2014

Junge Talente fördern

Die Wüstenrot-Stiftung fördert seit 1994 in zweijährigem Turnus Absolventen deutscher Hochschulen im Bereich Dokumentarfotografie. Der Förderpreis wird fachlich durch die Fotografische Sammlung im Museum Folkwang in Essen und ihren Leiter Florian Ebner betreut. Als Preisgeld werden vier mal 10.000 Euro für Projekte vergeben. Im Frühjahr 2014 zeigte die Ausstellung Was war und was ist – Dokumentarfotografie Förderpreise der Wüstenrot-Stiftung im Nebeneinander der Arbeiten der Preisträger das große Spektrum an unterschiedlichen Herangehensweisen, Perspektiven und Bildsprachen innerhalb der zeitgenössischen Fotografie.Eine wichtige Institution für die aktuelle Dokumentarfotografie ist das jährlich im Oktober stattfindende Münchener FotoDoks-Festival, das im Maximiliansforum und im Münchener Stadtmuseum Raum für Präsentation, Austausch, Diskussionen, Gesprächsrunden und Werkgespräche bietet. Im Rahmen des Festivals wird der mit 5.000 Euro dotierte Fotopreis des Zeit-Magazins vergeben, der es den Gewinnern ermöglicht, gemeinsam mit der Zeit-Redaktion eine Fotoreportage zu realisieren.

Lumix, das internationale Festival

Dass sich durch diese Förderung Nachwuchspotenziale entwickeln, lässt sich auf der Lumix, dem Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus in Hannover weiterverfolgen. Rund 35.000 Besucher waren im Juni 2014 dort. Rolf Nobel, Initiator der Lumix und Professor für Fotografie an der Hochschule Hannover, bringt seit 2008 alle zwei Jahre die besten Nachwuchsfotografen aus aller Welt zusammen. Knapp 1.200 Bewerbungen aus 71 Ländern kamen 2014 in die Juryauswahl. Die Jury wählte 60 Reportagen und Fotoessays aus. Inmitten der ausgewählten internationalen Nachwuchsfotografen trifft man auch Wüstenrot-Stipendiaten wie Birte Kaufmann und Till Müllenmeister wieder.

Die finnische Fotografin Meeri Koutaniemi wurde beim Lumix-Festival 2014 für ihre Reportage Taken mit dem mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Freelens-Preis ausgezeichnet. Den Lumix-Multimedia-Award 2014 teilen sich der US-Amerikaner Christopher Capozziello mit seiner Multimedia-Reportage A State of Mind und Patrick Slesiona, Student der Hochschule Hannover, mit seiner mit Marcel Wogram und Christian Werner realisierten Produktion Zwei Seiten – Leben mit der unverzeihlichen Tat. Der mit 5.000 Euro dotierte Lammerhuber-Preis für die am eindrucksvollsten geschilderte Alltagsgeschichte ging 2014 an Fara Phoebe Zetzsche. Die in Gera geborene Absolventin der Hochschule Hannover hatte für ihre Arbeit Stray Kids Straßenkinder in Berlin begleitet und porträtiert. Den Publikumspreis erhielt die Norwegerin Andrea Gjestvang für ihre Arbeit One Day in History.

Auf dem Lumix-Festival ist Platz für Alltags- und Sozialreportagen, Geschichten, Hintergründe und Themen mit gesellschaftlicher und politischer Relevanz: Zeitgeschehen in Krisengebieten, Umweltkatastrophen und Menschenrechtsvergehen, der alltägliche Wahnsinn aus der unmittelbaren Umgebung. Aber auch Landschaftsbilder und einfühlsam erzählte Geschichten erhalten auf dem internationalen Festival für Fotojournalismus ihren Raum.