Composition Live Cinema: VARIETY

The New Zealand International Film Festival and the Goethe-Institut have commissioned Johannes Contag to compose an accompanying film score for the screening of the 1920ies film classic "Variety".

It’s a story which happened a long time ago and could be happening right now. It is a story of passion, eroticism, jealousy and brutality. Ewald André Dupont's Drama "Variety" is one of the most famous movies produced during the Republic of Weimar besides the classics "Metropolis" and "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari". Now you have the unique chance to see the restored version of "Variety" (completed in 2015) at the New Zealand International Film Festival in Auckland and Wellington.

Composer Johannes Contag © New Zealand School of Music In order to support the unique character of this event, the movie will be accompanied by live music composed by Johannes Contag. The composer, musician and academic in language is primarily active in Germany and New Zealand and is not new to live music performances for silent film.

In 2013 he composed the live accompaniment for the filmclassic “The Crowd”. His musical oevre for “Variety” is a composition for chamber orchestra and piano and incorporates musical elements of composers who were popular during the 1920ies in Germany. It will be performed by the SMP Ensemble Wellington under the direction of Karlo Margetic.

Events

Thursday, 7 July, 6pm, Goethe-Institut Wellington: Meet & Greet with Jo Contag
Sunday, 24 July, 1:30pm, Skycity Theatre Auckland: Live Cinema - Variety
Sunday, 7 August, 1:30pm, Paramount Theatre Wellington: Live Cinema - Variety

Komposition Live Cinema: VARIETÉ

Das New Zealand International Film Festival und das Goethe-Institut haben in Zusammenarbeit Johannes Contag dazu beauftragt, eine Filmmusik für die live Begleitung des 1920er Jahre Filmklassikers "Varieté" zu komponieren.

Die Geschichte ist eine, die sich seit Jahrhunderten wiederholt und genau jetzt stattfinden könnte. Es ist eine Geschichte von Leidenschaft, Erotik, Eifersucht und Gewalt. Ewald André Duponts Drama "Varieté" aus dem Jahr 1925 zählt neben Filmen wie "Metropolis" und "Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari" zu den Klassikern des Weimarer Kinos. "Varieté" kann in seiner restaurierten Fassung, die 2015 fertiggestellt wurde, exklusiv während des New Zealand International Filmfestivals in Auckland und Wellington gesehen werden.

Komponist Johannes Contag © New Zealand School of Music Um den einzigartigen Charakter dieses Ereignisses zu unterstützen, wird der Film von der eigens von Johannes Contag komponierten Musik untermalt. Der Komponist, Musiker und Akademiker im Bereich Sprache ist vor allem in Deutschland und Neuseeland aktiv und nicht zum ersten Mal im speziellen Bereich der live Filmmusik.

2013 komponierte er ebenfalls eine Filmmusik für den Filmklassiker „Ein Mensch der Masse“. Seine Filmmusik für „Varieté“ ist mit Kammerorchester und Klavier besetzt und integriert musikalische Elemente bekannter Komponisten der 1920er Jahre in Deutschland. Sie wird vom SMP Ensemble Wellington unter der Leitung von Karlo Margetic aufgeführt.

Veranstaltungen

Donnerstag 7. Juli, 18 Uhr, Goethe-Institut Wellington: Meet & Greet mit Johannes Contag
Sonntag 24. Juli, 13:30 Uhr, Skycity Theatre Auckland: Live Cinema - Varieté
Sonntag 7. August, 13:30 Uhr, Paramount Theatre Wellington: Live Cinema - Varieté