International short film festival in New Zealand Show Me Shorts celebrates filmmaking talents

Pink banner, with black and white photographs. One of them shows three laughing men sitting in a bathtub. The other one is the portrait of a smiling woman with her eyes closed.
© Show Me Shorts

Show Me Shorts has been New Zealand’s leading international short film festival since its first edition in November 2006. Launching with a glamorous awards night on October 1st at the Civic Theatre in Auckland, Show Me Shorts celebrates the best and brightest filmmaking talents. 
 

Each year, from over 1,500 entries from around the world, the 40 best short films and six best music videos are selected. The resulting programme of short films will be shown in more than 25 cinemas nationwide. Show Me Shorts is the first film festival in New Zealand that was granted an Oscars®-qualifying status in 2012 by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

This has meant that this short film festival enables more exposure and credibility for talented writers, directors, producers, cast and crew. This year, out of 23 international films, three short films from Germany made it into the programme!

Die Badewanne (The Bathtub)

Three laughing men sitting in a bathtub. © Show Me Shorts
Director: Tim Ellrich
2015 | Germany, Austria | Short film | 12'58 min 
Die Badewanne (The Bathtub) is a wonderful comedy directed by Tim Ellrich. Three brothers try to dive back into their idealized past through an old family picture of them in a bathtub.

In The Distance

Animation, man sitting on top of a tall building. © Show Me Shorts
Director: Florian Grolig
2015 | Germany | Animation
In The Distance is an animation directed by Florian Grolig – It is calm and peaceful above the clouds in this serene animation observing a man living isolated at the top of a tall building. But in the distance is war, and night by night the chaos approaches.

Mo Can Tie A Bow

Young boy smiling into the camera. He is wearing a yellow bow tie. © Show Me Shorts
Director: André Hörmann
2014| Germany | Short documentary | 14'40 min
Mo Can Tie A Bow is a short documentary directed by André Hörmann. Mo is an eleven year-old boy with big dreams. He has set up a successful small business making and selling bow-ties. He learned this craft from his grandmother Arlene.

Internationales Kurzfilm-Festival in Neuseeland Show Me Shorts feiert talentierte Filmemacher

Pinker Hintergrund, auf dem Photos in Schwarz-Weiß zu sehen sind. Das eine Bild zeigt drei lachende Männer in der Badewanne, das andere das Portrait einer Frau mit geschlossenen Augen.
© Show Me Shorts

Das Show Me Shorts gilt als Neuseelands führendes internationales Kurzfilm-Festival. Zur großen Eröffnungsfeier am 1. Oktober im Civic Theatre in Auckland sind die bekanntesten Talente unter den Filmemachern des Genres Kurzfilm eingeladen.
 

Aus über 1,500 Einsendungen aus der ganzen Welt werden jedes Jahr die besten 40 Kurzfilme und sechs Musikvideos ausgewählt. Zu sehen sind die ausgesuchten Filme anschließend in mehr als 25 Kinos in ganz Neuseeland. Das Show Me Shorts wurde bereits 2006 ins Leben gerufen und als erstes neuseeländisches Filmfestival dazu berechtigt, offiziell Filme für die Oscars® zu nominieren.

Somit ermöglicht das Kurzfilm-Festival den talentierten Drehbuchautoren, Regisseuren, Produzenten und Schauspielern eine größere Bühne und gleichzeitig mehr Transparenz und Glaubwürdigkeit. In diesem Jahr haben es drei deutsche Kurzfilme unter die insgesamt 23 internationalen Filme im Programm geschafft.

Die Badewanne (The Bathtub)

Drei lachende Männer sitzen in der Badewanne. © Show Me Shorts
Regie: Tim Ellrich
2015 | Deutschland, Österreich | Kurzfilm | 12'58 min
Die lebhafte Komödie des Regisseurs Tim Ellrich handelt von drei Brüdern und einer Badewanne. Bei dem Versuch, ein altes Familienfoto nachzustellen, tauchen die Drei buchstäblich wieder in ihre Kindheit ein.

In The Distance

Animation, Mann sitzt auf dem Dach eines hohen Gebäudes. © Show Me Shorts
Regie: Florian Grolig
2015 | Deutschland | Animation
Der animierte Kurzfilm von Florian Grolig gibt Einblick in das Leben eines Mannes, der isoliert auf dem Dach eines Wolkenkratzers lebt. Während das Leben über den Wolken ruhig und friedlich verläuft, versinkt die Welt unter ihm immer mehr in Krieg und Chaos.

Mo Can Tie A Bow

Ein Junge blickt lachend in die Kamera. Er trägt eine gelbe Fliege. © Show Me Shorts
Regie: André Hörmann
2014| Deutschland | Dokumentation | 14'40 min
Der elfjährige Mo hat große Träume. Von seiner Tante Arlene hat er gelernt, Fliegen herzustellen und zu verkaufen. André Hörmann zeigt in seinem kurzen Dokumentarfilm, wie Mo die Idee seines eigenen Ladens für selbst entworfene Fliegen in die Tat umsetzen möchte.