Artist Residency 2017 Janine Eisenächer

Janine Eisenächer, EYE Performance, photo
© Brian McCorkle

The Goethe-Institut in co-operation with Wellington City Council offers artists from Germany a 3 month scholarship to work and live in New Zealand. The artist will reside in Wellington to engage and network with their New Zealand colleagues as well as seeking inspiration for their projects and fostering intercultural dialogue.     

Artist in Residence 2017: Janine Eisenächer

Janine Eisenaecher (*1983 in Stassfurt/ DE) works as freelance performance artist, curator, and writer since 2006. She developed her research-based performance practice within diverse collective contexts in Berlin that she had co-founded, such as the Berlin n@work (2005-2011, with Joern J. Burmester, Florian Feigl, Nicolas Galeazzi, Joy Harder, and Otmar Wagner), the artistic-academic group (e)at_work (2006-2011, with Michael Conrad, Joy Harder, Julia Hielscher-Szegedi, and Sonja Winkel), and the performance duo Eisenaecher/Harder CLAIMS (2006-2011, with Joy Harder). Within these groups as well as in her solo works, Eisenaecher mainly discusses the subjects of work/ labour and collaboration (of artists) as well as the politics and economies in the art field, and herein works on questions about identity, gender, care, solidarity, (post-) colonialism, and racism. In addition to that, she deals with ethnological phenomena (Antropofagia, Vaudou, Cargo Cults), with Rap and Hip-Hop cultures, with relations and interdependencies between art, feminism, and activism, and with questions of self-organisation and institutionality.
 
Janine Eisenächer, EYE Performance © Boss Eisenaecher develops representation-critical group, duo, and solo performances in multidisciplinary formats, that basically work with strategies of incorporation/ appropriation, and that always aim at emancipation, self-empowerment, and transformation. For creating her performative, installation-like spaces of reflection, she uses her own and other texts, various objects and materials, her voice, sound and video works. Up to now, she presented her performances in different festivals and events across Europe and North America, mainly in non-institutional art contexts.
 
Besides her performance practice, Eisenaecher works as a curator and writer, focusing on performance art and culture political questions. She was a co-curator and -organiser of the monthly  event Performer Stammtisch in Berlin (2007-2011, with Aline Benecke, Joern J. Burmester, Florian Feigl, and Siân Robinson Davies), of the Platform Young Performance Artists in Berlin (2010 and 2011, with Neil Jefferies) as well as of some smaller performance events in Berlin and Montreal. At the Berlin artist house and art association Flutgraben e.V., of which she is a board member since 2009, she realised the artistic programme and worked on the structures of the association on the basis and through the artistic-curatorial, collective institution-critical practice Inverse Institution (2011-2015, with Soenke Hallmann, Lydia Hamann, Kaj Osteroth, Jo Zahn, and Inga Zimprich). With her colleagues, she is working on a recapitulation, workshop series, and publication on this practice. In the last year, Eisenaecher co-initiated the research project How do we want to work together? (with Karolina Dreit, Aiko Okamoto und Felicita Reuschling) in which, by means of questionnaires and workshops, she investigates conditions and forms of the often precarious collaboration in freelance cultural production.
 
Janine Eisenächer Portrait © Janine Eisenächer Eisenaecher studied theatre studies, general and comparative literature, and philosophy at Free University Berlin, and she holds a Magistra Artium degree in Theatre Studies. In her thesis PERFORMANCE ART SOUNDS (under Prof. Dr. Doris Kolesch) she investigated the importance of material- and action-based noises and sounds in contemporary performance art, which remains one of her research subjects and her performance practice. Janine lives and works in Berlin.

Künstlerresidenz 2017 Janine Eisenächer

Janine Eisenächer, EYE Performance, Artikelbild
© Brian McCorkle

Mit dem Aufenthaltsstipendium bietet das Goethe-Institut in Kooperation mit dem Wellington City Council Kulturschaffenden aus Deutschland die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen eines dreimonatigen Stipendiums in Neuseeland zu leben und zu arbeiten. Der Aufenthalt in Wellington soll den Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten dabei Inspiration und künstlerische Orientierung zugleich sein. Im direkten persönlichen Austausch mit der Kulturszene vor Ort können sie konkrete Projektvorhaben weiterentwickeln und umsetzen sowie nachhaltige Arbeitskontakte zu neuseeländischen Kultureinrichtungen und Kulturschaffenden aufbauen oder vertiefen. Auf diese Weise entfaltet sich ein interkultureller Dialog, der sowohl für die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten als auch für die neuseeländische Kulturszene eine Bereicherung darstellt.

Residenzkünstlerin 2017: Janine Eisenächer

Janine Eisenächer (*1983 in Stassfurt/ DE) ist seit 2006 als freischaffende Performancekünstlerin, Kuratorin und Autorin tätig. Ihre recherchebasierte Performance-Praxis hat sie innerhalb verschiedener kollektiver Zusammenhänge in Berlin entwickelt, die sie mitgegründet hat, beispielsweise im Berlin n@work (2005-2011, mit Jörn J. Burmester, Florian Feigl, Nicolas Galeazzi, Joy Harder und Otmar Wagner), in der künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Gruppe (e)at_work (2006-2011, mit Michael Conrad, Joy Harder, Julia Hielscher-Szegedi und Sonja Winkel) und im Performance-Duo Eisenächer/Harder CLAIMS (2006-2011, mit Joy Harder). In diesen Gruppen wie auch in ihren Solo-Arbeiten setzt sich Eisenächer hauptsächlich mit den Themen Arbeit und Zusammenarbeit (von Künstler*innen) sowie mit den Politiken und Ökonomien im Kunstfeld auseinander und bearbeitet darin Fragestellungen zu Identität, Gender, Sorge, Solidarität, (Post-)Kolonialismus und Rassimus. Desweiteren beschäftigt sie sich mit ethnologischen Phänomenen (Anthropophagia, Vaudou, Cargo-Kulte), mit Rap- und Hip-Hop-Kulturen, mit Beziehungen und Wechselwirkungen zwischen Kunst, Feminismus und Aktivismus, und arbeitet zu Fragen von Selbstorganisation und Institutionalität.
 
Janine Eisenächer, EYE Performance © Boss Eisenächer entwickelt repräsentationskritische Gruppen-, Duo- und Solo-Performances in multidisziplinären Formaten, die wesentlich mit Strategien der  Aneignung arbeiten und stets Emanzipation, Selbstermächtigung und Transformation zum Ziel haben. Für die Herstellung ihrer performativ-installativen Reflexionsräume verwendet sie eigene und fremde Texte, verschiedene Objekte und Materialien, ihre Stimme, Sound- und Videoarbeiten. Ihre Performances präsentierte sie bisher in verschiedenen Festivals und Veranstaltungen in Europa und Nordamerika, vorwiegend in nicht-institutionellen Kunstkontexten.
 
Neben ihrer Performance-Praxis ist Eisenächer als Kuratorin und Autorin mit Fokus auf Performancekunst und kulturpolitische Fragen tätig. Sie war Co-Kuratorin und -Organisatorin der monatlichen Veranstaltung Performer Stammtisch in Berlin (2007-2011, mit Aline Benecke, Jörn J. Burmester, Florian Feigl und Siân Robinson Davies), der Platform Young Performance Artists in Berlin (2010 und 2011, mit Neil Jefferies) sowie einiger kleiner Performanceveranstaltungen in Berlin und Montréal. Am Berliner Künstler*innenhaus und Kunstverein Flutgraben e.V., in dem sie seit 2009 Vorstandsmitglied ist, hat sie mit der künstlerisch-kuratorischen, kollektiven institutionskritischen Praxis Inverse Institution (2011-2015, mit Sönke Hallmann, Lydia Hamann, Kaj Osteroth, Jo Zahn und Inga Zimprich) das künstlerische Programm des Vereins realisiert und die Strukturen des Vereins bearbeitet. Derzeit arbeitet sie mit ihren Kolleg*innen an einer Rekapitulation, Workshop-Reihe und Publikation zu dieser Praxis. Im letzten Jahr hat Eisenächer das Rechercheprojekt Wie wollen wir zusammenarbeiten? mitinitiiert (mit Karolina Dreit, Aiko Okamoto und Felicita Reuschling), in dem sie anhand von Fragebögen und Workshops Bedingungen und Formen der oftmals prekären Zusammenarbeit in selbständiger Kulturproduktion untersucht.
 
Janine Eisenächer Portrait © Janine Eisenächer Eisenächer hat an der Freien Universität Berlin Theaterwissenschaft, Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft und Philosophie studiert und ist Magistra Artium für Theaterwissenschaft. In ihrer Abschlussarbeit PERFORMANCE ART SOUNDS. (bei Prof. Dr. Doris Kolesch) untersuchte sie die Relevanz material- und handlungsbasierter Geräusche und Klänge in zeitgenössischer Performancekunst, was weiterhin eines ihrer Forschungsthemen (und Teil ihrer Performance-Praxis) ist. Janine Eisenächer lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.