NZIFF
Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival 2020

Lara
Lara | © NZIFF

This year’s Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival takes place 24 July to 2 August 2020. As the title “NZIFF At Home – Online” suggests, the festival will mainly be held digitally. The Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival 2020 lets you enjoy a selection of films from over 40 countries from the comfort of your home. There are 79 feature films and seven collections of short films. The following seven German films will be featured this year.

Black Milk

Black Milk © NZIFF Director: Uisenma Borchu
2020 | Germany, Mongolia | Drama | 1’31 h                    
Directed by Mongolian-born, German-based filmmaker Uisenma Borchu, the drama “Black Milk”, originally “Schwarze Milch”, tells the story of Wessi and her sister Ossi. Wessi lives in Germany as an immigrant and returns to her homeland to visit her sister Ossi. The sisters find they have differing understandings of heritage, tradition and sexuality. “Black Milk” shows the journey of the two sisters coming to terms with each other’s opinions and lifestyles.
 

Exile

Exile © NZIFF Director: Visar Morina
2020 | Germany | Drama, Thriller | 2’01 h
“Exile” tells the story of Kosovo-born Xhafer living in Germany. Xhafer experiences racism-motivated hatred every day which his German wife doesn’t seem to see or recognize. The married couple starts facing more difficulties as it is revealed that Xhafer isn’t innocent himself. The director Visar Morina created this dramatic thriller based on his authentic experiences as a Kosovo-born man living in Germany.
 

Fritzi: A Revolutionary Tale

Fritzi: A Revolutionary Tale © NZIFF Directors: Ralf Kukala, Matthias Bruhn
2019 | Germany, Luxemburg | Animation, Drama | 1’20 h
In the animated drama „Fritzi: A Revolutionary Tale”, the directors Ralf Kukala and Matthias Bruhn describe the fall of the Berlin wall through the eyes of the 12-year old Fritzi. The film shows the eventful Berlin summer of 1989 when Fritzi discovers brave people, protests and the beginning of a revolution. The German directors Ralf Kukala and Matthias Bruhn kept their first film collaboration historically accurate and close to detail, teaching children and adults about peaceful protests and the power of the people.
 

Kids Run 

Kids Run © NZIFF Director: Barbara Ott
2020 | Germany | Drama | 1’44 h
Directed by German Barbara Ott, the drama “Kids Run” tells the story of the young father-of-three Andi. Desperate to pay back his debt, Andi joins an amateur boxing club and enters a competition. Andi hopes to win the price money of 5,000€, not to escape their difficult working-class reality, but simply for his young family to be able to stay afloat.
 

Lara

Lara © NZIFF Director: Jan Ole Gerster
2019 | Germany | Tragedy, Comedy, Drama | 1’38 h
This film by German Jan Ole Gerster leads us through one day in the life of main protagonist Lara: her 60th birthday which happens to also be the day her lost son and pianist Victor will perform an original composition for the first time. Lara’s complex and contentious personality becomes clear through interactions with other characters. A captivating production, “Lara” has tragic, comedic as well as dramatic elements and stars the famous Corinna Harfouch in the leading role.
 

My Little Sister

My Little Sister © NZIFF Directors: Véronique Reymond, Stéphanie Chuat
2020 | Germany, Switzerland | Drama | 1‘39 h
“My Little Sister”, originally “Schwesterlein”, is about the twins Lisa and Sven, their joint fight against Sven’s leukaemia and their mutual love for theatre. Lisa’s determination to pour all of her energy into Sven’s life leads to her facing difficulties in all other relations in her life. She ends up risking her marriage, the bond to her kids and the connection to her mother. Directed by Véronique Reymond and Stéphanie Chuat, this family drama is authenic and natural.
 

No Hard Feelings

No Hard Feelings © NZIFF Director: Faraz Shariat
2020 | Germany | Coming of Age, Drama | 1’32 h
The coming of age drama “No Hard Feelings” tells the semi-autobiographical story of director Faraz Shariat. Irani-German character Parvis has always struggled with identity and finds himself in the habit of extensive visits to gay bars and casual hook ups, before he is sentenced to community service at a local refugee center. There he meets recent arrivals from Iran and forms deeper connections. A story of friendship and love begins.

NZIFF
Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival 2020

Lara
Lara | © NZIFF

Das diesjährige Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival findet vom 24. Juli bis 2. August 2020 statt. Wie der Titel „NZIFF At Home – Online“ verrät, wird das Festival digital stattfinden. Das Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival 2020 bietet eine Auswahl an Filmen aus über 40 Ländern, die Zuhause angesehen werden kann. Es gibt 79 ausgewählte Filme und sieben Kurzfilmsammlungen. Die folgenden sieben Filme aus Deutschland sind dieses Jahr Teil des Festivals.

Schwarze Milch

Schwarze Milch © NZIFF Regie: Uisenma Borchu
2020 | Deutschland, Mongolei | Drama | 1’31 Std           
Unter der Regie von Uisenma Borchu, die in der Mongolei geboren wurde und in Deutschland lebt, erzählt das Drama „Schwarze Milch“ die Geschichte von Wessi und ihrer Schwester Ossi. Wessi lebt als Immigrantin in Deutschland und kehrt in ihr Heimatland zurück, um ihre Schwester Ossi zu besuchen. Die Schwestern bemerken, dass sie unterschiedliche Auffassungen von Erbe, Tradition und Sexualität haben. „Schwarze Milch“ zeigt die Reise der zwei Schwestern dahin, die unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen und Lebensstile der jeweils anderen anzunehmen.
 

Exil

Exil © NZIFF Regie: Visar Morina
2020 | Deutschland | Drama, Thriller | 2’01 Std
„Exil“ erzählt die Geschichte von Xhafer, der im Kosovo geboren wurde und in Deutschland lebt. Xhafer erlebt rassistische Anfeindungen auf tagtäglicher Basis, die seine deutsche Frau aber nicht zu sehen oder anzuerkennen scheint. Das verheiratete Paar sieht sich mit mehr Schwierigkeiten konfrontiert, als herauskommt, dass Xhafer selbst nicht unschuldig ist. Der Regisseur Visar Morina erschuf diesen dramatischen Thriller auf der Basis seiner eigenen Erfahrungen als Kosovodeutscher.
  

Fritzi: Eine Wendewundergeschichte

Fritzi: Eine Wendewundergeschichte © NZIFF Regie: Ralf Kukala, Matthias Bruhn
2019 | Deutschland, Luxemburg | Animation, Drama | 1’20 Std
Im animierten Drama „Fritzi: Eine Wendewundergeschichte“ erzählen die Regisseure Ralf Kukala und Matthias Bruhn durch die Augen der zwölfjährigen Fritzi vom Berliner Mauerfall. Der Film zeigt den ereignisreichen Berliner Sommer von 1989, wenn Fritzi von mutigen Menschen, Protesten und dem Beginn einer Revolution erfährt. Die deutschen Regisseure Ralf Kukala und Matthias Bruhn hielten diese Filmproduktion historisch akkurat und detailgenau, um Kindern und Erwachsenen von friedlichen Protesten und der Macht des Volkes zu berichten.
 

Kids Run

Kids Run © NZIFF Regie: Barbara Ott
2020 | Deutschland | Drama | 1’44 Std
Unter der Regie der deutschen Barbara Ott erzählt das Drama „Kids Run“ die Geschichte eines jungen Vaters von drei Kindern, Andi. Verzweifelt, seine Schulden zurückzuzahlen, tritt Andi einem lokalen Boxclub bei und meldet sich zu einem Wettkampf an. Andi hofft, das Preisgeld von 5.000€ zu gewinnen, nicht, um der schweren Realität in der Arbeiterklasse zu entkommen, sondern nur, damit seine junge Familie überhaupt über die Runden kommen kann.
 

Lara

Lara © NZIFF Regie: Jan Ole Gerster
2019 | Deutschland | Tragikkomödie, Drama | 1’38 Std
Der Film vom deutschen Jan Ole Gerster führt durch einen Tag im Leben der Hauptdarstellerin Lara: der Tag ihres 60. Geburtstages, der auch der Tag ist, an dem ihr verschollener Sohn zum ersten mal seine Originalkomposition aufführen wird. Laras komplexe und problematische Persönlichkeit wird durch verschiedene Interaktionen mit anderen Charakteren deutlich. Die fesselnde Produktion „Lara“ besitzt sowohl tragische, komische als auch dramatische Elemente und zeigt die bekannte Schauspielerin Corinna Harfouch in der Rolle der Protagonistin.
 

Schwesterlein

Schwesterlein © NZIFF Regie: Véronique Reymond, Stéphanie Chuat
2020 | Deutschland, Schweiz | Drama | 1‘39 Std
„Schwesterlein“ handelt von den Zwillingen Lisa und Sven, ihrem gemeinsamen Kampf gegen Svens Leukämie und ihrer geteilten Liebe für das Theater. Lisas Entschlossenheit, all ihre Energie in Svens Leben zu investieren, führt zu Schwierigkeiten in all ihren übrigen Beziehungen. Sie riskiert dadurch ihre Ehe, die Beziehung zu ihren Kindern und ihrer Mutter. Unter der Regie von Véronique Reymond und Stéphanie Chuat ist dieses Familiendrama authentisch und natürlich.
 

Futur Drei

Futur Drei © NZIFF Regie: Faraz Shariat
2020 | Deutschland | Coming of Age, Drama | 1’32 Std
Das Coming-of-Age-Drama “Futur Drei” erzählt die halbbiografische Geschichte des Regisseurs Faraz Shariat. Der irandeutsche Charakter Parvis hatte schon immer Unstimmigkeiten im Thema um seine Identität und befindet sich in einem Kreislauf von extensiven Besuchen von Schwulenkneipen und gelegentlichen Affären, bevor er zu Stunden gemeinnütziger Arbeit in einem nahegelegenen Flüchtlingsheim verurteilt wird. Dort trifft er Neuankömmlinge aus dem Iran, zu denen er tiefere Beziehungen aufbaut. Eine Geschichte über Freundschaft und Liebe beginnt.