Documentary Film Festival in New Zealand
Doc Edge Film Festival celebrates documentaries from all around the world

Doc Edge Festival 2020
Doc Edge Festival 2020 | © Doc Edge

Doc Edge Documentary Film Festival is held annually in Auckland and Wellington to screen the best documentaries from New Zealand and the world. This year’s forum and festival will be held digitally. The following seven German (co-)prodcutions will be featured this year:

Waterproof 

Waterproof Landscape © Doc Edge Director: Daniela König
2019 | Germany | Documentary | 1'28 h

“Waterproof” by German Daniela König takes us to Jordan. This country suffers from a water shortage making water the most precious commodity. To fight the water crisis, Khawla, Jordan’s first female plumber, and her two assistants Aishe and Rehab work fixing leaks and cleaning tanks. Khawla also takes on the mission to train more women as plumbers to help secure the country’s access to water. Her plumbing business flourishes until she faces an investigation on alleged corruption, testing Khawla and Aishe’s professional relationship – and their friendship.
 

Swarm Intelligence

Swarm Intelligence Landscape © Doc Edge Director: Ralf Würth
2019 | Germany, United States, France, Italy | Documentary | 1'37 h

“Swarm Intelligence” tells the story of the foundation “Parley for the Oceans”, an environmental  initiative working to raise awareness of our oceans’ importance and fragility. This documentary by Ralf Würth explains how creators, thinkers, leaders, activists, artists, publicists and scientists have come together to fight marine plastic pollution and the potential collapse of the world’s oceans.
 

Picture Character

Picture Character Landscape © Doc Edge Director: Ian Cheney and Martha Shane
2019 | United States, Germany, Japan, Argentina | Documentary | 1'21 h

“Picture Character” translates as “emoji” in Japanese and is the name of this documentary by the American Ian Cheney and Martha Shane, filmed in the United States, Germany, Japan and Argentina. Diving into the world of emojis, this film shows the history of these pictograms: From their invention more than 20 years ago to the approval of new emojis and related issues of identity and inclusion, “Picture Character” covers it all.
 

Cryptopia: Bitcoin, Blockchains and the Future of the Internet

Cryptopia: Bitcoin, Blockchains and the Future of the Internet Landscape © Doc Edge Director: Torsten Hoffmann and Michael Watchulonis
2020 | Australia, Germany | Documentary | 1'26 h

“Cryptopia: Bitcoin, Blockchains and the Future of the Internet” by Torsten Hoffmann and Michael Watchulonis was coproduced in Australia and Germany. Following their first documentary “Bitcoin: The End of Money As We Know It”, this film covers the development of Bitcoin, cybercrime, the rise of new cryptocurrencies and the handling of our private data. “Cryptopia: Bitcoin, Blockchains and the Future of the Internet” demonstrates how a block chain could solve problems around the undermining of democracies and the use of our social media data, featuring a variety of interviews with the innovators of this cyber utopia.
 

This Is Not a Movie

This Is Not a Movie Landscape © Doc Edge Director: Yung Chang
2019 | Canada, Germany | Documentary | 1'46 h

“This Is Not a Movie” is about British foreign correspondent and journalist Robert Fisk, his life, his career, his work and his belief in accuracy. Directed by the Chinese Canadian Yung Chang and produced in Canada and Germany, this documentary follows Fisk to war regions as it discusses Fisk’s idea of journalism and the challenges he faces in the era of censorship, the rise of fake news and immediate and global reporting through online mediums.

The Forum

The Forum Landscape © Doc Edge Director: Marcus Vetter
2019 | Germany, Switzerland | Documentary | 1'55 h

“The Forum” documents behind the scenes-material from the controversial World Economic Forum in Switzerland. Organiser Klaus Schwab claims the forum is a crucial place for international dialogue and collaboration to solve global issues by exchanging potentially differing opinions. Critics like Greenpeace’s Jennifer Morgan, former US vice president Al Gore and climate change activist Greta Thunberg, on the other hand, claim the forum is only benefitting the participating elite.
 

Acasă, My Home

Acasă, My Home Landscape © Doc Edge Director: Radu Ciorniciuc
2020 | Romania, Germany, Finland | Documentary | 1'26 h

“Acasă, My Home” tells the story of the Enache family of 11 in the Bucharest Delta whose home land will be turned into a Nature Park forcing them to move into the city on the other side of the neighbouring river. There, the family struggles to settle and rebuild their self-suppporting lifestyle in their new urban surroundings. Romanian film maker Radu Ciorniciuc produced the documentary in Romania, Germany and Finland.

Dokumentarfilmfestival in Neuseeland
Doc Edge Film Festival feiert Dokumentarfilme aus aller Welt

Doc Edge Festival 2020
Doc Edge Festival 2020 | © Doc Edge

Das Doc Edge Documentary Film Festival findet jährlich in Auckland und Wellington statt, um die besten Dokumentarfilme aus Neuseeland und der Welt vorzustellen. Diese Jahr findet das Festival online statt. Die folgenden sieben Filme deutschen (Ko-)Produktionen sind Teil des diesjährigen Festivals.

Waterproof 

Waterproof Landscape © Doc Edge Regie: Daniela König
2019 | Deutschland | Dokumentarfilm | 1'28 Std

Unter der Regie der deutschen Daniela König bringt „Waterproof“ den Zuschauer nach Jordanien. Das Land leidet an Wasserknappheit, was dazu führt, dass Wasser eines der wertvollsten Güter ist. Um die Wasserkrise zu bewältigen, reparieren Jordaniens erste Klempnerin Khawla und ihre beiden Assistentinnen Aishe und Rehab Lecks und reinigen Wassertänke. Khawla setzt sich außerdem zum Ziel, mehr Frauen als Klempnerinnen auszubilden, um die Wasserversorgung der Region sicherzustellen. Ihr Klempnergeschäft läuft blendend, bis sie sich einer Ermittlung gegen sie wegen Korruption stellen muss, die sowohl die geschäftliche als auch die freundschaftliche Beziehung von Khawla und Aishe auf die Probe stellt.
 

Swarm Intelligence 

Swarm Intelligence Landscape © Doc Edge Regie: Ralf Würth
2019 | Deutschland, USA, Frankreich, Italien | Dokumentarfilm | 1'37 Std

“Swarm Intelligence” erzählt die Geschichte der Stiftung „Parley for the Oceans“, eine Umweltschutzinitiative, die sich für das Bewusstsein um die Wichtigkeit und Fragilität unserer Ozeane einsetzt. Der Dokumentarfilm vom deutschen Regisseur Ralf Würth wurde in Deutschland, den Vereinigten Staaten, Frankreich und Italien gedreht und zeigt, wie Schöpfer*innen, Denker*innen, Führende, Aktivisten*innen, Künstler*innen, Pressevertreter*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen zusammenkommen, um gegen die marine Plastikverschmutzung und den möglichen Kollaps der Weltozeane zu kämpfen.
 

Picture Character

Picture Character Landscape © Doc Edge Regie: Ian Cheney und Martha Shane
2019 | USA, Deutschland, Japan, Argentinien | Dokumentarfilm | 1'21 Std

„Picture Character“ ist die englische Übersetzung des japanischen Wortes „emoji“ und der Name des Dokumentarfilms von Ian Cheney und Martha Shane. Der Film taucht in die Welt von Emojis ein und zeigt deren Geschichte auf: Von ihrer Erfindung vor über 20 Jahren bis hin zur Genehmigung neuer Emojis und den damit verbundenen Themen wie Identität und Inklusion – der Film „Picture Character“ befasst sich damit.
 

Cryptopia: Bitcoin, Blockchains and the Future of the Internet

Cryptopia: Bitcoin, Blockchains and the Future of the Internet Landscape © Doc Edge Regie: Torsten Hoffmann und Michael Watchulonis
2020 | Australien, Deutschland | Dokumentarfilm | 1'26 Std

Nach seinem ersten Dokumentarfilm “Bitcoin: The End of Money As We Know It” befasst sich dieses neue filmische Werk der beiden Remit der Entwicklung von Bitcoin, Internetkriminalität, dem Erscheinen neuer Kryptowährungen und dem Umgang mit unseren privaten Daten. “Cryptopia: Bitcoin, Blockchains and the Future of the Internet” zeigt anhand einer Vielzahl von Interviews mit den Erfindern dieser Cyber-Utopie, wie Blockchain Probleme rund um das Untergraben von Demokratien und der Verwendung unserer Social Media-Daten lösen könnte.
 

This Is Not a Movie

This Is Not a Movie Landscape © Doc Edge Regie: Yung Chang
2019 | Kanada, Deutschland | Dokumentarfilm | 1'46 Std

„This Is Not a Movie“ befasst sich mit dem britischen Auslandskorrespondenten und Journalisten Robert Fisk, seinem Leben, seiner Karriere und seiner Liebe für Genauigkeit. Dieser Dokumentarfilm aus Kanada und Deutschland unter der Regie von Yung Chang folgt Fisk in Kriegsregionen, während er Fisks Auffassung von Journalismus aufzeigt sowie die Hürden, auf die er im Zeitalter von Fake News und der sofortigen globalen Berichterstattung durch Onlinemedien trifft.
 

The Forum

The Forum Landscape © Doc Edge Regie: Marcus Vetter
2019 | Deutschland, Schweiz | Dokumentarfilm | 1'55 Std

„The Forum“ dokumentiert Behind-the-Scenes-Material beim umstrittenen Schweizer World Economic Forum. Organisator Klaus Schwab gibt an, dass das Forum ein unabdinglicher Ort für internationalen Dialog und internationale Zusammenarbeit ist, um durch Gespräche um eventuell abweichende Meinungen globale Probleme zu lösen. Auf der anderen Seite mahnen Kritiker wie Jennifer Morgan von Greenpeace, der ehemalige US Vizepräsident Al Gore und die Umweltaktivistin Greta Thunberg, dass das Forum nur der teilnehmenden Elite zugutekommt.
 

Acasă, My Home

Acasă, My Home Landscape © Doc Edge Regie: Radu Ciorniciuc
2020 | Rumänien, Deutschland, Finnland | Dokumentarfilm | 1'26 Std

“Acasă, My Home” erzählt die Geschichte der elfköpfigen Familie Enache im Bucharest Delta Rumäniens, deren Zuhause in einen Naturpark umgewandelt wird. Das zwingt die Familie, in die Großstadt auf der anderen Seite des angrenzenden Flusses zu ziehen. Dort angekommen, hat die Familie Schwierigkeiten, sich einzuleben und ihr selbstversorgtes Leben in der neuen urbanen Umgebung wieder aufzubauen. Der rumänische Regisseur Radu Ciorniciuc produzierte den Dokumentarfilm in Rumänien, Deutschland und Finnland.