Miles Buckingham Antipodean Dub/Techno

Salmonella Dub live (NightQuarter, Helensville, Australia, 2016)
Salmonella Dub live (NightQuarter, Helensville, Australia, 2016) | © blankgc.com.au

Connecting the international strands of dub techno, and seeding the growth of this movement, is the uptake of key technologies in combination with an ability to think outside the machine, to adapt the studio and invent a new sonic landscape. 

The bass and the drum become the source of music, the studio becomes an instrument, and bodies are moved by the force of sound systems. Transported to Aotearoa-New Zealand this new way of shifting air meshed with the strong underlying pulse of reggae and a growing underground of musicians experimenting with electronic instruments. Perhaps the first inkling of this future in New Zealand came in the late 1980s when the quasi-industrial experimental sonics of Michael Hodgson, working collectively with Angus McNaughton and others under the moniker Tinnitus, shifted to embrace the sonic density and textural sparsity of dub and techno.

Audio: Tinnitus, Ambient Image


Outside of my own fetishization of imported electronica, this being before the internet made all music accessible (everywhere), two events disrupted my sonic world: Living in central Wellington and on the periphery of various music scenes, it was inevitable that I would end up in the company of musicians and their studios. As it turned out a subterranean corner of my own flat was host to electronic boxes, various drum machines and a nest of wires – the studio of Aotearoan techno pioneer LRS.

Ashley Turner at the Tinnitus performance in Christchurch, New Year's Eve 1986/7 Ashley Turner at the Tinnitus performance in Christchurch, New Year's Eve 1986/7 | © audioculture.co.nz The second event came with the arrival of cryptically labelled Basic Channel records, each one a dive into an abyss of bass, an absence of footholds in the dense pulse. Found among them, a trio of Porter Ricks’ 12"s housed a sound suggestive of a sub-aquatic relocation of the techno aesthetic.








 

Audio: LRS, Proxy

Audio wird geladen

The sounds of Germany and Detroit were no longer so far away, as the poster for Psurkit Plus Plus informed us, "dark till dawn ass kicking ground shaking live wiring" had arrived in Wellington, Aotearoa's capital. A scene rapidly coalesced around a number of individuals whose magic revolved around finding the funk in the machine. As a snapshot of this time, the seminal recording "Skankatronics: Pure Wellingtronica” introduced audiences to a thriving local underground. On this compilation already established artist Jet Jaguar rubbed shoulders with LRS, Oblique and Polarity, all of whom share an approach to music making that does not exclude the grain, the distortion, or the sheer density of sound – sonic texture as the root of dub sensibility had arrived in NZ. This was a new way of making music combined with a different way of appreciating it. The novelty of the warehouse party soon gave way to the appropriation of the bunker, the minimalism of techno maximally amplified to make space into an aural fog, while smoke machines and strobes intensified the disorientation of the senses.


Poster for Psurkit’s Plus Plus event Poster for Psurkit’s Plus Plus event | © Psurkit

Audio: micronism

micronism, constructing space


Kog Transmissions © kog.co.nz These new forms of electronic music were also strongly represented in Auckland, centring around Kog Transmissions, a studio and label established in 1997. Drawing a diverse range of musicians and producers into its fold, including Michael Hodgson, Denver McCarthy and Leyton Glen. Under his Micronism alias, McCarthy was to release what is regarded by some as New Zealand's first techno album, "Inside a Quiet Mind". Conceived of as a journey, the album tracks a cohesive progression over its duration, while flitting between sub-genres and aural textures, while at some points the dense production and glitchy sonics swallow the beat altogether.

Leyton Glen meanwhile found himself split into three identities. Epsilon Blue for straightforward house. rotor+ which revealed an experimental tendency, exploring the peripheries of durational composed electronica. son.sine dived into a deeply contemplative ocean of warm beats. As a remix project, son.sine was also responsible for the deconstruction and re-purposing of numerous tracks by Glen’s contempories, often enhancing the crackle and the space within, pushing hissing details forward in the mix. The son.sine aesthetic is best represented on the track "Upekah", released on ex-pat New Zealander Simon Flowers' Nurture label.
 

Audio: son.sine

son.sine, Upekah


Moving into the physical landscape, electronic dance music in Aotearoa has thrived in the outdoors, at legendary festivals like the Gathering, which drew people to Takaka Hill between 1996 and 2002 for New Year’s celebrations. A vital component of such festivals comes through the engagement many NZ musicians and deejays have with the physical environment. All the artists above have played their music in striking natural settings, and have undoubtedly reflected on the experience of hearing their sound projecting and echoing dub-like across jutting hills and deep valleys. An unconscious awareness of the relationship sound has with a manifold physical landscape, and an ability to perceive and activate available sonic space, is something many New Zealand musicians and bands seem tuned to.


Fat Freddy's Drop live (Great Northern Hotel, Byron Bay, Australia, 2009). Fat Freddy's Drop live (Great Northern Hotel, Byron Bay, Australia, 2009). | © Brad Sawatzki From Fat Freddy’s Drop to Salmonella Dub, endlessly varied repetitions and sheer aural density are harnessed to create sonic physicality on a grand scale. The dub end of techno requires such vastness, while at the same time retaining intimacy in the bodies of dancing listeners. This sensibility is intrinsic to much of the electronica produced in Aotearoa. Filtering Berlin, Detroit, London and elsewhere, these islands have forged their own unique take on an international pulse.
 

Audio: Fat Freddy’s Drop, The Drop

Miles Buckingham Antipodean Dub/Techno

Salmonella Dub live (NightQuarter, Helensville, Australia, 2016)
Salmonella Dub live (NightQuarter, Helensville, Australia, 2016) | © blankgc.com.au

Um internationale Spielarten von Dub-Techno mit einander zu vereinen und die Bewegung immer weiter wachsen zu lassen, brauchte es das Aufkommen von Schlüsseltechnologien, das sich dann mit einem Denken außerhalb der Maschine verband, um sich das Studio zu eigen zu machen und neue Klanglandschaften zu entwerfen.

Bass und Schlagzeug werden zum Ausgangsmaterial der Musik, das Studio wird zum Instrument und Körper werden von der Macht der Musik in Bewegung gesetzt. Einmal nach Aotearoa-Neuseeland gekommen, vereinte sich diese frische musikalische Brise mit der pulsierenden Charakteristik des Reggae und traf auf eine wachsende Szene von Musikern, die mit elektronischen Instrumenten experimentierte. Der möglicherweise erste Schritt in die Zukunft wurde in Neuseeland in den späten 1980s gemacht, als sich die quasi-industriell-experimentellen Klänge eines Michael Hodgson (der gemeinsam mit Angus McNaughton und weiteren unter dem Namen Tinnitus produzierte) hin zu der klanglichen Dichte und textuellen Reduziertheit von Dub und Techno öffneten.

Audio: Tinnitus, Ambient Image


Neben meiner Begeisterung für alle Elektro-Importe – das war lange bevor das Internet jegliche Musik (überall) erhältlich macht – gab es zwei Ereignisse, die meine Klangwelt durcheinanderbrachten: Als jemand, der in der Mitte von Wellington lebte und Berührung zu verschiedenen Musikszenen hatte, war es unvermeidlich, dass ich irgendwann mit Musikern der neuen Szene und ihren Studios Kontakt haben würde. So ergab es sich, dass sich ein abgeschiedener Teil meiner eigenen Wohnung mit elektronischem Equipment, verschiedenen Schlagzeugcomputern und allerlei Kabeln füllte – das Studio des neuseeländischen Techno-Pioniers LRS.

Ashley Turner at the Tinnitus performance in Christchurch, New Year's Eve 1986/7 Ashley Turner at the Tinnitus performance in Christchurch, New Year's Eve 1986/7 | © audioculture.co.nz Das zweite Ereignis war das Erscheinen von Platten auf einem Label mit dem kryptischen Namen Basic Channel: jede von ihnen ein Tauchgang in die Abgründe von bass-lastigen Klängen, der Abwesenheit von Haltepunkte im dichten Pulsieren. Unter ihnen ein Trio von 12’’-Platten von Porter Ricks, deren Sound eine Umsiedlung der Techno-Ästhetik in eine Unterwasserwelt suggerierte.





 

Audio: LRS, Proxy

Audio wird geladen

Die Klänge aus Deutschland und Detroit schienen nun nicht mehr weit entfernt, waren in Wellington, der Hauptstadt von Aotearoa, angekommen – wie uns ein Plakat von Psurkit Plus Plus wissen ließ: "dunkel bis zum Sonnenaufgang mitreißend erbebenartig live unter Strom“. Eine Szene, die sich um einige Einzelne herum gruppierte, die die Magie in der Maschine zu finden wussten. Als Ausdruck der damaligen Zeit stellte die legendäre Platte "Skankatronics: Pure Wellingtronica” die blühende Untergrundszene vor. Auf der Zusammenstellung findet sich der damals bereits etablierte Jet Jaguar gemeinsam mit LRS, Oblique und Polarity, die alle auf das Grobe und Körnige, das Verzerrende und die reine Intensität beim Musikmachen setzten – womit Klangtexturen als die Wurzeln einer Dub-Sensibilität in Neuseeland angekommen waren. Das war ein ganz neuartiger Zugang zum Musikmachen und auch neuer Wahrnehmungsweisen. Die noch neuen Warehouse-Parties machten bald Platz für den Bunker, der Minimalismus von Techno verstärkte die Effekte extrem, die den Raum zu einem oralen Nebel werden ließen, während zugleich Nebelmaschinen und Stroboskop-Blitze die Desorientierung aller Sinne noch verstärkten.


Poster for Psurkit’s Plus Plus event Poster for Psurkit’s Plus Plus event | © Psurkit

Audio: micronism

micronism, constructing space


Kog Transmissions © kog.co.nz Solche neuen Formen von elektronischer Musik waren auch in Auckland allgegenwärtig – im Umfeld von Kog Transmissions, einem 1997 gegründeten Studio und Label. Es zog eine vielfältige Gruppe von Musikern und Produzenten an, darunter Michael Hodgson, Denver McCarthy und Leyton Glen. Unter seinem Aliasnamen Micronism veröffentlichte McCarthy was manche für das erste neuseeländische Techno-Album halten: "Inside a Quiet Mind". Als eine Reise angelegt zeigt sich über die Dauer des Albums eine geschlossene Entwicklung, bewegt sich klanglich dabei zwischen verschiedenen Untergenres und hörbaren Texturen hin- und her, wobei die dichte Produktion und die von Störungen durchzogenen Klänge an verschiedenen Stellen den Beat völlig verschlucken.

Leyton Glen fand sich derweil in drei Identitäten aufgeteilt. Mit Epsilon Blue machte für gradlinigen House. Mit Rotor + ging er eher experimentellen Tendenzen nach, versuchte sich an den Grenzen von dauerhaften, durchkomponierten Elektronika-Klängen. Mit son.sine tauchte er in einen tief kontemplativen Ozean von warmen Beats ein. Als Remix-Projekt übernahm son.sine auch die Dekonstruktion und Neuformierung zahlreicher Tracks von Glens Zeitgenossen, wobei als Markenzeichen oft das Knacken und die offenen Räume innerhalb der Tracks verstärkt wurden, so überhörte Details aus den Songs im Mix nach vorne gebracht wurden. Die Ästhetik von son.sine wird am besten vom Track "Upekah" wiedergegeben, der auf dem Nurture label des Auslands-Neuseeländers Simon Flowers veröffentlicht wurde.
 

Audio: son.sine

son.sine, Upekah


Die elektronische Tanzmusik aus Aotearoa fand ihren Weg auch in die wirkliche Landschaft, blühte im Freien auf – wie auf legendären Festivals wie dem Gathering, das von 1996 bis 2002 Besucher zum jährlicher Feier zum Neuen Jahr nach Takaka Hill zog. Entscheidenden Anteil für den Erfolg dieser Festivals hatte der besondere Umgang, den viele neuseeländische Musiker und DJs mit der Umwelt pflegen. Alle erwähnten Künstler haben ihre Musik in atemberaubender Landschaft gespielt und die Erfahrung, die eigenen Klänge als dub-ähnliche Echos zwischen den herausragenden Hügeln und den tiefen Tälern gehört zu haben, wird einen tiefen Eindruck hinterlassen haben. Viele Musiker und Bands aus Neuseeland scheinen ein untergründiges Bewusstsein für die Beziehung zwischen dem Klang und der vielgestaltigen physisch manifesten Landschaft wie auch eine besondere Wahrnehmung und Fähigkeit zur Aktivierbarkeit des klanglichen Raums zu besitzen. 


Fat Freddy's Drop live (Great Northern Hotel, Byron Bay, Australia, 2009). Fat Freddy's Drop live (Great Northern Hotel, Byron Bay, Australia, 2009). | © Brad Sawatzki Von Fat Freddy’s Drop bis zu Salmonella Dub findet man endlose variierte Wiederholungen und eine rein hörbare Dichte, die gemeinsam eine klangliche Körperlichkeit im großen Maßstab erzeugen. Der Dub-Anteil im Techno braucht eine Weite, während die tanzenden Körper der Zuhörer zugleich Intimität bedeuten. Ein solch besonderes Empfinden für beides zeichnet die in Aotearoa produzierte elektronische Musik zumeist aus. Indem sie Berlin, Detroit, London und andere Orte aufnehmen und verarbeiten, haben die Inseln ihre ganz eigene Handschrift eines internationalen Stils hervorgebracht.
 

Audio: Fat Freddy’s Drop, The Drop