Martyn Pepperell Making Noise Abroad

Noah Slee
© Noah Slee

In simple terms, to be an experimental musician is to experiment with sound. It’s a practice in which ingenuity and resourcefulness, qualities often referred to in New Zealand through shorthand terms like “Kiwi ingenuity,” and “Number 8 wire,” (a reference to a multi-use farming fencing wire) give you a significant advantage. When it comes to our technology, science, agriculture, and film and television industries, experimentation-based processes and idiosyncratic inventors are actively celebrated and championed within the cultural mainstream. However, experimental and electronic music makers, despite their long-standing local history and international influence, still sit on the fringes.

As a result, whether having developed their practice on their own terms, or in an academic setting, it makes perfect sense that musicians often head overseas in pursuit of opportunity. Within Europe, as with creative types from across the globe, Berlin has long been a popular destination for experimental and electronic musicians from New Zealand looking to raise the volume of discussion around their music. After all, the famed German artist visa is still reasonably easy to obtain, and rent and bills remain affordable enough to live as a working artist within the city. Most importantly though, there is a level of understanding, respect, and empathy present that these musicians are rarely afforded at home.                 

Olly Perryman, the Berlin-based electronic music producer and DJ known as Fis is arguably one of the highest profile experimental New Zealand musicians making noise abroad right now. Over the last three years, he’s released two solo albums, and a collaborative project with ground-breaking taonga pūoro (traditional Māori instruments) player Rob Thorne, through prestigious electronic art music labels Loopy and Subtext. For Perryman, arriving in Berlin was a creative pressure release. “For comfort as an artist, New Zealand is like training at altitude. It’s like an exercycle on the highest gear, and I’m not just talking economically. It’s a matter of openness. I cannot tell you why, but right now New Zealand does not feel that open to artwork or artists” (Fis, Norient, 2016)


Fis & Rob Thorne performing Fis & Rob Thorne performing | © Sophie Schnell

Audio: Fis & Rob Thorne, Phase Transition



Following a thread that connects the exploratory impulses of Alice Coltrane’s celestial jazz, Xenakis’ architectural compositions, and Autechre’s densely complex electronica, his music explores the relationships between human, nature, and technology. In 2015, I described it for Dummy Mag as, “a techno-naturalistic soundworld all his own.” Since relocating to Berlin that same year, he’s performed for appreciative audiences across Europe and North America, and present commissioned works at prestigious experimental electronic music festivals like Berlin Atonal and Mutek. Fittingly, his recordings and performances have been celebrated by crucial music media outlets such as The Wire, Fact Magazine and Resident Advisor.

 

Audio: Fis, Live at Berlin Atonal (2014)



Another musician from our shores currently turning the dial up in Berlin is Tongan New Zealand singer/songwriter and producer Tau Manukia, aka Noah Slee. Where Perryman’s work explores the frontiers of experimental electronica, Manukia fuses heartfelt Polynesian soul with electronic dance music styles like house and techno, while also drawing on the sonic exploration tapped into by experimental rock bands like Radiohead.

Manukia got his start playing with Auckland-based Pacific pop-funk boyband Spacifx in the mid-2000s, before rejecting the commercial music machine, heading overseas, and expanding his listening. After spending some time living in Australia, Manukia relocated to Berlin. Much like Perryman, this move gave him the geographic proximity required to perform regularly throughout Europe. In turn, this helped him link record deals with Majestic Casual and Wondercore Island, for the release of his well-received debut album Otherland.


Noah Slee © Noah Slee
 

Audio: Noah Slee, Radar



Aside from accessibility to suitable audiences and industry, relocating to Germany also gave Manukia the chance to come out as gay, something he struggled with growing up within a Christian Polynesian family and community in New Zealand and Australia. “I needed to find a community that wasn't just musical but was open to my sexuality and able to let me breathe” (Noah Slee). In Berlin, he found this community and breathing space, using it to create work that has won him support from tastemaking music platforms like Boiler Room TV and BBC Radio 1xtra. That said, Manukia still has a journey ahead of him. “I feel like Otherland is only the tip of the iceberg in terms of me being completely free and open” (Noah Slee).

Between their two practices, Perryman and Manukia’s works are a reminder that the meaning of the word “experimental” shifts with context and genre. Once you’re connecting with an international audience through sonic exploration - whether by pushing the boundaries within an accessible space or out on the more extreme edges of sound-making - working within an experimental paradigm can be richly rewarding. Right now, as it has been for decades, Berlin remains an ideal launchpad for New Zealand experimental and electronic musicians with emergent international profiles. A place from which to make noise abroad.
 

Audio: Noah Slee, Told

Martyn Pepperell Lärmend jenseits der Grenzen

Noah Slee
© Noah Slee

Experimentalmusiker zu sein, heißt kurz gesagt, mit Klang zu experimentieren. Dabei kommt einem zu Gute, wenn man über Einfallsreichtum und Findigkeit verfügt – Eigenschaften, die in Neuseeland oft einfach mit Kurzformen wie “Kiwi Findigkeit” und (in Anspielung auf einen Mehrzweck-Draht zum Zäune-Ziehen) “Number 8 wire” bezeichnet werden. In Bereichen wie Technologie, Wissenschaft, Landwirtschaft und Film und Fernsehen werden experimentelle Ansätze und eigentümliche Erfindertypen gefeiert und auch im kulturellen Mainstream hierzulande bewundert, wohingegen Vertreter der experimentellen und elektronischen Musik trotz einer schon langen Geschichte vor Ort und internationaler Wahrnehmung nur eine Randexistenz führen.

Als Folge davon suchen die Musiker – ob sie nun als Autodidakten zur Musik gekommen sind oder eine akademische Ausbildung genossen haben – aus gutem Grund den Weg nach Übersee, um dort ihr Glück zu finden. In Europa mit so vielen kreativen Köpfen aus aller Welt gehört Berlin zu den beliebtesten Zielen für experimentelle und elektronische Musiker aus Neuseeland, die sich dort für ihre Musik mehr Wahrnehmung und Anerkennung erhoffen. Denn das berühmte deutsche Künstler-Visum ist weiterhin relativ leicht zu bekommen, die Mieten und Lebenshaltungskosten sind so niedrig, dass es sich dort als Künstler leben lässt. Wichtiger als alles andere allerdings sind das Verständnis, die Anerkennung und die Sympathie, die den Musikern dort entgegengebracht werden – anders als daheim zumeist.

Olly Perryman, der in Berlin als Produzent für elektronische Musik und als DJ Fis lebt und arbeitet, ist der gegenwärtig möglicherweise bekannteste neuseeländische Experimentalmusiker, der jenseits der Grenzen lärmend auf sich aufmerksam macht. In den letzten drei Jahren hat er für die prestigereichen Elektrolabel Loopy and Subtext zwei Soloalben aufgenommen sowie ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit dem bahnbrechenden Taonga pūoro-Spieler Rob Thorne, der diese traditionellen Māori-Instrumente beherrscht. Für Perryman war die Ankunft in Berlin ein kreativer Segen. “Für Künstler ist das Arbeiten in Neuseeland wie ein Höhentraining. Es ist wie Bergfahren auf dem kleinsten Ritzel, und zwar nicht nur ökonomisch. Es geht um die Offenheit. Ich weiß auch nicht warum, aber Neuseeland ist derzeit nicht wirklich offen für Kunst oder Künstler.“ (Fis, Norient, 2016)


Fis & Rob Thorne performing Fis & Rob Thorne performing | © Sophie Schnell

Audio: Fis & Rob Thorne, Phase Transition



Indem er den Faden der forschenden Impulse von Alice Coltrane’s himmlischen Jazz-Experimenten, Xenakis architektonischen Kompositionen und Autechres verdichteter komplexen Elektronikmusik aufgreift, untersucht seine Musik das Verhältnis zwischen Menschsein, Natur und Technik. Ich bezeichnete die Musik 2015 im Dummy Mag als “eine ganz eigene techno-naturalistische Klangwelt”. Seit dem Umzug nach Berlin hat er in ganz Europa und Nordamerika vor Zuhörern gespielt, die seine Musik dankbar wertschätzen, und erhielt Kompositionsaufträge von renommierten Elektronikmusik-Festivals wie Berlin Atonal und Mutek. Entsprechend wurden seine Aufnahmen und Auftritte in Zeitschriften wie The Wire, Fact Magazine und Resident Advisor gelobt.

 

Audio: Fis, Live at Berlin Atonal (2014)



Ein weiterer Musiker aus unseren Breiten, der zur Zeit in Berlin auf sich aufmerksam macht, ist der tonganesische Singersongwriter und Produzent Tau Manukia, aka Noah Slee. Wo Perrymans Arbeiten die Grenzen der experimentellen Elektromusik austesten, verbindet Manukia innigen polynesischen Soul mit elektronischen Dancemusikstilen wie House und Techno, beeinflusst von den Klangexperimenten von experimentellen Rockbands wie Radiohead.

Manukia begann Mitte der 2000. Jahre als Mitglied der aus Auckland stammenden Pop-Funk-Boyband Spacifx, wandte sich dann von der kommerziellen Musikindustrie ab, ging nach Übersee und verbreiterte seine musikalische Hörerfahrung. Nach einiger Zeit in Australien zog Manukia nach Berlin. Wie für Perryman bedeutet der Umzug, näher am Geschehen zu sein und regelmäßig in ganz Europa aufzutreten. Das wiederum verschaffte ihm Plattenverträge mit Majestic Casual und Wondercore Island, um sein positive aufgenommenes Debutalbum Otherland einzuspielen.


Noah Slee © Noah Slee
 

Audio: Noah Slee, Radar



Mit seinem Umzug nach Deutschland bekam Manukia nicht nur Zugang zum passenden Publikum und Kontakte im Musikgeschäft, er gab ihm auch die Gelegenheit für sein Coming Out, wo er daheim, aufgewachsen in einer christlich polynesischen Familie und Gemeinschaft in Neuseeland und Australien, mit seinem Schwulsein immer hatte ringen müssen. “Ich musste eine Gemeinschaft finden, in der es nicht allein um Musik ging, sondern die auch offen für meine Sexualität ist und mich frei atmen lässt.” (Noah Slee). In Berlin fand er diese Gemeinschaft und einen Ort zum Atmen, den er für sich zu nutzen wusste, so bereits Unterstützung von geschmacksbestimmenden Musikplattformen wie Boiler Room TV und BBC Radio 1xtra fand. Doch die eigentliche Reise liegt noch vor Manukia. “Für mich ist Otherland erst die Spitze des Eisbergs mit Blick auf völlige Freiheit und Offenheit.” (Noah Slee).

So verschieden beide auch sind, Perrymans und Manukias Arbeiten sind zusammengenommen ein Hinweis darauf, dass sich eine Bezeichnung wie “experimentell” mit dem jeweiligen Kontext und Genre verändert. Hat man mit den eigenen Klangexperimenten erst ein internationales Publikum erreicht – sei es, indem man die Grenzen innerhalb eines gegebenen Rahmens austestet, oder sich aber an den extremeren Rändern der Klangerzeugung bewegt –, kann dieses Arbeiten innerhalb eines Bezugssystems unheimlich bereichernd sein. Gegenwärtig – und dies schon seit Jahrzehnten – ist Berlin das ideale Sprungbrett für experimentelle und elektronische Musiker aus Neuseeland, deren internationaler Bekanntheitsgrad immer größer wird. Ein Ort, um lärmend jenseits der Grenzen zu leben und zu arbeiten.
 

Audio: Noah Slee, Told