Sam Longmore Hanno Leichtmann – Goethe-Institut Artist-in-Residence (2018)

Hanno Leichtmann
© thewire.co.uk

The celebrated musical and installation practices of Romanian-born, Berlin-based artist and curator Hanno Leichtmann bring him to Aotearoa this March as the Goethe Institut Artist-in-Residence. In past work, Leichtmann has drawn from a wide array of sound archives, treating them as sound-sets from which new works can be extracted. This approach has won Leichtmann praise in the field of minimal electronic music where his work as Static, and in groups such as Denseland (with David Moss and Hannes Strobl) and Groupshow (with Jan Jelinek and Andrew Pekler), is emblematic of a new wave of cerebral electronic music. Leichtmann’s most recent project is his duo with Valerio Tricoli, released on the influential Entr’acte label.

Sam Longmore: How do you find working across the different contexts you’re involved with? On one hand you’re engaged with contemporary electronic music (as a performer and organiser of events, festivals and releases), and then you’re also active in the gallery-arts community…

Hanno Leichtmann: I've always liked working across different genres and contexts. I find it is inspiring to not work single-mindedly. Even my most conceptual work with sound archives varies a lot depending on the archival material I am working with, its historical significance and contemporary context, and so on.


When did you first begin working in these various fields? And what drew you to them? Do you see yourself primarily as more of a musician / producer than you a gallery artist?

I began as a drummer across various genres back in like 1999. Eventually, I developed into an electronic music producer. It began, actually, with a Roland TR-808 drum machine that I discovered in a cupboard of the jazz school where I studied. Nowadays, I am definitely an electronic music producer, and through that also a curator of festivals and events.
 

Hanno Leichtmann with Carolin Brandl, Live at Plivka (Kiev, Ukraine, 27 May 2016)
Do you have a preference with respect to which area you work in – a favourite?

I am a classic “studio guy”. I love being in the studio recording sounds to transform into an installation, radio piece, or techno record. I think installations are my favourite, though from time to time I also enjoy being on stage, performing in a concert-like situation. I especially enjoy doing this in other countries and am looking forward to the NZ experience!


Leichtmann’s live version of his Minimal Studies album, created using an Akai MPC, selected modular devices, mixing desk, various effect boxes and an ebow tone generator made from a zither. Leichtmann’s live version of his Minimal Studies album, created using an Akai MPC, selected modular devices, mixing desk, various effect boxes and an ebow tone generator made from a zither. | © Hanno Leichtmann How does a musical event where you perform to an audience from a stage differ to presenting work in a gallery context?

With a live concert, it's all about the room and the audience, whereas in a gallery most of the time there is a “white cube situation”, which is much more neutral, though is sometimes somehow annoying. But most of the time I like it. Also, the audience for an installation is different. They are often much more abstract in their thinking, I would say, not the narrow kind of thinking professional musicians sometimes have.

Hanno Leichtmann performing “Christoph Schlingensief´s African Twintowers (Re)Played” at the 2016 CTM Festival for Adventurous Music and Art  Hanno Leichtmann performing “Christoph Schlingensief´s African Twintowers (Re)Played” at the 2016 CTM Festival for Adventurous Music and Art | © Udo Siegfried How do you expect the context of the Goethe Institut (Wellington) will bear on the work you do during your residency?

The Goethe Institut were so nice to offer to organise several concerts, including one with you in Auckland at the Audio Foundation which is great! In the best case, I will also find an archive of interesting NZ sounds to work with. I will have access to a private studio while I am in Wellington, where I can continue preparing my current installation for Haus der Kulturen der Welt [House of World Cultures] in Berlin on the topic of 100 Years of Beat.


Your installation works have often revolved around specific sound archives. Could you discuss your method?

I am very happy to have found a method to transform pre-recorded sounds from a special context, for example Roedelius, Ferienkurse Neue Musik, Primitiva, into new sounds and works. The original context of course gives the work a thematic frame as well as a unique sonic aesthetic.


What are your thoughts in relation to a more abstract notion of ‘the archive’? Do you consider them to be fixed, static, or as things which change over time?

I think archives are fixed in time by virtue of their content remaining constant, however, the reception of that content is open to change over the course of time.


Is the appeal of sound archives material or conceptual?

I think it’s interesting to work with a limited pool of sounds and to go deep into the details. For me it is not so much about the history of the material, but much more about confronting myself with a certain theme, language, or selection of sounds, and then working out how best to assemble/arrange them.

 
Hanno Leichtmann, Nouvelles Aventures (9 min excerpt), created for the 70th anniversary of the Darmstadt International Summer Course and its “Historage” project, using the full archive of the Course as source materials.
How would you describe your approach to your personal archive (whether this be your label, or a personal collection of found or recorded sounds)?

It's like with my instruments. I buy a lot and try a lot of instruments, and I frequently end up selling the new ones after 4 weeks. Only the best instruments/records/sounds “survive” and stay with me.


SY – 4, a four-channel sound-installation using sounds generated with an original SY-1 by Pearl, an early drum synthesizer.  SY – 4, a four-channel sound-installation using sounds generated with an original SY-1 by Pearl, an early drum synthesizer. | © Hanno Leichtmann Is there a certain type of sound or archive that you have a special interest in working with?

No, I like all kinds of archives. At the moment I am working on an installation and radio piece made only from sounds of drummers who have inspired me. It is the most challenging work so far because the sounds of individual drum strokes are very similar, whether they be imparted by the jazz-legend Elvin Jones or avant-metal player, Dave Lombardo.


Best of luck! Looking forward to meeting you in the coming weeks and seeing how your work progresses during your stay in Wellington.

Sam Longmore Hanno Leichtmann – Goethe Institut Neuseeland Residenzkünstler 2018

Hanno Leichtmann
© thewire.co.uk

Die gefeierten Musikwerke und Installationen des in Rumänien geborenen und in Berlin lebenden Künstlers und Kurators Hanno Leichtmann bringen diesen im März als Artist-in-Residence des Goethe Instituts nach Aotearoa. Für seine jüngeren Arbeiten bediente sich Leichtmann aus einer Vielzahl unterschiedlichster Klangarchive, die er als Soundsets benutzt, aus denen neue Arbeiten entstehen. Diese Arbeitsweise verschaffte Leichtmann viel Anerkennung im Feld der Minimal Musik, in dem seine Arbeiten unter dem Namen Static und in Gruppen wie Denseland (mit David Moss und Hannes Strobl) und Groupshow (mit Jan Jelinek und Andrew Pekler), als emblematisch für eine neue Welle von zerebraler elektronischer Musik stehen. Leichtmanns jüngstes Projekt ist sein Duo mit Valerio Tricoli, das auf dem einflussreichen Entr‘acte Label veröffentlicht.

Sam Longmore: Wie ist es für dich, in und zwischen ganz den verschiedenen Kontexten zu arbeiten, deren Teil zu jeweils bist? Zum einen bist du Teil der zeitgenössischen elektronischen Musik (als Musiker, Veranstaltungs- und Festivalorganisator und mit deinen Veröffentlichungen), daneben bist du auch aktiv in der Galeriekunstszene...

Hanno Leichtmann: Ich habe immer schon genre- und kontextübergreifend gearbeitet. Mich inspiriert es, in der Arbeit nicht nur einen einzelnen Fixpunkt zu haben. Selbst meine am deutlichsten konzeptuellen Arbeiten mit Klangarchiven unterscheiden sich aufgrund des jeweiligen Ausgangsmaterials, der gegebenen historischen Bedeutung, dem gegenwärtigen Kontext und so weiter untereinander sehr.


Wann hast zu damit begonnen, auf diesen verschiedenen Feldern zu arbeiten? Was waren die Motive? Verstehst Du Dich selbst eher als Musiker/Produzent oder als Galeriekünstler?

Ich begann 1999 als Schlagzeuger in verschiedenen Genres. Schließlich entwickelte ich mich zum Produzenten von elektronischer Musik. Eigentlich fing alles mit einer Roland TR-808 Schlagzeugmaschine an, die ich in einem Schrank an der Jazz-Schule entdeckte, an der ich studierte. Heute bin ich ohne Zweifel ein Produzent von elektronischer Musik – und in Folge dessen auch ein Festival- und Veranstaltungsorganisator.
 

Hanno Leichtmann mit Carolin Brandl, live im Plivka (Kiew, Ukraine, 27. Mai 2016)
Gibt es für Dich ein bevorzugtes Feld für dein Arbeiten – eine Lieblingsspielwiese?

Ich bin ein klassischer „Studio-Typ“. Ich liebe es, im Studio zu arbeiten, Klänge aufzunehmen, um sie in Installationen, Radiostücke oder ein Techno-Tracks zu verwandeln. Installationen sind mir, denke ich, am liebsten. Von Zeit zu Zeit genieße ich es, auf der Bühne zu stehen und in einer konzert-ähnlichen Situation aufzutreten. Das gefällt mir ich besonders in anderen Ländern und so freue ich mich schon auf das Erlebnis in Neuseeland!


Leichtmanns Live-Version seines Minimal Studies-Albums, das er mit einem Akai MPC, ausgewählten Modulatoren, einem Mischpult, verschiedenen Effekt-Boxen und einem aus einer Zither gebauten Ebow-Ton-Generator einspielte. Leichtmanns Live-Version seines Minimal Studies-Albums, das er mit einem Akai MPC, ausgewählten Modulatoren, einem Mischpult, verschiedenen Effekt-Boxen und einem aus einer Zither gebauten Ebow-Ton-Generator einspielte. | © Hanno Leichtmann Wie unterscheidet sich eine Musikveranstaltung, bei der du vor einem Publikum auftrittst, von der Präsentation von Klangarbeiten im Galeriekontext?

Beim Live-Konzert geht es um den Raum und das Publikum, die Galerie hingegen ist fast immer von den Rahmenbedingungen des White Cube geprägt, erscheint also wesentlich neutraler, was manchmal aber auch irgendwie nervig ist. Meist aber gefällt mir das. Das Publikum für die Installationen ist auch ein anderes. Die Leute sind in ihrem Denken oft viel abstrakter, würde ich sagen, und sind nicht so engstirnig in ihrem Denken wie manche Berufsmusiker.

Hanno Leichtmann führt “Christoph Schlingensief´s African Twintowers (Re)Played” beim 2016 CTM Festival for Adventurous Music and Art auf. Hanno Leichtmann führt “Christoph Schlingensief´s African Twintowers (Re)Played” beim 2016 CTM Festival for Adventurous Music and Art auf. | © Udo Siegfried Welche Erwartungen hast du für den Aufenthalt am Goethe Institut in Wellington? Welchen Einfluss wird der dortige Kontext auf dein Arbeiten während der Residency haben?

Das Goethe Institut war so freundlich, verschiedene Konzerte zu organisieren, darunter eines mit Dir in Auckland an der Audio Foundation Das ist super! Im besten Fall werde ich ein Archiv mit interessanten neuseeländischen Klängen entdecken, mit denen ich arbeiten kann. In Wellington werde ich ein privates Studio nutzen können, in dem ich an der derzeit in Arbeit befindlichen Installation für die Ausstellung 100 Years of Beat am Haus der Kulturen der Welt weiterarbeiten kann.


Deine Installationen sind oft durch die Auseinandersetzung mit bestimmten Klangarchiven entstanden. Kannst du etwas zu deiner Arbeitsmethode sagen?

Ich bin sehr glücklich, einen Weg gefunden zu haben, vorgefundene Klänge aus einem spezifischen Kontext – Roedelius, Ferienkurse Neue Musik, Primitiva – in neue Klänge und Arbeiten zu verwandeln. Der ursprüngliche Kontext liefert dabei natürlich den thematischen Rahmen und bestimmt die jeweils eigene Klang-Ästhetik.


Welche theoretische Haltung nimmst Du, allgemein gesprochen, gegenüber „dem Archiv“ als einem Konzept und einer Idee ein? Verstehst du es als etwas, was dir als gegeben erscheint, als statisch – oder als etwas, das sich im Laufe der Zeit ändert?

Ich denke, Archive sind wegen ihres gleichbleibenden Inhalts zeitgebunden, die Rezeption ihrer Inhalte hingegen kann sich mit der Zeit ändern.


Spricht dich das Material der Klangarchive eher inhaltlich oder eher konzeptuell an?

Ich finde es spannend, mit einer begrenzten Anzahl von Klängen zu arbeiten und dann ins Detail zu gehen. Mir geht es nicht so sehr um die Geschichte des Materials, sondern in erster Linie darum, mich selbst mit einem bestimmten Thema, einer Sprache, einer Auswahl von Klängen zu konfrontieren und dann herauszufinden, wie sie sich am besten anders und neuartig sortieren und arrangieren lassen.

 
Hanno Leichtmann, Nouvelles Aventures (9-minütiger Ausschnitt), entstanden anlässlich des 70. Geburtstags der Darmstädter internationalen Ferienkurse und dem “Historage”-Projekt, unter Verwendung des Gesamtarchivs der Ferienkurse.
Wie gehst du mit deinem eigenen Archiv um (sei es die Musik deines Labels oder deiner privaten Sammlung von gefundenen oder eingespielten Klängen)?

Es ist wie mit meinen Instrumenten. Ich kaufe eine Menge von Instrumenten und probiere sie aus, verkaufe dann die neuen regelmäßig nach vier Wochen. Nur die besten Instrumente, Platten, Klänge „überleben“ und bleiben bei mir.


SY – 4, eine 4-Kanal Klanginstallation, deren Klänge mit Hilfe eines original SY-1 von Pearl eingespielt wurden, eines frühen Schlagzeug-Synthesisers. SY – 4, eine 4-Kanal Klanginstallation, deren Klänge mit Hilfe eines original SY-1 von Pearl eingespielt wurden, eines frühen Schlagzeug-Synthesisers. | © Hanno Leichtmann Gibt es ein bestimmtes Klangarchiv, mit dem zu arbeiten dich besonders reizen würde?

Nein, ich mag alle Arten von Archiven. Gegenwärtig arbeite ich an einer Installation und einem Radiostück, für das ich nur Sounds von Schlagzeugern verwende, die mich inspiriert haben. Es ist die bisher herausforderndste Arbeit, da ich Klänge der einzelnen Schlagzeuger einander sehr ähnlich sind, ob sie nun von der Jazzlegende Elvin Jones oder dem Avant-Metal-Musiker Dave Lombardo stammen.


Alles Gute! Ich freue mich auf unser Treffen und bin gespannt, wie sich deine Arbeit während des Aufenthalts in Wellington entwickelt.