A Residency Report
The Wanderer

Empty seats on flight from Singapore to Frankfurt
© Sam Clague

By Sam Clague

2020. Amidst the deafening turmoil of a world grinding to an undignified halt, I found myself offered an incredible opportunity by the Goethe-Institut. I began my journey in late August, en route to Germany via the almost entirely deserted Changi Airport in Singapore. The journey was surreal, with kilometres of awkwardly unoccupied airport corridors, near empty planes, and 48 hours of consistent mask wearing, even while sleeping.

Without delay, and without COVID, I arrived at Frankfurt Airport and took the first train to Leipzig, where the LIA residency programme is based. I had read that it was situated in the largest cotton processing plant from the 19th century, but I had no comprehension of the majestic, ex-industrial, artistic-utopian fantasy I was walking into. Formerly a factory and workers’ village, the Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei (‘Spinnerei’ for short) is a 10 hectare complex comprising 22 large brick halls which today house over 100 ample studios, 14 galleries, and the largest art supply store I had ever seen.

I was soon settled in my 80 sqm studio/bedroom (significantly larger than my entire flat in Wellington) where I would spend the next three months working and living, along with fellow residents from all over Europe and Asia.

  • The Spinnerei in Autumn © Sam Clague
    The Spinnerei in Autumn
  • Myself, Meik and Cyryl looking out at Leipzig © Sam Clague
    Myself, Meik and Cyryl looking out at Leipzig
  • Leipzig viewed from its tallest building © Sam Clague
    Leipzig viewed from its tallest building
  • Harit contemplates the painting 'Wanderer above the sea fog' © Sam Clague
    Harit contemplates the painting 'Wanderer above the sea fog'
  • Hamburg Harbour © Sam Clague
    Hamburg Harbour
  • Karl Marx bust in Chemnitz © Sam Clague
    Karl Marx bust in Chemnitz
  • Myself and fellow residents viewing the newly opened Neo Rauch exhibition at Eigen+Art Gallery in the Spinnerei © Sam Clague
    Myself and fellow residents viewing the newly opened Neo Rauch exhibition at Eigen+Art Gallery in the Spinnerei

One of the first trips we made was to the small university town of Freiburg; not typically on the tourists’ agenda, but a beautiful example of the quintessential towns in East Germany. Home to one of the oldest universities of mining and metallurgy in the world, we were escorted hundreds of metres down an old mineshaft, by an explosive shockwave engineering expert, who gave us a tour of the old mine which now housed his explosives laboratory. It was an absolutely fascinating and highly unexpected day trip. Down in the depths of the Ore Mountain Mining Region, we were shown the lab, where small precision industrial blades were strengthened through exposure to explosive shockwaves, as well as a small catering/dining area, an experimental, bacteria-based mining operation, and a customs-sealed room where barrels of expensive whisky were being aged deep below the Earth’s surface.

Our next group adventure was to Hamburg, home to one of the most wonderful collections of art I have had the privilege of exploring, at the Hamburger Kunsthalle. We were there to attend the opening of an exhibition including a fellow resident, and afterwards ended up playing pool in a smoky bar until the early hours. The next day, on advice from the  programme director, a few of us took a tour by boat of the Hamburg port. Although initially skeptical, it turned out to be one of my favourite experiences in Germany;  out there, dwarfed by the sublime and almost sinister machinations of global trade, we had the most amazing view of the beautiful historic and contemporary architecture of Hamburg.

Two other trips certainly worth mentioning were to Dresden and Chemnitz. Although largely rebuilt, the formidable beauty and historic wealth of Dresden were still omnipresent, and I left with my head swimming from the jaw-dropping architecture and collection of cultural treasures and artworks housed at the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen. Chemnitz, while less majestic, offered another kind of insight into the region's history, being peppered with Plattenbau (Soviet housing leftover from the DDR), and home to the largest bust of Karl Marx in the world.

In between these wonderful excursions the LIA programme hosted many reciprocal studio visits with artists and art professionals, and facilitated a group exhibition for the studio artists as part of the Spinnerei’s annual ‘Rundgang’ where every gallery in the complex celebrates with a new show. The event brought thousands of people to the Spinnerei, and upwards of 400 visited our exhibition alone within the 48 hours it was open.

In spite of the pandemic, I managed, with the help of the Goethe-Institut and the wonderful organisation of the LIA programme, to have a thoroughly immersive German experience. In a normal year I would have roamed further afield, but I am extremely grateful for this singular and unique chance to appreciate such a rich and culturally vibrant part of Germany, and to have the time and materials afforded to allow me to create a large body of new artwork as well. It was a thoroughly enriching and productive experience, and I left feeling that I’d had my cake and eaten it too, enjoying the perfect mix of professional development and taking in the local colour.

Upon returning to New Zealand I have managed to secure three exhibitions of the work made in Leipzig, two in Christchurch and one in Auckland, to open over the next three months. I am extremely proud of how my practice developed in those three short months, and would advocate for all varieties of artist to apply for this opportunity once the world resumes turning.

Top

Ein Residenzbericht
Der Wanderer

Leere Sitzreihen auf dem Flug von Singapur nach Frankfurt
© Sam Clague

Von Sam Clague

2020. Mitten im betäubenden Tumult einer Welt, die würdelos zum Halten kam, wurde mir eine unglaublichen Chance durch das Goethe-Institut gewährt. Ich begann meine Reise im späten August, unterwegs nach Deutschland mit Zwischenstopp im fast komplett geleerten Changi Flughafen in Singapur. Die Reise war surreal, mit Kilometern von seltsam ruhigen Flughäfengängen, fast leeren Flugzeugen und 48 Stunden durchgängigem Tragen einer Gesichtsmaske - auch während des Schlafens.

Ohne Verspätung und ohne COVID kam ich am Frankfurter Flughafen an und nahm den ersten Zug nach Leipzig, wo das LIA Residenzprogramm stattfand. Ich hatte gelesen, dass es seinen Sitz in der größten Baumwollspinnerei des 19. Jahrhundert hat, aber ich hatte keine Vorstellung von der majestätischen, ex-industriellen, künstlerisch-utopischen Fantasie, in die ich mich begab. Früher war die Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei (kurz 'Spinnerei') eine Fabrik und Arbeiterunterkunft, die 10 Hektar von 22 großen gemauerten Hallen umfasst, und die heute über 100 Künstlerstudios, 14 Galerien und den größten Künstlerbedarfladen innehat, den ich jemals gesehen hab'.

Schnell gewöhnte ich mich an meine 80 Quadratmeter Studio/Wohnung (sehr viel größer als meine gesamtes Apartment in Wellington), wo ich die nächsten drei Monate leben und arbeiten würde, in der Nachbarschaft von anderen Residenzkünstler*innen aus Asien und Europa.

Einer unseren ersten Ausflüge haben wir in die kleine Universitätsstadt Freiburg gemacht, die normalerweise nicht auf Touristenrouten zu finden, aber ein wunderschönes Beispiel einer typischen Kleinstadt im Osten Deutschlands, ist. Freiburg ist Sitz eine der ältesten Universitäten, die Metallurgie als Studienfach anbieten. Ein Ingenieur für explosive Schockwellen begleitete uns Hunderte von Metern unter die Erdoberfläche einen Minenschacht entlang und zeigte uns die alte Mine, die nun sein Sprengstofflabor beherbergt. Es war absolut faszinierend und ein ziemlich unerwarteter Tagesausflug. In den Tiefen des Erzgebirges, wurde uns das Labor gezeigt, in dem kleine industrielle Präzisionsklingen gestärkt werden, in dem sie explosiven Schockwellen ausgesetzt werden. Außerdem gab es eine kleine Teeküche, einen experimentellen Minenbetrieb mit Bakterien und einen handversiegelten Raum, in dem teuere Whiskyfässer tief unter der Erdoberfläche reifen können.

  • The Spinnerei in Autumn © Sam Clague
    The Spinnerei in Autumn
  • Myself, Meik and Cyryl looking out at Leipzig © Sam Clague
    Myself, Meik and Cyryl looking out at Leipzig
  • Leipzig viewed from its tallest building © Sam Clague
    Leipzig viewed from its tallest building
  • Harit contemplates the painting 'Wanderer above the sea fog' © Sam Clague
    Harit contemplates the painting 'Wanderer above the sea fog'
  • Hamburg Harbour © Sam Clague
    Hamburg Harbour
  • Karl Marx bust in Chemnitz © Sam Clague
    Karl Marx bust in Chemnitz
  • Myself and fellow residents viewing the newly opened Neo Rauch exhibition at Eigen+Art Gallery in the Spinnerei © Sam Clague
    Myself and fellow residents viewing the newly opened Neo Rauch exhibition at Eigen+Art Gallery in the Spinnerei
Unser nächster Gruppenausflug ging nach Hamburg, wo ich in der Hamburger Kunsthalle eine der wunderbarsten Kunstkollektion entdeckte. Wir waren in Hamburg für die Vernissage eines Residenzkollegen und hinterher spielten wir bis in die frühen Morgenstunden Billard. Am nächsten Tag - auf Empfehlung der LIA Programmleitung - machten einige von uns eine Bootstour durch den Hamburger Hafen. Zunächst war ich skeptisch, aber im Rückblick ist es eine meiner liebsten Erfahrungen in Deutschland; da draußen fühlten wir uns wie Zwerge angesichts der finsteren Maschinenbauten des globalen Handels, und hatten doch den besten Blick auf die besondere historische und zeitgenössische Architektur Hamburgs.

Zwei andere Reisen sollten hier noch erwähnt werden - nach Dresden und Chemnitz. Obwohl größtenteils wieder neu aufgebaut, war die unglaubliche Schönheit und der historische Reichtum Dresdens immer spürbar und ich verließ die Stadt ganz schwindlich ob der atemberaubenden Baukunst und Sammlungen kollektiver Schätze und Kunstwerke in den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen. Chemnitz war weniger majestätisch, offerierte dafür aber andere Einblicke in die Geschichte der Region, mit seinen Plattenbauten und der weltweit größten Büste von Karl Marx.

Wenn wir keine Exkursionen machten, gab das LIA Programm die Gelegenheit viele Studiobesuche mit Künstler*innen und Kolleg*innen aus der Kunstwelt zu machen. U.a. wurde auch die jährliche "Rundgang" Ausstellung organisiert, an die jede Galerie des Spinnerei Komplex teilnahm. Die Veranstaltung erreichte Tausende von Besucher*innen und über 400 Besucher*innen besichtigten unsere Ausstellung allein in den beiden Tagen, an denen sie geöffnet war.

Trotz der Pandemie gelang es mir, mit Unterstützung durch das Goethe-Institut und das tolle LIA Programm, eine immersive Zeit in Deutschland zu verbringen. Normalerweise hätte ich Deutschland und Europa noch weiter erkundet, nun bin ich aber sehr dankbar für die Gelegenheit, diesen kulturell dynamischen Teil Deutschlands kennengelernt und Zeit und Material gehabt zu haben, meine künstlerische Praxis weiterzuentwickeln und eine neue Reihe von Kunstwerken zu erstellen. Es war eine produktive und bereichernde Erfahrung und ich fuhr weg mit dem Gefühl den Kuchen nicht nur präsentiert zu sehen, sondern auch gekostet zu haben.

Nach meiner Rückkehr nach Neuseeland gelang es mir drei Ausstellungen mit den in Leipzig entstandenden Arbeiten zu sichern, eine in Auckland und zwei in Christchurch, die in den nächsten drei Monaten eröffnet werden. Es macht mich sehr stolz zu sehen, wie sich meine kreative Arbeitsweise in den drei Monaten der Residenz weiterentwickelt hat und ich möchte Künstler*innen aller Sparten ermutigen, sich zu bewerben, sobald sich die Erde wieder dreht.
 

Top