Word Worlds

World words © Goethe-Institut Neuseeland

Word Worlds

Learning a language isn’t (just) about the words. It’s what you do with them – and what they do to you!

Dave with bike at German rail station © Dave Lowe

Science in Other Words
Interview with travelling scientist Dr Dave Lowe

In the Goethe on Air Show 28 Dr Dave Lowe talks about opening windows on the world and winning part of a Nobel prize

Colloquy Podcast

Colloquy Series Word Worlds © Pip Adam

Episode 1
Writing in two tongues

How does speaking another language affect the work of writers in Aoteraoa New Zealand? In this first episode of new podcast series "Colloquy" we talk to novelists, poets and essayists who write in English -- but also think and live in other languages from Te Reo Māori to German or Chinese....

Episode 2
World words in New Zealand literature

Why do writers of English include other languages in their work? In this second episode of new podcast series "Colloquy" we talk to novelists, poets, essayists and publishers who read and create books in English that include words and phrases from other languages

Episode 3
Living outside the mother tongue

What is it like to live in and around one language while writing in another? In this third episode of new podcast series "Colloquy" we talk to novelists, poets and essayists who have written works in English while living in countries where English is not the first language

Episode 4
Writing and reading across worlds

In this fourth episode of new podcast series "Colloquy" we talk to novelists, poets, essayists and publishers about the role translation plays in their reading, writing and publishing. We talk to writers who translate and to writers who have worked with translators

Top

Word Worlds

World words © Goethe-Institut Neuseeland

Word Worlds

Eine neue Sprache zu lernen, bedeutet nicht einfach nur neue Wörter zu kennen. Es geht darum, was Sie mit den Wörtern machen und umgekehrt, die Worte mit Ihnen...

Dave mit Fahrrad an einem deutschen Bahnhof © Dave Lowe

Forschung – in anderen Worten
Interview mit dem reisenden Wissenschaftler Dr. Dave Lowe

In der Goethe on Air Show 28 spricht Dr. Dave Lowe davon, wie es ist, Fenster zur Welt zu öffnen und einen Nobelpreis teilweise zu gewinnen

Colloquy Podcast

Colloquy Series Word Worlds © Pip Adam

Folge 1
Schreiben auf zwei Sprachen

Wie beeinflusst es die Arbeit neuseeländischer Schriftsteller, wenn sie außer Englisch noch eine andere Sprache beherrschen? In der ersten Folge der neuen Podcast-Serie „Colloquy“ sprechen wir mit Schriftstellern, Verlegerinnen und Lesern über die Rolle von „Wortwelten“ in ihrer Arbeit und über die neuseeländische Literatur, die sie lieben.

Folge 2
Wortwelten in der neuseeländischen Literatur

Warum verwenden englischsprachige Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller in ihren Werken auch andere Sprachen? In dieser zweiten Folge der neuen Podcast-Serie „Colloquy“ sprechen wir mit Schriftstellerinnen, Dichtern, Essayistinnen und Verlegern, die englische Bücher lesen, schreiben oder erstellen, in denen Wörter und Sätze aus anderen Sprachen vorkommen…

Folge 3
Das Leben ausserhalb der Muttersprache

Wie ist es, in und mit einer Sprache zu leben, und auf einer anderen zu schreiben? In dieser dritten Folge der Podcast-Serie „Colloquy“ sprechen wir mit neuseeländischen Schriftstellerinnen, Dichtern und Essayisten, die englischsprachige Werke ausserhalb Neuseelands geschrieben haben

Folge 4
Schreiben und Lesen über Grenzen hinweg

In der vierten Folge der neuen Podcast-Serie „Colloquy“ sprechen wir mit Autoren und Dichterinnen, die Werke übersetzen, und mit Autorinnen und Herausgebern, die mit Übersetzern zusammengearbeitet haben

Top