Film Screening WERNER HERZOG RETROSPECTIVE

Herzog Retrospective (c) Goethe-Institut

Sat, 06.05.2017 -
Sun, 04.06.2017

FDCP Cinematheque Manila



The Goethe-Institut Philippinen presents a cinematic retrospective exhibition of the work of acclaimed German director, Werner Herzog, Saturdays and Sundays, from May 6 to June 4, at the FDCP Cinematheque Manila. Over the course of 55 years, Herzog’s film career expanded the possibilities of cinema as an art form and transformed a wide range of genres.
 
Considered as one of the greatest figures of the New German Cinema, Werner Herzog’s body of work consists of films and documentaries that capture men and women at psychological extremes. Herzog and his films have received critical success through the numerous awards he has won and has been nominated for. Herzog’s first feature film, “Signs Of Life” won him his first Silver Bear Extraordinary Prize of the Jury at the Berlin International Film Festival in 1968. Other notable awards include Best Director for “Fitzcarraldo” at the 1982 Cannes Film Festival, and the Grand Prix at the same festival for “The Enigma of Kaspar Hauser” in 1975.


The list of films part of the Werner Herzog Retrospective are:
 
 
NOSFERATU THE VAMPYRE, 1979
Poster


Werner Herzog’ homage to the 1922 F.W. Murnau movie is an execution of passionate connoisseurship. Set in the heart of 19th century Germany, the protagonist, Jonathan Harker from Wismar, wants to negotiate with Count Dracula in Transylvania about the purchase of a house. But after the first night, Harker finds out that Dracula is a vampire and his flight turns out to be hopeless. Dracula enters with a ship in Wismar and spreads the plague in the city. Even the sacrifice of Harker's wife Lucy cannot stop the disaster. Though Dracula dissolves in the sunlight, Harker now spreads fear and terror in the world as a kind of new vampire.
 

 
 
AGUIRRE, THE WRATH OF GOD, 1972
Poster

 
Loosely based on the true story of a 16th-century conquistador Lupe De Aguirre, the film features an expedition down the Amazon, with Aguirre, the second-in-command of a Spanish force, searching for the mythical riches of El Dorado. In the hostile environment, Aguirre is driven into madness by the heat, hunger and exhaustion, disease, and danger from imminent native attack. He mutinies and kills his commander, and carries on the dangerous mission for power and greed.

 
 
 
 
FITZCARRALDO, 1981/82
Poster


Considered both a great cinematic vision, and a great folly, the film „Fitzcarraldo“, is about an opera-loving madman who is determined to drag a ship overland from one river to another, to accomplish his goal of building an opera house in the jungle, and hire the famous Caruso to sing in it. A Herzog favorite, Klaus Kinski, plays the title role with a shock-haired appearance and an inimitable performance.



 
 
COBRA VERDE, 1987
Poster


The feared bandit Cobra Verde is hired in Brazil in the early 19th century by a plantation owner to manage sugar cane production and slaves. However, when he gets his employer’s three daughters pregnant, the latter wants to get rid of him. Cobra Verde is sent to West Africa to procure new slaves and in the best case, not come back alive. But in West Africa, Cobra Verde is developing an unimagined career.
 
 

 
 
THE WILD BLUE YONDER, 2005
Werner Herzog Restrospective


In space, a gigantic exodus comes to pass. To save himself and his species, an alien from the Andromeda galaxy lands on Earth and tries to build a city for his species. The plan failed, and instead he gets a job at the CIA. Mankind also faces a climate disaster and prepares a space mission to find a habitable planet.





QUEEN OF THE DESERT, 2015
Poster

Queen of the Desert is a 2015 American epic biographical drama based on the life of the British traveler, writer, archaeologist, explorer, cartographer and political officer Gertrude Bell. The film follows Bell's life chronologically, from her early twenties to her death.





THE ENIGMA OF KASPAR HAUSER, 1974
Poster


In 1829, a mysterious young man who can barely speak, appeared in Nuremberg. His peculiarity—a product of his previous life of having been locked up in a basement and devoid of human contact, awoken the curiosity of the Biedermeier society, who immediately take advantage of his naivety. Armed with authentic documents from the 19th century, Werner Herzog’s masterpiece, The Enigma of Kaspar Hauser, is a brilliant and unforgettable take on mental illness during that time.



 
BELLS FROM THE DEEP, 1993
Poster


In Bells from the Deep, Herzog examines Russian mysticism, after the fall of communism, and a man who claims to be the reincarnation of Jesus. The film’s first half primarily concerns itself with a Russian faith healer, and interviews with Russians, and segments on the religion of Siberian nomads. The second half is concerned primarily with the legend of the lost city of Kitezh.




 
EVEN DWARFS STARTED SMALL, 1971


Poster


The film takes place in an alternate universe consisting entirely of little people, and follows an uprising at an institution of indeterminate purpose. Demanding a fellow inmate be set free, prisoners trap their supervisor in his office, then proceed to run amok, conduct mock weddings, crucify a monkey, and set potted flowers on fire.
 

 


WOYZECK, 1979
Poster

 
Woyzeck is the tragic tale of a hopeless soldier named Woyzeck, who murders his wife for her infidelity. Struggling in the face of physical torment via his commanding officers, and later on by a doctor who takes advantage of him, Woyzeck is an observational approach to a man’s descent into madness.




SCREENING SCHEDULE

Herzog Retrospective

WERNER HERZOG RETROSPECTIVE LEPORELLO

WERNER HERZOG RETROSPECTIVE PRESS RELEASE

Admission is free. Seating is on a first come, first served basis.


 

Back

Film Screening Werner Herzog Retrospektive

Sa, 06.05.2017 -
So, 04.06.2017

FDCP Cinematheque Centre, Manila

855 T. M. Kalaw St., Ermita Manila, Philippines, 1000


Das Goethe-Institut Philippinen präsentiert eine einwöchige, retrospektive Ausstellung über die Arbeit des gefeierten deutschen Regisseurs Werner Herzog. Die Ausstellung findet jeden Samstag und Sonntag vom 6. Mai bis zu 4. Juni auf der FDCP Cinematheque statt In seiner 55 Jahre anhaltenden Filmkarriere erweiterte Herzog die Möglichkeiten des Kinos als Kunstform und öffnete es gegenüber einem weiten Spektrum an Genres.

Als einer der bedeutendsten Figuren des Neuen Deutschen Films umfasst Werner Herzogs Œuvre Filme und Dokumentationen, welche sich mit den psychologischen Extremen von Frauen und Männern auseinandersetzen. Der Erfolg, den Herzog mit seinen Filmen erreichte, lässt sich mitunter an der großen Anzahl an gewonnen Awards und Nominierungen ablesen. Mit seinem ersten Feature Film „Lebenszeichen“ hat er sogleich seinen ersten Silbernen Bären in der Kategorie Sonderpreis bei den Internationalen Festspielen Berlin im Jahr 1968 gewonnen. Weitere besondere Auszeichnungen erlangte er in den Kategorien „Bester Regisseur“ für „Fitzcarraldo“ beim Cannes Film Festival 1982 und „Grand Prix“ für „Jeder für sich und Gott gegen alle“ beim selben Festival im Jahr 1975.

Filme, die während der Werner Herzog Retrospektive gezeigt werden:
 


NOSFERATU: PHANTOM DER NACHT, 1979
Poster


Werner Herzog hat sich F.W. Murnaus “Nosferatu“ (1921) etwa fünfzig Jahre später zu Händen genommen, um eine neue Geschichte Graf Draculas zu erzählen. Der Protagonist Jonathan Harker aus Wismar möchte mit Graf Dracula in Transsylvanien über den Kauf eines Hauses verhandeln. Doch schon nach der ersten Übernachtung muss Harker herausfinden, dass Dracula ein Vampir ist. Seine Flucht entpuppt sich als aussichtslos. Dracula läuft mit einem Totenschiff in Wismar ein und verbreitet die Pest in der Stadt. Auch die Aufopferung von Harkers Frau Lucy kann das Unheil nicht aufhalten. Zwar löst sich Dracula im Sonnenlicht auf, doch nun verbreitet Harker als eine Art neuer Vampir Angst und Schrecken in der Welt.


 


AGUIRRE, DER ZORN GOTTES, 1972

Poster

Auf der Grundlage der wahren Geschichte einer Konquistadorin Lupe De Aguirre aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, zeigt der Film eine Expedition über den Amazonas, mit Aguirre, dem Zweiten-Kommandanten einer spanischen Truppe, der nach dem mythischen Reichtum von El Dorado sucht. In der feindlichen Umgebung wird Aguirre durch die Hitze, den Hunger und die Erschöpfung, die Krankheit und die Gefahr des drohenden Eingeborenen in den Wahnsinn getrieben. Er meutert und tötet seinen Kommandanten und trägt die gefährliche Mission für Macht und Gier.




 
FITZCARRALDO, 1981/82
Poster


"Fitzcarraldo" gilt als ein großer Film sowie eine tolle Torheit. Fitzcarraldo ist entschlossen, ein Schiff über Land zu versenden Von einem Fluss zum anderen, um sein Ziel zu erreichen, einen Opernhaus-Dschungel zu bauen und den berühmten Caruso zu singen, um zu singen. Ein Favorit des Regisseurs, Klaus Kinski, spielt mit einer schockhaarigen Aufführung und einer unnachahmlichen Leistung die Titelrolle.


 


COBRA VERDE, 1987
Poster


Der gefürchtete Bandit Cobra Verde wird in Brasilien Anfang der 19. Jahrhunderts von einem Plantagenbesitzer angeheuert, um die Zuckerrohrproduktion und Sklaven zu verwalten. Als er jedoch die drei minderjährigen Töchter seines Arbeitsgebers schwängert, will dieser ihn loswerden. Cobra Verde wird nach Westafrika geschickt, um neue Sklaven zu beschaffen und im besten Falle nicht lebendig zurückzukommen. Doch in Westafrika entwickelt Cobra Verde eine ungeahnte Karriere.
 
 


 
THE WILD BLUE YONDER, 2005
Poster


Im All geht ein gigantischer Exodus von statten. Um sich und seine Spezies zu retten, landet ein Außerirdischer aus der Andromeda-Galaxie auf der Erde und versucht eine Stadt für seine Spezies zu errichten. Der Plan scheitert, stattdessen bekommt er einen Job bei der CIA. Auch die Menschheit sieht sich einer Klimakatastrophe bevor und bereitet ihrerseits eine Notmission ins All vor, um einen bewohnbaren Planet zu finden.





KÖNIGIN DER WÜRSTE, 2015
Poster


Königin der Wüste ist ein 2015 amerikanisches episches biographisches Drama, das auf dem Leben des britischen Reisenden, des Schriftstellers, des Archäologen, des Entdecker, des Kartographen und des politischen Offiziers Gertrude Bell basiert. Der Film folgt Bell's Leben chronologisch, von ihren frühen Zwanzigern bis zu ihrem Tod.
 



 
JEDER FÜR SICH UND GOTT GEGEN ALLE, 1974
Poster


Im Jahre 1829 erschien in Nürnberg ein mysteriöser junger Mann, der kaum sprechen kann. Seine Besonderheit - ein Produkt seines früheren Lebens, in einem Keller und ohne menschlichen Kontakt eingesperrt zu sein, weckte die Neugier der Biedermeier-Gesellschaft, die sofort von seiner Naivität profitieren würde. Bewaffnet mit authentischen Dokumenten aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, Werner Herzogs Meisterwerk, Das Rätsel von Kaspar Hauser, ist eine brillante und unvergessliche nehmen auf Geisteskrankheit während dieser Zeit.




 
GLOCKEN AUS DER TIEFE, 1993
Poster


In den Glocken von den Tiefen untersucht Herzog die russische Mystik nach dem Fall des Kommunismus und einen Mann, der behauptet, die Reinkarnation Jesu zu sein. Die erste Hälfte des Films beschäftigt sich primär mit einem russischen Glaubensheiler und Interviews mit Russen und Segmente über die Religion der sibirischen Nomaden. Die zweite Hälfte beschäftigt sich primär mit der Legende von der verlorenen Stadt Kitezh.
 
 



AUCH ZWERGE HABEN KLEIN ANGEFAGEN, 1971

Poster


Der Film findet in einem alternativen Universum statt, das ausschließlich aus kleinen Leuten besteht, gefolgt von einem Aufstand auf einer undefinierten Institution. Die Forderung eines Mitgefangenen ist frei, Gefangene fangen ihre Vorgesetzten in seinem Büro, gehen dann weiter, um Amok zu führen, Hahn zu führen, einen Affen zu kreuzigen und die Blumen in Brand zu bringen.
 

 

WOYZECK, 1979
Poster

 
Woyzeck ist die tragische Geschichte eines hoffnungslosen Soldaten namens Woyzeck, der seine Frau um ihre Untreue ermorden lässt. Sie kämpft angesichts der körperlichen Qualen über seine Kommandanten und später von einem Arzt, der von ihm Gebrauch macht, ist Woyzeck ein Beobachtungsansatz für den Abstieg eines Mannes in den Wahnsinn.




Freier Eintritt.

 

Zurück