Voices.Europe Open Call for singers and choirs throughout Europe

Voices.Europe © Goethe-Institut, Groupe Dejour

Open Call for singers and choirs throughout Europe

"Voices.Europe” is a project by the Goethe-Institut, initiated as part of the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2020. The project was supported with specal funds from the Federal Foreign Office Germany.

Sing With us!

We cordially invite you to connect with people and communities from different countries by singing together - despite lockdowns, isolation, social distancing, and true distances. With Voices.Europe you can experience the unifying power of music throughout Europe and across borders, and become part of a collaborative work of art.

What is it about?

Voices.Europe is an international musical work of art created by the German-Russian composer Michael Langemann. He was inspired by the European Archive of Voices by the organisation Arbeit an Europa (Work on Europe), in which Europeans born around 1945 talk about their lives. Spanning multiple languages and generations, Voices.Europe connects the past with the present, asks questions about our future, and addresses the current challenges of isolation and contact restrictions in an artistic way. The composition was created as a sound event consisting of five modules in various languages. It has already allowed singers of the Coro Città di Roma in Rome, of the German Choir in London, and of Les Temperamens Variations in Paris to rehearse the composition individually or in small groups, at home or outdoors – in whatever way it was feasible for them. They have recorded sound samples or even videos of the composition and sent them to us. A team of artists is working to assemble all incoming files in a creative way. This means that the collaborative work of art is continuing to grow. The teaser provides an initial impression of this stage of the work.


Join in

You are now cordially invited to become one of the many voices of Voices.Europe right now. No musical knowledge is necessary. Everyone can join in, whether amateur, professional or non-professional, young or old; you are all welcome. Simply sing one or more lines from Langemann's composition, record it (with your mobile phone, for example), and send it to us by 30 June 2021. If you would like to be part of the closing film, you can also send us (via mobile phone) a video of yourself.

We will provide you with sound samples that we would like you to sing.
Deadline for recordings is 30 June 2021.

In late summer you can enjoy the complete work of art here. Will you be a part of it? We look forward to hearing from you!

Detailed information for participation

Stimmen.Europa Open Call Ausschreibung für Sänger*innen und Chöre in ganz Europa

Stimmen.Europa Open Call © Goethe-Institut, Groupe Dejour

Ausschreibung für Sänger*innen und Chöre in ganz Europa


"Stimmen.Europa" ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und fand statt im Rahmen der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft 2020. Das Projekt wurde gefördert mit Sondermitteln des Auswärtigen Amts.

SINGEN SIE MIT!

Wir laden Sie herzlich dazu ein, sich mit Menschen und Gemeinschaften verschiedener Länder durch gemeinsamen Gesang zu verbinden – trotz Lockdowns, Isolation und sozialer wie realer Distanzen. Mit Stimmen.Europa können Sie die verbindende Kraft der Musik europaweit und grenzüberschreitend erleben und Teil eines Gesamtkunstwerks werden.

WORUM GEHT ES?

Stimmen.Europa ist ein internationales Musik-Kunstwerk des deutsch-russischen Komponisten Michael Langemann. Dazu inspiriert hat ihn das Europäische Archiv der Stimmen der Organisation Arbeit an Europa, in dem um 1945 geborene Europäer*innen aus ihrem Leben erzählen. Vielsprachig und generationsübergreifend verbindet Stimmen.Europa die Vergangenheit mit der Gegenwart, fragt nach unserer Zukunft und greift die aktuellen Herausforderungen von Isolation und Kontakt-Einschränkungen künstlerisch auf. So wurde die Komposition als Klangereignis in fünf verschiedensprachigen Modulen konzipiert. Das erlaubte es bereits Sänger*innen des Coro Città in Rom, des German Choir in London und des Les Temperamens Variations Paris das Werk einzeln oder in Kleingruppen, zu Hause oder im Freien zu proben – wie auch immer es gerade für sie machbar war. Tonproben oder auch Videos davon haben sie aufgenommen und uns übermittelt. Ein Team aus Künstler*innen setzt alle eingehenden files kreativ zusammen. Kontinuierlich wächst so das Gesamtkunstwerk. Einen ersten Eindruck dieser Werks-Etappe gibt der Teaser.

MITMACHEN


Ab sofort sind Sie herzlich eingeladen, eine Stimme der vielen von Stimmen.Europa zu werden. Musik-Notenkenntnisse sind nicht erforderlich. Alle können mitmachen, ob Laie, Profi oder Amateur, jung oder alt, Sie alle sind herzlich willkommen. Singen sie einfach eine oder mehrere Zeilen aus Langemanns Werk und machen sie davon Tonaufnahmen (z.B. mit Ihrem Mobiltelefon), die Sie uns dann bis zum 30. Juni 2021 zuschicken. Wenn sie beim Abschlussfilm mit dabei sein möchten, können Sie uns auch ein Video (über das Mobiltelefon) von sich senden.

Wir stellen Ihnen Soundproben zur Verfügung, die wir gerne von Ihnen nachgesungen hätten.
Einsendeschluss ist der 30. Juni 2021.

Im Spätsommer können Sie das Gesamtkunstwerk hier erleben. Seien Sie dabei? Wir freuen uns auf Sie!
 
Weitere Infos, Anmeldung und Kontakt.