digikara ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan

Creative Industries in the digital age


The Goethe-Institut in Pakistan and Karachi University’s Department of Visual Studies have partnered to offer the programme DigiKara to a select group of aspiring and emerging young innovators in the fields of creative and digital industries.

The objective of the Digikara program is to support the professional development of emerging and aspiring young people in the creative sectors by providing tools, network and skills to actively participate in the developing creative industry of Pakistan. Pakistan is on the threshold of a digital society. The young generation is tech-savvy, has visions and high potential. In the near future more and more jobs will arise in creative digital industries.
 
DigiKara addresses a unique opportunity for creative, young people to be actively engaged in Pakistan’s quickly developing digital and creative sectors by bridging the gap between academic education and actual participation in the creative industry, to grasp the huge potential to be more visible, respected, and economically contributing.
 
A workshop series spanning between July and October 2019 will cover a range of topics to strengthen the knowledge and capacity of the participants to build their entrepreneurial spirit and provide tools towards a greater range of opportunities within the creative industries. Through training, mentoring, project and team work, this programme will also help creative young people to connect with new audiences and societal needs.

digikara ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan

Die kreativbranche im digitalen Zeitalter


Das Goethe-Institut Pakistan und das Institut für Visual Studies der Karatschi Universität laden gemeinsam eine ausgewählte Gruppe aufstrebender junger Innovator/innen aus der kreativen und digitalen Branche zur Teilnahme an dem Projekt DigiKara ein.

Das Projekt DigiKara unterstützt die berufliche Weiterentwicklung aufstrebender junger Menschen aus dem Kreativsektor in Form von Kompetenzbildung, Netzwerken und der Vermittlung des geeigneten Handwerkszeugs und möchte sie so zur aktiven Teilnahme an der wachsenden Kreativbranche Pakistans befähigen. Pakistan befindet sich an der Schwelle zur digitalen Gesellschaft. Seine junge Generation ist technisch bewandert, hat Visionen und großes Potenzial. In der nahen Zukunft wird es mehr und mehr Jobs in der kreativen digitalen Branche geben.
Indem DigiKara die Lücke zwischen akademischer Ausbildung und praktischer Arbeit in der Kreativindustrie schließt, bietet das Projekt kreativen jungen Menschen die Möglichkeit, aktiv an Pakistans rasch wachsendem digitalen und kreativen Sektor mitzuwirken, einen wirtschaftlichen Beitrag zu leisten und darüber hinaus die Chance, sichtbarer und renommierter zu werden.
In einer Workshop-Reihe von Juli bis Oktober 2019 werden diverse Themen behandelt, die die Teilnehmer/innen in ihren Fähigkeiten und ihrem Wissen hin zu einem unternehmerischen Geist bestärken sollen. Gleichzeitig wird spezifisches Handwerkszeug vermittelt, das eine größere Bandbreite an Wirkungsmöglichkeiten innerhalb der Kreativbranche erlaubt. Durch Training, Mentoring, Projekt- und Teamarbeit hilft das Programm den jungen Menschen auch dabei, auf neue Zielgruppen und gesellschaftliche Bedürfnisse einzugehen