Episodic (fiction) Writing Workshop © Goethe-Institut Pakistan

Goethe-Institut Pakistan in collaboration with Vidhi Films presents Episodic (fiction) Writing Workshop – for TV and Online Platforms.

Aims:
Developing a pilot for your series.
Pitching to film producer in Germany.

 

The aim of the workshop is to provide a training ground for writers to develop an original series and pilot script for the international market. This 6-month workshop will provide participants with the tools to help develop projects from idea to pilot.
 
Participants will receive professional pitch training.  
 
Together we want to develop work that will find its place in the international content market for episodic series.
 
Timeline: Three virtual workshops, July/September/November 2021.

 
No. of participants: 8 – 10.
 
Preference will be given to talented film writing professionals or filmmakers who have a track record in writing for film/television.
 
The program will provide immersive training over three weeks divided into one week in July, one in September and one in November. During the in-between months’ participants will be required to continue writing pages based on the feedback they have received during the workshops. At the end of the workshops, participants will have a first draft of their pilot episode.
 
The aim of the workshops is to provide continuous mentoring and support for participants as they develop their storylines for their pilot episodes.
 
Specialized workshops on ‘character development’ and ‘dialogue writing’ will be held in June and September.
 
Prior to the last workshop in November, the pilot scripts will be divided between 2 independent readers from the film industry who will provide feedback via a zoom session or give written notes to each participant. These notes will be discussed further in the workshop.
 
The final workshop in November will focus on how participants can take their first drafts to the next level.
 
An intensive pitch training workshop will be organized for two half days in November that will focus on how to pitch at national and international film forums and markets.
 

Pre-requisites:
 
Participants must submit the following:  
 
1. Cover Letter with a short CV stating why they are interested in joining the workshop.
2. Log line of not more than 35 words of the idea of the series they wish to develop during the workshop.
3-5 page treatment.
Please send your applications to:
Press-Karachi@goethe.de

 
* Applicants must have access to Netflix and other streaming platforms (via VPN) as they will be required to watch recommended series as part of the course work.
 
 
Dates/Duration:
Last date for submission: 15th June 2021.
Announcement of final selection: 30th June 2021

 
First Workshop: (Exact Dates TBC) July 2021 with Sabiha Sumar
(Exact Date TBC)July 2021 with Rachel Mathews on Character Development
 
Second Workshop: 6th – 10th September 2021 with Sabiha Sumar
13th September with Julia rose on Dialogue Writing.
 
Third Workshop: 1st – 5th November 2021 with Sabiha Sumar
8th November with Rachel Mathews - Pitching
9th November 2021 with Rachel Mathews - Pitching.
 
10th November 2021 Participants will pitch to an independent film producer in Germany or to a German broadcaster (TBC).
 
Participants can be single or work jointly with a co-writer. Participants are required to make a commitment for the entire 6-month duration of the virtual workshop. Participants are required to continue writing in between workshops. Two sessions will be set up in between workshops with Tutors to discuss progress.
 
The same participants will continue throughout the workshops from June to November 2021.
 
 
Tutor:
Sabiha Sumar

 
Sabiha Sumar is multiple award-winning filmmaker and Sundance alumnus. She has earned critical acclaim for her narrative films as well as documentaries. 
 
Sumar's films have been commissioned by Channel 4, BBC, HBO, ITVS/PBS, ZDF, ARTE, 3SAT and Al Jazeera. Her work has been supported by the Sundance Documentary and Feature film programs as well as by Cinereach. Her debut narrative feature film KHAMOSH PANI/SILENT WATERS (2003) won the LEOPARD D'OR (Golden Leopard) for Best Film, Leopard for Best Actress at Locarno Film Festival and 15 other awards worldwide. It was the first South Asian film to premiere at Sundance 2004 and the first South Asian - European co-production invited to EAVE.
 
Sumar's most notable work in documentaries include: WHO WILL CAST THE FIRST STONE (1988) Research/Writer/Director, World Premiere, London Film Festival with Guardian Lecture for the film, Golden Gate Award, Sanfrancisco International Film Festival, DON’T ASK WHY (1997) for ZDF/3SAT's award winning series Girls Around the World, DINNER WITH THE PRESIDENT: A NATION'S JOURNEY (2007), Writer/Director, Sundance Film Festival, Anasy Awards, Abu Dhabi, Best Documentary & EU Best Documentary Award, SAVING FACE (2012) Academy Award® Winner for Documentary (Short Subject) International Documentary Association, Best Short Award, News & Documentary Emmy®, Best Documentary, News & Documentary Emmy®, Outstanding Editing: Documentary and Long Form, AZMAISH A JOURNEY THROUGH THE SUBCONTINENT (2017) TIFF, Locarno and BFI LFF. Her most recent documentary MOTORCYCLE WOMAN (2019) for 3SAT is selected for the Juliane Bartel Media Prize 2020/2021.
 
In Pakistan, Sumar has directed TV drama series MI RAQSAM (I Dance) 23 episodes for GEO TV & Khuda Dekh Raha Hai (HE IS WATCHING YOU) 20 episodes for A Plus as well as a celebrity talk show THE LIGHTER SIDE OF LIFE, 13 episodes for HUM TV.
 
Sumar is a recipient of the Honour of Grade de Chevalier awarded by the Ministry of Culture & Letters, France (2004), is an Honorary Fellow of Wolfson College, University of Cambridge (2015), and received a Special Recognition Award from London Asian Film Festival (2017). 
 
Currently she is developing an international series titled Ordinary, Extraordinary.
 
 
Tutor:
Rachel Mathews

 
Rachel Mathews is a screenwriter based in Berlin. She is currently co-writer of Leben, a returning series in development with UFA in Germany. She has taught screenwriting and filmmaking in Myanmar for over a decade and works closely with up-and-coming Myanmar writers. Having been showrunner on series two of The Sun, The Moon & The Truth, a drama series for Myanmar's MRTV4, she has just completed the scripts for a police mini-series set in Yangon. She has also written radio plays for BBC Radio 4.
 
Her award-winning short films can be viewed at vimeo.com/rachelmathews

 
Her most recent credits include:
 
2020: Leben – Co-Creator & Co-Writer (pilot script stage)
Returning supernatural series for Jörg Winger (Deutschland '83, 89 Hackerville) and Big Picture Productions Co., part of UFA Germany
 
2020: MyPol – Showrunner (6 x 10 min scripts delivered 29.02.20)
Crime mini-series written with five Myanmar writers for the EU-funded MyPol        project, designed to help reform the Myanmar Police Force        
 
Tutor:
Julia Rose

 
Julia Rose is a Berlin based filmmaker and journalist. She has been working as a dramatic advisor and script consultant and creative producer for theatre, film, and television for more than 20 years. Julia worked with Zero One Films in Berlin covering cultural and political topics. She has researched and produced several series for the TV show THE CULINARY ADVENTURES OF SARAH WEINER as well as the cinema documentary GOLDRUSH on the German reunification.
 
Moreover, Julia has been the researcher for the multiple award winning and Berlinale 2017 award winning documentary BEUYS by Andrea Veiels as well as the 2018 Berlinale competition documentary ELDORADO by Markus Imhoof which was the official Swiss Foreign Language Entry for the Academy Awards 2019.
Currently, Julia works as Editor at Deutsche Welle in Berlin.
 
Script Reader:
Sylvie Page

 
SYlVIE PAGÉ is a professor since 2002 at the department of communication design at the University of Applied Sciences in Mainz. From1994 until 2002, she worked as a professor of film studies at the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, teaching dramaturgy and film production. Born and raised in Canada, she studied visual communications at the Concordia University, Montreal (major in film), followed by her art history studies at the University of Montreal. She received her master degree in 1993 for her thesis: Figure and Structure in Film Dramaturgy. As a filmmaker Pagé directed films for the National Filmboard of Canada, (her film Dizzy Heart was presented in MoMa — Museum of Modern Art —New York in 1982) and the German TV network Arte. Her latest short Film Hundeleben (2016) was a production from Group.ie Gesellschaft für Identity Engineering mbH. She travels around the world giving workshops and conferences about storytelling in Israel, India, Chile, UK, France, Spain, Italy, Poland, Ireland, Thailand, Holland. Her published work includes studies and articles on films in scholarly journals, such as the magazine EPD Medien and Forum.

Episodic (fiction) Writing Workshop © Goethe-Institut Pakistan

DAS GOETHE-INSTITUT PAKISTAN BIETET IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT VIDHI FILMS EINEN EPISODIC (FICTION) WRITING WORKSHOP - FÜR TV UND ONLINE PLATTFORMEN

Ziele:
Entwicklung eines Pilotskripts für Ihre Serie.
Pitching mit Produzenten aus Deutschland
.

Ziel des Workshops ist es ein Pilotskript für den internationalen Markt zu entwickeln. Den Teilnehmern werden Werkzeuge an die Hand geben, um Projekte von der Idee bis zur ersten Episode einer Serie zu entwickeln.
Eine spezielle Trainingseinheit bereitet zum Abschluss auf ein professionelles Pitching vor Produzenten des deutschen und internationalen Marktes.

Zeitplan: Drei virtuelle Workshop-Wochen, Juli/September/November 2021.

Anzahl der Teilnehmer: 8 - 10

Bevorzugt werden talentierte Filmautoren oder Filmemacher, die bereits Erfahrungen im Schreiben für Film/Fernsehen haben.

Das Programm bietet ein intensives Training über drei Workshop-Einheiten,  je eine Woche im Juli, eine im September und eine im November. Unterdessen entwickeln  die Teilnehmer auf der Grundlage des Feedbacks, das sie während der Workshops erhalten haben ihre Formate weiter. Am Ende der Workshops werden die ersten Entwürfe ihrer Pilotepisoden vorgestellt.

Ziel der Workshops ist es,  eine kontinuierliche Betreuung und Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung der Storylines für ihre Pilotepisode zu bieten.
Spezielle Fortbildungseinheiten zu den Themen 'Charakterentwicklung' und 'Dialogschreiben' werden im Juni und September abgehalten. Unabhängige Skript-Leserinnen unterstützen die Autorinnen.
Ein intensiver Trainingsworkshop  bereitet auf nationale und internationale Filmforen und - märkte vor.

Einreichungen erbeten:

- Anschreiben,  aus dem hervorgeht, warum sie an der Teilnahme an dem Workshop interessiert sind,
-Kurze Vita
- Logbuchzeile von nicht mehr als 35 Wörtern über die Idee der Serie.
- 3-5 Seiten Treatment.
Sie Ihre Bewerbungen bitte an: Press-Karachi@goethe.de


* erforderlich Zugang zu Netflix und anderen Streaming-Plattformen (über VPN).

Termine/Dauer:
Letzter Termin für die Einreichung: 15. Juni 2021.
Bekanntgabe der Endauswahl: 30. Juni 2021
 
Erster Workshop: (Genaue Termine TBC) Juli 2021 mit Sabiha Sumar
(Genaues Datum TBC)Juli 2021 mit Rachel Mathews über Charakterentwicklung

Zweiter Workshop: 6. bis 10. September 2021 mit Sabiha Sumar
13. September mit Julia Rose über das Schreiben von Dialogen.
 
Dritter Workshop:  1. - 5. November 2021 mit Sabiha Sumar
8. November mit Rachel Mathews - Pitching
9. November 2021 mit Rachel Mathews - Pitching.

10. November 2021 Die Teilnehmer pitchen vor unabhängigen Filmproduzenten aus Deutschland oder bei einem deutschen Sender (TBC).

Die Teilnehmer können einzeln oder mit einem Co-Autor arbeiten. Die Teilnahme ist für die gesamte 6-monatige Dauer des virtuellen Workshops verpflichtend. Zwischen den Workshops finden zwei Sitzungen mit den Tutoren statt, um den Fortschritt zu besprechen.


Tutor:
Sabiha Sumar

Sabiha Sumar ist eine mehrfach preisgekrönte Filmemacherin und Sundance-Absolventin. Sie hat sowohl für ihre narrativen Filme als auch für ihre Dokumentarfilme viel Kritikerlob erhalten.
Sumars Filme wurden von Channel 4, BBC, HBO, ITVS/PBS, ZDF, ARTE, 3SAT und Al Jazeera in Auftrag gegeben. Ihre Arbeit wurde von den Sundance Dokumentar- und Spielfilmprogrammen sowie von Cinereach unterstützt. Ihr erzählerischer Debütfilm KHAMOSH PANI/SILENT WATERS (2003) gewann den LEOPARD D'OR (Goldener Leopard) für den besten Film, den Leopard für die beste Darstellerin beim Locarno Film Festival und 15 weitere Preise weltweit. Es war der erste südasiatische Film, der in Sundance 2004 Premiere hatte und die erste südasiatisch-europäische Koproduktion, die zur EAVE eingeladen wurde.

Zu Sumars bemerkenswertesten Arbeiten im Bereich Dokumentarfilm gehören: WHO WILL CAST THE FIRST STONE (1988) Recherche/Autor/Regie, Weltpremiere, London Film Festival mit Guardian Lecture für den Film, Golden Gate Award, Sanfrancisco International Film Festival, DON'T ASK WHY (1997) für ZDF/3SAT's preisgekrönte Serie Girls Around the World, DINNER WITH THE PRESIDENT: A NATION'S JOURNEY (2007), Autor/Regisseur, Sundance Film Festival, Anasy Awards, Abu Dhabi, Bester Dokumentarfilm & EU Best Documentary Award, SAVING FACE (2012) Academy Award® Gewinner für Dokumentarfilm (Short Subject) International Documentary Association, Best Short Award, News & Documentary Emmy®, Bester Dokumentarfilm, News & Documentary Emmy®, Outstanding Editing: Documentary and Long Form, AZMAISH A JOURNEY THROUGH THE SUBCONTINENT (2017) TIFF, Locarno und BFI LFF. Ihr jüngster Dokumentarfilm MOTORCYCLE WOMAN (2019) für 3SAT ist für den Juliane Bartel Medienpreis 2020/2021 ausgewählt.
In Pakistan hat Sumar bei den TV-Dramaserien MI RAQSAM (I Dance) 23 Episoden für GEO TV & Khuda Dekh Raha Hai (HE IS WATCHING YOU) 20 Episoden für A Plus sowie bei der Promi-Talkshow THE LIGHTER SIDE OF LIFE, 13 Episoden für HUM TV Regie geführt.
Sumar ist Trägerin des Ehrentitels "Grade de Chevalier" des französischen Ministeriums für Kultur und Literatur (2004), ist Honorary Fellow des Wolfson College, University of Cambridge (2015) und erhielt einen Special Recognition Award vom London Asian Film Festival (2017).
Derzeit entwickelt sie eine internationale Serie mit dem Titel "Ordinary, Extraordinary".

Dozentin:
Rachel Mathews

Rachel Mathews ist eine in Berlin lebende Drehbuchautorin. Sie ist derzeit Co-Autorin von Leben, einer wiederkehrenden Serie in Entwicklung mit UFA in Deutschland. Sie unterrichtet seit über einem Jahrzehnt Drehbuchschreiben und Filmemachen in Myanmar und arbeitet eng mit aufstrebenden Autoren aus Myanmar zusammen. Sie war Showrunnerin der zweiten Staffel von The Sun, The Moon & The Truth, einer Dramaserie für Myanmars MRTV4, und hat gerade die Drehbücher für eine Polizei-Miniserie fertiggestellt, die in Yangon spielt. Außerdem hat sie Hörspiele für BBC Radio 4 geschrieben.
Ihre preisgekrönten Kurzfilme können unter vimeo.com/rachelmathews angesehen werden.

Zu ihren jüngsten Credits gehören:
2020 Leben - Co-Creator & Co-Writer (Pilot-Drehbuchphase)
Wiederkehrende übernatürliche Serie für Jörg Winger (Deutschland '83, 89 Hackerville) und Big Picture Productions, Teil der UFA Deutschland
2020 MyPol - Showrunner (6 x 10 min Drehbücher geliefert 29.02.20)
Krimi-Miniserie, geschrieben mit fünf Autoren aus Myanmar für das EU-geförderte MyPol-Projekt, das die Reform der Polizei in Myanmar unterstützen soll 

Tutor:
Julia Rose

Julia Rose ist eine in Berlin lebende Filmemacherin und Journalistin. Sie arbeitet seit mehr als 20 Jahren als Dramaturgin, Drehbuchberaterin und kreative Produzentin für Theater, Film und Fernsehen. Julia arbeitete mit Zero One Films in Berlin und berichtete über kulturelle und politische Themen. Sie recherchierte und produzierte mehrere Folgen für die TV-Show THE CULINARY ADVENTURES OF SARAH WEINER sowie die Kino-Dokumentation GOLDRUSH über die deutsche Wiedervereinigung.
Außerdem recherchierte Julia für den mehrfach preisgekrönten und auf der Berlinale 2017 ausgezeichneten Dokumentarfilm BEUYS von Andrea Veiels sowie für den 2018 im Berlinale-Wettbewerb gelaufenen Dokumentarfilm ELDORADO von Markus Imhoof, der der offizielle Schweizer Foreign Language Entry für die Academy Awards 2019 war.
Derzeit arbeitet Julia als Redakteurin bei der Deutschen Welle in Berlin.

Script Reader:
Sylvie Page


SYlVIE PAGÉ ist seit 2002 Professorin am Fachbereich Kommunikationsdesign an der Fachhochschule in Mainz. Von1994 bis 2002 war sie als Professorin für Filmwissenschaft an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz tätig und lehrte dort Dramaturgie und Filmproduktion. Geboren und aufgewachsen in Kanada, studierte sie Visuelle Kommunikation an der Concordia University, Montreal (Schwerpunkt Film), gefolgt von einem Studium der Kunstgeschichte an der University of Montreal. Ihren Magisterabschluss erhielt sie 1993 für ihre Diplomarbeit: Figur und Struktur in der Filmdramaturgie. Als Filmemacherin drehte Pagé Filme für das National Filmboard of Canada, (ihr Film Dizzy Heart wurde 1982 im MoMa - Museum of Modern Art -New York präsentiert) und den deutschen Fernsehsender Arte. Ihr neuester Kurzfilm Hundeleben (2016) war eine Produktion von Group.ie Gesellschaft für Identity Engineering mbH. Sie reist um die Welt und gibt Workshops und Konferenzen über Storytelling in Israel, Indien, Chile, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Spanien, Italien, Polen, Irland, Thailand und Holland. Zu ihren Veröffentlichungen gehören Studien und Artikel über Filme in Fachzeitschriften, wie z.B. der Zeitschrift EPD Medien und Forum.