Capri Cinema ​©Goethe-Institut Pakistan

Sunday Matinee

Sunday matinees at Capri Cinema is our initiative for the revival of cinema culture in Karachi.

We chose the Capri cinema as our venue because of its iconic building and history: being one of the oldest single screen cinema in Pakistan serving audience since 1968 with 809 seats.

One Sunday every month we screen the best of either German or Pakistani cinema along with some short films to also promote the local young talents in the field of film making and to also bring German cinema to the audience of Karachi. In the last year, we have built an audience and a group of cinephiles that comes to our Sunday Matinees and we plan to continue it this year as well in autumn. We have had 8 screenings last year with with 930 audience in total.


We also did an open call last summer to gather some short films to screen before the feature films so as to provide a platform for filmmakers to screen their films on a big screen/cinema screen and we got a great number of submissions. We screened the following films out of that submission:

Holy Gutter by Samid Ali
Ghunghroo by Ali Rizvi
All that perishes at the edge of land by Hira Nabi
Riff Raff by Ahmed Arif
No More Backseaters by Gulzar Nayani
Lucky Irani Circus by Anam Abbas
Sapola by Aleem Bukhari
Kachrachi by Ali Mehdi
Agency by Omar Rahim
Darling by Saim Sadiq


The featured films that we have screened in our Sunday Matinees:

Insha’Allah Democracy by Mo Naqvi
Aazmaish by Sabiha Sumar
Oh Boy/Coffee in Berlin by Jan-Ole Gerster (showed in GI)
Indus Blues (Pakistan) by Jawad Sharif
After Sabeen by Schokofeh Kamiz
Closer to God by Annette Berger
Talking Money by Sebastian Winkels
The Kick by Andres Veiel

Some of the highlights:
 

  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee

 

Synopsis of the Films

Holy Gutter by Samid Ali and Ghunghroo by Ali Rizvi
 
Holy Gutter and Ghunghroo are the outcomes of our project Film Talents-Voices from Pakistan & Afghanistan. Ghunghroo is about a young man from Karachi’s PIB Colony who breaks societal shackles, embraces his love for classical Indian dance despite all odds and goes to represent his art.
Holy Gutter - The social, personal, and environmental cost of the mismanagement of Lahore’s water resources paid by the Christian societies of Pakistan.
 
Insha’Allah Democracy by Mo Naqvi
Voting in Pakistan's first election, a filmmaker has to choose between a religious hardliner or a secular liberal leader who happens to be a former military dictator.
 
Aazmaish by Sabiha Sumar
Two courageous women, Pakistani Director Sabiha Sumar and French-Indian actress Kalki Koechlin set off on an extraordinary journey through India and Pakistan.
 
All that perishes at the edge of land by Hira Nabi
All that perishes at the edge of land is the outcomes of our project Film Talents-Voices from Pakistan & Afghanistan.In this docu-fictional work, ‘Ocean Master’ a container vessel is anthropomorphized, and enters into a dialogue with several workers at the Gadani yards. The conversation moves between dreams and desire, places that can be called home.
 
 
Oh Boy/Coffee in Berlin by Jan-Ole Gerster
An aimless university dropout attempts to make sense of life as he spends one fateful day wandering the streets of Berlin.

Riff Raff by Ahmed Arif
One evening in upper-middle class Karachi, a 40-year-old man maneuvers between the deceptive allure of his social scene and the reality he has at home.
 
No More Backseaters by Gulzar Nayani
No more backseaters  is an experimental and observational documentary on the girls on bike in Karachi.
 
Lucky Irani Circus by Anam Abbas
The short film is an ode to the Lucky Irani Circus, Pakistan's hardest working circus troupe. Whimsical vignettes of the off stage lives of its child stars and struggling families explore the heartaches and joys of circus life.
 
Indus Blues by Jawad Sharif
Pakistani folk artists talk about their struggle to keep a fading art form alive while reminding the world what they are about to lose.
 
After Sabeen by Schokofeh Kamiz
Documentary based on the life of slain T2F founder Sabeen Mahmud. A film capturing the aftermath of the killing of Sabeen Mahmud, founder & director of the Karachi non-profit institution, Peace Niche.

Closer to God by Annette Berger
A fascinating Swiss documentary about two Pakistani men. One is a dervish, undertaking a life-long pilgrimage; the other is the custodian of a centuries-old musical tradition. The film follows the men as they visit impressive holy sites, as well as in their everyday conversations, and provides a beautiful, sideways look at Pakistani society. Q&A followed it with the crew and director of the film
 
 
Kachrachi by Ali Mehdi
In the film, the protagonist is a reflection of Karachi, in the form of a mad man, who is addressing its people and reprimanding them for their negligence, lack of civic sense and for the way the city is being mistreated with blatant disregard towards humanity, cleanliness, education and other necessities.
 
Sapola by Aleem Bukhari
Sapola is a horror-mystery about honour killing.
 
Talking Money by Sebastian Winkels
Talking Money is an observational documentary movie, where cameras stationed at consultation tables all over the world, show how social transactions are made. Weaving stories from eight countries into one global money conversation, it virtually transforms the cinema into a bank.
 
The Kick by Andres Veiel
On the night of 13 July 2000 brothers Marco and Marcel Schönfeld, together with their friend Sebastian Fink, violently attacked and killed 16-year-old Marinus Schöberl. Documentary maker Andres Veiel carried out extensive research for the play he wrote about the case, which took place in Uckermark, a district of Berlin. The film is based on and takes its name from the play.

Darling by Saim Sadiq
Pakistani filmmaker Saim Sadiq’s short film Darling won big at the 76th Venice International Film Festival. The masterpiece, which had its world premiere at the festival, has bagged the Orizzonti Award for Best Short Film.It revolves around a young boy named Shani and a trans girl Alina, played by a young trans woman from Lahore—Alina Khan. It features upcoming actress Mehar Bano, Abdullah Malik, and Nadia Afgan as well.

Agency by Omar Rahim
Agency. The film, which revolves around a gay couple looking for a surrogate, reflects on the evolving family dynamic of South Asian contemporary couples, which no longer fall within the conventional bracket.Agency premiered in Mumbai at the Kashish Film Festival, earlier this year, and will hit the festival circuit in Chicago and Washington DC.

Capri Cinema ​©Goethe-Institut Pakistan

Sonntagsmatinée

Die Sonntagsmatinéen im Capri Cinema sind unsere Initiative zur Wiederbelebung der Kinokultur in Karatschi.
 
Das Capri Cinema haben wir aufgrund des ikonischen Gebäudes und seiner Geschichte als Veranstaltungsort gewählt: Es ist eines der ältesten Kinos mit nur einer Leinwand in Pakistan, das seinem Publikum seit 1968 mit 809 Plätzen zur Verfügung steht.
 
An einem Sonntag im Monat zeigen wir das Beste des deutschen oder pakistanischen Kinos zusammen mit einigen Kurzfilmen, um dem Publikum in Karatschi das deutsche Kino näher zu bringen und auch die lokalen Nachwuchstalente des Filmemachens zu fördern. Im letzten Jahr konnten wir ein festes Publikum und eine Gruppe von Kinoliebhaber*innen für unsere Sonntagsmatinéen gewinnen und planen, dies auch im Herbst dieses Jahres fortzusetzen. Wir konnten letztes Jahr acht Vorführungen mit insgesamt 930 Zuschauern verzeichnen.

Im letzten Sommer veröffentlichten wir auch eine Ausschreibung für Kurzfilme, die vor den Hauptfilmen gezeigt werden sollten, um Filmemacher*innen eine Plattform zu bieten, auf der sie ihre Filme auf einer großen (Kino-)Leinwand zeigen können. Wir erhielten eine große Anzahl an Einreichungen. Daraus zeigten wir die folgenden Filme:

Holy Gutter von Samid Ali
Ghunghroo von Ali Rizvi
All that perishes at the edge of land von Hira Nabi
Riff Raff von Ahmed Arif
No More Backseaters von Gulzar Nayani
Lucky Irani Circus von Anam Abbas
Sapola von Aleem Bukhari
Kachrachi von Ali Mehdi
Agency von Omar Rahim
Darling von Saim Sadiq


Diese Spielfilme haben wir bei unseren Sonntagsmatinéen gezeigt:

Der Diktator, die Taliban und ich (Insha’Allah Democracy) von Mo Naqvi
Azmaish – eine Reise durch den Subkontinent von Sabiha Sumar
Oh Boy/Coffee in Berlin von Jan-Ole Gerster (im GI gezeigt)
Indus Blues (Pakistan) von Jawad Sharif
After Sabeen von Schokofeh Kamiz
Closer to God von Annette Berger
Talking Money. Rendezvous bei der Bank von Sebastian Winkels
Der Kick von Andres Veiel

Einige Highlights:

  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee
  • Sunday Matinee ©Goethe-Institut Pakistan
    Sunday Matinee

 

Zusammenfassung der Filme

Holy Gutter von Samid Ali und Ghunghroo von Ali Rizvi

Holy Gutter und Ghunghroo entstanden im Rahmen unseres Projekts Filmtalente – Stimmen aus Pakistan und Afghanistan (FilmTalents – Voices from Pakistan & Afghanistan).


Ghunghroo handelt von einem jungen Mann aus Karatschis Stadtteil PIB Colony, der aus gesellschaftlichen Fesseln ausbricht, trotz aller Widrigkeiten seine Liebe zum klassischen indischen Tanz verfolgt und zu einem Vertreter dieser Kunstform wird.

Holy Gutter handelt von den sozialen, persönlichen und ökologischen Kosten des Missmanagements von Lahores Wasserressourcen, für die die christlichen Glaubensgemeinschaften Pakistans zahlen müssen.


Der Diktator, die Taliban und ich (Insha’Allah Democracy) von Mo Naqvi
Bei der ersten Wahl in Pakistan muss sich ein Filmemacher zwischen einem religiösen Hardliner und einem säkularen liberalen Führer entscheiden, der zufällig ein ehemaliger Militärdiktator ist. 


Azmaish – eine Reise durch den Subkontinent von Sabiha Sumar
Zwei mutige Frauen, die pakistanische Regisseurin Sabiha Sumar und die französisch-indische Schauspielerin Kalki Koechlin, machen sich auf eine außergewöhnliche Reise durch Indien und Pakistan. 

 
All that perishes at the edge of land von Hira Nabi
All that perishes at the edge of land entstand im Rahmen unseres Projekts Filmtalente – Stimmen aus Pakistan und Afghanistan (FilmTalents - Voices from Pakistan & Afghanistan). In dieser dokumentarischen Arbeit wird das Containerschiff „Ocean Master“ anthropomorphisiert und tritt in einen Dialog mit mehreren Arbeitern der Gadani Werft. Das Gespräch bewegt sich zwischen Träumen und Verlangen, Orte, die man als Zuhause bezeichnen kann.


Oh Boy/Coffee in Berlin von Jan-Ole GersterEin zielloser Studienabbrecher versucht dem Sinn des Lebens auf die Spur zu kommen, während er einen schicksalhaften Tag lang durch die Straßen Berlins wandert. 


Riff Raff von Ahmed Arif
An einem Abend in der oberen Mittelklasse Karatschis manövriert ein 40jähriger Mann zwischen dem trügerischen Charme seines sozialen Lebens und der Realität seines Zuhauses.  

No More Backseaters von Gulzar Nayani
No more backseaters ist eine experimentelle und beobachtende Dokumentation über Mädchen auf dem Fahrrad in Karatschi. 


Lucky Irani Circus von Anam Abbas
Der Kurzfilm ist eine Ode an den Lucky Irani Circus, Pakistans arbeitsamste Zirkustruppe. Skurrile Vignetten über das Leben seiner Kinderstars abseits der Bühne und die Anstrengungen ihrer Familien erforschen die Kümmernisse und Freuden des Zirkuslebens. 

 
Indus Blues von Jawad Sharif
Pakistanische Folklorekünstler*innen erzählen von ihren Anstrengungen, eine im Verschwinden begriffene Kunstform am Leben zu erhalten und erinnern die Welt daran, was wir im Begriff sind zu verlieren. 

 
After Sabeen von Schokofeh Kamiz

Dokumentarfilm basierend auf dem Leben der ermordeten T2F-Gründerin Sabeen Mahmud. Ein Film, der das Danach des Mordes an Sabeen Mahmud, Gründerin und Direktorin der gemeinnützigen Einrichtung Peace Niche in Karatschi, einfängt.


Closer to God von Annette Berger
Ein faszinierender Schweizer Dokumentarfilm über zwei pakistanische Männer. Einer ein Derwisch auf einer lebenslangen Pilgerreise; der andere der Bewahrer einer jahrhundertealten Musiktradition. Der Film begleitet die Männer zu beeindruckenden heiligen Stätten sowie in ihren alltäglichen Gesprächen und vermittelt einen wunderbaren Seitenblick auf die pakistanische Gesellschaft.
Nach dem Film standen Regisseurin und das Filmteam für Fragen und Antworten zur Verfügung. 


Kachrachi von Ali Mehdi
Der Protagonist des Films ist ein Spiegelbild von Karatschi in Form eines Verrückten, der sich an ihre Einwohner*innen wendet und sie zurechtweist wegen ihrer Nachlässigkeit, ihres mangelnden staatsbürgerlichen Sinns und der Art und Weise, wie die Stadt in krasser Missachtung von Menschlichkeit, Sauberkeit, Bildung und anderer Notwendigkeiten misshandelt wird. 

Sapola von Aleem Bukhari
Sapola ist ein Horror-Krimi über Ehrenmorde.

 
Talking Money. Rendezvous bei der Bank von Sebastian Winkels
Talking Money ist ein beobachtender Dokumentarfilm, in dem Kameras an Beratungstischen auf der ganzen Welt zeigen, wie soziale Transaktionen getätigt werden. Während sich Geschichten aus acht Ländern zu einer globalen Konversation über Geld verweben, wird das Kino virtuell in eine Bank verwandelt. 

 
Der Kick von Andres Veiel
In der Nacht des 13. Juli 2000 griffen die Brüder Marco und Marcel Schönfeld zusammen mit ihrem Freund Sebastian Fink den 16jährigen Marinus Schöberl gewaltsam an und töteten ihn. Der Dokumentarfilmer Andres Veiel führte umfangreiche Recherchen über den sich im Berliner Stadtteil Uckermark zugetragenen Fall für ein Theaterstück durch. Der Film basiert auf und trägt den Namen des von ihm verfassten Stücks.


Darling von Saim Sadiq
Der Kurzfilm Darling des pakistanischen Filmemachers Saim Sadiq erzielte große Erfolge bei den 76. Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Venedig. Das Meisterwerk, das auf dem Festival seine Weltpremiere feierte, wurde mit dem Orizzonti-Preis für den besten Kurzfilm ausgezeichnet. Er handelt von einem Jungen namens Shani und dem Transmädchen Alina, gespielt von einer jungen Transfrau aus Lahore – Alina Khan. Er zeigt ebenfalls die aufstrebende Schauspielerin Mehar Bano, Abdullah Malik und Nadia Afgan.


Agency von Omar Rahim
Agency. Der Film, der von einem schwulen Paar auf der Suche nach einer Leihmutter erzählt, reflektiert die sich kontinuierlich weiterentwickelnde Familiendynamik südasiatischer Paare der heutigen Zeit, die nicht mehr in konventionelle Klammern fallen. Agency wurde Anfang dieses Jahres in Mumbai beim Kashish Filmfestival uraufgeführt und wird in Chicago und Washington DC die Festivalrunde machen.