Exhibition URBANITIES PRESENTS: CORD OF DESIRES by MIRO CRAEMER

A SOCIAL SCULPTURE IN PUBLIC SPACES

Tue, 22.11.2016 -
Thu, 24.11.2016

Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture and IQRA University North Campus

EXHIBITION AND URBAN INTERVENTION

A SOCIAL SCULPTURE IN PUBLIC SPACES

With CORD OF DESIRES, the German fashion and social designer Miro Craemer addresses questions of collaboration, consumerism, and social awareness in their global and local contexts. For his work, the artist explored the tragic Baldia Factory Fire of 2012 and transformed his experiences with the victims' families and their narratives into art and social design to be viewed as an installation in public space.
 
To emphasize the inherent connection between the two countries in this project, Craemer plans to re-display the work in Germany. Miro Cramer's work will be part of the URBANITIES exhibition in Lahore, December 1-4, 2016.
 
Based on communication, participation, and collaboration, as well as on the strong belief that creative action has the potential to change society, CORD OF DESIRES was brought to life as a community effort with students from the Indus Valley School for Art and Architecture and from the IQRA University North Campus, supported by local tailors.

ABOUT MIRO CRAEMER

Miro Craemer is a German fashion and social designer and artist in residency in the frame of “Urbanities – art and public space in Pakistan” and hosted by Vasl Artists' Collective in Karachi.

He has been collaborating with visual artists, musicians and choreographers for various arts projects and exhibitions. Oscillating between art and fashion, Craemer's work often addresses social issues. His latest project, “TOGETTHERE_fACTory” took place at the Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich focusing on the refugee crisis in Germany. Miro Craemer runs a fashion and culture label under his name in a showroom in Munich's renowned Maximilian Street.
 
CORD OF DESIRES takes place in the framework of “Urbanities – art and public space in Pakistan”, a critical exploration of the urban. 
 

Back

URBANITIES PRÄSENTIERT: CORD OF DESIRES VON MIRO CRAEMER AUSSTELLUNG UND URBANE INTERVENTION

A SOCIAL SCULPTURE IN PUBLIC SPACES

Di, 22.11.2016 -
Do, 24.11.2016

17: 30 und 16:30

Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture und IQRA University North Campus

EINE SOZIALE SKULPTUR IM ÖFFENTLICHEN RAUM

EINE SOZIALE SKULPTUR IM ÖFFENTLICHEN RAUM

Für CORD OF DESIRES beschäftigt sich Craemer mit Fragen von Kollaboration, Konsum und sozialem Bewusstsein in ihrem globalen und lokalen Kontext. Für sein künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt in Karachi recherchierte Craemer zu dem tragischen Fall des so genannten Baldia Factory Feuers in einer Textilfabrik in 2012, die für einen deutschen Mode-Discounter produzierte, und übersetzte seine Erfahrungen mit den Familien der Opfer und ihren Erzählungen in Kunst und Design.

Seine „soziale Skulptur“ wurde als gemeinschaftliches Projekt mit Studierenden der Indus Valley School for Art and Architecture und IQRA University North Campus und Textilarbeitern zum Leben erweckt und basiert auf Kommunikation, Teilhabe und Kollaboration sowie auf dem festen Glauben, dass kreative Aktion das Potential hat, die Gesellschaft zu verändern.

CORD OF DESIRES wird am 22., 24. und 25. November 2016 in Karachi gezeigt und ist als Teil der Ausstellung URBANITIES in der Alhmara Arts Gallery vom 1. - 4. Dezember 2016 in Lahore zu sehen.
Nach Pakistan will Craemer die Arbeit auch in Deutschland zeigen, um die inhärente Verbindung zwischen den zwei Ländern in diesem Projekt zu betonen.

ZU MIRO CRAEMER

Der deutsche Mode- und Social Designer ist während seines Künstleraufenthalts im Rahmen von „Urbanities – art and public space in Pakistan” zu Gast bei  Vasl Artists' Collective in Karachi.
Im Raum zwischen Kunst und Mode sind Craemer soziale Fragen ein Anliegen, die er in Kunst und Leder verarbeitet. Sein jüngstes Projekt „TOGETTHERE_fACTory” widmete sich der Flüchtlingskrise in Deutschland und kam als Performance in der Pinakothek der Moderne in München zur Aufführung. Sein Mode- und Kulturlabel „Miro Craemer“ hat seinen Sitz in Münchens bekannter Maximilianstraße.
 
CORD OF DESIRES findet im Rahmen des Projekts „Urbanities – art and public space in Pakistan” statt, einer kritischen Erkundung des Urbanen.  
 

Zurück