Workshop Film Appreciation Workshops with Sabiha Sumar

Workshop Foto: GI Pakistan

27th April 2019; 15:00

Goethe-Institut Karachi

2, Brunton Road
Civil Lines
Karachi

The course is valuable for film students especially screenwriters and directors as well as for cinephiles.
 
These woprkshops are free of cost!
 
To be a part of the workshop, send your details and a letter of interest to: Press-Karachi@goethe.de
First Workshop will take place on 27th April 2019
Workshops will be on alternate Saturdays every month.
Venue: Goethe-Institut Karachi
Time:3pm


Films is the most powerful medium today that has the power to change the world as we see it. Film Appreciation will be a participatory lecture format with a film screening primarily of German films with English subtitles. It aims to provide participants with skill sets in analyzing and using cinematic language for understanding films as a means of communication.
A filmmaker makes several creative choices as her work develops. Each choice has its own set of consequences and different results. We will discuss this process and the impact of a director's choice both on an emotional level as well as a technical level. Our effort will be to understand the filmmaker's intentions and appreciate the creative process.
 
Through a variety of films, each constructed in a different structure and genre, we will explore some key concepts:
- Learning analytical tools to view films - analyse and deconstruct film scenes
- How would you reconstruct a scene to give it a different meaning?
- Key filming strategies and techniques - Camera, sound and light
- What films make you think about, what emotions do they evoke?
- Themes in films
- Historical background, social and cultural context of films
- Genre

Sabiha Sumar’s Bio:
Born in Karachi, Sabiha Sumar studied Filmmaking and Political Science at Sarah Lawrence College in New York and then read History and Political Thought at Cambridge University.
As an independent filmmaker Sabiha Sumar has earned much acclaim for her films. Her first feature film, ‘Silent Waters ( Khamosh Pani )‘ has played in film festivals around the world. Silent Waters won the Golden Leopard award at the Locarno International Film Festival and 16 other awards worldwide. Sabiha’s first documentary, ‘Who Will Cast the First Stone,’ about three women in prison in Pakistan under Islamic law won the Golden Gate Award at the San Francisco Film Festival and aired on major television stations across the globe. Another landmark documentary was 'Dinner with the President a nation's journey' which made broadcast history as part of the Why Democracy series when it was aired simultaneously across 200 television channels.
Sabiha also produced the Oscar winning short documentary ‘Saving face,’ directed a talk show with Pakistani celebrities titled ‘Tuc the lighter side of life’ with Mahira Khan as the show host, and has directed drama series for various broadcasters.
When time permits Sabiha conducts workshops for actors and directors.

Deadline for Applications: 18th April 2019

Selected participants will be informed through email and call by 25th April 2019.


 

Back

Workshop FILMANALSYSE MIT SABIHA SUMAR

Workshop Foto: Zoya Ahmed

27th April 2019; 15:00

Goethe-Institut Karachi

2, Brunton Road
Civil Lines
Karachi

Der Kurs ist für Filmstudenten und besonders für Drehbuchautoren und Regisseure geeignet, aber auch Filmliebhaber sind willkommen.

Die Workshops sind kostenfrei!

Um am Workshop teilzunehmen, senden Sie bitte Angaben zu sich selbst und ein Motivationsschreiben an:
Press-Karachi@goethe.de

Der erste Workshop findet statt am 27. April 2019.
Die Workshops finden monatlich jeden zweiten Samstag statt.


Ort: Goethe-Institut Karatschi
Zeit: 15 Uhr


Film ist heutzutage das stärkste Medium und hat die Macht, unsere Wahrnehmung der Welt zu verändern. Filmkritik ist ein interaktives Vortragsformat, bei dem vorrangig deutsche Filme mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt werden. Ziel der Reihe ist, die Teilnehmer mit spefizischen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten der Filmanalyse und Filmsprache auszustatten, die das Verständnis von Film als Kommunikationsmittel ermöglichen.

Ein Filmemacher trifft etliche kreative Entscheidungen während des Arbeitsprozesses. Jede Entscheidung hat ihre eigenen Konsequenzen und unterschiedliche Resultate. Wir diskutieren diesen Prozess und die Auswirkungen solcher Entscheidungen sowohl auf der emotionalen als auch technischen Ebene. Wir werden uns bemühen, die filmerische Absicht zu verstehen und den kreativen Prozess nachzuvollziehen.

Durch eine Vielzahl an Filmen, jeder davon anders strukturiert und ein anderes Genre, werden wir einige grundlegende Konzepte erkunden:

- Analytische Mittel der Filmbetrachtung – Analyse und Dekonstruktion von Szenen
- Wie könnte man eine Szene rekonstruieren, um ihr eine andere Bedeutung zu geben?
- Grundlegende filmerische Strategien und Techniken – Kamera, Sound, Licht
- Welche Filme bringen den Zuschauer zum Nachdenken, welche Emotionen wecken sie?
- Themen im Film
- Historische Hintergründe, sozialer und kultureller Kontext im Film
- Genre

Über Sabiha Sumar:

Die in Karatschi geborene Regisseurin studierte Film und Politikwissenschaften am Sarah Lawrence College in New York und setzte ihr Studium mit politischer Ideengeschichte an der Cambridge Universität fort.

Als unabhängige Filmemacherin hat Sabiha Sumar viel Beifall für ihre Filme erhalten. Ihr erster Spielfilm „Stille Wasser“ (Khamosh Pani ) wurde auf Filmfestivals in der ganzen Welt gezeigt. Stille Wasser gewann den Goldenen Leoparden beim Internationalen Filmfestival Locarno und 16 weitere Preise weltweit. Sabihas erster Dokumentarfilm „Wer wirft den ersten Stein“ über drei Frauen in einem pakistanischen Gefängnis unter islamischem Gesetz gewann den Golden Gate Award beim San Francisco Filmfestival und wurde international von einflussreichen Fernsehsendern gezeigt. Ein anderer bahnbrechender Dokumentarfilm war „Demokratie in Uniform: Dinner mit Musharraf“ (Dinner with the President: A Nation's Journey) der als Teil der Why Democracy Serie Filmgeschichte schrieb und gleichzeitig auf 200 Fernsehkanälen gezeigt wurde.
Sabiha produzierte auch den Oscar-prämierten kurzen Dokumentarfilm „Saving Face“, führte Regie bei der Talkshow „TUC - The Lighter Side of Life“ mit pakistanischen Berühmtheiten und Mahira Khan als Moderatorin und bei anderen Dramaserien für verschiedene Sender.
Wenn es ihre Zeit erlaubt, leitet Sabiha Workshops für Schauspieler und Regisseure.

Zurück