Exhibition Is It Possible to Live Outside of Language?

is it possible to live outside language Humayun Memon

Thu, 22.08.2019 -
Tue, 24.09.2019

Indus Valley school of Art & Architecture.


The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy opens with the protagonist Anjum, a hijra who has set up her own community in a graveyard in Delhi as a mode of survival and resistance from the broader conformist and violent society. When Anjum is born as an intersex infant, her mother interrogates the binary gendered Urdu language as a means to name and define her child, wondering ‘is it possible to live outside of language?’
 
Taking this story as a jumping off point, the exhibition and its associated programming is an investigation and reflection of both the limitations and possibilities of language as a means to define, explain and express diverse genders and sexualities across time and space. Featuring new commissions by artists Fiza Khatri, Lucas Odahara, The Many Headed Hydra, Omer Wasim and Vassilieia Stylianidou, the works address the complex burden and inheritance of language in our daily lives as it narrows our ability to express even while encouraging us to explore new modes of expression and writing to explain our circumstances and lives.
 
The exhibition is complemented by a series of public programs including readings, performances and talks by Momina Masood, Asad Alvi, Fazal Rizvi, Mehlab Jameel and Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, amongst others, as well as private workshops targeted towards emerging writers and artists. Even though a sober and timely reflection on the challenges and erasure of diverse voices in our society, this project is also a celebration of solidarity and community in order to chart new futures.

The exhibition opens on Thursday, August 22, 4 – 8 PM and runs through September 24.

Public programming details:

Monday, August 26, 5.30 - 7 PM
Conversation and readings with Fiza Khatri, Lucas Odahara & Vassiliea Stylianidou; performance by Sameena Nazeer

As part of the ongoing exhibition Is It Possible to Live Outside of Language? please join us on Monday, 26 August, 5.30 - 7 PM at IVS Gallery for a conversation with artists Fiza Khatri, Lucas Odahara and Vassiliea Stylianidou. In keeping with theme, the event will feature opportunities to listen, read along and engage with the complex entanglements and questions embedded in the work. Sameena Nazeer, who contributed to Odahara's commissioned work will also perform as part of the program.

Thursday,August 29, 5.30 – 7 PM 
An evening of performative readings of complex and personal stories of memory, desire and family by Fazal Rizvi, Momina Masood and Asad Alvi.
 

Fazal Rizvi will read the text-visual work These Are Not Love Letters (On Separation) a poignant and intimate meditation on the artist’s relationship between his mother and himself tracing the contours of their relationship through complex entanglements of language, gender and sexuality.
 
Momina Masood’s Zohra; Or How I Learned to Love and Write the Body is a meditation on the limitations and possibilities of language in articulating the trappings of identity, desire, and belonging. This creative nonfiction essay, which belongs to a developing project on desire, and a continuation of a previous publication, Of Dark Rooms and Foreign Languages, reflects on moments when language fails, and the creative potential of these moments of failure to imagine and articulate marginalized loves and lives. 
 
Asad Alvi will read from his Urdu-language short story, Nani ka Kamra. Tracing a boy's relationship with the room in which his grandmother died, the story is a meditation on space, trauma, and the powers of mourning, as experienced by the protagonist of the story.


Friday, September 20 5-7 PM 
Writing, Zines and Publishing
Conversation with the Many Headed Hydra/local collaborators
Presentation by Omer Wasim 

Saturday, September 21, 5.30 - 7 PM
Language, Law and State
Conversation with Mehlab Jameel (other panelists TBC)

Monday, September 23, 5-7 PM
Language for a Revolution Yet to Come
Zulfikar Ali Bhutto on practice and performance

 
The exhibition and its associated programming is curated by Aziz Sohail and commissioned by the Goethe-Institut Pakistan.
Programming and logistical support is provided by the Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture and Vasl Artists Association.

Exhibition Opening: 22nd August 2019 4pm-8pm.
Gallery Timings: 11am-7pm (Closed on Sundays).

Back

Austellung Is It Possible to Live Outside of Language

Do, 22.08.2019 -
Di, 24.09.2019

IVS


Das Ministerium des Äußersten Glücks von Arundhati Roy beginnt mit der Hauptfigur Anjum, eine Hijra, die als Überlebensstrategie und Form des Widerstands gegen eine konformistische und gewalttätige Gesellschaft auf einem Friedhof in Delhi ihre eigene Gemeinschaft gegründet hat. Als Anjum als intergeschlechtliches Kind geboren wird, hinterfragt ihre Mutter die binär-geschlechtliche Ausrichtung der Sprache Urdu als brauchbares Mittel zur Definition und Einordnung ihres Kindes. Sie zweifelt: „ist es möglich, außerhalb der Sprache zu leben?“
 
Ausgehend von dieser Geschichte loten die Ausstellung und das Begleitprogramm die Grenzen von Sprache aus und erforschen ihre Möglichkeiten als Instrument der Definition, Erklärung und Ausdrucksmöglichkeit diverser Geschlechter und Sexualitäten über Zeit und Raum hinweg. Speziell für die Ausstellung angefertigte Arbeiten der Künstler/innen Fiza Khatri, Lucas Odahara, The Many Headed Hydra, Omer Wasim und Vassilieia Stylianidou beschäftigen sich mit der mannigfaltigen Last und dem Erbe von Sprache in unserem alltäglichen Leben, das unsere Fähigkeiten uns auszudrücken einschränkt, während es uns gleichzeitig dazu ermutigt, neue Wege des Ausdrucks in Wort und Schrift zu finden, mit denen unsere Umstände und Leben beschrieben werden können.  

Die Ausstellung wird durch eine öffentliche Veranstaltungsreihe vervollständigt, die Lesungen, Performances und Vorträge von unter anderem Momina Masood, Asad Alvi, Fazal Rizvi, Mehlab Jameel und Zulfikar Ali Bhutto beinhaltet, sowie einen internen Workshop für junge Schriftsteller/innen und Künstler/innen. Obwohl es eine nüchterne und kritische Betrachtung der Herausforderungen für andersartige Stimmen und ihr Stummmachen in unserer Gesellschaft ist, will dieses Projekt dennoch Solidarität und Gemeinschaft würdigen, die mögliche Wege in eine rosigere Zukunft aufzeigen.
 
Die Ausstellung eröffnet am Donnerstag, 22. August von 16 bis 18 Uhr und läuft bis 24. September.

Details zur öffentlichen Veranstaltungsreihe:

Montag, 26. August, 17:30-19 Uhr
Gespräch und Lesung mit Fiza Khatri, Lucas Odahara & Vassiliea Stylianidou; Performance von Sameena Nazeer

Als Teil der Ausstellung Is It Possible to Live Outside of Language? laden wir am Montag, 26. August von 17:30 bis 19 Uhr herzlich zu einem Gespräch mit den Künstler/innen Fiza Khatri, Lucas Odahara und Vassiliea Stylianidou in die IVS Gallery. In Resonanz mit dem Thema wird die Veranstaltung Möglichkeiten zum Zuhören und Mitlesen geben, und zur Beschäftigung mit den komplexen Verwicklungen und Fragen, die in die Arbeiten eingebettet sind. Sameena Nazeer, die an Odaharas Auftragsarbeit beteiligt war, wird im Rahmen des Programms eine Darbietung zeigen.

Donnerstag, 29. August, 17:30-19 Uhr
Ein Abend performativer Lesungen vielschichtiger und persönlicher Geschichten über Erinnerung, Verlangen und Familie von Fazal Rizvi, Momina Masood und Asad Alvi.  

Fazal Rizvi
liest die text-visuelle Arbeit These Are Not Love Letters (On Separation) / Dies Sind Keine Liebesbriefe (Über Trennung), eine ergreifende und intime Betrachtung der Beziehung des Künstlers mit seiner Mutter, die die Umrisse ihrer Beziehung in den komplexen Verstrickungen von Sprache, Geschlecht und Sexualität nachzeichnet.

Momina Masoods Zohra; Or How I Learned to Love and Write the Body / Zohra; Oder Wie Ich Gelernt Habe den Körper zu Lieben und zu Schreiben ist eine Betrachtung der Beschränkungen und Möglichkeiten von Sprache zur Artikulation der Fallstricke von Identität, Verlangen und Zugehörigkeit. Der kreative Fachaufsatz, der Teil eines entstehenden Projekts über Verlangen und die Fortsetzung einer früheren Publikation (Of Dark Rooms and Foreign Languages / Von Dunklen Räumen und Fremden Sprachen) ist, reflektiert Momente des Versagens von Sprache, und das kreative Potenzial dieser Momente des Versagens, marginalisierte Lieben und Leben zu ersinnen und zu artikulieren.

Asad Alvi wird aus seiner in Urdu verfassten Kurzgeschichte Nani ka Karma lesen. Auf den Spuren der Beziehung eines Jungen mit dem Zimmer, in dem seine Großmutter starb, ist die Geschichte eine Betrachtung von Raum, Trauma und der Kraft der Trauer, erlebt durch die Hauptfigur der Geschichte.
Die Ausstellung und das Begleitprogramm wurde von Aziz Sohail kuratiert und vom Goethe-Institut Pakistan beauftragt.
Die Programmgestaltung und logistische Unterstützung wird von der Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture und Vasl Artists Association zur Verfügung gestellt.
Ausstellungseröffnung: 22. August 2019, 16-20 Uhr.
Öffnungszeiten: 11-19 Uhr (sonntags geschlossen).
 

Zurück