Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

The Burden of Memory

The Burden of Richard Kandt_reformatiert
© Goethe-Institut

We are happy to announce that the project „More about Richard Kandt (MARK)” by Kivumbi King has been selected for the Burden of Memory Project Fund. 

As a direct response to the horrors of World War II, the United Nations were created as an international forum for peacebuilding and conflict resolution. On October 24, 1945, the UN-Charter entered into force. On the occasion of the 75th anniversary of this day, the Rwandan poet and singer Kivumbi King and his fellow-musician Kaya Free from Burundi are kicking off an artistic collaboration honouring the spirit of the Charter as well as the victims of wars, state crimes and political violence. The artists give special attention to the colonial rule in German East Africa, modern-day Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi. Whereas Tanzania is remembering the traumatizing years of German colonialism by commemorating almost 300,000 deaths, Germany's hold hardly plays a role in Rwanda's or Burundi's heritage practice. The artists are tackling this discrepancy by scrutinizing the life and time of Richard Kandt, resident on behalf of the German Emperor in Rwanda between 1907 and 1914. It is reported that the explorer was a charismatic figure in his time. In fact, he is well-respected in Rwanda until today, since his former residence in Kigali is now a natural history museum named after him.

King’s and Kaya’s creative output is reflecting Kandt’s work against the backdrop of the destructive consequences of German colonialism in Africa. Their cultural production is called "More About Richard Kandt" (M.A.R.K.) and is committed to explore new ways of cooperation in order to shape a future that transforms both the colonial and the postcolonial mind-sets.

M.A.R.K. is made possible by the Burden of Memory project fund, provided by the Goethe Institutes in Cameroon and Namibia. The fund supports cultural practitioners from Africa, who work on the confrontation with the German colonial past in their countries and offers to deal with the negative consequences of German colonialism in Africa.  In 2020, six projects from all over Africa project have been selected by the international jury whose members were Chantal Djedje (Cote d’Ivoire), Rose Jepkorir Kiptum (Kenya) and Jay Pather (South Africa). More on the Burden of Memory project can be found here.

 
You can watch the video here:

 
Kaya Free and Kivumbi King. Picture by Valery Scheuerpflug Valery Scheuerpflug
Kaya Free and Kivumbi King. Picture by Valery Scheuerpflug

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

The Burden of Memory

Wir freuen uns bekannt zu geben, dass das Projekt "More about Richard Kandt (MARK)" von Kivumbi King für den Burden of Memory Project Fund ausgewählt wurde. 

Als direkte Reaktion auf die Schrecken des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurden die Vereinten Nationen als internationales Forum für Friedenskonsolidierung und Konfliktlösung geschaffen. Am 24. Oktober 1945 trat die UNO-Charta in Kraft. Anlässlich des 75. Jahrestages dieses Tages haben der ruandische Poet und Sänger Kivumbi King und sein burundischer Musikerkollege Kaya Free eine künstlerische Zusammenarbeit Geiste der Charta sowie im Gedenken an die Opfer von Kriegen, Staatsverbrechen und politischer Gewalt erarbeitet. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit widmen die Künstler der Kolonialherrschaft in Deutsch-Ostafrika, dem heutigen Tansania, Ruanda und Burundi. Während Tansania mit dem Gedenken an fast 300.000 Tote an die traumatisierenden Jahre des deutschen Kolonialismus erinnert, spielt der deutsche Einfluss in Ruanda und Burundi in der Erinnerungspraxis bisher kaum eine Rolle. Die Künstler setzen sich mit dieser Diskrepanz auseinander, indem sie das Leben und die Zeit von Richard Kandt, der zwischen 1907 und 1914 im Auftrag des deutschen Kaisers in Ruanda lebte, unter die Lupe nehmen. Es wird berichtet, dass der Entdecker zu seiner Zeit eine charismatische Persönlichkeit war. Tatsächlich genießt er in Ruanda bis heute hohes Ansehen und seine ehemalige Residenz in Kigali ist heute ein nach ihm benanntes Naturkundemuseum.

Das Schaffen King's and Kaya's reflektiert Kandts Arbeit vor dem Hintergrund der zerstörerischen Folgen des deutschen Kolonialismus in Afrika. Ihr kulturelles Schaffen trägt den Titel "More About Richard Kandt" (M.A.R.K.) und ist bestrebt, neue Wege der Zusammenarbeit zu erkunden, um eine Zukunft zu gestalten, die sowohl die koloniale als auch die postkoloniale Denkweisen verändert.

M.A.R.K. wird durch den Projektfonds "Burden of Memory" ermöglicht, der von den Goethe-Instituten in Kamerun und Namibia zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Der Fonds unterstützt Kulturschaffende aus Afrika, die in ihren Ländern an der Konfrontation mit der deutschen Kolonialvergangenheit arbeiten, und bietet an, sich mit den negativen Folgen des deutschen Kolonialismus in Afrika auseinanderzusetzen.  Im Jahr 2020 wurden von der internationalen Jury, der Chantal Djedje (Côte d'Ivoire), Rose Jepkorir Kiptum (Kenia) und Jay Pather (Südafrika) angehörten, sechs Projekte aus ganz Afrika ausgewählt. Mehr über das Projekt "Burden of Memory" finden Sie here.

Das Video können Sie sich hier ansehen:

 
Kaya Free and Kivumbi King. Picture by Valery Scheuerpflug Valery Scheuerpflug
Kaya Free and Kivumbi King. Picture by Valery Scheuerpflug

 

Top