Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Boosting Shoots

Boosting Shoots 983x427
Goethe Institut

Artists have been suffering from not being able to produce and share work since the beginning of COVID-19 pandemic. Their income is reduced to 0 for many of them. The Boosting Shoots grants were aimed at supporting digital mini productions by artists based in Rwanda. 

No theme was imposed, the only constraints were to create a maximum 1 minute project (diaporama, video, sound, animation...). This first call received 86 applications among which 10 projects were chosen. In the 10 selected projects were two music videos by Calene Ingabire and Cheryl Isheja aka Binghi, four micro fictions with themes going from our relationship to death, to mental health and LGBTIQ by Jules Cesar, Remy Ryumugabe, Ganza Moïse and Rebecca Uwamahoro, one animation film by Sebastian Iradukunda, one dance and music video about the street culture in Nyamirambo by Manzi Mbaya and two photographic projects by Jennifer Muhadogora and Jean Luc Habimana.

The jury paid attention to not only chose well known artists but also to give the opportunity to younger creatives to get known. We also asked the artists to give us the names of their collaborators which allows more people (artists, technicians, musicians...) to benefit from the visibility the posts bring.

The Boosting Shoots Grants had two editions in 2020 to support young artists in the Covid-hit creative scene. The projects, selected by the interdisciplinary jury and project coordinator Louise Mutabazi, led to new digital approaches to different artistic disciplines in Rwanda.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Boosting Shoots

Boosting Shoots 983x427
Goethe Institut

Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat viele Künstler*innen in wirtschaftliche Schwierigkeiten gebracht und sie sind nicht mehr in der Lage sind, Werke zu produzieren und zu teilen. Die "Boosting Shoots"-Stipendien zielten darauf ab, digitale Miniproduktionen von in Ruanda ansässigen Künstlern zu unterstützen.

Es wurde bewusst kein Thema vorgegeben, die einzige Auflage bestand darin, ein maximal 1-minütiges Projekt zu erstellen (Video, Sound, Animation...). Für den ersten Aufruf gingen 86 Bewerbungen ein, aus denen 10 Projekte ausgewählt wurden. Zu diesen Projekten gehörten zwei Musikvideos von Calene Ingabire und Cheryl Isheja aka Binghi, vier Mini Fiktion Filme  mit Themen, die von unserer Beziehung zum Tod über psychische Gesundheit und LGBTIQ reichen, eingereicht von Jules Cesar, Remy Ryumugabe, Ganza Moïse und Rebecca Uwamahoro, ein Animationsfilm von Sebastian Iradukunda, ein Tanz- und Musikvideo über die Straßenkultur in Nyamirambo von Manzi Mbaya und zwei Fotoprojekte von Jennifer Muhadogora und Jean Luc Habimana.

Die Jury achtete bei der Auswahl darauf, nicht nur bekannten Künstler*innen eine Chance zu geben, sondern auch jüngeren Kreativen die Möglichkeit zu geben, sich bekannt zu machen. Wir haben die Künstler*innen auch gebeten, uns die Namen ihrer Mitarbeiter*innen zu nennen, damit mehr Menschen (Künstler, Techniker, Musiker...) von der Sichtbarkeit der Stellen profitieren können.

Die Boosting Shoots Künstlerstipendien wurden 2020 zweimal verliehen, um junge Künstler*innen in der von Covid getroffenen Kreativszene zu unterstützen. Die Projekte, die von der interdisziplinären Jury und der Projektkoordinatorin Louise Mutabazi ausgewählt wurden, führten zu neue digitalen Zugängen in verschiedenen künstlerischen Bereichen in Ruanda.

Top