Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Learning feminism from Rwanda

Feminisms instead cropped
Goethe Institut

Rwanda has achieved what still seems a long way off in Europe: 61 percent of the members of parliament are women - almost twice as many as in Germany. With the performance project "Learning Feminism from Rwanda", Flinn Works links discourses on gender politics in African societies with current Western theories of gender and feminism. The premiere will take place on October 29, 2020 in the Berlin Sophiensælen. Further stations in Germany as well as in several European and African countries will follow.

Vorschaubild Learning Feminism from Rwanda
Goethe Institut


With the regional project "Learning Feminisms", the Goethe-Institutes are taking a look at the growing importance of feminist discourses in many countries of the sub-Saharan Africa region. The large number of female government representatives* is gaining international recognition. And especially in crisis-ridden societies, women are identified as heads of families or entrepreneurs* with responsibility and stability.
 
What experiences of female self-determination and equal rights can be found on the continent? What civil society commitments are activists and artists focusing on? "Learning Feminisms" explores these questions in a variety of local and national formats. It links the discourses in African countries with those in Europe, where the history of feminism is predominantly a history of white women.
 
On the tracks of Fast-Track Feminism
 
In this context, the Goethe-Institut Kigali supports the German-Rwandan performance "Learning Feminism from Rwanda" by the Berlin theater group Flinn Works, which will premiere on October 29, 2020 in the Sophiensælen. It takes an illuminating look at a society celebrated by the Swiss author Barbara Achermann as a "women's wonderland" - and draws comparisons with the situation in Germany. After the genocide in 1994, Rwanda made gender justice the basis of its policy. Today, 61 percent of the members of parliament there are women, and for President Paul Kagame it is good manners to be a "He for She". In Germany, by contrast, only 31 percent of the members of parliament are women-even though equality has been enshrined in the constitution since 1949.
 
Under the artistic direction of Lisa Stepf and Sophia Stepf, the multidisciplinary work with four Rwandan performers* and one German performer questions the quota of women as a political instrument. Does emancipation mean the same thing in East Africa and Germany? What can be learned from Rwandan "fast track feminism"? And what social realities shine through behind the statistics? In a combination of musical, rhetorical and dance elements, these questions are explored by two performers live on stage, as well as three performers* in Kigali, who due to travel restrictions only appear on video.
 
Percussion for equality
 
The project is based on two research trips that Flinn Works has undertaken to Rwanda. Among others, the artists* on site worked with Odile Gakire Katese, the founder of "Ingoma Nshya" - an all-female percussion group that is still fighting for recognition. Paradoxically, the image of the loud, drumming woman is still a taboo.
 
After the Berlin premiere, "Learning Feminism from Rwanda" will be shown in Kassel, Düsseldorf, Freiburg, Aarau, Strasbourg, Freiburg, Dresden and Basel.
 
"Learning Feminism from Rwanda" is an initiative of the Goethe-Institut and is produced by Flinn Works in cooperation with EANT Festival / Amizero Kompagnie.
 
The production is co-produced by Theater Freiburg, Sophiensälen Berlin, Goethe-Institut Kigali, Kaserne Basel, HELLERAU - European Center of Arts and Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg - Scène européenne, in cooperation with Staatstheater Kassel, Bühne Aarau and FFT Düsseldorf.
 
The project is also supported by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe, the Capital Cultural Fund, the Cultural Office of the City of Kassel, the Gerhard-Fieseler Foundation and Between Bridges.


Here also a text by Edwige Dro, one of the participants of the Regional Project:
   
Poster Learning Feminism from Rwanda Goethe Institut

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Feminimus lernen von Ruanda

Feminisms instead cropped
Goethe Institut

Ruanda hat erreicht, was in Europa noch in weiter Ferne scheint: 61 Prozent der Abgeordneten im Parlament sind weiblich – fast doppelt so viele wie in Deutschland. Mit dem Performance-Projekt „Learning Feminism from Rwanda“ verlinkt Flinn Works Diskurse über Geschlechterpolitik in afrikanischen Gesellschaften mit aktuellen westlichen Theorien von Gender und Feminismus. Die Premiere findet am 29. Oktober 2020 in den Berliner Sophiensælen statt. Weitere Stationen in Deutschland sowie in mehreren europäischen und afrikanischen Ländern folgen.

Vorschaubild Learning Feminism from Rwanda
Goethe Institut
Mit dem Regionalprojekt „Learning Feminisms“ nehmen die Goethe-Institute die wachsende Bedeutung feministischer Diskurse in vielen Ländern der Region Subsahara-Afrika in den Blick. Die große Zahl weiblicher Regierungs-Vertreter*innen findet international Anerkennung. Und gerade in krisengebeutelten Gesellschaften werden Frauen als Familienoberhäupter oder Unternehmer*innen mit Verantwortung und Stabilität identifiziert.
 
Welche Erfahrungen von weiblicher Selbstbestimmung und Gleichberechtigung finden sich auf dem Kontinent? Welche zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagements stehen für Aktivist*innen und Künstler*innen im Fokus? Diesen Fragen spürt „Learning Feminisms“ in einer Vielzahl lokaler Formate sowie überregionalen Formaten nach. Dabei werden die Diskurse in afrikanischen Ländern mit jenen Europas verlinkt, wo die Geschichte des Feminismus überwiegend eine Geschichte von weißen Frauen ist.
 
Auf den Spuren des Fast-Track-Feminismus
 
Das Goethe-Institut Kigali unterstützt in diesem Kontext die deutsch-ruandische Performance „Learning Feminism from Rwanda“ der Berliner Theatergruppe Flinn Works, die am 29. Oktober 2020 Premiere in den Sophiensælen feiert. Sie wirft einen erhellenden Blick auf eine Gesellschaft, die von der Schweizer Autorin Barbara Achermann als „Frauenwunderland“ gefeiert wird – und zieht Vergleiche zur Situation in Deutschland. Nach dem Genozid 1994 hat Ruanda Geschlechtergerechtigkeit zur Basis seiner Politik erhoben. Heute ist dort das Parlament zu 61 Prozent weiblich besetzt, für den Präsidenten Paul Kagame gehört es zum guten Ton, ein „He for She“ zu sein. In Deutschland dagegen sind nur 31 Prozent der Abgeordneten Frauen – obwohl die Gleichstellung seit 1949 im Grundgesetz verankert ist.
 
Unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Lisa Stepf und Sophia Stepf befragt die multidisziplinäre Arbeit mit vier ruandischen Performer*innen und einer deutschen Performerin die Frauen-Quote als politisches Instrument. Bedeutet Emanzipation in Ostafrika und Deutschland dasselbe? Was lässt sich vom ruandischen „Fast-Track-Feminismus“ lernen? Und welche gesellschaftlichen Realitäten scheinen hinter den Statistiken durch? In einer Verbindung von musikalischen, rhetorischen und tänzerischen Elementen werden diese Fragen erforscht von zwei Performerinnen live auf der Bühne, sowie drei Performer*innen in Kigali, die wegen den Reisebeschränkungen nur per Video auftreten.
 
Perkussion für die Gleichberechtigung
 

Basis des Projekts sind zwei Recherchereisen, die Flinn Works nach Ruanda unternommen hat. Unter anderem haben die Künstler*innen vor Ort mit Odile Gakire Katese zusammengearbeitet, der Gründerin von „Ingoma Nshya“ – einer rein weiblichen Perkussionsgruppe, die nach wie vor um Anerkennung kämpft. Das Bild der lauten, trommelnden Frau ist paradoxerweise noch immer ein Tabu.
 
Nach der Berliner Premiere wird „Learning Feminism from Rwanda“  in Kassel, Düsseldorf, Freiburg, Aarau, Straßburg, Freiburg, Dresden und Basel zu sehen sein.
 
„Learning Feminism from Rwanda“ ist eine Initiative des Goethe-Instituts und wird von Flinn Works in Kooperation mit EANT Festival / Amizero Kompagnie produziert.
 
Die Produktion wird koproduziert von dem Theater Freiburg, den Sophiensälen Berlin, dem Goethe-Institut Kigali, der Kaserne Basel, HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste und dem Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg – Scène européenne, in Kooperation mit dem Staatstheater Kassel, der Bühne Aarau und dem FFT Düsseldorf.
 
Das Projekt wird zudem unterstützt von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, dem Hauptstadtkulturfonds, dem Kulturamt der Stadt Kassel, der Gerhard-Fieseler-Stiftung und Between Bridges.

Hier ein Interview mit Lisa Stepf von Flinn Works:

Interview mit Lisa Stepf

Und hier ein weiterer Text von Edwige Dro, einer Teilnehmerin des Regionalprojektes:  
Poster Learning Feminism from Rwanda Goethe Institut


 

Top