Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Science Film Festival 2021
Science Film Festival 2021

The Science Film Festival (SFF) promotes science literacy and facilitates awareness of contemporary scientific, technological and environmental issues through international films with accompanying educational activities. This year's theme of the Science Film Festival  is Health and Well-being.

The Science Film Festival is a celebration of science communication in Africa, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Middle East and Latin America: In cooperation with local partners it promotes science literacy and facilitates awareness of contemporary scientific, technological and environmental issues through international films with accompanying educational activities.The festival provided teaching materials for learning activities connected to this year's theme of "Health and well-being" to continually demonstrate how fun science is.

Rwanda hosted the Science Film Festival from beginning of October till mid of December. The main partner for this year's Science Film Festival in Rwanda is the Rwanda Education Board. For the past years the Goethe-Institut Kigali was hosting film screenings in various schools.The main goal of the Science Film Festival is to convey that science can be fun and is made for everybody. In the primary schools we were watching a film about the mystery of the cloud and how we storage data. After this film the students collobarated in a science experiment about the function and the use of electricity to move a can without touching it. In the secondary schools we watched a film about the relatioship between humankind and dogs. The film was mainly about the fascinating emotional intelligence of dogs and the science behind it. The science experiment afterwards about the functions of lungs showed how dogs and humans are similar.
 
This year's theme raises awareness of the importance of our mental state, especially in a pandemic. Therefore we organised another film screening and an afterdiscussion for general public at the centre culturel francophone rwanda. The film was about the adventures of humankind. The film showed the capacity of humans to adapt to different challenges and obstacles over time and how humans and nature created solutions to overcom those challenging situations. The discussion afterwards was adressing the still exisiting need to adapt in times of a pandemic and global climate crisis.

In case of any questions, please contact the festival coordinator, Josiane Ishimwe: 
josianerukirande@gmail.com

by Antonia Kambouris

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Science Film Festival 2021
Science Film Festival 2021

Das Science Film Festival (SFF) fördert die wissenschaftliche Kompetenz und sensibilisiert für aktuelle wissenschaftliche, technologische und ökologische Themen durch internationale Filme mit begleitenden Bildungsaktivitäten. Das diesjährige Thema des Science Film Festivals lautet "Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden".

Das Science Film Festival ist ein Fest der Wissenschaftskommunikation z.B. in Afrika, Südostasien, Südasien, dem Nahen Osten und Lateinamerika: In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern fördert es die wissenschaftliche Kompetenz und erleichtert die Sensibilisierung für aktuelle wissenschaftliche, technologische und ökologische Themen durch internationale Filme mit begleitenden pädagogischen Aktivitäten. Das Festival stellte Lehrmaterial für Lernaktivitäten im Zusammenhang mit dem diesjährigen Thema "Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden" zur Verfügung. Das primäre Ziel des Science Film Festivals ist zu zeigen, dass Wissenschaft Spaß macht und für jeden geeignet ist.

Das diesjährige Science Film Festival in Ruanda fand von Anfang Oktober bis Mitte Dezember statt. Der Hauptpartner für das diesjährige Science Film Festival in Ruanda ist das Rwanda Education Board. Seit einigen Jahren veranstaltet das Goethe-Institut Kigali Filmvorführungen in verschiedenen Schulen, um Schüler für Wissenschaft zu begsitern. In den Grundschulen sahen wir einen Film über das Geheimnis der Cloud und wie wir Daten speichern. Nach diesem Film führten die SchülerInnen ein wissenschaftliches Experiment über die Funktion und den Einsatz von Elektrizität durch, um eine Dose zu bewegen, ohne sie zu berühren. In den Sekundarschulen sahen wir einen Film über die Beziehung zwischen Menschen und Hunden. In dem Film ging es hauptsächlich um die faszinierende emotionale Intelligenz von Hunden und die Wissenschaft dahinter. Das anschließende wissenschaftliche Experiment über die Funktion der Lunge zeigte, wie ähnlich sich Hunde und Menschen sind.
 
Das diesjährige Thema schärft das Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung unserer mentalen Verfassung, insbesondere während einer Pandemie. Aus diesem Grund organisierten wir eine weitere Filmvorführung und eine anschließende Diskussion für die breite Öffentlichkeit im Centre culturel francophone rwanda. Der Film handelte von den Abenteuern der Menschheit. Der Film zeigte die Fähigkeit der Menschen, sich im Laufe der Zeit an verschiedenen Herausforderungen und Hindernisse anzupassen, und wie Mensch und Natur Lösungen zur Überwindung dieser schwierigen Situationen gefunden haben. Die anschließende Diskussion befasste sich mit der immer noch bestehenden Notwendigkeit, sich in Zeiten von Pandemien und der globalen Klimakrise anzupassen.

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an die Koordinatorin des Festivals, Josiane Ishimwe:
josianerukirande@gmail.com.

von Antonia Kambouris

Übersetzt mit www.DeepL.com/Translator (kostenlose Version)

Top