Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Ubwonko. English Translation: Brain.© Antik Dust

Immersive Mixed Media Art Installation
Womb of Thoughts

A single chair on an uncovered floor, the roof semi-transparent and wooden walls that show colourful memories of past vistors:

The Womb of Thoughts is an immersive mixed media art installation by Mvfasta. He is a creative artist who shares his new album UBWONKO, meaning brain in Kinyarwanda, in an old but new school way: The listening is analog via antique Walkman cassette player which is only accessable in an installation looking like a booth that mimics an open box, moving from place to place in Kigali city.

In his own words the idea for The Womb of Thoughts grew in him and slowly took shape. Mvfasta created it as an attempt to communicate a mixture of numerous feelings and the need to express himself. "As much as we are social beings, we are also individuals and it’s important that we identify our individual selves within our communities, and the roles we play in creating our shared reality." The creative believes that the latter can be achieved through continuous conscious reflection and expression. Therefore, he is inviting to experience his arts: "Everything is there to spark a thought. Or two :)".

As being part of the music collective Antik Dust that unites solo albums to a bigger musical experience the creative artist anticipates even greater fulfilment to come. UBWONKWO is the second piece of art that followed the album AMARASO by Ngaara which explores human bonds as the essence of life.The final one ROHO is to complete the trilogy in the future.

  • Artist Mvfasta from Antik Dust © Antik Dust
  • AntikDust@Goethe © GI Kigali
  • The Womb of Thoughts © GI Kigali
  • AntikDust@GIKigali © GI Kigali
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Ubwonko. English Translation: Brain.© Antik Dust

Immersive Mixed Media Art Installation
Womb of Thoughts

Ein einzelner Stuhl auf einem unbedeckten Boden, ein halbtransparentes Dach und Holzwände, die bunte Erinnerungen an vergangene Besucher zeigen:

Der Womb of Thoughts (Schoß der Gedanken) ist eine immersive mixed-media Kunstinstallation von Mvfasta. Mvfasta ist ein Kunstschaffender, der sein neues Album UBWONKO, was in Kinyarwanda Gehirn bedeutet, auf eine alte, aber neue Art und Weise präsentiert: Das Zuhören erfolgt analog über einen antiken Walkman-Kassettenspieler, auf den man nur in einer Installation zugreifen kann, die wie eine Kabine aussieht und eine offene Kiste nachahmt. In der Stadt Kigali zieht diese von Ort zu Ort.

Seinen eigenen Worten zufolge, wuchs die Idee für The Womb of Thoughts in ihm und nahm langsam Gestalt an. Mvfasta versuchte sowohl eine Mischung aus zahlreichen Gefühlen zu vermitteln als auch das Bedürfnis nach Selbstausdruck. "So sehr wir auch soziale Wesen sind, so sind wir doch auch Individuen und es ist wichtig, dass wir unser individuelles Selbst innerhalb unserer Gemeinschaften erkennen. Ebenso die Rollen, die wir bei der Schaffung unserer gemeinsamen Realität spielen." Der Künstler glaubt, dass letzteres durch kontinuierliche bewusste Reflexion und ihren Ausdruck erreicht werden kann. Deshalb lädt er dazu ein, seine Kunst zu erleben: "Alles ist dazu da, einen Gedanken anzuregen. Oder auch zwei :)".

Als Teil des Musikkollektivs Antik Dust, das Soloalben zu einem größeren musikalischen Ganzen vereint, erwartet der Mvfasta eine noch größere Erfüllung in der Zukunft. UBWONKWO folgte als zweites Werk dem Album AMARASO von Ngaara, das sich mit menschlichen Verbindungen als Essenz des Lebens auseinandersetzt. ROHO soll die Trilogie in der Zukunft abschließen.

  • Artist Mvfasta from Antik Dust © Antik Dust
  • AntikDust@Goethe © GI Kigali
  • The Womb of Thoughts © GI Kigali
  • AntikDust@GIKigali © GI Kigali
Top