Enter Africa

Do games mean the world?

Enter Africa Open Call © Goethe-Institut
Can games make a better world? Can new forms of participation be made possible through gaming and gamification? Can the culture technique of gaming have an impact on the development of cities and countries? Goethe Institut’s project “Enter Africa” aims to develop a game that deals with the city’s issues of the future, since the future of the present world is being decided in particular in major cities. 
 

Approximately 18 new megacities are expected to develop in Sub Sahara Africa by 2025, associated therewith are challenges to infrastructure, resources and culture. These are cities like Lagos (Nigeria), Bamako (Mali) or Dar es Salaam (Tansania), which are among the fastest growing cities of the continent. Last mentioned counted an estimated 5,5 million inhabitants in 2017, by 2030 there will be already 10 million people.  First mentioned already holds 21 million people today. By 2050 it will be twice as many.

Megacities as a challenge, that affects the entire continent. Unsurprisingly, Goethe Institutes across the continent are involved in the development of the game: Addis Ababa, Kampala, Dar es Salaam, Kigali, Windhoek, Johannesburg, Nairobi, Ouagadougou, Kinshasa, Lomé, Abidjan, Dakar, Yaounde, Accra and Lagos. Young teams of architects, city planners, engineers, IT experts and creative artists come together to create visions for their cities with the help of analogue and digital game development. At the end of the process stands a common, transnational, digital mega game. It will be presented at Gamescom 2019 in Cologne, the largest European games fair.

In Kigali, the group consists of about ten participants, who are experienced in the fields of teaching, game design, architecture and IT among other things. They meet weekly to devote themselves to the topic of "Public Spaces". In places of public life such as the Kigali Public Library, the central bus park or the mountains surrounding the city, the player has to complete the tasks later on and thus get to know his own city at the same time.
 

people around a table with work material © Goethe-Institut Kigali

Enter Africa

Bedeuten Spiele die Welt?

Enter Africa Open Call © Goethe-Institut
Können Spiele die Welt verändern? Können durch Gaming und Game Development neue Formen der Kommunikation und des Austauschs entstehen? Wie kann die kulturelle Technik des Gamings Einfluss auf die Entwicklung unserer Städte und Länder nehmen? Mit dem Projekt „Enter Africa“ entwickelt das Goethe Institut ein Spiel, das sich mit den Fragen der Zukunft der Stadt auseinandersetzt, denn die Zukunft der heutigen Welt entscheidet sich vor allem in den Großstädten.
 

Bis 2025 wird es in Afrika südlich der Sahara bereits schätzungsweise 18 Megastädte geben. Damit einhergehend entstehen Herausforderungen für Infrastruktur, Ressourcen und Kultur. Es sind Städte wie Lagos (Nigeria), Bamako (Mali) oder Dar es Salaam (Tansania), die zu den am schnellsten wachsenden Städten des Kontinents gehören. Letztere zählte 2017 geschätzte 5,5 Millionen Einwohner*innen, 2030 sollen es bereits 10 Millionen Menschen sein. Erstere fasst heutzutage schon 21 Millionen Menschen. Bis 2050 werden es doppelt so viele sein.

Megastädte als Herausforderung, das betrifft den gesamten Kontinent. Wenig überraschend also, dass sich Goethe Institute des gesamten Kontinents an der Entwicklung des Spiels beteiligen:   Addis Abeba, Kampala, Dar es Salaam, Kigali, Windhoek, Johannesburg, Nairobi, Ouagadougou, Kinshasa, Lomé, Abidjan, Dakar, Yaoundé, Accra und Lagos. Es sind junge Teams aus Architekt*innen, Städteplanner*innen, Ingeneur*innen, IT-Expert*innen und Kulturschaffenden, die sich zusammengefunden haben, um mit Hilfe von analoger und digitaler Spielentwicklung Visionen für ihre Städte zu erschaffen. Am Ende des Prozesses steht ein gemeinsames, länderübergreifendes, digitales Megagame. Es soll auf der Gamescom 2019 in Köln, der größten europäischen Spielemesse, präsentiert werden.

In Kigali besteht die Gruppe aus etwa zehn Teilnehmern, deren Expertise u.a. in den Feldern Lehre, Gamedesign, Architektur und IT liegt. Ein- bis zweimal wöchentlich treffen sie sich, um sich dem Thema „Public Spaces“ zu widmen. An Orten des öffentlichen Lebens wie die Kigali Public Library, der zentrale Buspark oder die Stadt umgebende Berge, muss der*die Spieler*in später Aufgaben erledigen und kann so gleichzeitig die eigene Stadt neu kennenlernen. 
 

Gruppe um einen Tisch mit Arbeitsmaterialien © Goethe-Institut Kigali