Unsere Gäste mijk van dijk

mijk van dijk workshop
© Goethe-Institut/Lena Wassermeier

German DJ and producer mijk van dijk spend one week in Kigali and held a workshop on producing and DJing and got to know the music scene in Kigali.

Mijk, you come from the field of electronic music. How was the encounter with people from the music scene in Kigali?

First of all as always: people are people – everywhere! I am lucky to be travelling through the world as a DJ since 1994 and meet people on every continent, who don’t seem like strangers at all, because we share one passion: music, techno, party! And everything else attached to it: respect, equality, peaceful cooperation, and focus on the future. I was happy to find all this also in Kigali.


Where did you learn about new aspects of music production – where did you see similarities?

I am always interested in how music is produced in other parts of the world. In Kigali there were no surprises in that sense. Laptops are providing enormous possibilities for DJs and producers in form of software, for a fraction of the cost of the respective hardware, also because the means for potential instruments are not at hand. But artists don’t get discouraged by empty purses, but rather look for creative expressions with the means that are available. I am excited how the musicians in Rwanda will combine electronical sounds with the musical roots of the country in the future.


You have been part of the (Berlin) Technoscape for more than 20 years and you gave workshop on electronical music all over the world. What struck you especially in Kigali? What impressed you particularly – in terms of the music?

It struck me that most of the participants already had a solid basic knowledge, but mostly on affordable PCs and free or very cheap software. Musically, in Kigali you find Hip Hop, RnB and Dancehall, enriched with African Music especially from Nigeria. I paid tribute to that especially in the first part of my set (at Mamba Club), by playing a lot of African grooves. What really surprised me though, was that I played uncompromising Techno from the middle of my set, which was celebrated enthusiastically by the dancing audience. That showed me once more that Techno is actually understood everywhere around the world and I hope, that this basis democratic ‘worldmusic’ finds its way into the musical language of Rwanda.
What do you take along?A lot of souvenirs from Nyamirambo Womens Center ;) Unforgettable experiences in the Akagera National Park. And the genuine kindness, with which I was welcomed everywhere in Rwanda. I hope to come back soon.


What is your next project?

I just finalised a remix for my friends from 2raumwohnung and am preparing for the release of my label ‘microglobe’. Parts from the first EP ‘Peace 4 All’ I also played in Kigali and I was very happy that they were so well received by the audience. More information on that in short on my Website: www.microglobe.de or on my facebook artist page: https://www.facebook.com/mijkvandijk/

Interview mijk van dijk

mijk van dijk workshop
© Goethe-Institut/Lena Wassermeier

Der deutsche DJ mijk van dijk war für eine Woche in Kigali und hat einen Workshop zu Musikproduktion und Djing gegeben und dabei die lokale Musikszene kennengelernt.


Mijk, du kommst aus dem Bereich der elektronischen Musik. Wie war für dich die Begegnung mit Leuten aus der ruandischen Musikszene?

Erst mal wie immer: people are people – überall! Ich habe das Glück seit 1994 als DJ durch die Welt zu fliegen und auf allen Kontinenten der Welt Menschen zu treffen, die mir überhaupt nicht fremd erscheinen, weil wir eine gemeinsame Passion teilen: Musik, Techno, Party! Und alles andere, was da dran hängt: Respekt, Gleichberechtigung, friedvolles Miteinander, Zukunftsorientierung. Ich war sehr froh, dass ich all das auch in Kigali wiedergefunden habe.


An welchen Stellen hast du neue Aspekte der Musikproduktion kennengelernt – wo gab es Überschneidungen?

Ich interessiere mich stets dafür, wie an anderen Ecken der Welt produziert und aufgelegt wird.  In Kigali gab es für mich in dieser Hinsicht ebenfalls keine Überraschungen. Laptops geben auch dort den DJs und Producern in Form von Software mächtige Möglichkeiten an die Hand, zu einem Bruchteil der Kosten, die die entsprechende Hardware kosten würde, eben auch weil die finanziellen Mittel für potente Instrumente nur wenigen zur Verfügung stehen. Aber Künstler lassen sich von knappen Kassen nicht entmutigen, sondern suchen sich stets kreative Ausdrucksformen mit den Mitteln, die ihnen zur Verfügung stehen.  Ich bin gespannt, wie die Musiker Ruandas in der Zukunft elektronische Sounds mit den musikalischen Wurzeln des Landes verbinden werden.  


Du bist seit mehr als 20 Jahren Teil der (Berliner) Technoszene und hast schon weltweit Workshops zu elektronisch produzierter Musik gegeben. Welche Besonderheiten sind dir in Kigali aufgefallen? Was hat dich - bezogen auf die Musik vor Ort - besonders beeindruckt?

Mir fiel auf, dass viele Workshop-Teilnehmer bereits ein solides Grundwissen hatten, meist aber bezogen auf günstige PCs und kostenlose bzw. sehr preiswerte Software.  Musikalisch ist in Kigali vor allem Hip Hop, RnB und Dancehall angesagt, angereichert mit afrikanischer Musik vor allem aus Nigeria. Dem habe ich auch zu Anfang meines Sets Tribut gezollt, indem ich viele afrikanische Grooves gespielt habe. Was mich dann aber wirklich erstaunte war, dass ich ab der Mitte meines Sets kompromisslosen Techno spielte, der von  dem tanzenden Publikum begeistert gefeiert wurde. Das zeigte mir einmal mehr, dass Techno tatsächlich überall auf der Welt verstanden wird und hoffe, dass diese wirklich basisdemokratische „Weltmusik“ Eingang in die musikalische Sprache Ruandas findet.


Was nimmst du mit?

Viele Souvenirs vom Nyamirambo Women's Centre. ;-) Unvergessliche Erlebnisse aus dem Akagera National Park. Und die ungekünstelte Freundlichkeit, die mir überall in Ruanda entgegenstrahlte. Ich hoffe, bald wieder zurückzukommen.


Was ist dein nächstes Projekt? 

Ich habe gerade einen Remix für meine Freunde von 2raumwohnung gemacht und bereite den Start meines Labels „microglobe“ vor. Die Stücke der ersten EP „Peace 4 All“ habe ich auch in Kigali gespielt und mich sehr darüber gefreut, dass sie so gut beim Publikum ankamen. Weitere Infos dazu demnächst auf meiner Website www.microglobe.de oder meiner Facebook Artist Page https://www.facebook.com/mijkvandijk/