Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Moderator: Maya El Khalil

Panellists: Badr Ali, Bashaer Hawsawi, Çağla Ilk and Larissa Fassler


 
Abstract: In June 2021 the Istikshaf programme, a digital and physical networking and capacity building scheme, was initiated by SAC, Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany in Jeddah and the Goethe-Institut. The aim of the programme is to build networks, enhance hands-on capacities and exchange between artists and cultural practitioners from Saudi Arabia and Germany. The first edition of the programme concentrated around the topics of working in the public space and included virtual studio visits at the Studio Olafur Eliasson, ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, talks and mentoring sessions by artists and curators including Venetia Porter. The second part of the programme will be a study tour to Germany in June 2022 to visit the Berlin Biennale and documenta. Badr Ali and Bashaer Hawsawi were two of the Istkishaf artists whose work is featured in Amakin and the discussion will centre on the impact such a programme has had on their practice. Panellists will critically consider the connections that can be built both in the digital realm and in a physical exhibition, the importance of place and direct encounters with art.

 

Maya El Khalil

Maya El Khalil is an independent curator and art advisor, based in Oxford, UK. As founding director of Athr in Jeddah from 2009–2016 she pioneered exhibition approaches and cultural exchange making significant contributions to the establishment and development of the contemporary art scene in Saudi Arabia. For the last decade, she has continued to work locally, regionally and internationally with artists, collectors and institutions, focusing on progressive socially engaged, multidisciplinary exhibitions that address the environmental and climate emergency. In 2020, she curated the 7th edition of 21,39 Jeddah Arts under the title I Love You, Urgently.
 

Badr Ali

Badr Ali was born in San Francisco in 1992 and has lived in the UK, France, Germany and Saudi Arabia. The act of drawing is deep-rooted within his practice as a painter. His  recent explorations into printmaking techniques have allowed him to experiment with transferring his ideas on paper to silkscreen, to create something entirely new.
 

Bashaer Hawsawi

Bashaer Hawsawi was born in 1992 and is based in Jeddah. Her artworks highlight the changing nature of our daily realities, researching and experimenting with materials which connect cultures, expressions, emotions and ideas. She participated in the 87th edition of 21,39 Jeddah Arts in 20210, Secrets of the AlidadesI Love You, Urgently.
 

Çağla Ilk

Çağla Ilk is curator and director of the Kunsthalle Baden-Baden and an Istikshaf mentor, working in theory and practice at the interface of architecture, visual arts, sound and performance. She was born in Istanbul and studied architecture at the Technical University Berlin and the Mimar Sinan University Istanbul.
 

Larissa Fassler

Larissa Fassler is an artist based in Berlin and an Istiskhaf mentor. Her artistic practice reflects her interest in the architecture of cities and the symbiotic relationships between people and places. She was born in Vancouver, Canada, but has lived and worked in Berlin, Germany for more than 20 years. Her work has been exhibited in solo and group exhibitions internationally, recently at Currier Museum of Art in Manchester, New Hampshire, USA, The Bröhan Museum, Berlin and The National Gallery of Canada. Her work was nominated for the 2018 MAC International Contemporary Art Prize, Belfast and the 2019 Berlin Art Prize.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Moderation: Maya El Khalil

Es diskutieren: Badr Ali, Bashaer Hawsawi, Çağla Ilk und Larissa Fassler.


 
Zusammenfassung: Im Juni 2021 wurde Istikshaf, ein digitales und physisches Vernetzungs- und Capacity-Building-Programm, von SAC, dem Generalkonsulat der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Jeddah und dem Goethe-Institut initiiert. Ziel des Programms ist der Aufbau von Netzwerken, die Verbesserung praktischer Fähigkeiten und der Austausch zwischen Künstlern und Kulturschaffenden aus Saudi-Arabien und Deutschland. Die erste Runde des Programms konzentrierte sich auf die Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum und umfasste virtuelle Atelierbesuche im Studio Olafur Eliasson, im ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik sowie Vorträge und Mentoring-Sitzungen von Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen wie Venetia Porter. Der zweite Teil des Programms wird eine Studienreise nach Deutschland im Juni 2022 sein, um dort die Berlin Biennale und die documenta zu besuchen. Badr Ali und Bashaer Hawsawi sind zwei der Istkishaf-Künstler, deren Arbeiten in Amakin zu sehen sind. Die Diskussion wird sich darauf konzentrieren, welche Auswirkungen das Programm auf ihre künstlerische Praxis hatte. Die Diskussionsteilnehmer*innen werden sich kritisch sowohl mit Verbindungen auseinandersetzen, die im digitalen Bereich als auch in einer physischen Ausstellung hergestellt werden können, als auch mit der Bedeutung von Orten und der direkten Begegnung mit Kunst.

 

Maya El Khalil

Maya El Khalil ist eine unabhängige Kuratorin und Kunstberaterin mit Sitz in Oxford, Großbritannien. Als Gründungsdirektorin von Athr in Dschidda (2009-2016) leistete sie Pionierarbeit bei Ausstellungskonzepten und kulturellem Austausch und trug maßgeblich zum Aufbau und zur Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene in Saudi-Arabien bei. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat sie auf lokaler, regionaler und internationaler Ebene mit Künstlern, Sammlern und Institutionen zusammengearbeitet und sich dabei auf progressive, sozial engagierte, multidisziplinäre Ausstellungen konzentriert, die sich mit dem Umwelt- und Klimanotstand auseinandersetzen. Im Jahr 2020 kuratierte sie die 7. Ausgabe von 21,39 Jeddah Arts unter dem Titel I Love You, Urgently.​​​​​​​
 

Badr Ali

Badr Ali wurde 1992 in San Francisco geboren und hat in Großbritannien, Frankreich, Deutschland und Saudi-Arabien gelebt. Der Akt des Zeichnens ist tief in seiner Praxis als Maler verwurzelt. Seine jüngsten Experimente mit Drucktechniken haben es ihm ermöglicht, mit der Übertragung seiner Ideen auf Papier etwas völlig Neues zu schaffen.

 

Bashaer Hawsawi

Bashaer Hawsawi wurde 1992 geboren und lebt in Jeddah. Ihre Kunstwerke beleuchten die sich verändernde Natur unserer alltäglichen Realität, indem sie solche Materialien erforscht und mit ihnen experimentiert, die Kulturen, Ausdrucksformen, Emotionen und Ideen miteinander verbinden. Sie nahm an der 87. Ausgabe von 21,39 Jeddah Arts in 20210, Secrets of the Alidades I Love You, Urgently teil.

 

Çağla Ilk

Çağla Ilk ist Kuratorin und Direktorin der Kunsthalle Baden-Baden und Istikshaf-Mentorin. Sie arbeitet in Theorie und Praxis an der Schnittstelle von Architektur, bildender Kunst, Sound und Performance. Sie wurde in Istanbul geboren und studierte Architektur an der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Mimar Sinan Universität Istanbul.

 

Larissa Fassler

Larissa Fassler ist eine in Berlin lebende Künstlerin und Istiskhaf-Mentorin. Ihre künstlerische Praxis spiegelt ihr Interesse an der Architektur von Städten und den symbiotischen Beziehungen zwischen Menschen und Orten wider. Sie wurde in Vancouver, Kanada, geboren, lebt und arbeitet aber seit mehr als 20 Jahren in Berlin, Deutschland. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen international ausgestellt, zuletzt im Currier Museum of Art in Manchester, New Hampshire, USA, im Bröhan Museum, Berlin und in der National Gallery of Canada. Ihre Arbeit wurde für den MAC International Contemporary Art Prize, Belfast, 2018 und den Berliner Kunstpreis 2019 nominiert.

Top