Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

The Hospitable Ear a workshop with Julia Tieke and Zainab Ali Reza


Listening – while often considered passive – has also been framed as active perception, as a turning to the “other”, an openness described as “inner hospitality”. 

Hospitability means the ability to host. If listening is inner hospitality, what are its preconditions? How do I become able to listen? What is outer and what is inner hospitality? Can they be separated? How can we attune our ears to others? How do we deal with the impossibility of not-hearing, of closing the ear? And how do we host the sound and noise around us? What can we say about local soundscapes by analyzing the social, political, and economic spheres which have produced them?

The workshop aims at exploring these questions in the local context of Jeddah – through exercises, walks, exchange, and production. Who speaks in Jeddah? Whose voice would we like to amplify, zoom into with our ears? Which are the different rhythms of the neighborhoods? How do spaces receive us, and how do we receive them?

About Julia Tieke

Julia works with and around text and sound. She is in charge of the ultra-short daily radio art format “Wurfsendung” on German public cultural radio. Julia is specifically interested in storytelling, radio as a social medium, migration of sound, and experiencing cities through acoustic means. Her projects include co-curating digging deep, crossing far in India, Germany, and Pakistan (2015-2017); research on the First Cairo Congress of Arab Music in 1932 (2018-ongoing); Karachi Beach Radio (with Yaminay Chaudhri, 2019-ongoing), and a Social Acoustics Residency at Errant Sound (2021).

About Zeinab Ali Reza

Zainab Alireza is an Urban Strategy Consultant holding a Masters degree from in Housing and Urbanism. In fifteen years of practice she has focused on urban design factors influencing positive public experiences considering both environmental and social opportunities. Most recently, Zainab has played key roles in the Al Rabwa Resettlement Program, the Jeddah Plans 2030 and the Connected Gaza Vision 2050.

This workshop is a collaboration between Art Jameel and the Goethe-Institute, Saudi Arabia. Led by researcher / artist Julia Tieke, working with urban strategist Zainab Ali Reza.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

The Hospitable Ear. Ein Workshop mit Julia Tieke und Zainab Ali Reza


Zuhören wird oft als passive Tätigkeit aufgefasst, es kann aber ebenso auch als aktive Wahrnehmung gesehen werden, als Hinwendung zum "Anderen", als eine Offenheit, die sich als "innere Gastfreundschaft" beschreiben lässt.

Gastfreundschaft bedeutet die Fähigkeit, Gastgeber zu sein. Wenn Zuhören innere Gastfreundschaft ist, was sind dann die Voraussetzungen dafür? Wie werde ich fähig zuzuhören? Was ist äußere und was ist innere Gastfreundschaft? Kann man sie voneinander trennen? Wie können wir unsere Ohren auf andere einstimmen? Wie gehen wir mit der Tatsache um, nicht „weghören“, also die Ohren nicht verschließen zu können? Und wie nehmen wir den Klang und den Lärm um uns herum auf? Was können wir über lokale Soundscapes sagen, wenn wir die sozialen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Sphären betrachten, aus denen sie stammen?

Der Workshop zielt darauf ab, diese Fragen im lokalen Kontext von Jeddah zu erforschen - durch Übungen, Spaziergänge, Austausch und Produktion. Wer spricht in Jeddah? Wessen Stimme möchten wir verstärken? Was sind die verschiedenen Rhythmen der Stadtteile? Wie empfangen uns die Räume, und wie empfangen wir sie?

Über Julia Tieke

Julia arbeitet mit Text und Sound. Sie ist verantwortlich für das tägliche Radiokunstformat "Wurfsendung". Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dem Geschichtenerzählen, dem Radio als sozialem Medium, der Migration von Klängen und dem Erleben von Städten mit akustischen Mitteln. Zu ihren Projekten gehören die Co-Kuratierung von digging deep, crossing far in Indien, Deutschland und Pakistan (2015-2017); Recherchen zum Ersten Kairoer Kongress für arabische Musik 1932 (2018); Karachi Beach Radio (mit Yaminay Chaudhri, 2019) und eine Social Acoustics Residency bei Errant Sound (2021).

Über Zeinab Ali Reza

Zainab Alireza ist Beraterin für urbane Strategien und hat einen Master-Abschluss in Wohnungswesen und Urbanismus. In ihrer fünfzehnjährigen Praxis lag ihr Hauptaugenmerk auf städtebaulichen Faktoren, die positive öffentliche Erfahrungen unter Berücksichtigung von ökologischen und sozialen Chancen ermöglichen. In jüngster Zeit spielte Zainab eine Schlüsselrolle beim Al Rabwa Resettlement Program, den Jeddah Plans 2030 und der Connected Gaza Vision 2050.

Dieser Workshop ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Art Jameel und dem Goethe-Institut, Saudi-Arabien. Geleitet von der Forscherin/Künstlerin Julia Tieke, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadtstrategin Zainab Ali Reza.

Top