Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
136 GOETHE wide© Goethe-Institut

Open Call
Project Work (PW): Activating 136 GOETHE

The Goethe-Institut Singapore launches its new project space with the pilot programme Project Work (PW). We call cultural practitioners, artists, curators, dramaturgs and programmers to co-share 136 GOETHE for arts practice and public activation with up to four participants.
 
A tongue-in-cheek reference to the mandatory national curriculum that compels young people to work together and “synthesise knowledge” in service of “a common objective”, somewhat similarly, Project Work (PW) calls for collaborative, innovative, experimental and process-driven projects or interventions to unfold at 136 GOETHE, as work-in-progress, performance, exhibition, or as an event. The Open Call will especially recognize collective approaches and forms of practices. The Goethe-Institut will provide a stipend and production budget.
 
Project Work (PW) is intended as initial activation and experiment for a space that will evolve according to the needs of its users. Participants are invited to adapt a space in the middle of the city for their own practice while remaining in public dialogue and discourse. Project Work (PW) is meant to function as an open residency to activate 136 GOETHE as a confluence for diverse practices, perspectives and engagements. The space will be kept open to the public during the running period of Project Work (PW).

The Goethe-Institut Singapore intends for programmes in the new project space to develop internationally, however, in consideration of the global circumstances, the pilot programme will be open to Singapore-based practitioners only.

  • The project must be a cohesive, curatorial proposal that includes the intended participants (up to 4) and their relevant practices.
  • The project should be new—as opposed to an ongoing work or iteration of a pre-existing work
  • Should the proposal be for a collective, there needs to be a representative applicant.
  • The curator/representative applicant may also be a participating practitioner.
  • The project and its development are independent and self-initiated, but the practitioners-in-residence are expected to stay in constant dialogue with the programming team of the Goethe-Institut Singapore.
  • The project budget will be discussed, agreed on beforehand, and jointly-managed with the programming team of the Goethe-Institut Singapore.
  • Applicants must be contemporary practitioners based in Singapore.
The evaluation will be based on the candidates' proposal and the quality of the application. The selection process is at the discretion of Goethe-Institut Singapore. Relevant areas of consideration include:
  • artistic innovation or critical cultural practice
  • quality and cohesiveness of the proposal and interpolation of each practice
  • relevance to contemporary discourse
  • feasibility of proposal
Projects with potential for inter- or transnational collaboration or coproduction are preferred.

How to Apply

Please send your project proposal to Valerie-Ann.Tan@goethe.de

The application should include the following:

  • main proposal and curatorial concept
  • how you intend to use the space
  • potential outcomes or public programmes
  • profiles and relevance of all practitioners involved (up to 4)
  • projected budget 
Timeline
  • Application deadline 31 May 2021
  • Occupancy period Jul-Nov 2021

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
136 GOETHE breit© Goethe-Institut

Ausschreibung
Project Work (PW): 136 GOETHE Aktivieren

Das Goethe-Institut Singapur launcht seinen neuen Projektraum mit dem Pilotprogramm Project Work (PW). Wir rufen Kulturschaffende, Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen, Dramaturg*innen und Programm-Verantwortliche dazu auf, 136 GOETHE für künstlerische Praxis und öffentliche Aktivierung mit bis zu vier Mitwirkenden zu teilen.
 
In Anspielung auf das nationale Curriculum, das junge Menschen dazu anhält, zusammenzuarbeiten und "Wissen zu synthetisieren" im Dienste "eines gemeinsamen Ziels", ruft Project Work (PW) zu kollaborativen, innovativen, experimentellen und prozessgetriebenen Projekten oder Interventionen auf, die sich in 136 GOETHE als Work-in-Progress, Performance, Ausstellung oder als Event entfalten. Die Ausschreibung wird insbesondere kollektive Ansätze und Praxisformen berücksichtigen. Das Goethe-Institut stellt ein Stipendium und Produktionsbudget zur Verfügung.
 
Project Work (PW) ist als Erstaktivierung und Experiment für einen Raum gedacht, der sich je nach den Bedürfnissen seiner Nutzer*innen weiterentwickeln wird. Die Teilnehmenden sind eingeladen, einen Raum inmitten der Stadt für ihr eigens Werk zu adaptieren und dabei im Dialog und Diskurs mit der Öffentlichkeit zu bleiben. Project Work (PW) ist als offene Residenz angelegt, um 136 GOETHE als Knotenpunkt für verschiedene Praktiken, Perspektiven und Engagements zu aktivieren. Der Raum bleibt während der Laufzeit von Project Work (PW) für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Das Goethe-Institut Singapur hat den Anspruch, dass sich die Programme im neuen Projektraum international entwickeln, in Anbetracht der globalen Umstände jedoch wird das Pilotprogramm nur für in Singapur ansässige Praktiker*innen offen sein.

  • Das Projekt muss ein kohärenter, kuratorischer Vorschlag sein, der die vorgesehenen Teilnehmer*innen (bis zu 4) und ihre relevanten Praktiken einschließt.
  • Das Projekt sollte neu sein—im Gegensatz zu einer laufenden Arbeit oder Iteration einer bereits existierenden Arbeit.
  • Sollte der Vorschlag für ein Kollektiv sein, muss es eine*n repräsentative*n Bewerber*in geben.
  • Kurator*in/repräsentative Antragsteller*in kann auch teilnehmende*r Praktiker*in sein.
  • Das Projekt und seine Entwicklung sind unabhängig und selbstinitiiert, erwartet wird jedoch, dass die Practitioners-in-Residence in ständigem Dialog mit dem Programmteam des Goethe-Instituts Singapur stehen.
  • Das Projektbudget wird im Vorfeld mit dem Programmteam des Goethe-Instituts Singapur besprochen, abgestimmt und gemeinsam verwaltet.
  • Bewerber*innen müssen in Singapur ansässige zeitgenössische Praktiker*innen sein.
Die Bewertung erfolgt auf der Grundlage des Vorschlags der Kandidat*innen und der Qualität der Bewerbung. Das Auswahlverfahren liegt im Ermessen des Goethe-Instituts Singapur. Relevante Bereiche der Betrachtung sind:
  • künstlerische Innovation oder kritische kulturelle Praxis
  • Qualität und Kohärenz des Vorschlags und Einbindung der jeweiligen Praxis
  • Relevanz für den zeitgenössischen Diskurs
  • Durchführbarkeit des Vorschlags
Projekte mit Potenzial für inter- oder transnationale Zusammenarbeit oder Koproduktion werden bevorzugt.

Wie Sie sich bewerben können

Bitte senden Sie Ihren Projektvorschlag an Valerie-Ann.Tan@goethe.de

Die Bewerbung sollte folgende Informationen enthalten:

  • Vorschlag und kuratorisches Konzept
  • wie Sie den Raum nutzen wollen
  • mögliche Ergebnisse oder öffentliche Programme
  • Profile und Relevanz aller beteiligten Künstler*innen (bis zu 4)
  • geplantes Budget 
Zeitplan
  • Bewerbungsfrist 31. Mai 2021
  • Nutzungsperiode Jul-Nov 2021

Top