Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Science Film FestivalGoethe-Institut

Marcel Odenbach
Tranquil Motions

Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa), NTU ADM Gallery, and Goethe-Institut Singapore are proud to present the exhibition Marcel Odenbach - Tranquil Motions.

Monday to Friday: 10am-6pm
Saturday, 10 September: by appointment (email to book by Thursday, 8 September)

Free entry
ADM Gallery (81 Nanyang Dr, Singapore 637458)
admevents@ntu.edu.sg

More information

A pioneer of video art, Marcel Odenbach’s (b. 1953, Cologne, Germany) works attest to his role in promoting and shaping the international development of this genre. From early videos, which were conceived for presentation on monitors, to his larger projections, the exhibition illustrates the subtlety and formal variety with which Odenbach stages the moving picture and its acoustic accompaniment.

Together with his works on paper, the exhibition Marcel Odenbach - Tranquil Motions critically engages with the issue of how to deal with the past, within the context of the German post-war era, with reflections upon its social situation that are relevant to broader/global perspectives.

Odenbach’s video and graphic works are complex narratives the artist creates by means of a unique collage technique, using recorded film, television footage, archival material and pictures he has produced himself. Montaging public and private imagery, he recreates stories that interweave the larger frame of history with emotions of the individual human being, and his own biography.

His study of different cultures and political constellations draws connections between the German trauma of Nazi rule and the Rwandan genocide; images of masculinity in Turkey and the role of women in Venezuela; the familiar and the foreign; as well as his own biography and the history of others.

Produced by Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa) and curated by Matthias Mühling, this exhibition in Singapore is co-organized by the NTU ADM Gallery and the Goethe-Institut Singapore. The selection of exhibits unfolds a panorama of Odenbach’s entire oeuvre, illuminating how the artist studies different cultures and paints a portrait, as analytical as it is emotional, of the human being in a globalized society.


Related links

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Science Film FestivalGoethe-Institut

Marcel Odenbach
Stille Bewegung

Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa), NTU ADM Gallery und das Goethe-Institut Singapur, freuen sich die Ausstellung Marcel Odenbach - Tranquil Motions zu präsentieren.

Montag-Freitag: 10-18 Uhr
Sa., 10. September: nach Terminvereinbarung
(Buchung per Email bis Do., 8. September)

Freier Eintritt
ADM Gallery (81 Nanyang Dr, Singapore 637458)
admevents@ntu.edu.sg

Mehr Information

Als Pionier der Videokunst zeugen die Arbeiten von Marcel Odenbach (*1953, Köln, Deutschland) von seiner Rolle bei der Förderung und Gestaltung der internationalen Entwicklung dieses Genres. Von frühen Videos, die für die Präsentation auf Monitoren konzipiert waren, bis hin zu seinen größeren Projektionen veranschaulicht die Ausstellung die Subtilität und formale Vielfalt mit der Odenbach das bewegte Bild und seine akustische Untermalung inszeniert.

Die Ausstellung Marcel Odenbach – Stille Bewegungen setzt sich zusammen mit seinen Arbeiten auf Papier kritisch mit der Frage nach dem Umgang mit der Vergangenheit im Kontext der deutschen Nachkriegszeit auseinander und reflektiert deren gesellschaftliche Situation mit Relevanz für breitere/globale Perspektiven.

Odenbachs Video- und Grafikarbeiten sind komplexe Erzählungen, die der Künstler in einer einzigartigen Collagetechnik aus Filmaufnahmen, Fernsehaufnahmen, Archivmaterial und selbst produzierten Bildern erschafft. Er verwendet öffentliche und private Bilder und erschafft Geschichten mit den Emotionen des einzelnen Menschen und verbindet sie mit seiner eigenen Biografie.

Seine Auseinandersetzung mit unterschiedlichen Kulturen und politischen Konstellationen stellt Verbindungen zwischen dem deutschen Trauma der NS-Herrschaft und dem Völkermord in Ruanda her; Männlichkeitsbilder in der Türkei und die Rolle der Frau in Venezuela; das Vertraute und das Fremde; sowie seine eigene Biographie und die Geschichte anderer.

Diese vom Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa) produzierte und von Matthias Mühling kuratierte Ausstellung in Singapur wird gemeinsam von der NTU ADM Gallery und dem Goethe-Institut Singapur organisiert. Die Auswahl der Exponate entfaltet ein Panorama von Odenbachs Gesamtwerk und beleuchtet, wie der Künstler verschiedene Kulturen studiert und ein ebenso analytisches wie emotionales Porträt des Menschen in einer globalisierten Gesellschaft zeichnet.


Links zum Thema

Top