Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Amrita Chandradas
All Is Not Lost

Is it her features? The way she talks, behaves or moves? Or is it the way her hair blows in the wind is what contributes to her femininity? Hair – We find it everywhere! It permeates our consciousness from the books we read, the media we engage in and the list goes on. What if that hair which defines so much of your self-image is taken away from you without warning?

I met a beautiful girl named Chan See Ting in 2016, not long after she bravely announced her rare hair loss condition called Alopecia Areata. The condition has resulted in her losing most of her hair, which she told me was once one of her best features. Though not fatal, the condition is known to have psychological impacts which affect a person’s outlook - especially when it is believed that one’s hair ties in closely with one’s femininity and identity.

With All is not Lost, the vibrant, young and vivacious See Ting is pictured through her world of dreams, hopes and nightmares - confronting expectations and changing the colours of her world as she navigates through this new uncertainty in life.

We will have been young – Photo Exhibition

Amrita Chandradas *1987, Singapore

Amrita Chandradas | All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas Amrita Chandradas is a documentary photographer currently based in Singapore. In 2013, she graduated with an MA in photojournalism and documentary photography from London College of Communications. She was awarded as one of Magnum’s Top 30 under 30 in 2014. Her work has been featured in the New York Times, BBC World and Dagbladet, among others. Amrita seeks to explore the impact of changing environments on its inhabitants. She hopes to bring forth seldom discussed issues of displacement and struggles through onground personal insights.

  • All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas
  • All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas
  • All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Amrita Chandradas
All Is Not Lost

Ist es ihre Erscheinung? Die Art wie sie redet, sich verhält oder bewegt? Oder ist es die Art und Weise, wie ihr Haar im Wind weht, die ihre Weiblichkeit unterstreicht? Das Haar – wir finden es überall. Es durchsetzt unser Bewusstsein durch die Bücher, die wir lesen, die Medien, die wir konsumieren. Was, wenn Dir dieses Haar ohne Vorwarnung genommen wird?

Im Jahre 2016 traf ich ein wunderschönes Mädchen namens Chan See Ting, kurz nachdem sie mutig verkündet hatte, dass sie an der seltenen Haarausfallerkrankung „Alopecia“ leidet; ihre Erkrankung ist im Speziellen als „Alopecia Areata“ bekannt. Diese führte dazu, dass sie den Großteil ihrer Haare verlor, die sie einst als eines ihrer schönsten Merkmale bezeichnet hatte. Wenn sie auch nicht lebensgefährlich ist, so ist doch bekannt, dass die Krankheit die Psyche einer Person beeinträchtigt, besonders dann, wenn man glaubt, dass die Haarpracht mit der Weiblichkeit oder Identität einer Person eng verbunden ist.

Mit All is not Lost wird die dynamische, junge und temperamentvolle See Ting mit Hilfe der Welt ihrer Träume, Hoffnungen und Albträume dargestellt – den gesellschaftlichen Erwartungen frontal entgegentreten, die Farben ihrer Welt verändern nach den Erfahrungen ihrer Reise.

We will have been young – Fotoausstellung

Amrita Chandradas *1987, Singapur

Amrita Chandradas | All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas Amrita Chandradas ist eine Dokumentarfotografin, die gegenwärtig in Singapur lebt. Im Jahre 2013 schloss sie ihr MA-Studium in Fotojournalismus und Dokumentarfotografie am London College of Communications ab. Sie wurde 2014 von Magnum Photos als eine der Top 30 unter 30-jährigen Künstlern ausgezeichnet. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem in der New York Times, BBC World und im Dagbladet abgebildet. Amrita beschäftigt sich mit den Auswirkungen von sich verändernden Lebensbedingungen auf die Menschen. Sie hofft, damit auf wenig beachtete Themen wie Umsiedlungen aufmerksam zu machen.

  • All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas
  • All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas
  • All Is Not Lost © Amrita Chandradas
Top