Film screening Supa Modo

Supa Modo ©One Fine Day Films Germany, Kenya, 74min., 2017-2018,
Age rating: 6 years
Director: Likarion Wainaina
Drama
With Stycie Waweru, Nyawara Ndambia, Marrianne Nungo


Nine-year-old Jo loves action films and dreams of being a superhero. Her greatest wish is to make a film herself and star in it. In her world of fantasy, she forgets that she is terminally ill. When Jo's sister can no longer bear seeing the cheerful girl spend her precious remaining time in bed, she encourages Jo to believe in her magic powers and calls on the whole village to help make Jo’s dream become a reality.

This touching drama by Kenyan filmmaker Likarion Wainaina was created as part of a master class hosted by the German-Kenyan production collective One Fine Day Films/Ginger Ink. It is about the power of imagination and an unusual way of saying farewell. (Berlinale)

“Supa Modo is literally a super hero picture, which never succumbs to over-sentimental farewell scenes. The super powers of this movie lie in its ability to believe that phantasy is all powerful and everlasting - unshakeable, even by death” (kino-zeit)
Ticket reservation: ChangChui Creative Park Ticket reservation: Cinema Oasis Ticket reservation: Bangkok Screening Room Ticket reservation: Aliance Francaise
German Film Week 2019

Back

Film Vorführung Supa Modo

Supa Modo ©One Fine Day Films Deutschland, Kenia, 74min., 2017-2018, FSK: Ab 6 Jahren
Regie: Likarion Wainaina
Drama
Mit Stycie Waweru, Nyawara Ndambia, Marrianne Nungo



Die neunjährige Jo liebt Actionfilme und träumt davon, selbst eine Superheldin zu sein. Ihr größter Wunsch: einen Film zu drehen, in dem sie selbst die Hauptrolle spielt. In ihrer Fantasie vergisst sie, dass sie unheilbar krank ist. Irgendwann kann Jos Schwester nicht mehr mit ansehen, wie das lebensfrohe Mädchen die kostbare Zeit, die ihm noch bleibt, nur im Bett verbringt. Sie ermutigt Jo, an ihre magischen Kräfte zu glauben und animiert das ganze Dorf, Jos Traum wahr werden zu lassen.

Das berührende Drama des kenianischen Filmemachers Likarion Wainaina, entstanden im Rahmen einer Masterclass des deutsch-kenianischen Produktionskollektivs One Fine Day Films/Ginger Ink, erzählt von der Kraft der Fantasie und von einem ungewöhnlichen Weg des Abschiednehmens. (Berlinale)

„Supa Modo ist damit ein Superhelden-Film im wahrsten Sinne, der zu keinem Augenblick der Gefahr allzu sentimentaler Abschiedsszenen verfällt. Auch deswegen ist es ein Film, dessen Superkraft darin liegt, an die Ewigkeit der Phantasie glauben zu können und an ihre Macht, der kein Tod jemals etwas anhaben könnte.“ (kino-zeit)
 
Ticket reservation: ChangChui Creative Park Ticket reservation: Cinema Oasis Ticket reservation: Bangkok Screening Room Ticket reservation: Aliance Francaise
German Film Week 2019

Zurück