Tell me your story
Press Release

Beyond drums of war and writing of history: The testimonials of the project “Tell me your story” are exhibited in the Goethe-Institut Ankara

The project “Tell me your story” could be described as civil historiography: in the project, sixteen young Syrians who fled the civil war narrated their experiences, recollections and their present living conditions in Turkey in various ways – in interviews, photographs and texts.

With the support of the German Federal Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institut Istanbul organized several workshops in the town of Mardin in Southeastern Anatolia, in which the young people’s recollections of their time before, during and after their escape were discussed. Whereas at the time of their escape some years ago, most of them were children or teenagers between the ages of ten and fourteen, they are now young people aged fourteen to twenty, feeling robbed of their childhood, their home and their future.

The stories and narratives of the young Syrians also indicate that hope for a better Syria and a better future still survives. However, in their new home and situation, their prospects to go to school and develop further are generally poor.  For most of them, going to university is also a frivolity for now. That is the case for Lava Kasim, now twenty, who found refuge in Turkey with her mother and some of her sisters:

“There is an abyss inside us. Nothing can fill it. Going back to Syria is not everything in life, but I do want to go to school…  Right now, my sister is in Syria, in the middle of the war. Our life has stopped, and there is only half of it now.”

Alongside Lava and the other young people, seventeen-year-old Dersim relates her escape from Syria, and how the Islamic State treats the general public, while fifteen-year-old Eyad Hacmahmoud tells of the time he was hit by the fragments of an explosion at a bus station, thought he had been shot, and blacked out. The young people’s recollections and stories affect the observer – as do the innocent look in their eyes and their unsettled, yet hopeful voices.

But for “Tell me your story” not only were the recollections themselves important, but also how they were worked through. In the workshops, professional trainers showed the young people how to process their recollections in interviews as well as in words and pictures. Together with the teenagers, the storyteller Nilay Yilmaz wrote texts to accompany the photos they took in Mardin. The documentary filmmaker Ulaş Tosun produced interviews with moving anecdotes.

The narrations and testimonials make clear how especially young observers, with their sheer innocence and powerlessness, dramatically illustrate the brutality of war and the external conditions of their precarious living conditions. They allow for an honest and simple glance on the brutality and destruction of civil life that war brings, beyond power politics and geopolitical considerations. It is their destroyed dreams, their stolen childhoods and their desperate hopes for better times – in their own country, if they were to choose – that we should remember if we are to be able to prevent similar tragedies in the future.

Curator: Harman Şaner Çakmak

“Tell me your story” is a project of the Goethe-Institut Istanbul and is supported by the Federal Foreign Office of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Erzähl mir deine Geschichte
Pressemitteilung

Jenseits von Kriegstrommeln und Geschichtsschreibung:  Die Zeugnisse des Projekts „Erzähl mir deine Geschichte“ mit jungen Syrern werden im Goethe-Institut Ankara ausgestellt.

Das Projekt “Erzähl mir deine Geschichte” könnte man auch als zivile Geschichtsschreibung bezeichnen: 16 junge geflüchtete Syrer haben in dem Projekt ihre Erlebnisse und Erinnerungen und ihre jetzige Lebenssituation in der Türkei auf verschiedene Weise - in Interviews, Fotografien und Texten - erzählt.

Mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes hat das Goethe-Institut Istanbul in mehreren Workshops in der südostanatolischen Stadt Mardin mit den Jugendlichen die Erinnerungen an die Zeit vor, während und nach ihrer Flucht thematisiert. Während die meisten vor ihrer Flucht vor einigen Jahren noch Kinder oder Teenager im Alter von zehn bis fünfzehn Jahren waren, sind sie jetzt Jugendliche zwischen vierzehn und zwanzig, die sich ihrer Kindheit, ihrer Heimat und ihrer Zukunft beraubt fühlen.

Aus den Geschichten und Erzählungen der syrischen Jugendlichen geht aber auch hervor, dass die Hoffnung auf ein besseres Syrien eine bessere Zukunft noch lebt. In ihrer neuen Heimat und Situation haben die meisten jedoch schlechtere Chancen, eine Schule zu besuchen und sich weiterzuentwickeln. Auch ein Studium hat sich für die meisten erst einmal erübrigt. So auch für die heute zwanzigjährige Lava Kasim, die mit ihrer Mutter und einigen Schwestern in die Türkei flüchtete:

„Da ist eine Kluft in uns. Nichts kann diese Kluft ausfüllen. Nach Syrien zurückgehen ist nicht alles in diesem Leben, aber ich möchte auf die Schule gehen…Im Moment ist meine Schwester in Syrien, in der Mitte des Krieges. Unser Leben ist stehengeblieben und nur noch halb“.

Neben Lava und den anderen Jugendlichen erzählt die 17 jährige Dersim von Ihrer Flucht aus Syrien und wie der IS die Bevölkerung behandelte, während der fünfzehnjährige Eyad Hacmahmoud erzählt, wie er an einem Busterminal von den Splittern einer Explosion getroffen wurde, dachte er sei angeschossen und in Ohnmacht fiel. Die Erinnerungen und Geschichten der Jugendlichen nehmen mit – ebenso wie ihr unschuldiger Blick und ihre erschütterten, aber doch hoffnungsvollen Stimmen.

Für „Erzähl mir deine Geschichte“ waren aber nicht nur die Erinnerungen, sondern auch deren Verarbeitung wichtig. Professionelle Trainer zeigten den Jugendlichen in Workshops, wie Sie ihre Erinnerungen in nicht nur im Interview sondern auch in Text und Bild verarbeiten und erzählen können. Die Storytellerin Nilay Yilmaz verfasste mit den Jugendlichen Texte zu den von Ihnen in Mardin festgehaltenen Fotos. Der Dokumentarfilmer Ulaş Tosun produzierte Interview mit bewegenden Anekdoten.  

Durch die Erzählungen und Zeugnisse wird deutlich: Gerade jugendliche Beobachter verdeutlichen die Brutalität des Krieges und der äußeren Umstände ihrer prekären Lebenssituation mit ihrer großen Unschuld und Ohnmacht dramatisch. Sie ermöglichen einen ehrlichen und einfachen Blick auf die Brutalität und Zerstörung des zivilen Lebens durch den Krieg, jenseits von Machtpolitik und geopolitischen Überlegungen. An ihre zerstörten Träume, gestohlene Kindheit und verzweifelte Hoffnung auf bessere Zeiten – am liebsten in ihrer eigenen Heimat – sollten wir uns erinnern, um in Zukunft ähnliche Dramen besser verhindern zu können.

„Erzähl mir deine Geschichte“ ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und wird gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.